Speak Now - Taylor Swift
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 162

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Notice that not one of those zero reviews make mention of one song on the album. I call **** **** This is a great pop record with some of the catchiest tracks I've heard this year; at the same time, "Dear John" and "Haunted" show talent beyond the basic stage she's at now.
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    This album is 2x better than Fearless. just like how Fearless was 2x better than her selt titled debut album. Taylor Swift has been known to write songs that are like reading a diary diary, which is continued here greatly, sush as the AMAZINGLY personal song: "Dear John". Swifty is growing up, andher music is too.
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Great album. It shows a lot of lyrical growth and her vocals have improved to. The songs are all really good and meaningful. The best songs are beck to december, better than revenge and mean. The only reason this is getting bad reviews is because saddos (like the ones she sings about in mean) are jelous and write bad reviews because they don't have jobs or lives. Best album of 2010 by far
  4. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Hard to believe but Taylor Swift has outdone herself again.

    All the songs are consistently strong across the board with some standouts and some veritable masterpieces.It goes to show how having a singular artistic vision always trumps songwriting-by-committee.

    Too many "artists" in the music industry over-rely on third-party songwriters to churn out soulless garbage that neither touches
    the heart or engages the mind.Thank goodness Miss Swift isn't one of them! Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    Just awesome - awesome - I wish that "Dear John" was a verse shorter but other then that it was perfect! Wish I could vote 9.5 but have to vote a 10 as Just because one song is just a little long does not mean that it is almost perfect!
  6. Oct 26, 2010
    0
    Taylor Swift may be growing up, but once again, I'm THROWING UP! Speak Now is pretty much the same as her previous two albums; Hack songwriting and terrible singing. The only difference with Speak Now, is that Taylor has become more lame and self-indulgent than ever...She is sure to continue her run of success with Speak Now, but that only proves one thing; P.T. Barnum WAS RIGHT! There really is a sucker born every minute...I take comfort in knowing that no matter how many albums she sells right now, she will spend the vast majority of her life residing in the 'where are they now bin?' Expand
  7. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    I'm speechless when listening to this album ( even when its title is Speak Now ! ). Just purely genius and amazing ! I feel charmed through every songs here. Surely a bunch of Grammy awards are waiting for Taylor again !!
  8. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Speak Now has a kiss and tell approach but heck, the songwriting is just good. I expected a downfall after a damn strong record named Fearless but she just topped that. The last three songs are great and I expect "Dear John" to appear in some best of year;s list.
    Wow. Giving a grade of Zero is really unjust. I thought that this is her best album so far.
  9. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    A lot of people are comparing "Fearless" to Taylor Swift's latest, "Speak Now". I truly believe neither record is better then the other; it's more fair to say that this successor is the predecessor's equal. Swift continues to compose cute, poppy tracks that the fans are going to dig until her next album is released. It's nice to see that Swift is consistent with her works, and continues to impress with every installment. Expand
  10. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Amazing! this is the word that describes this album! It's WAY better than her two previous albums by a landslide. This albums shows Swift's maturity as an artist and dwells deep into her personal life shown in tracks like "Dear John". My favorite songs on the record are "Enchanted", "Speak Now", "Better than Revenge", and "Haunted". I recommend everyone to pick up a copy of this album, you won"t be disappointed! Expand
  11. Oct 26, 2010
    0
    Speak Now is merely the diary of a 20 year olds personal problems with boys. The Kiss and Tell approach holds no interest to me. Releasing material that you believe is giving you the last word and attempting to publicly humiliate others is offensive to me. Vocally, Taylor has been studio perfected to the best that can be done with her weak limited vocal range,her live performances are....well for me painful to witness. Expand
  12. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First of all, everyone who rated this album 0, I'm betting you didn't listen to more than 2 or 3 songs off of it, if that at all. Don't judge just based on past albums, or whether you think she has talent or not. Honestly. Now on to the review part...

