Speakerboxxx/The Love Below

  • Record Label: La Face
  • Release Date: Sep 23, 2003
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 281 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 281

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanC
    Feb 1, 2004
    10
    If these two CDs are not the greatest hip hop CDs ever, they are seriously close!
  2. Melo
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    this has to be one of the most original albums ever mostly on andre's part this album has everything going for it if it've been seperate albums i would've given speakerboxx an 8 cause it's better than average hip hop and i would've given the love below a 9 cause andre "ice cold" 3000 just took it to another level andre is no longer a rap or hip hop artist he is this has to be one of the most original albums ever mostly on andre's part this album has everything going for it if it've been seperate albums i would've given speakerboxx an 8 cause it's better than average hip hop and i would've given the love below a 9 cause andre "ice cold" 3000 just took it to another level andre is no longer a rap or hip hop artist he is now a music artist cause his album is for people of different taste in music and "prototype" is one of the most beautiful songs i've ever heard even if the man can't sing it's still beautiful so since this is one album i can't give it no less than a ten Expand
  3. KennyB
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    I apolgize for grabing it so late. Big Boi did his thisle(as usual) and 3000 dropped the best record (sleeper) since " Here My Dear",Marvin Gaye...Thank yall Peace..
  4. claireg
    Jun 10, 2004
    10
    its wiked
  5. JuliusD
    Jul 13, 2004
    10
    The Love Below is the best album I have ever owned. Of course, number #2 is Stankonia. Speakerboxx is completely off the hook! These cats are funky!!!
  6. KyleighH
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    This album is also cool. I love the song "Roses" and I even saw the music video for it on MTV and thought it was terrific. I give this album two thumbs up.
  7. James
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Outkast is the greatest hip hop group out there today!
  8. DavidH
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    absolutely incredibly orginal, outkast continue to redefine hip hop and r'n'b, while pushing the envelope to create an album that is jam-packed with weird, unpredictable, thoroughly exciting tracks, like nothing you've heard before. I think it is impossible to compare the two discs, while both are beautifully flawed, they both contain so many different strengths. While the absolutely incredibly orginal, outkast continue to redefine hip hop and r'n'b, while pushing the envelope to create an album that is jam-packed with weird, unpredictable, thoroughly exciting tracks, like nothing you've heard before. I think it is impossible to compare the two discs, while both are beautifully flawed, they both contain so many different strengths. While the love below is sexier, more soulful, with wildly bizzare hooks and some softer chilled songs, it is perfectly clear that the love below is a redefining r'n'b album, speakerboxxx redefines hip hop, containing very lively catchy jazzy songs, and then becoming very dark, more street and urban, still containing wildly catchy hooks, and both are emotionally resonant. while it is impossible to rule out one as better, everyone will have their favourite, depending on their preference to either r'n'b or hip hop. overall, one of the most successful albums ever, and my favourite album ever! Expand
  9. RabZ
    Nov 2, 2003
    10
    Hey ya! 2 for 1....Great. What kan be better then this.
  10. BoydB
    Oct 14, 2003
    10
    this album is there 2nd best next to there 1st one.... i did not think it could be done and they did it.....
  11. jorman
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    Can somebody suck the underwear out of my ass cheeks? I mean, seriously, I feel like a Banana-Mör bar. Robin Williams is on the PHONE. THE PHONE.
  12. BrandonR
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    This is one of the best Outkast albums. A lot of people do not understand the statements that Andre is to make, but that why he added 3000, because he is ahead of his time. To all the critics of 3000, close your mouth and open your mind. Stop looking at the way he dresses and listen to the music.
  13. BennieJ
    Oct 19, 2003
    9
    If there was ever a doubt about who is #1 - ERASE IT! Funky, complex, brilliance!
  14. diggerdig
    Dec 11, 2003
    9
    I like every song on The Love Below. I really think "Hey Ya" is the best song. Andre 3000 was a genius when creating this song. I especially like the line"give me some surgar, i am your neighbor ahh" and "shake it like a poloroid picture". Those lines are just genius.
  15. deucejake
    Dec 12, 2003
    9
    Anybody who doesn't like this album should be ripped apart by wild dogs and then slowly fed into the incinerator of darkest hell. If you don't like Outkast you don't like music. And you're an un-American terrorist (just like King George II).
  16. TerrencW
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    Perfection of one's art has been attained. If perfection is attainable. OUTKAST has found it and went miles beyond it.
  17. omega374
    Oct 25, 2003
    10
    i haven't heard it yet, but i think since big boi and andre 3000 are hot they deserve a ten. Detroit WHAT
  18. zachdogg
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    pure genius... adrenaline rush on both sides.. Outer Space meets parts unknown.. great job to both.. Speakerboxx the slightly better cd though..
