Speak Now

  • Record Label: Mercury
  • Release Date: Oct 25, 2010
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 372 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 372
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Notice that not one of those zero reviews make mention of one song on the album. I call **** **** This is a great pop record with some of the catchiest tracks I've heard this year; at the same time, "Dear John" and "Haunted" show talent beyond the basic stage she's at now.
  2. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest albums of 2010. I'm disappointed because the singles ''Mine'' and ''Back to December'' did not reach the #1 of the U.S. Billboard. I think that the next singles must be: ''Better than Revenge'', ''Dear John'', ''Haunted'', ''Last Kiss'' and ''Innocent''
  3. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    When I think Taylor Swift I think Music Legend, Country Star, My Idol, and much more. She has definitely delivered an album that's even better than her last. Even if I think this album should have had a bit more country in it i still think its worthy of another Album Of The Year nomination. Taylor Swift writes songs from the heart and from real life and that is what makes us want toWhen I think Taylor Swift I think Music Legend, Country Star, My Idol, and much more. She has definitely delivered an album that's even better than her last. Even if I think this album should have had a bit more country in it i still think its worthy of another Album Of The Year nomination. Taylor Swift writes songs from the heart and from real life and that is what makes us want to listen. With pure country-pop songs like "Speak Now" & "Mean" she begins to tell us a story, and with songs like "Dear John" & "Back To December" she tells us a confession. She has even stepped out of the box with Pop-Rock songs like "Better Than Revenge" & "The Story Of Us" which gives us another side of Taylor we haven't seen before. Each song in this album has a meaning and has the ability to capture an audience and make them feel an emotion a connection and a voice! Taylor has a talent and she has made use of her talent in this album, and this album is a great album. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    The best album of 2010 for sure, this album is one of the most spectacular pop/country albums that I've ever listened to. It is going to have a legacy on its own and its such a shame this wasn't the album that won Album Of The Year because it is shockingly better than her also amazing album Fearless. People who criticize this album have never even listened to it, the lyrical content aloneThe best album of 2010 for sure, this album is one of the most spectacular pop/country albums that I've ever listened to. It is going to have a legacy on its own and its such a shame this wasn't the album that won Album Of The Year because it is shockingly better than her also amazing album Fearless. People who criticize this album have never even listened to it, the lyrical content alone should be enough because there aren't any other popstars who are making fantastic music these days. this definitely has a place on Rolling Stones 50 Best Female albums of All Time. Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    Hands down. This is the best album Taylor Swift has ever put out. Just the fact that she wrote, composed and produced every single track on it is extremely impressive. This album is everything you could ask for being a country-pop influenced album, but I think the most important thing about it is that its lyrics are so deep diverse. Swift goes from singing about love on 'Mine' to break-upHands down. This is the best album Taylor Swift has ever put out. Just the fact that she wrote, composed and produced every single track on it is extremely impressive. This album is everything you could ask for being a country-pop influenced album, but I think the most important thing about it is that its lyrics are so deep diverse. Swift goes from singing about love on 'Mine' to break-up on 'Haunted' to dismissing critics on 'Mean' to singing about her crew and her band on 'Long Live' to childhood about 'Never Grow Up' and lots more. I'm tellin' you: this album has everything. Love it. Every single track shines in its way and they're all standouts. This album is proof, again, that Taylor is a perfectionist and that she never misses. Expand
  6. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    So far the only word i can say about this album is "WOW" ! This one is fantastic, inspirational, and emotionally deep as some of them really touch my heart - I almost cry after listening to "Long Live". No doubt she is a remarkable talent.