    I think this is Taylor's best album yet. Me, being a huge Taylor fan, had high expectations for this album. And I was ecstatic that those expectations were met. I love how she is so down-to-earth and real, and not going and sleeping with every guy out there. Listening to her songs is like reading her diary, and fans, such as myself, like that. She has clearly matured in both her writing and her vocals. Not that I didn't enjoy all the prince charming fairytale endings-- because believe me, I did-- but I really like the way her writing has changed. She's still sticking to some love songs, because Taylor wouldn't be Taylor if her songs weren't about love. But her love songs are maturing as well. She shows a weaker, more vulnerable side of herself, like in "Back To December" and "Last Kiss". She's also clearly getting a lot deeper in her songs. One of my personal favorite songs, "Never Grow Up", is such a sweet, down-to-earth, and real song. It's completely relatable to anyone who wishes they were a little kid again. In "Innocent", the song written for Kanye West and the VMA incident in 2009, she is forgiving him, despite what he did to her. And in "Back To December", she is asking for forgiveness and saying sorry herself. It takes a person with a great character to admit that they're wrong and that they hurt you, and say "I'm sorry." Especially for a celebrity. She's showing that even celebrities aren't perfect. They're still humans, and they screw up. Taylor is an amazing girl in so many ways-- she's beautiful, both inside and out, she has an amazing personality, as well as great musical and vocal talent. She's young, and she still has the rest of her life in front of her. My only "complaint" is that Dear John is a bit long. It's still a fantastic song, but it's a bit long. But I do like it. Overall, this album is amazing. I love Taylor and Speak Now! (:
    Expand
  13. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    "Speak Now" is one more stunning creation in what is becoming a truly unique discography of a truly special artist. (Someday, instead of a greatest hits album, they'll just issue Taylor Swift's entire collection and call it "The Story of Taylor Swift: A Woman's Real Life In Song" .) It's really amusing to see the jealous critics of this remarkable young artist saying "the same old things". Her singing on "Speak Now" -- so moving in the tender and vulnerable moments, so powerful in its climaxes, so adaptable to all the musical styles used -- just gets stronger and stronger. Personally, I would love to hear any of those so-called "technically superior" songstresses try to match Swift's depths of feeling on lines like "I don't know how to be something you miss" or "Run as fast as you can". And "Speak Now" incorporates so many diverse musical styles -- sultry,explosive rock ("Sparks Fly"), punk pop ("Better Than Revenge"), big production pop ("Haunted"), Roots Country ("Mean"), Folk ("Never Grow Up"), triumphant arena anthems ("Long Live"), heartbreaking confessionals ("Last Kiss" and "Back to December"), and the blues exorcism of "Dear John" -- yet Swift, effortlessly, sounds at home in any of those genres. Anybody who claims Taylor can't sing anymore, bring on your pretender -- let her have a go at "Dr John" (a song which may become Taylor's version of the Beatles' "Hey Jude" -- too long to be a single, but too mesmerizing to ignore, influencing music for years to come). Expand
  14. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    I've never before heard an album that has experimented with so many different styles of music and succeeded at it. Her country story-telling style is still evident throughout the album in each and every song, but there is rock, pop and country all right there in one album. Speak Now is absolutely fantastic and shows the world that Swift is in this business for the long haul. She's not going to be a teen star who fades into oblivion (much to haters disappointment I bet). Expand
  15. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    Wow what an album and it is even better than her previous effort Fearless.It is more mature and diverse.The lyrics are spellbinding and the music is not straightforward as it seems,plenty of twists.
    Like it and definitely one of the best this year aside of Lady Gaga's.
  16. Oct 27, 2010
    0
    First and foremost I am a Country Music fan. Speak Now is not in my opinion an album that should be labeled Country. It is very much a Pop release, in fact every "Critic" review has also called the album Pop, the one exception is the track Mean, which is heavy on Country instruments.
    To me the lyrics and messages delivered are spiteful and "woe is me" in context. Taylor is rather self
    indulgent in her approach to share her past 2 years of life. The length of these songs is also a huge cry to listen, listen,listen to me, me, me, and mine, mine, mine. I'm extremely sad that Country Radio is willing to play this Bubble Gum Pop day after day. Country Music Fans do not want our format to be ruled by Pop artist!! Expand
  17. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    Throughout this album it feels like we have been going through the life of Taylor herself, going through every up and downs in her life and it is evidently felt in her album. The tracks are not arranged such as the fast songs and the slow songs, the good ones and the not so good ones, are apart. It is like a fast one then a slow one alternating in the album, which gives a sort of roller-coaster ride to emphasise the uneven road that she experienced. Expand
  18. Nov 2, 2010
    3
    Taylor Swift's latest release, 'Speak Now', finds her charting familiar territory in terms of song subject matter, and is filled with desperate attempts to appear mature. Swift, who is sometimes criticized for her youthful lyrics, seems to be trying to escape these criticisms by adding a little spice to her sugary sweet image. "Better Than Revenge", an example of Swift's desire to grow up a little, is a song drenched in Paramore-style production and ultimately comes off as juvenile and a little tasteless. "Mean" is another child-like track that resorts to name-calling; it even attacks those who criticize her singing ability. Ironically, her singing ability (or lack thereof) is the main problem with this album. 'Speak Now' is plagued with Swift's weak, breathy vocals, which are being modified by an abundance of pitch correctors throughout the album. Lyrically, there are few problems with Taylor Swift's songs; in fact, many of the songs on 'Speak Now' (such as "Innocent" and "Dear John") are well-written. The fact is that these songs are just wasted when they are being sung by someone with such a lackluster voice. However, it is refreshing to see that, among tons of pop songs with stupid lyrics, that there is one prominent pop singer-songwriter that can write somewhat intelligent songs. Still, this does not excuse Swift's obvious lack of vocal talent.