  19. NealS
    Sep 12, 2003
    10
    Great album, the first disk continues the 'outkast' feeling. The 2nd CD is excellent in it's own way. It explores a lot of untouched areas by hip-hop artist. When i noticed the track with Norah Jones (Take Off Your Cool), I was shocked. Great purchase.
  20. AbramB
    Sep 18, 2003
    10
    This album is weird as hell at first...keep listening. PLEASE. This albums takes a keen year to understand it. Keep listening to it over and over again. It may be too overwhelming at first, but once you listen through it a few times you'll love it.
  21. JasonC
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    This particular cd far surpassed anything that had ever been attempted to be created. The love below is the decades best most intresting album. Me being from the south, Huntsville, Alabama i am proud to play this cd anywhere i go. Not to be forgotten Big Boi's Speakerboxxx shows why outkast, cee lo green, and ludacris are the tightest lyracist out. Frankly put these guys is (off the brain).
  22. CoreyW
    Sep 23, 2003
    9
    Sophistifunk - is this what we are supposed to call it? I do believe so. Number of people shot and drugs taken in this album? Zero. So it doesn't fit the "mold" that's been placed on "Rap" by the big Record Labels who refuse to sign great acts and instead promote former drug runners and gangsters... Outkast blows everything out there in the big poppy prefab world and delivers a Sophistifunk - is this what we are supposed to call it? I do believe so. Number of people shot and drugs taken in this album? Zero. So it doesn't fit the "mold" that's been placed on "Rap" by the big Record Labels who refuse to sign great acts and instead promote former drug runners and gangsters... Outkast blows everything out there in the big poppy prefab world and delivers a very fine-tuned and genre-busting CD. Great album, enough said. E-Zines like Stylus shouldn't be counted in the whole of the Metacritic rating system, they obviously listen to too much 50 Cent and The Neptunes (which would make anyone sane enough not to be swayed by Pharell's bank account throw up), not enough "real rap." Expand
  23. Ashekyssss
    Sep 23, 2003
    10
    its hot!
  24. kenm
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    Perfect. @ unique and totally different cd's that are the two best hi hop cd's of the year by themselve's. Outkast has outdone itself again.
  25. AshS
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    I give this album a Super 10. Outkasts' style and and content are ever changing. Anyone whose tired of all the same ideas and concepts that are going on today can appreciate the diversity brought to the table by this flawless duo. The album is diverse and touches every emotion and feeling inside my body. It takes me on a journey to seek out the many sides and personas of the group. I give this album a Super 10. Outkasts' style and and content are ever changing. Anyone whose tired of all the same ideas and concepts that are going on today can appreciate the diversity brought to the table by this flawless duo. The album is diverse and touches every emotion and feeling inside my body. It takes me on a journey to seek out the many sides and personas of the group. Anytime an artist can let their fans in like that it must be appreciated. Expand
  26. PoundsKbfunk
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    Q magazine writes, "The Love Below isn't really hip hop at all", but so what if it not hip hop-it's better than hip hop-it's music!! Album of the year! Hands down!
  27. AdamM
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    Outkast continue to flip it better than any group in the game. Continuing to diversify as their careers lengthen, they're sure to impress us for years to come. Dope underground shit: Viktor Vaughn - Vaudeville Villain
  28. Jeff
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    Few commercial artists around take as many risks as this album does. Buy this CD now...thank me later.
  29. daver
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    about 40 tracks. over 2 hours of listening pleasure. each song hits another unique topic and takes the listener to another train of thought all together. i think some people are afraid to tell the truth that they like the solo debuts from this duo because if there are too many critics saying its a masterpiece, outkast could stay this way. hell, if they continue to make music this great, i about 40 tracks. over 2 hours of listening pleasure. each song hits another unique topic and takes the listener to another train of thought all together. i think some people are afraid to tell the truth that they like the solo debuts from this duo because if there are too many critics saying its a masterpiece, outkast could stay this way. hell, if they continue to make music this great, i won't mind. Expand
  30. kaydee
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    This is by far the best Outkast album ever. READ MY TEXTThis album will sell 10 million copies by the end of the year.
  31. lewisalex
    Sep 26, 2003
    10
    love adre3000's cd, but big bois is garbage. what they need to do is stay together and keep putting out the hits.
  32. JaredB
    Sep 26, 2003
    10
    Phat, ill, and everything else inbetween, a true collaboration of talents. Allowing the personalities of each to shine in one beautiful jewelry case is my heaven! Thank you Outkast for breaking your second release into my top 10 albums of all time. Aquemni, meet SpeakerboxxTheLoveBelow.