  7. Sep 27, 2014
    10
    Speak now is arguably Taylor's best album lyrically and musically. In this album she delved much deeper into her confessional approach to songwriting by writing solely all of the songs excluding "If This Was A Movie" which is a bonus track. Here we saw Taylor, experimenting with different genres. She plays with her root genres which are pop and country and expands to alternative rock. SheSpeak now is arguably Taylor's best album lyrically and musically. In this album she delved much deeper into her confessional approach to songwriting by writing solely all of the songs excluding "If This Was A Movie" which is a bonus track. Here we saw Taylor, experimenting with different genres. She plays with her root genres which are pop and country and expands to alternative rock. She never stayed in one genre for too long. she conquered new territories and the result was flawless. Another amazing thing about this album are the epic lyrics. Here she took the "Speak Now" phrase seriously and boy did she speak now. She calls out her critics in "Mean". The song was very cleverly written it won her 2 grammys. She wishes she didn't grow up while showing a mature side in "Never Grow Up" She apologizes to her ex in "Back to December" and explicitly gives reference to sex in "Sparks Fly". She reminisces a lost love in "Last Kiss", shows forgiveness in "Innocent" and bashes a girl who stole her bf in "Better Than Revenge". Taylor didn't fail in the lyrics department and gave us two of her most amazing lines ever. 'You made a rebel of a careless man’s carefull daughter’ from "Mine" and 'people throw rocks at things that shine' from "Ours" slays discographies. Another thing that one would notice about the album is how she pushes her voice. She shows how she has improved vocally in "Dear John" and "Haunted" where she belts out the climaxes while not losing her signature voice in "Speak Now" and in the intro of "Enchanted". What I like about this album is that she didn't make this album to be radio-friendly. She didn't compromise quality over having hits. Most of the songs are lengthy and those songs are the gems of the album. They are just too long and too good to be played on the radio. Another thing that Taylor made sure was to make the album relatable to her fans which she always delivers with her albums. This album is a manifestation of Taylor's growth as an artist, and if this album is any indication of what she will become in the future, I am excited to see what she has to offer her coming albums.

    This album is a manifestation of Taylor's growth as an artist, and if this album is any indication of what she will become in the future, I am excited to see what she has to offer with her coming albums.
    Expand
  8. Feb 21, 2016
    10
    No weak tracks on this one. Taylor put her whole heart in the lyrics, describing different situations in her life that makes the album far from being monotonous. Excellent music, production and a better vocal performance that surpasses her previous album, "Fearless". Powerful tracks like "Enchanted" and "Haunted" give the album soul and colors, power ballads like "Dear John" and "Innocent"No weak tracks on this one. Taylor put her whole heart in the lyrics, describing different situations in her life that makes the album far from being monotonous. Excellent music, production and a better vocal performance that surpasses her previous album, "Fearless". Powerful tracks like "Enchanted" and "Haunted" give the album soul and colors, power ballads like "Dear John" and "Innocent" show Taylor's fragile side and complete the pieces in a good quality country album with a little essence of pop. Expand
  9. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    I've never before heard an album that has experimented with so many different styles of music and succeeded at it. Her country story-telling style is still evident throughout the album in each and every song, but there is rock, pop and country all right there in one album. Speak Now is absolutely fantastic and shows the world that Swift is in this business for the long haul. She's notI've never before heard an album that has experimented with so many different styles of music and succeeded at it. Her country story-telling style is still evident throughout the album in each and every song, but there is rock, pop and country all right there in one album. Speak Now is absolutely fantastic and shows the world that Swift is in this business for the long haul. She's not going to be a teen star who fades into oblivion (much to haters disappointment I bet). Expand
  10. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    Wow what an album and it is even better than her previous effort Fearless.It is more mature and diverse.The lyrics are spellbinding and the music is not straightforward as it seems,plenty of twists.
    Like it and definitely one of the best this year aside of Lady Gaga's.