    Another problem this album faces is that it is hardly a country album at all; the fact that this album is marketed as a country album is laughable. Most songs from 'Speak Now' would sound out of place on country radio; the aforementioned "Mean" is the only exception, and this makes it seem like a misfit on the album. Swift has been walking a fine line between country and pop to this point, and it seems she has chosen her side. The biggest potential problem with this album is the burnout this album may cause for Swift's career. Everybody has heard Swift's confessional, tell-all love songs, but how many songs about the same subject will be released before people tire of it? Only time will tell.
    Expand
  19. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    This album was certainlly worth the 2 year wait. The first time I listened to it I was completely wonderstruck and had to listen a couple more times before I could even come up with complete thoughts about each of the songs. There is not a single song that is not worth listening to. Every song on the entire album is relateable and sung emotionally. The fact that it sold over a million copies on one week should be a sign for all of those who haven't bought it yet to go out and buy it, it's definately money well spent. Expand
  20. Nov 3, 2010
    2
    Taylor was confirmed as a pop singer in her new album and how it can make use of a genre like country music to sell millions while she is destroying this genre, although her lyrics continue to be those of an innocent young girl and continue to generate a good image around it...is the same...always
  21. Oct 28, 2010
    6
    First thing you must know, Speak Now is teen-pop album,not a country album. As we can see, Speak Now hardly has anything different from her previous albums, still boys and girls, girls and boys. Though this is maybe a great topic for a young girl, we do believe a talent songwriter should have more concern for other things around. Maybe she only writes about teenage love because she never grow up and probably she never will.
    Let alone genre and age, this time she does very great in some Rock songs like Haunted which remind me of Avril Lavigne. But most of the intended or pretended "Country songs" (Except BTD, that's a hit!) are boring zzzzzzzzz. It's funny to imagine her singing those rubbish "Country songs" with no one listening or singing those "Rock songs" when her FABULOUS vocal performances make you and your cat scratch.
    Expand
  22. Oct 29, 2010
    0
    Taylor in my opinion has created a Pop Album with Speak Now. I remember fondly how enjoyable Tim McGraw and Our Song were. Her vocals seemed far better back then. Now Taylor has straddled genres and it is clear to me that she desires to be a Pop artist.
    I just finished viewing youtube performances of Taylor Live in New York and I am personally shocked how truly bad those live
    performances are. I fully realize that she is incredibly popular and that every media format seems to believe she is the saviour of the music industry, it still boggles my mine. I expect my doctors to provide excellent health care, my financial planner to provide sound investment proposals and yes singers to be able to sing on pitch and in tune. Silly me. lol Expand
  23. Nov 19, 2010
    3
    +3 for exceptional song-writing.
    +0 for having no voice and having to make it up with autotune.
    +0 for originality.
    Not to mention all her songs sound the same. "Mine", although lyrically different, is pretty much just a worse version of "You Belong With Me".
  24. Nov 6, 2010
    3
    Taylor Swift took 2 years to write songs that are not even #1 hits. Not saying that the album is utterly horrible, but taking 2 years to write songs that are not even hits on the Billboard 100, save Mine, is too long a time. Comparing this to Fearless, Fearless, without a doubt, is better than this album. Her debut week sales of 1.047 million albums are probably because of her huge fan group.
    Taylor doesn't deserve to sell that many albums when her music isn't that nice and mature compared to other singers like Mariah Carey, Eminem, Susan Boyle.