  33. carlos
    Sep 27, 2003
    10
    this album is insane and couragous it better get album of the year
  34. DCipher_7
    Sep 27, 2003
    10
    Outkast has once again raised the bar for artist in the hiphop industry. Big Boi reclaims his stand as one of the top mcs in the industry when he rips thru a variety of different tracks from crunk, to southernfunkdafied on his solo shot. Andre3000 has litterally done the equivalent to reinventing the wheel in the industry by single handedly becoming the protocol for every artist in every Outkast has once again raised the bar for artist in the hiphop industry. Big Boi reclaims his stand as one of the top mcs in the industry when he rips thru a variety of different tracks from crunk, to southernfunkdafied on his solo shot. Andre3000 has litterally done the equivalent to reinventing the wheel in the industry by single handedly becoming the protocol for every artist in every genre. One word to describe his album...WOE! Expand
  35. EmersonD
    Sep 28, 2003
    10
    Arguable flaws, truly visionary, I would really rate them separately as Speakerboxxx 9 and The Love Below 10, but putting them together Andre brings up the average just enough. Best rap group ever, and not an easy thing to admit either.
  36. bbean
    Sep 28, 2003
    10
    To those who think 3000's half is lacking, show me any recent record in hip-hop, rock, funk, or jazz, with as much musical and lyrical exploration. To say he wanders immaturely is to ignore creative genius; you would have thought Salvador Dali was a horny child (not that there's anything wrong with behing a horny child). Dre still shows us his compositional skills, while To those who think 3000's half is lacking, show me any recent record in hip-hop, rock, funk, or jazz, with as much musical and lyrical exploration. To say he wanders immaturely is to ignore creative genius; you would have thought Salvador Dali was a horny child (not that there's anything wrong with behing a horny child). Dre still shows us his compositional skills, while reminding us that his rhymes are quite possibly the best out there, matched only by few including Big Boi. Speakerboxxx is just as impressive: while sticking closer to the present-day hip-hop, Mr. Patton has taken us a step closer to perfecting the genre (don't forget that 3000 also co-produced a lot of these tracks). Show me vocal talents, horn arrangements, basslines, and beats like this on any other rap/r&b record. Andre explores his musical roots while suggesting elements of future style - his greatest experiment yet. Big Boi's flows are better than ever, and I'm confident that he will be a major player in hip-hop for decades to come. This is a must have, and though Grammy Awards mean jack sh**, it had better win Album of the Year. Expand
  37. Sheila
    Sep 29, 2003
    10
    Love Dre's C.D. It's off the hook! Prototype, spread, valentines day! Every song on this C.D. is nice.
  38. KayM
    Sep 29, 2003
    10
    Not turning a blind eye to their differences, but rather embracing them - each on their very own special disc. That's what differentiates the eccentric from the plain. Vibrate higher!
  39. TwaneJ
    Sep 29, 2003
    10
    This album is the best album of the year and several before for that matter in the genre of Hip Hop, Rap, and several others.
  40. icecold
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    No one has ever done it , two of the greatest cd's packages together? It like a two for one lapdance! CLASSIC.
  41. dougd
    Feb 12, 2004
    10
    Outkasts is tight but what is the deal with all the pianno music on the Love below,but i like Hey ya ,and the way u move, so gotta give it up soooo. i gavem a 10
  42. jamikaw
    Apr 11, 2004
    10
    i think it rocks it would have 2 b the best cd i really like the song roses and prototype. OutKast rocks
  43. jimf
    Jun 17, 2004
    10
    GREATEST ALBUM EVER
  44. EthanK
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    **** rolling stone magazine. this album is genius.
  45. JuliaW
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    Soooooooooo good
  46. ScottW.
    Aug 19, 2007
    8
    The secouned is a tie at 8.0 Very fun guys to listen to, and without a dull moment once again makes this a fine secound installment.
  47. ksnizzle
    Nov 11, 2003
    10
    Totally unique and untouchable. Outkast has two minds that work together as one, or in this case two cds that are like no other in the game. That is why they continue to be the best in the game. They are not afraid to do what they feel. Classical, if you don't like it, then you can't appreciate good musick.