  11. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    "Speak Now" is one more stunning creation in what is becoming a truly unique discography of a truly special artist. (Someday, instead of a greatest hits album, they'll just issue Taylor Swift's entire collection and call it "The Story of Taylor Swift: A Woman's Real Life In Song" .) It's really amusing to see the jealous critics of this remarkable young artist saying "the same old"Speak Now" is one more stunning creation in what is becoming a truly unique discography of a truly special artist. (Someday, instead of a greatest hits album, they'll just issue Taylor Swift's entire collection and call it "The Story of Taylor Swift: A Woman's Real Life In Song" .) It's really amusing to see the jealous critics of this remarkable young artist saying "the same old things". Her singing on "Speak Now" -- so moving in the tender and vulnerable moments, so powerful in its climaxes, so adaptable to all the musical styles used -- just gets stronger and stronger. Personally, I would love to hear any of those so-called "technically superior" songstresses try to match Swift's depths of feeling on lines like "I don't know how to be something you miss" or "Run as fast as you can". And "Speak Now" incorporates so many diverse musical styles -- sultry,explosive rock ("Sparks Fly"), punk pop ("Better Than Revenge"), big production pop ("Haunted"), Roots Country ("Mean"), Folk ("Never Grow Up"), triumphant arena anthems ("Long Live"), heartbreaking confessionals ("Last Kiss" and "Back to December"), and the blues exorcism of "Dear John" -- yet Swift, effortlessly, sounds at home in any of those genres. Anybody who claims Taylor can't sing anymore, bring on your pretender -- let her have a go at "Dr John" (a song which may become Taylor's version of the Beatles' "Hey Jude" -- too long to be a single, but too mesmerizing to ignore, influencing music for years to come). Expand
  12. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    This album was certainlly worth the 2 year wait. The first time I listened to it I was completely wonderstruck and had to listen a couple more times before I could even come up with complete thoughts about each of the songs. There is not a single song that is not worth listening to. Every song on the entire album is relateable and sung emotionally. The fact that it sold over a millionThis album was certainlly worth the 2 year wait. The first time I listened to it I was completely wonderstruck and had to listen a couple more times before I could even come up with complete thoughts about each of the songs. There is not a single song that is not worth listening to. Every song on the entire album is relateable and sung emotionally. The fact that it sold over a million copies on one week should be a sign for all of those who haven't bought it yet to go out and buy it, it's definately money well spent. Expand
  13. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Great album. It shows a lot of lyrical growth and her vocals have improved to. The songs are all really good and meaningful. The best songs are beck to december, better than revenge and mean. The only reason this is getting bad reviews is because saddos (like the ones she sings about in mean) are jelous and write bad reviews because they don't have jobs or lives. Best album of 2010 by far
  14. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First of all, everyone who rated this album 0, I'm betting you didn't listen to more than 2 or 3 songs off of it, if that at all. Don't judge just based on past albums, or whether you think she has talent or not. Honestly. Now on to the review part...

    I think this is Taylor's best album yet. Me, being a huge Taylor fan, had high expectations for this album. And I was ecstatic that those expectations were met. I love how she is so down-to-earth and real, and not going and sleeping with every guy out there. Listening to her songs is like reading her diary, and fans, such as myself, like that. She has clearly matured in both her writing and her vocals. Not that I didn't enjoy all the prince charming fairytale endings-- because believe me, I did-- but I really like the way her writing has changed. She's still sticking to some love songs, because Taylor wouldn't be Taylor if her songs weren't about love. But her love songs are maturing as well. She shows a weaker, more vulnerable side of herself, like in "Back To December" and "Last Kiss". She's also clearly getting a lot deeper in her songs. One of my personal favorite songs, "Never Grow Up", is such a sweet, down-to-earth, and real song. It's completely relatable to anyone who wishes they were a little kid again. In "Innocent", the song written for Kanye West and the VMA incident in 2009, she is forgiving him, despite what he did to her. And in "Back To December", she is asking for forgiveness and saying sorry herself. It takes a person with a great character to admit that they're wrong and that they hurt you, and say "I'm sorry." Especially for a celebrity. She's showing that even celebrities aren't perfect. They're still humans, and they screw up. Taylor is an amazing girl in so many ways-- she's beautiful, both inside and out, she has an amazing personality, as well as great musical and vocal talent. She's young, and she still has the rest of her life in front of her. My only "complaint" is that Dear John is a bit long. It's still a fantastic song, but it's a bit long. But I do like it. Overall, this album is amazing. I love Taylor and Speak Now! (:
    Expand
  15. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Speak Now has a kiss and tell approach but heck, the songwriting is just good. I expected a downfall after a damn strong record named Fearless but she just topped that. The last three songs are great and I expect "Dear John" to appear in some best of year;s list.
