User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 252 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 252

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    This is not one album by Outkast, rather, it's two solo albums sold together as a group album. One is by Big Boi and the other is by Andre 3000. Unfortunately for Big Boi, 3000's record is so compelling and overwhelming that no one has time for Big Boi's album. 3000 clearly stands out, releasing an album the completely moves beyond the boundaries of hip-hop into Prince-esque territory, combining jazz, funk, soul, pseudo-rock and hip hop into one fascinating album that has left fans thirsty for a new solo album from 3000 since 2003. Overall, Speakerboxxx/The Love Below is another astounding Outkast album, yet one could say it started the divide that has left Outkast on a hiatus ever since their mediocre followup record Idlewild was released. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    I can't believe people gave this album negative reviews. It is obviously in the top five for best hip hop of the decade, and probably in the top 20 for best overall in the decade. Andre 3000 is a great producer, and I love the way he mixes hip hop, soul, poetry, and jazz into the music he makes. 2 cds are better than 1. Great job.
  3. Aug 27, 2010
    6
    First, I don't like giving negative reviews. So, that is the primary reason this album receives a 6 instead of a 5 from me. I absolutely love many of the tracks on this disc, but it does need some editing in my opinion. Many of these songs find their way to my play lists, and many of them do not.
  4. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    While Speakerboxxx is certainly a strong hip hop record, The Love Below is without a doubt the most innovative r&b album in years, and is perhaps the best album of any style of music for the entire decade 2000-2009. Pure musical genius.
  5. May 15, 2011
    9
    great music and themes. great achievement. .......................................................................................................... another great album by outkast. one of the best albums of the decade
  6. Apr 25, 2012
    4
    This album instantly takes me back to 2003 whenever I hear it, but I don't think it has aged well. It's still stuck in 2003. If you only download "Hey Ya", then you're not missing much from the rest of the album.
  7. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    For those who rate this album low simply don't appreciate music that pushes boundaries and would rather hear the same thing over and over again. This album won album of the year at the grammy's and that should speak for itself.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Apr 17, 2012
    100
    OutKast's duo have made a cohesive statement that not only cries at the boundaries of rap music but vaults over them to a place where the music sounds like neon colors and the only rule is that you must free your mind. Your ears will follow.
  2. 90
    The genius of past Outkast isn't diluted or diminished across these disks, rather it's doubled, expanded and explored. [Sep 2003, p.99]
  3. Speakerboxxx--by itself the album of the year--makes the failings of The Love Below all the more evident.