  48. BigWorm
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    OFF THE HOOK. The lyrics and the level of thought behind them are unmatched, in todays hip-hop culture. Many people will not be able to relate, if they only listen once, or separate what they hear from what they think (your mind and ears should work together, when listening to these albums). I was a little thrown off, initially. But, after further indulgance, I can't seem to stop OFF THE HOOK. The lyrics and the level of thought behind them are unmatched, in todays hip-hop culture. Many people will not be able to relate, if they only listen once, or separate what they hear from what they think (your mind and ears should work together, when listening to these albums). I was a little thrown off, initially. But, after further indulgance, I can't seem to stop listening. I've been listening to These brothers (from another mother), since their first release. They haven't let me down yet. Expand
  49. AndrewR
    Nov 21, 2003
    8
    Speakerboxxx/The Love Below is loads of fun, and I admire the double-album format, but man, this album would've been just perfect if Dre and Big Boi had actually collaborated more. As it is, Big Boi's Speakerboxxx feels like an Outkast album, and all the incredible dopeness that comes with it. Dre's disc, The Love Below, is a fine listen, but it's all over the place Speakerboxxx/The Love Below is loads of fun, and I admire the double-album format, but man, this album would've been just perfect if Dre and Big Boi had actually collaborated more. As it is, Big Boi's Speakerboxxx feels like an Outkast album, and all the incredible dopeness that comes with it. Dre's disc, The Love Below, is a fine listen, but it's all over the place and at times too "out there," because Dre knows he's a creative genius and suffers by trying to jam-pack The Love Below with his creativity. It works sometimes-- "Happy Valentine's Day," "Dracula's Wedding," and "Hey Ya!" are all incredibly jumpin'-- but there's just one too many sub-Prince funk ballads to make it a uniformly great listen. And for all of Outkast's innovations, they still haven't learned to make a skit-less hip-hop album. That said, Speakerboxxx/The Love Below is well worth the price tag, jam-packed with great tunes (particularly on Boi's disc) and one of the most entertaining releases of 2003 thus far. Expand
  50. Jessica
    Nov 26, 2003
    8
    Speakerboxx--I liked to sit down and listen to all the lyrics and beats in these songs. They mix funky soul, rhythm and blues, modern day hip hop and rap. The Love Below--more like a cd I would just put in the player and not pay attention to and use as background music. The mixture of styles were all over the place, they don't flow together. My favorites on Speakerboxxx are Ghetto Speakerboxx--I liked to sit down and listen to all the lyrics and beats in these songs. They mix funky soul, rhythm and blues, modern day hip hop and rap. The Love Below--more like a cd I would just put in the player and not pay attention to and use as background music. The mixture of styles were all over the place, they don't flow together. My favorites on Speakerboxxx are Ghetto Muzick(spelling?), War, Church, and The Way you move. On the Love Below, my only favorite so far is Hey Ya. Although these are separate cds, they still work together on some of the songs. I think this cd is a definite for any OutKast fan and for those who are open-minded. The feelings I got listening to these cds range from energetic, sexy, mellow, happy-go-lucky, tough, funny, weird, "what the heck is this!?" (at some points), overall its a good trip. Expand
  51. HourKittt
    Dec 24, 2003
    10
    This album restored my faith in hip hop. It's simple as that. I got scared that everything would turn in to eminem&co-style shit. Until two dope boyz came back and made my day. May their future be a bright one. Praise be.
  52. KiriC
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    WTF is with all the people that didn't give this album 10!This is by far one of the biggest leaps in hip-hop/rap history. sheer originality explodes from every song, i would say it is up there with stankonia by far.
  53. briang
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    One of the most creative, open-minded albums ever composed. Freedom of expression reigns to the point of laughablility, yet the intelligence and depth of thought goes far beyond anything comical. It's painfully insightful about todays life in love.
  54. DanielJ
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    Speakboxxx is the best hip hop album ever...bar none! The Love Below is strange but still entertaining.
  55. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    I can't believe people gave this album negative reviews. It is obviously in the top five for best hip hop of the decade, and probably in the top 20 for best overall in the decade. Andre 3000 is a great producer, and I love the way he mixes hip hop, soul, poetry, and jazz into the music he makes. 2 cds are better than 1. Great job.
  56. May 15, 2011
    9
    great music and themes. great achievement. .......................................................................................................... another great album by outkast. one of the best albums of the decade
  57. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    For those who rate this album low simply don't appreciate music that pushes boundaries and would rather hear the same thing over and over again. This album won album of the year at the grammy's and that should speak for itself.
  58. Apr 11, 2015
    8
    8/10 .................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Apr 17, 2012
    100
    OutKast's duo have made a cohesive statement that not only cries at the boundaries of rap music but vaults over them to a place where the music sounds like neon colors and the only rule is that you must free your mind. Your ears will follow.
  2. 90
    The genius of past Outkast isn't diluted or diminished across these disks, rather it's doubled, expanded and explored. [Sep 2003, p.99]
  3. Speakerboxxx--by itself the album of the year--makes the failings of The Love Below all the more evident.