    Wow. Giving a grade of Zero is really unjust. I thought that this is her best album so far.
  16. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Hard to believe but Taylor Swift has outdone herself again.

    All the songs are consistently strong across the board with some standouts and some veritable masterpieces.It goes to show how having a singular artistic vision always trumps songwriting-by-committee. Too many "artists" in the music industry over-rely on third-party songwriters to churn out soulless garbage that neither touches
    Hard to believe but Taylor Swift has outdone herself again.

    All the songs are consistently strong across the board with some standouts and some veritable masterpieces.It goes to show how having a singular artistic vision always trumps songwriting-by-committee.

    Too many "artists" in the music industry over-rely on third-party songwriters to churn out soulless garbage that neither touches the heart or engages the mind.Thank goodness Miss Swift isn't one of them!
    Expand
  17. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    This album is 2x better than Fearless. just like how Fearless was 2x better than her selt titled debut album. Taylor Swift has been known to write songs that are like reading a diary diary, which is continued here greatly, sush as the AMAZINGLY personal song: "Dear John". Swifty is growing up, andher music is too.
  18. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Amazing! this is the word that describes this album! It's WAY better than her two previous albums by a landslide. This albums shows Swift's maturity as an artist and dwells deep into her personal life shown in tracks like "Dear John". My favorite songs on the record are "Enchanted", "Speak Now", "Better than Revenge", and "Haunted". I recommend everyone to pick up a copy of this album, youAmazing! this is the word that describes this album! It's WAY better than her two previous albums by a landslide. This albums shows Swift's maturity as an artist and dwells deep into her personal life shown in tracks like "Dear John". My favorite songs on the record are "Enchanted", "Speak Now", "Better than Revenge", and "Haunted". I recommend everyone to pick up a copy of this album, you won"t be disappointed! Expand
  19. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    I'm speechless when listening to this album ( even when its title is Speak Now ! ). Just purely genius and amazing ! I feel charmed through every songs here. Surely a bunch of Grammy awards are waiting for Taylor again !!
  20. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    Just awesome - awesome - I wish that "Dear John" was a verse shorter but other then that it was perfect! Wish I could vote 9.5 but have to vote a 10 as Just because one song is just a little long does not mean that it is almost perfect!
  21. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    Throughout this album it feels like we have been going through the life of Taylor herself, going through every up and downs in her life and it is evidently felt in her album. The tracks are not arranged such as the fast songs and the slow songs, the good ones and the not so good ones, are apart. It is like a fast one then a slow one alternating in the album, which gives a sort ofThroughout this album it feels like we have been going through the life of Taylor herself, going through every up and downs in her life and it is evidently felt in her album. The tracks are not arranged such as the fast songs and the slow songs, the good ones and the not so good ones, are apart. It is like a fast one then a slow one alternating in the album, which gives a sort of roller-coaster ride to emphasise the uneven road that she experienced. Expand
  22. Jan 3, 2011
    8
    Speaking as a Taylor Swift fan since 2006: Taylor didn't bring her A game this time but how could she when Fearless was unmatched in every aspect (not to mention Album of the Year). Nevertheless, Taylor Swift is one of the few great song writers of her generation. If going Platinum in just one week isn't persuasive enough. I personally recommend listening to "Enchanted", "Sparks Fly" andSpeaking as a Taylor Swift fan since 2006: Taylor didn't bring her A game this time but how could she when Fearless was unmatched in every aspect (not to mention Album of the Year). Nevertheless, Taylor Swift is one of the few great song writers of her generation. If going Platinum in just one week isn't persuasive enough. I personally recommend listening to "Enchanted", "Sparks Fly" and my top play "Speak Now". Many of the songs on the album are over 5 minutes long but the more the merrier. I did find myself asking "When is this song going to end?" at one point but that's the only negative I found in an otherwise outspoken album. I recommend this album to all Taylor fans but if you're new and on the fence then I highly recommend Fearless. Expand
  23. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    This album showcases Taylor's growth as an artist. The highlights of the album are: Better Than Revenge, Sparks Fly, Haunted, Mean, Enchanted and Back To December. Overall, Taylor's transition is most evident in her second single Back To December where for the first time she blames herself for the demise of a relationship. This album is Swift's best record to date.