    Expand
  25. Nov 27, 2010
    0
    It's time to grow up Taylor. It's time to write songs that are relevant to people your own age. I don't understand how any male can listen to her lyrics and relate to them? Seriously, I think any guy who listens to her must only like the music, not the message. I think her music has absolutely no depth, and I also don't think an artist should get free points just because she wrote all her songs by herself. Her song subject matter consists almost solely of relationships. She can't even sing that well, every time I see her on TV, she is off-key. "Dear John" is slander, and the fact that she has had that many celebrity boyfriends makes her seem like a total slut. Expand
  26. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    This album showcases Taylor's growth as an artist. The highlights of the album are: Better Than Revenge, Sparks Fly, Haunted, Mean, Enchanted and Back To December. Overall, Taylor's transition is most evident in her second single Back To December where for the first time she blames herself for the demise of a relationship. This album is Swift's best record to date.
  27. Nov 25, 2010
    2
    Wanna try something different, Taylor? Sounds almost exactly like her last two album, and it's about the same things: love. And boys. Once again, she uses her terrible writing skills to slam ex-boyfriends and spit delusional images into teenage girls (like how you deserve the boy you want, even if he's taken; and how every break up is going to be perfect and dramatic and all boys secretly love you). Disappointed. Expand
  28. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    The best album of 2010 for sure, this album is one of the most spectacular pop/country albums that I've ever listened to. It is going to have a legacy on its own and its such a shame this wasn't the album that won Album Of The Year because it is shockingly better than her also amazing album Fearless. People who criticize this album have never even listened to it, the lyrical content alone should be enough because there aren't any other popstars who are making fantastic music these days. this definitely has a place on Rolling Stones 50 Best Female albums of All Time. Collapse
  29. Nov 2, 2010
    7
    This album is a bit of a disappointment. It has echoes of Fearless and for a sophomore album, that isn't good. It gives the impression that these tracks are all the ones that weren't good enough to be on the first album. While there are some tracks which are outstanding, you almost feel cheated after listening to the whole album. The whole "i-love-you-but-daddy-thinks-you-ain't-good" lyric is getting old. The entire album truly feels like it was made up from a teenagers diary. Expand
  30. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Without doubt Swift's most confident and varied album to date, Speak Now manages to just beat the also pretty amazing Fearless in terms of song quality. Swift's vocals and writing are top-notch this time round, and not one song is a throwaway. The choruses are typical Swift fare, which is no doubt a good thing and the line-up doesn't suffer from the mild repetition her last outing did, which is impressive considering the hefty 22 song line-up in the Special Edition. Swift must also be commended for her song-writing ability, which is out in full force this time. All of this means that while Speak Now is on par with Fearless song-wise, the variety pushes it past the 9/10 of the previous album, and into 10/10 territory. Expand
  31. Jan 3, 2011
    8
    Speaking as a Taylor Swift fan since 2006: Taylor didn't bring her A game this time but how could she when Fearless was unmatched in every aspect (not to mention Album of the Year). Nevertheless, Taylor Swift is one of the few great song writers of her generation. If going Platinum in just one week isn't persuasive enough. I personally recommend listening to "Enchanted", "Sparks Fly" and my top play "Speak Now". Many of the songs on the album are over 5 minutes long but the more the merrier. I did find myself asking "When is this song going to end?" at one point but that's the only negative I found in an otherwise outspoken album. I recommend this album to all Taylor fans but if you're new and on the fence then I highly recommend Fearless. Expand
  32. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    awesome album. a must buy. Has great songs including the famous hit "Mine" and "Speak Now", with some other great songs like "Better Than Revenge", and "Haunted". Go and buy a copy this second, heck buy 2. that is an order soldier.
  33. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    While Taylor still has the stars in her eyes of being a teenage girl, she's also learning some of the hard gritty truths of adulthood, while her songs all sound similar in style and range, her lyrics continue to deepen. She continues to grow and as she does, her music does as well.
  34. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest albums of 2010. I'm disappointed because the singles ''Mine'' and ''Back to December'' did not reach the #1 of the U.S. Billboard. I think that the next singles must be: ''Better than Revenge'', ''Dear John'', ''Haunted'', ''Last Kiss'' and ''Innocent''
  35. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    When I think Taylor Swift I think Music Legend, Country Star, My Idol, and much more. She has definitely delivered an album that's even better than her last. Even if I think this album should have had a bit more country in it i still think its worthy of another Album Of The Year nomination. Taylor Swift writes songs from the heart and from real life and that is what makes us want to listen. With pure country-pop songs like "Speak Now" & "Mean" she begins to tell us a story, and with songs like "Dear John" & "Back To December" she tells us a confession. She has even stepped out of the box with Pop-Rock songs like "Better Than Revenge" & "The Story Of Us" which gives us another side of Taylor we haven't seen before. Each song in this album has a meaning and has the ability to capture an audience and make them feel an emotion a connection and a voice! Taylor has a talent and she has made use of her talent in this album, and this album is a great album. Expand
  36. TWB
    Dec 14, 2010
    10
    Brilliant album, one of the best this year. I don't get why people hate her. The songs have a mature sound to it and lyrics are creative as well as really truthful. Her singing has also improved greatly from before. Top songs are Back to December, Long Live, Speak Now and Mean. Highly recommended.
