Speak Now - Taylor Swift
Speak Now Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 208 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer-songwriter's third album is the first that she wrote entirely on her own and remains true to her country-pop roots that made her one of the biggest selling artists of 2009.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Even in their overwork, however, they evince an effort that bears a remarkable resemblance to care‑-that is, to caring in the best, broadest, and most emotional sense.
  2. Oct 29, 2010
    80
    It's provided great fodder as devotees of celebrity gossip speculate on who, exactly, she's singing about, but with Swift's endearing appeal as a singer and ever-growing skill as a songwriter, Speak Now makes for great listening, too.
  3. Dec 10, 2010
    80
    At times the self-consciousness of an artist forcing herself into new modes shows – but mostly, Speak Now is a triumph.
  4. Oct 28, 2010
    70
    With some judicious – let's have it then – tailoring, this is a sparky and affecting record, moving Swift on at a stately and assured pace.
  5. Jan 11, 2011
    70
    While Taylor turns her wrath on a woman who steals her man on "Better Than Revenge," she turns that critical eye on herself in "Back to December," a thorough apology to a former lover she regrets having left behind. Other tunes, such as "Mean" and "Sparks Fly," suffer from generic and sometimes underdeveloped lyrics.
  6. Nov 24, 2010
    70
    She can still sound strained and thin, and often strays into a pitch that drives some people crazy; but she's learned how to make words sound like what they mean.
  7. Nov 4, 2010
    40
    Celebrity aside, Speak Now is as hooky as its predecessors but differs in its often angry, spiteful tone.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 66
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 66
  3. Negative: 14 out of 66
  1. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Notice that not one of those zero reviews make mention of one song on the album. I call **** **** This is a great pop record with some of theNotice that not one of those zero reviews make mention of one song on the album. I call **** **** This is a great pop record with some of the catchiest tracks I've heard this year; at the same time, "Dear John" and "Haunted" show talent beyond the basic stage she's at now. Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2014
    10
    Speak now is arguably Taylor's best album lyrically and musically. In this album she delved much deeper into her confessional approach toSpeak now is arguably Taylor's best album lyrically and musically. In this album she delved much deeper into her confessional approach to songwriting by writing solely all of the songs excluding "If This Was A Movie" which is a bonus track. Here we saw Taylor, experimenting with different genres. She plays with her root genres which are pop and country and expands to alternative rock. She never stayed in one genre for too long. she conquered new territories and the result was flawless. Another amazing thing about this album are the epic lyrics. Here she took the "Speak Now" phrase seriously and boy did she speak now. She calls out her critics in "Mean". The song was very cleverly written it won her 2 grammys. She wishes she didn't grow up while showing a mature side in "Never Grow Up" She apologizes to her ex in "Back to December" and explicitly gives reference to sex in "Sparks Fly". She reminisces a lost love in "Last Kiss", shows forgiveness in "Innocent" and bashes a girl who stole her bf in "Better Than Revenge". Taylor didn't fail in the lyrics department and gave us two of her most amazing lines ever. 'You made a rebel of a careless man’s carefull daughter’ from "Mine" and 'people throw rocks at things that shine' from "Ours" slays discographies. Another thing that one would notice about the album is how she pushes her voice. She shows how she has improved vocally in "Dear John" and "Haunted" where she belts out the climaxes while not losing her signature voice in "Speak Now" and in the intro of "Enchanted". What I like about this album is that she didn't make this album to be radio-friendly. She didn't compromise quality over having hits. Most of the songs are lengthy and those songs are the gems of the album. They are just too long and too good to be played on the radio. Another thing that Taylor made sure was to make the album relatable to her fans which she always delivers with her albums. This album is a manifestation of Taylor's growth as an artist, and if this album is any indication of what she will become in the future, I am excited to see what she has to offer her coming albums.

    This album is a manifestation of Taylor's growth as an artist, and if this album is any indication of what she will become in the future, I am excited to see what she has to offer with her coming albums.
    Expand
  3. TWB
    Dec 14, 2010
    10
    Brilliant album, one of the best this year. I don't get why people hate her. The songs have a mature sound to it and lyrics are creative asBrilliant album, one of the best this year. I don't get why people hate her. The songs have a mature sound to it and lyrics are creative as well as really truthful. Her singing has also improved greatly from before. Top songs are Back to December, Long Live, Speak Now and Mean. Highly recommended. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    I've never before heard an album that has experimented with so many different styles of music and succeeded at it. Her country story-tellingI've never before heard an album that has experimented with so many different styles of music and succeeded at it. Her country story-telling style is still evident throughout the album in each and every song, but there is rock, pop and country all right there in one album. Speak Now is absolutely fantastic and shows the world that Swift is in this business for the long haul. She's not going to be a teen star who fades into oblivion (much to haters disappointment I bet). Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    What's the best with this album is that she wrote all the songs by herself. Here is where we can finally know Taylor. There's a lot ofWhat's the best with this album is that she wrote all the songs by herself. Here is where we can finally know Taylor. There's a lot of everything. We have country songs, country/pop songs, pop and something more. Lyrics are the best by far, and also the way she uses to express her own feelings. "Speak Now" is, by far, her most mature album yet. Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2011
    8
    Speaking as a Taylor Swift fan since 2006: Taylor didn't bring her A game this time but how could she when Fearless was unmatched in everySpeaking as a Taylor Swift fan since 2006: Taylor didn't bring her A game this time but how could she when Fearless was unmatched in every aspect (not to mention Album of the Year). Nevertheless, Taylor Swift is one of the few great song writers of her generation. If going Platinum in just one week isn't persuasive enough. I personally recommend listening to "Enchanted", "Sparks Fly" and my top play "Speak Now". Many of the songs on the album are over 5 minutes long but the more the merrier. I did find myself asking "When is this song going to end?" at one point but that's the only negative I found in an otherwise outspoken album. I recommend this album to all Taylor fans but if you're new and on the fence then I highly recommend Fearless. Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2012
    0
    depressing, all the worlds problems and all she cares about is nothing im portant, i mean did this girl live the most sheltered life in thedepressing, all the worlds problems and all she cares about is nothing im portant, i mean did this girl live the most sheltered life in the world, i mean this album will make you depressed, i heard taylor turned muslim but not sure, i hope so cuz her albums neeed a lil substance beside highschool, i mean we are adults, and all the songs sound the same and are the same, her on her awful sounding guitar , simplr riffs and her below avg voice, i mean this is total crap 2, listen at your own risk, crap 0 out of 10, don't want my kids 2 be this sheltered and only think about herself and guys 24 -7 , crap u prob go 2 church and believe lies if you like this cd Expand

See all 66 User Reviews