  24. Nov 2, 2010
    3
    Taylor Swift's latest release, 'Speak Now', finds her charting familiar territory in terms of song subject matter, and is filled with desperate attempts to appear mature. Swift, who is sometimes criticized for her youthful lyrics, seems to be trying to escape these criticisms by adding a little spice to her sugary sweet image. "Better Than Revenge", an example of Swift's desire to growTaylor Swift's latest release, 'Speak Now', finds her charting familiar territory in terms of song subject matter, and is filled with desperate attempts to appear mature. Swift, who is sometimes criticized for her youthful lyrics, seems to be trying to escape these criticisms by adding a little spice to her sugary sweet image. "Better Than Revenge", an example of Swift's desire to grow up a little, is a song drenched in Paramore-style production and ultimately comes off as juvenile and a little tasteless. "Mean" is another child-like track that resorts to name-calling; it even attacks those who criticize her singing ability. Ironically, her singing ability (or lack thereof) is the main problem with this album. 'Speak Now' is plagued with Swift's weak, breathy vocals, which are being modified by an abundance of pitch correctors throughout the album. Lyrically, there are few problems with Taylor Swift's songs; in fact, many of the songs on 'Speak Now' (such as "Innocent" and "Dear John") are well-written. The fact is that these songs are just wasted when they are being sung by someone with such a lackluster voice. However, it is refreshing to see that, among tons of pop songs with stupid lyrics, that there is one prominent pop singer-songwriter that can write somewhat intelligent songs. Still, this does not excuse Swift's obvious lack of vocal talent.

    Another problem this album faces is that it is hardly a country album at all; the fact that this album is marketed as a country album is laughable. Most songs from 'Speak Now' would sound out of place on country radio; the aforementioned "Mean" is the only exception, and this makes it seem like a misfit on the album. Swift has been walking a fine line between country and pop to this point, and it seems she has chosen her side. The biggest potential problem with this album is the burnout this album may cause for Swift's career. Everybody has heard Swift's confessional, tell-all love songs, but how many songs about the same subject will be released before people tire of it? Only time will tell.
    Expand
  25. Oct 28, 2010
    6
    First thing you must know, Speak Now is teen-pop album,not a country album. As we can see, Speak Now hardly has anything different from her previous albums, still boys and girls, girls and boys. Though this is maybe a great topic for a young girl, we do believe a talent songwriter should have more concern for other things around. Maybe she only writes about teenage love because she neverFirst thing you must know, Speak Now is teen-pop album,not a country album. As we can see, Speak Now hardly has anything different from her previous albums, still boys and girls, girls and boys. Though this is maybe a great topic for a young girl, we do believe a talent songwriter should have more concern for other things around. Maybe she only writes about teenage love because she never grow up and probably she never will.
    Let alone genre and age, this time she does very great in some Rock songs like Haunted which remind me of Avril Lavigne. But most of the intended or pretended "Country songs" (Except BTD, that's a hit!) are boring zzzzzzzzz. It's funny to imagine her singing those rubbish "Country songs" with no one listening or singing those "Rock songs" when her FABULOUS vocal performances make you and your cat scratch.
    Expand
  26. Oct 29, 2010
    0
    Taylor in my opinion has created a Pop Album with Speak Now. I remember fondly how enjoyable Tim McGraw and Our Song were. Her vocals seemed far better back then. Now Taylor has straddled genres and it is clear to me that she desires to be a Pop artist.