  37. Feb 23, 2011
    7
    Jonathan Burger
    2.14.11
    Taylor Swift: Speak Now

    Taylor Swift, a 20-year-old country singer, is on top of the world right now. In just four years she has released three albums that have made her one of the most lovable pop artists of all time. Although I have been hearing non-stop about this pop/country sensation for years now, I was never extremely interested in her music. I donâ
  38. Mar 12, 2011
    8
    Handsomely produced and beautifully written, Speak Now is an all-time high for Taylor Swift -- and country music itself. While some of the tracks are a bit sappy and overly nostalgic, Swifts lyrics are like storybooks: poetic and in depth. Its lead single, "Mine", is the perfect track for housewives across the United States, whilst "Back to December" is -- what should be -- the perfect "get back together" track. Beside the singles, the standout track -- which is, in fact, a ballad -- is "Innocent". Although some listeners may call it a "sad publicity track", the lyrics insinuate so much more than a cry for attention.

    Overall, Speak Now is not the best album of all-time, but it certainly marks a new high for young Swifts blooming career -- we're finally taking her seriously.
    Expand
  39. Mar 6, 2011
    10
    i think Speak Now is the best album of Taylor Swift, maybe better than Fearless. She writes songs with her heart, not like other artists, such as Katy Perry, Ke$ha and Lady Gaga. I am not saying that she is the best, but people really shouldn't criticise her too much, cause simple and childish is what we have forgotten, that's what Taylor has and we don't have!! Support Taylor and all her songs!!
  40. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    This album is her best yet! She puts her heart into everything that she writes and does. Her songs are catchy and heartfelt. I can't wait for her next album!!
  41. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    Without doubt Swift's most confident and varied album to date, Speak Now manages to just beat the also pretty amazing Fearless in terms of song quality. Swift's vocals and writing are top-notch this time round, and not one song is a throwaway. The choruses are typical Swift fare, which is no doubt a good thing and the line-up doesn't suffer from the mild repetition her last outing did, which is impressive considering the hefty 22 song line-up in the Special Edition. Swift must also be commended for her song-writing ability, which is out in full force this time. All of this means that while Speak Now is on par with Fearless song-wise, the variety pushes it past the 9/10 of the previous album, and into 10/10 territory. Expand
  42. May 20, 2011
    10
    The album shows the vocal abilities and how sophisticated is Taylor Swift as a songwriter. It is a good sequel of her previous work as it expands its themes and adds new aspects of love, breakup and affection. Its lyrics are memorable and it will not be odd to hear some songs on a wedding. It touches people to their heart and they are fascinated with her excellency at the details of a description. Ms Swift must be very good at writing essays. All in all, the album follows every moment when we are in love or the end of a relationship. Expand
  43. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Easily her best album. Despite the silly user reviews that clearly haven't listened to the album, the lyrics show real maturity and the song isn't just about boys. Everything on this album is an improvement over Fearless--the singing, songwriting, and the music, which is more varied and less repetitive than Fearless. Songs like "Dear John" and "Last Kiss" show her strongest songwriting and pack an emotional punch without being cliche or overly sentimental. A real masterpiece. Expand
  44. May 29, 2011
    10
    Taylor Swift has yet again released an album that reaches out to those whom love her and respect her for who she is and what she writes about ( usually break ups). Her songs are catchy and easy to listen to and for those who are true fans, still enjoy her music even though she is slightly more country now
  45. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    Taylor does it again. With another Pop-Country masterpiece, Swift once again ups her game, improving upon Speak Now's wonderful predecessor Fearless, which in turn, improved upon her self-titled debut album. Tracks like "Dear John", "Speak Now", "Long Live", and the album's best, "Enchanted", mold together to make an amazing third studio album from Miss Swift, her best yet.
