Speak Now

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Speak Now Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 422 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer-songwriter's third album is the first that she wrote entirely on her own and remains true to her country-pop roots that made her one of the biggest selling artists of 2009.
Buy On

Top Track

Sparks Fly
The way you move is like a full on rainstorm And I'm a house of cards You're the kind of reckless that should send me running But I kinda know that I... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Even in their overwork, however, they evince an effort that bears a remarkable resemblance to care‑-that is, to caring in the best, broadest, and most emotional sense.
  2. Oct 29, 2010
    80
    It's provided great fodder as devotees of celebrity gossip speculate on who, exactly, she's singing about, but with Swift's endearing appeal as a singer and ever-growing skill as a songwriter, Speak Now makes for great listening, too.
  3. Dec 10, 2010
    80
    At times the self-consciousness of an artist forcing herself into new modes shows – but mostly, Speak Now is a triumph.
  4. Oct 28, 2010
    70
    With some judicious – let's have it then – tailoring, this is a sparky and affecting record, moving Swift on at a stately and assured pace.
  5. Jan 11, 2011
    70
    While Taylor turns her wrath on a woman who steals her man on "Better Than Revenge," she turns that critical eye on herself in "Back to December," a thorough apology to a former lover she regrets having left behind. Other tunes, such as "Mean" and "Sparks Fly," suffer from generic and sometimes underdeveloped lyrics.
  6. Nov 24, 2010
    70
    She can still sound strained and thin, and often strays into a pitch that drives some people crazy; but she's learned how to make words sound like what they mean.
  7. Nov 4, 2010
    40
    Celebrity aside, Speak Now is as hooky as its predecessors but differs in its often angry, spiteful tone.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 91
  2. Negative: 14 out of 91
  1. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    awesome album. a must buy. Has great songs including the famous hit "Mine" and "Speak Now", with some other great songs like "Better Thanawesome album. a must buy. Has great songs including the famous hit "Mine" and "Speak Now", with some other great songs like "Better Than Revenge", and "Haunted". Go and buy a copy this second, heck buy 2. that is an order soldier. Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Notice that not one of those zero reviews make mention of one song on the album. I call **** **** This is a great pop record with some of theNotice that not one of those zero reviews make mention of one song on the album. I call **** **** This is a great pop record with some of the catchiest tracks I've heard this year; at the same time, "Dear John" and "Haunted" show talent beyond the basic stage she's at now. Collapse
  3. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    I can not get over how wonderful this album is. To this day, every song is full of slightly autobiographical and very heartfelt songs. DespiteI can not get over how wonderful this album is. To this day, every song is full of slightly autobiographical and very heartfelt songs. Despite a couple slow ones, I still love her divine, soothing voice. Good one Taylor! Expand
  4. Jun 16, 2017
    10
    “Speak Now”, terceiro álbum de Taylor Swift, foi lançado em 25 de outubro de 2010. O álbum foi anteriormente anunciado em 20 de julho através“Speak Now”, terceiro álbum de Taylor Swift, foi lançado em 25 de outubro de 2010. O álbum foi anteriormente anunciado em 20 de julho através de um stream online. Todas as faixas foram compostas unicamente por Taylor e produzidas por ela e Nathan Chapman. Sobre o álbum, Taylor disse durante seu lançamento: “Cada canção é como um roteiro sobre o que essa relação representava, com pequenos marcadores que talvez nem todo mundo vai saber, mas há coisas que eram pequenos detalhes do relacionamento, pequenas dicas”. Em outro momento, Taylor explicou que o álbum se chamaria “Enchanted”, mas depois de uma conversa com o presidente de sua gravadora, Scott Borchetta, eles decidiram alterar o nome do disco porque não se tratava de um álbum de contos de fadas ou sobre seu ensino médio como os anteriores. Foi o primeiro álbum de Taylor a atingir a avassaladora marca de mais de um milhão de cópias vendidas durante a semana de lançamento. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    This album was certainlly worth the 2 year wait. The first time I listened to it I was completely wonderstruck and had to listen a coupleThis album was certainlly worth the 2 year wait. The first time I listened to it I was completely wonderstruck and had to listen a couple more times before I could even come up with complete thoughts about each of the songs. There is not a single song that is not worth listening to. Every song on the entire album is relateable and sung emotionally. The fact that it sold over a million copies on one week should be a sign for all of those who haven't bought it yet to go out and buy it, it's definately money well spent. Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2011
    8
    Speaking as a Taylor Swift fan since 2006: Taylor didn't bring her A game this time but how could she when Fearless was unmatched in everySpeaking as a Taylor Swift fan since 2006: Taylor didn't bring her A game this time but how could she when Fearless was unmatched in every aspect (not to mention Album of the Year). Nevertheless, Taylor Swift is one of the few great song writers of her generation. If going Platinum in just one week isn't persuasive enough. I personally recommend listening to "Enchanted", "Sparks Fly" and my top play "Speak Now". Many of the songs on the album are over 5 minutes long but the more the merrier. I did find myself asking "When is this song going to end?" at one point but that's the only negative I found in an otherwise outspoken album. I recommend this album to all Taylor fans but if you're new and on the fence then I highly recommend Fearless. Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2012
    0
    depressing, all the worlds problems and all she cares about is nothing im portant, i mean did this girl live the most sheltered life in thedepressing, all the worlds problems and all she cares about is nothing im portant, i mean did this girl live the most sheltered life in the world, i mean this album will make you depressed, i heard taylor turned muslim but not sure, i hope so cuz her albums neeed a lil substance beside highschool, i mean we are adults, and all the songs sound the same and are the same, her on her awful sounding guitar , simplr riffs and her below avg voice, i mean this is total crap 2, listen at your own risk, crap 0 out of 10, don't want my kids 2 be this sheltered and only think about herself and guys 24 -7 , crap u prob go 2 church and believe lies if you like this cd Expand

See all 91 User Reviews