Soviet Kitsch

  • Record Label: Sire
  • Release Date: Mar 1, 2005
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 60
  2. Negative: 4 out of 60

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TNH
    Sep 12, 2006
    0
    Quite possibley the worst load of crap I've ever heard. Her voice is annoying as hell and NONE of the songs make a shread of sense. She just rambles on about nonsense. She is a terrible songwriters. The only credit I give to her is that she can play piano fairly well. It hurts my soul when my roomate plays her songs. Please don't release another album.
  2. Pedro
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    TNH, you don't even know good grammar! "she is a terrible songwriters"? Get your plural/singular differences right, asshole! This CD is amazing. Regina is next in the line of great women who play the piano, including Tori, Kate, and Fiona. Her lyrics are wonderfully unique and her voice is beautiful.
  3. JoannaG.
    Mar 9, 2005
    9
    I hear the voices of Fiona Apple, PJ Harvey, Bjork, and many other female artists when Regina sings.
  4. DavisW
    May 4, 2005
    8
    Really smart, sweet melodies. I fall more in love with her each time I listen to it.
  5. slick50
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    sweet, trilling voice that hits all the high notes. Unpredictable, yet emotional melodies. Not to be missed by fans of female music.
  6. NickyT
    Jun 12, 2005
    9
    Unique vocals that tickles the hairs on your neck...
  7. TaraL
    Sep 3, 2005
    10
    i think regina spektor is simply AMAZING.
  8. MegM
    Mar 15, 2005
    9
    I saw her on Late Night with Conan O'Brian. As soon as I listened to her sing, I got up, went to my computer and downloaded her CD. I love it. Its actually playing right now
  9. DonaldH
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    Usually I don't by discs on a whim, and my only experience with Regina prior to this was a bootleg of the track "Post-Modern Girls" she did with the Strokes last year, however, popping this disc in, I have to admit it sent shivers down my spine multiple times. It's minimalistc arrangements and piano ballads coupled with wonderfully moving lyrics and a voice that recalls both Ani Usually I don't by discs on a whim, and my only experience with Regina prior to this was a bootleg of the track "Post-Modern Girls" she did with the Strokes last year, however, popping this disc in, I have to admit it sent shivers down my spine multiple times. It's minimalistc arrangements and piano ballads coupled with wonderfully moving lyrics and a voice that recalls both Ani Difranco and Patti Smith, it's refreshing and incredibly touching stuff. My highest recommendation. Expand
  10. LocoTino
    Apr 9, 2005
    10
    Fantastic, I can totally see where she is coming from.
  11. CarynM
    May 4, 2006
    10
    I could listen to Regina Spektor for hours! She is simply amazing. She is all about originality. Her album is fun to listen to and I don't think I'll ever get sick of it. I've showed her album to my husband, my best friend and her husband, and also my little brothers sisters.....they absolutely LOVED the album. I showed this album to my mom and my husbands parents, they are I could listen to Regina Spektor for hours! She is simply amazing. She is all about originality. Her album is fun to listen to and I don't think I'll ever get sick of it. I've showed her album to my husband, my best friend and her husband, and also my little brothers sisters.....they absolutely LOVED the album. I showed this album to my mom and my husbands parents, they are all over 40, and did not appreciate this album because I think it was too different for them, and when you are old you are stuck in your ways! Expand
  12. ThomasW
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    Regina Spektor is a very talented girl. She has an amazing voice and can tickle those ivories like there's no tomorrow. She has done well on this album but did even better with "Begin to Hope." I;m glad she made another album. It's amazing and far better than "Soviet Kitsch." Regina simply has a unique sound that you won't hear from anybody else.
  13. CharlesC.
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    Its not breathtaking, but its not pretentious. It can feel naive at times, but its so damn sincere, you just don't care. And that's the core of this album...absolute sincerity...its funny, lush and has more than a couple of tracks you'll listen to over and over again. Try 'Us,' 'The Ghost of Corporate Future,' 'Ode to Divorce.'
  14. axelc
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    excellent!!!!!! very original style, non commercial, i like that!!!
  15. Scort
    Mar 12, 2005
    0
    Pretentious, immature, affected.
  16. JonathanA
    Mar 13, 2005
    10
    I saw Regina Spektor play at the Hotel Cafe in Los Angeles and I knew nothing of her music. I was so impressed I bought both of her albums at the show and was also impressed with her album 'Songs' which I highly recommend. Her songs have a quality that makes you want to listen to them over and over again. If you can see her live, run don't walk!
