Southern Air

  • Record Label: Hopeless
  • Release Date: Aug 14, 2012
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
Buy On
  1. Where When You're Through Thinking, Say Yes was safe at times and perhaps slightly predictable, Southern Air keeps listeners intrigued and invested throughout. This is the best pop-punk album of 2012.
  2. Aug 30, 2012
    80
    While Yellowcard's songs still retain the youthful, emo-rock enthusiasm and catchy melodicism that marked the best of their earlier work, there is a weightiness and expansive gaze to many of the songs on Southern Air.
  3. Alternative Press
    Aug 30, 2012
    80
    The triumphant streak continues with Southern Air, an album on par with 2003's beloved Ocean Avenue. [Sep 2012, p.93]
  4. Aug 30, 2012
    70
    Recorded with longtime producer Neal Avron, Southern Air isn't a major step away from the band's previous work but a return to the original fire of their early years.
  5. Aug 30, 2012
    90
    The resulting product is not only the best album of the band's career, but an album that very well may shape the future of the genre, influencing an entirely new generation of bands just as they did nearly a decade ago.
  6. Aug 30, 2012
    90
    With their eighth studio album, Yellowcard anything but disappoints.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    Yellowcard's Southern Air impressed me. After the last disappointing album, this is their REAL comeback. Both longtime and new fans wouldYellowcard's Southern Air impressed me. After the last disappointing album, this is their REAL comeback. Both longtime and new fans would absolutely find this piece satisfying as it was meant to be. Full Review »
  2. Apr 13, 2016
    9
    For me this album is the mangnum opus of yellowcard, compared to anything else they've released i believe this wins in every way. The skill inFor me this album is the mangnum opus of yellowcard, compared to anything else they've released i believe this wins in every way. The skill in musicianship, the songwriting, the maturity of the lyrics all stand out. In a genre saturated by heartbreak, narcissism and cliches, key's lyrics focus less on girls and more on a variety of things. The standout tracks are the openers and closers, awakening and southern air are everything I love about the band, their drum tracks have never been tighter and better performed, this album's varied content, wonderful production and all round musicianship make it one of the best pop-punk records i've ever heard. 9/10 Full Review »
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Every song of the album is very good, so if I must make a list of my favorite songs of the album, 7 of 10 songs were there. This album has noEvery song of the album is very good, so if I must make a list of my favorite songs of the album, 7 of 10 songs were there. This album has no mistakes and you can listening it by the whole day. My favorite album of the last years. Full Review »