  46. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    Taylor cleverly blends pop and country as if it were her own genre. It also shows her growth as a songwriter and is far times better than her sophomore effort. Nice solid album and contrary to popular belief it's not the same as Fearless, it's way more varied musically than her previous albums, experimenting with rock, pop, bluegrass-y country and being successful at it
  47. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    Great improvement from Fearless. Most of the songs are beautifully written with touching lyrics and rhythm. Yet again so-easy-to-feel-related Taylor Swift's style. Some are just meh. But none I would call bad. Speak Now, Enchanted, Back To December, and Last Kiss are definite stars.
  48. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Once again, she has truly outdone herself. Her songwriting skills are exceptional and her vocal abilities have improved. Songs that stood out to me were 'Back to December' and 'Sparks Fly'. Definitely her best album; can't wait for her next.
  49. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    AMAZING. I love her third album and she can SPEAK NOW all over the world....... All the songs are consistently strong across the board with some standouts and some veritable masterpieces
    Go Taylor you can do the best than any other singers.
  50. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    I can not get over how wonderful this album is. To this day, every song is full of slightly autobiographical and very heartfelt songs. Despite a couple slow ones, I still love her divine, soothing voice. Good one Taylor!
  51. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    The third album from country/pop artist, Taylor Swift, is a combination of up-tempo country-pop songs, to slow, heart- wrenching love ballads. The album features 14 tracks on the U.S released edition, and is produced by Nathan Chapman, Swiftâ
  52. Jul 14, 2012
    0
    depressing, all the worlds problems and all she cares about is nothing im portant, i mean did this girl live the most sheltered life in the world, i mean this album will make you depressed, i heard taylor turned muslim but not sure, i hope so cuz her albums neeed a lil substance beside highschool, i mean we are adults, and all the songs sound the same and are the same, her on her awful sounding guitar , simplr riffs and her below avg voice, i mean this is total crap 2, listen at your own risk, crap 0 out of 10, don't want my kids 2 be this sheltered and only think about herself and guys 24 -7 , crap u prob go 2 church and believe lies if you like this cd Expand
  53. May 21, 2013
    0
    Taylor Swift! OMG drop acid to my ears, shoot me in the head, but spare me from the dumbness of this woman. Crap music, crap personality, a dumb person, sad people support this freak with money, but this is how masses think...
  54. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    What's the best with this album is that she wrote all the songs by herself. Here is where we can finally know Taylor. There's a lot of everything. We have country songs, country/pop songs, pop and something more. Lyrics are the best by far, and also the way she uses to express her own feelings. "Speak Now" is, by far, her most mature album yet.
  55. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    Taylor Swift's third album is just as good as her second album, Fearless. I love how she wrote her songs with more maturity and affection. I especially liked the songs Enchanted, Superman, and Long Live. Her songs are longer than usual but it won't keep you bored. This album feels really personal as if she is letting us read her diary.
  56. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    Again repeating the fact that her previous album, Taylor presents the best pop album of 2010. From one track to a more vunerĂ¡vel that explores its most aggressive, this girl is another great and phenomenal gift to Pop And definitely do not want the guy who cheated on Taylor Swift.
  57. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    Amazing album, hands down the best Taylor Swift album in my opinion. Could listen to it on repeat for hours and hours. It has incorporates rock/pop sounds and also some country. This album is full of quite long songs and songs like Last Kiss and Dear John you can really feel her pain through the lyrics she sings. She is such a genius song writer.
  58. Jan 25, 2014
    8
    Best album by Taylor Swift. I liked how diverse are the songs. It's good musically but lyrically, something is bothering me. Songs like "Speak Now", "Dear John" and "Better than Revenge" made me wonder what Taylor really is inside. In my honest opinion, t's like at some point, she has a very narrow perspective at things. That's just what I think though.
  59. Feb 23, 2014
    3
    I did not like this album. Besides the songs: Back to December, Mean and Mine, I did not like the other songs. They were not catchy and her range is not exactly helping her out. The lyrics are stupid and not inspirational at all. Too generic to be a good album.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Even in their overwork, however, they evince an effort that bears a remarkable resemblance to care‑-that is, to caring in the best, broadest, and most emotional sense.
  2. Jan 11, 2011
    70
    While Taylor turns her wrath on a woman who steals her man on "Better Than Revenge," she turns that critical eye on herself in "Back to December," a thorough apology to a former lover she regrets having left behind. Other tunes, such as "Mean" and "Sparks Fly," suffer from generic and sometimes underdeveloped lyrics.
  3. 70
    Because of the buzz behind it, Speak Now was destined to be a commercial success no matter what. Thankfully, the album succeeds on an artistic level as well.