  17. OscarCurmudgeon
    Sep 24, 2006
    10
    Quite simply, the girl has a gift. Intriguing and beguiling, funny and dolorous by turn, this artisthas a potential which seems to this listener to have no obvious limits. This album is a sprawiling and confounding joy.
  18. AlN
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    This woman is amazing, you can listen to the same songs for hours and hear something new everytime.
  19. AliR
    Mar 14, 2005
    8
    There are moments on this album when Regina reminds you what music is all about. Shame she ocassionaly gets a little pretentious.
  20. Amy
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    I adore her music. It's all i listen to lately.
  21. DocMem
    Nov 28, 2005
    0
    I might overlook her total inability to sing if the lyrics either A: made any sense, or B: weren't obviously just banal ramblings. But, as it is, this album further convinces me that kids will buy and listen- no, ENDURE any swill that's being packaged as "cool" these days. I guess if you're into "art music" that is so anti- everything (mainly anti-talent and style) that it I might overlook her total inability to sing if the lyrics either A: made any sense, or B: weren't obviously just banal ramblings. But, as it is, this album further convinces me that kids will buy and listen- no, ENDURE any swill that's being packaged as "cool" these days. I guess if you're into "art music" that is so anti- everything (mainly anti-talent and style) that it makes a statement, then Spektor does in fact do that, very well. Too bad that she's in no way being original at all. This album is a total waste of the efforts of everybody involved. Expand
  22. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    Regina Spektor is so very under credited. Her song "Us" is among my favorite songs and this album is in plain english "OUTSTANDING"....THere is nothing that needs to be changed or rerecorded...Pure joy when it is listened to
  23. Jun 2, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love Regina's voice; it's gorgeous hitting all the high notes, but she's also able to fill up her vocal cords and get a darker sound. Ode to Divorce is a great start, just a single heart beating. The lyrics are by far some of the most original I've heard. It's also a well thought-out song so it earns 8/10. Poor Little Rich Boy is wonderful; it has lyrics that I perceive to be excruciatingly cynical. The construct of the music is also great because it emphasizes the "you're so young, you're so goddamn young" part at the end. I constantly find myself altering the lyric "young" to "dumb" thinking about some of me exgfs (ha!). It gets 8/10. Carbon Monoxide is close to my favorite on the album; I definitely see the influence of "No Surprises" by Radiohead, which is great; 9/10. The Flowers is pretty good: 7/10. Us, obviously the single, is great. I definitely feel like the most amount of work into this song. It starts of strong, and only gets stronger as it goes on. Love the strings and the lyrics are wonderful: 10/10. Sailor Song is a great incite into how Regina sees the world; obviously she's singing about a girl who is very respectable (either herself, or someone she knows) and get's called a **** because she doesn't get into bed with every guy who wants her. It's also a very new-sound kind of track in a great way: 9/10. Now, Your Honor in an artistic perspective is close to perfect. The brutish/punk sound she creates reflects the stupidity of a guy who "fought for her honor." With that said, the actual replay value of it is pretty low. It does it she wants it to do: reflect the guys violent behavior; but misses on what a song is supposed to do. 5/10. "Ghost of Corporate Future," is a pretty song with a great message to the middle-class working man stuck in a boring life. Although it's great, and is also pretty funny song, it's a theme that (for me) is a bit over-done. 8/10. Chemo Limo starts out promising something more, but with lyrics that seem to be meaningless, it just goes on and on and gets oddly dramatic with the "Oh my god, Barbara! She looks just like my mom!" 7/10. Somedays had soooo much potential, and starts as one of the best conclusions to an album I've heard yet, but then it just stops. Maybe it's because I'm a concept album kind of person, but I just felt like this song promised so much more! It's as if Regina was just like "ok, that's it." So, because it had so much more potential and was the last thing we are left with I have to be harsh: 4/10. Expand
  24. Sep 9, 2015
    7
    It definitely took me a couple of listens to fully recognize the depth of this album but, regardless of my high expectations, I'm still convinced Regina can effortlessly make an inspiring album... I think what I loved most was the flow of the album as a whole, it is as seamless as the stream of consciousness lyrics that make seemingly ugly truths sound beautiful.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Spektor is an engaging performer throughout the album, and despite her arty quirks, she's never pretentious.
  2. 80
    Traces of Joni Mitchell, PJ Harvey, Björk and Cat Power are all proudly on display in the unpredictable arrangements and off-kilter emotions.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    While her art folk has its considerable charms, it's also erratic and, at times, exhausting. [11 Feb 2005, p.63]