    I just finished viewing youtube performances of Taylor Live in New York and I am personally shocked how truly bad those live
    Taylor in my opinion has created a Pop Album with Speak Now. I remember fondly how enjoyable Tim McGraw and Our Song were. Her vocals seemed far better back then. Now Taylor has straddled genres and it is clear to me that she desires to be a Pop artist.
    I just finished viewing youtube performances of Taylor Live in New York and I am personally shocked how truly bad those live performances are. I fully realize that she is incredibly popular and that every media format seems to believe she is the saviour of the music industry, it still boggles my mine. I expect my doctors to provide excellent health care, my financial planner to provide sound investment proposals and yes singers to be able to sing on pitch and in tune. Silly me. lol
    Expand
  27. Oct 26, 2010
    0
    Taylor Swift may be growing up, but once again, I'm THROWING UP! Speak Now is pretty much the same as her previous two albums; Hack songwriting and terrible singing. The only difference with Speak Now, is that Taylor has become more lame and self-indulgent than ever...She is sure to continue her run of success with Speak Now, but that only proves one thing; P.T. Barnum WAS RIGHT! ThereTaylor Swift may be growing up, but once again, I'm THROWING UP! Speak Now is pretty much the same as her previous two albums; Hack songwriting and terrible singing. The only difference with Speak Now, is that Taylor has become more lame and self-indulgent than ever...She is sure to continue her run of success with Speak Now, but that only proves one thing; P.T. Barnum WAS RIGHT! There really is a sucker born every minute...I take comfort in knowing that no matter how many albums she sells right now, she will spend the vast majority of her life residing in the 'where are they now bin?' Expand
  28. Oct 26, 2010
    0
    Speak Now is merely the diary of a 20 year olds personal problems with boys. The Kiss and Tell approach holds no interest to me. Releasing material that you believe is giving you the last word and attempting to publicly humiliate others is offensive to me. Vocally, Taylor has been studio perfected to the best that can be done with her weak limited vocal range,her live performancesSpeak Now is merely the diary of a 20 year olds personal problems with boys. The Kiss and Tell approach holds no interest to me. Releasing material that you believe is giving you the last word and attempting to publicly humiliate others is offensive to me. Vocally, Taylor has been studio perfected to the best that can be done with her weak limited vocal range,her live performances are....well for me painful to witness. Expand
  29. Nov 3, 2010
    2
    Taylor was confirmed as a pop singer in her new album and how it can make use of a genre like country music to sell millions while she is destroying this genre, although her lyrics continue to be those of an innocent young girl and continue to generate a good image around it...is the same...always
  30. Nov 27, 2010
    0
    It's time to grow up Taylor. It's time to write songs that are relevant to people your own age. I don't understand how any male can listen to her lyrics and relate to them? Seriously, I think any guy who listens to her must only like the music, not the message. I think her music has absolutely no depth, and I also don't think an artist should get free points just because she wrote all herIt's time to grow up Taylor. It's time to write songs that are relevant to people your own age. I don't understand how any male can listen to her lyrics and relate to them? Seriously, I think any guy who listens to her must only like the music, not the message. I think her music has absolutely no depth, and I also don't think an artist should get free points just because she wrote all her songs by herself. Her song subject matter consists almost solely of relationships. She can't even sing that well, every time I see her on TV, she is off-key. "Dear John" is slander, and the fact that she has had that many celebrity boyfriends makes her seem like a total slut. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Even in their overwork, however, they evince an effort that bears a remarkable resemblance to care‑-that is, to caring in the best, broadest, and most emotional sense.
  2. Jan 11, 2011
    70
    While Taylor turns her wrath on a woman who steals her man on "Better Than Revenge," she turns that critical eye on herself in "Back to December," a thorough apology to a former lover she regrets having left behind. Other tunes, such as "Mean" and "Sparks Fly," suffer from generic and sometimes underdeveloped lyrics.
  3. 70
    Because of the buzz behind it, Speak Now was destined to be a commercial success no matter what. Thankfully, the album succeeds on an artistic level as well.