• Record Label: La Face
  • Release Date: Sep 23, 2003
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 279 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 279

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 11, 2015
    8
    8/10 .................................................................................................................................................
  2. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    This is not one album by Outkast, rather, it's two solo albums sold together as a group album. One is by Big Boi and the other is by Andre 3000. Unfortunately for Big Boi, 3000's record is so compelling and overwhelming that no one has time for Big Boi's album. 3000 clearly stands out, releasing an album the completely moves beyond the boundaries of hip-hop into Prince-esque territory,This is not one album by Outkast, rather, it's two solo albums sold together as a group album. One is by Big Boi and the other is by Andre 3000. Unfortunately for Big Boi, 3000's record is so compelling and overwhelming that no one has time for Big Boi's album. 3000 clearly stands out, releasing an album the completely moves beyond the boundaries of hip-hop into Prince-esque territory, combining jazz, funk, soul, pseudo-rock and hip hop into one fascinating album that has left fans thirsty for a new solo album from 3000 since 2003. Overall, Speakerboxxx/The Love Below is another astounding Outkast album, yet one could say it started the divide that has left Outkast on a hiatus ever since their mediocre followup record Idlewild was released. Expand
  3. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    For those who rate this album low simply don't appreciate music that pushes boundaries and would rather hear the same thing over and over again. This album won album of the year at the grammy's and that should speak for itself.
  4. May 15, 2011
    9
    great music and themes. great achievement. .......................................................................................................... another great album by outkast. one of the best albums of the decade
  5. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    While Speakerboxxx is certainly a strong hip hop record, The Love Below is without a doubt the most innovative r&b album in years, and is perhaps the best album of any style of music for the entire decade 2000-2009. Pure musical genius.
  6. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    I can't believe people gave this album negative reviews. It is obviously in the top five for best hip hop of the decade, and probably in the top 20 for best overall in the decade. Andre 3000 is a great producer, and I love the way he mixes hip hop, soul, poetry, and jazz into the music he makes. 2 cds are better than 1. Great job.
  7. RichardB.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    Best album I've ever bought.
  8. James
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Outkast is the greatest hip hop group out there today!
  9. Alex
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Not to sound fanboyish or anything but OutKast is arguably the greatest music group to ever come out during the 21st century.
  10. ChrisR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    8
    60 Rolling Stone Each of these albums is as noteworthy for what's missing as for what's there. What the fuck type of beating around the bush bullshit is this? I hope that their headquarters burns to the ground along melting all their cappuccino machines. I didn't listen to this album BTW, just guessing how good it is from the singles.
  11. ScottW.
    Aug 19, 2007
    8
    The secouned is a tie at 8.0 Very fun guys to listen to, and without a dull moment once again makes this a fine secound installment.
  12. MalikM.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    This IS THE GREATEST ALBUM I EVER HEARD ANDRE 3000 IS A MUSICAL GENIUS
  13. DanA
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    Funking amazing album. Can never stop listening to it. The Love Below is genius, and Speakerboxxx is like an extension to the previously awesome style Outkast has been known for. A classic.
  14. AaronH
    May 9, 2007
    8
    Good music is not self indulgent. If you're looking for gangsta, this isn't it. Please, if gangsta is what you're looking for, by all means, buy a 50 Cent album. If you like R&B that borders on jazz, The Love Below has its moments. In fact, it has enough moments that someone like me, who generally avoids hip-hop, bought the album. As for the comparisons to Prince--the Good music is not self indulgent. If you're looking for gangsta, this isn't it. Please, if gangsta is what you're looking for, by all means, buy a 50 Cent album. If you like R&B that borders on jazz, The Love Below has its moments. In fact, it has enough moments that someone like me, who generally avoids hip-hop, bought the album. As for the comparisons to Prince--the resemblance is superficial. Andre 3000 is in his own territory here. Expand
  15. DavidH
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    absolutely incredibly orginal, outkast continue to redefine hip hop and r'n'b, while pushing the envelope to create an album that is jam-packed with weird, unpredictable, thoroughly exciting tracks, like nothing you've heard before. I think it is impossible to compare the two discs, while both are beautifully flawed, they both contain so many different strengths. While the absolutely incredibly orginal, outkast continue to redefine hip hop and r'n'b, while pushing the envelope to create an album that is jam-packed with weird, unpredictable, thoroughly exciting tracks, like nothing you've heard before. I think it is impossible to compare the two discs, while both are beautifully flawed, they both contain so many different strengths. While the love below is sexier, more soulful, with wildly bizzare hooks and some softer chilled songs, it is perfectly clear that the love below is a redefining r'n'b album, speakerboxxx redefines hip hop, containing very lively catchy jazzy songs, and then becoming very dark, more street and urban, still containing wildly catchy hooks, and both are emotionally resonant. while it is impossible to rule out one as better, everyone will have their favourite, depending on their preference to either r'n'b or hip hop. overall, one of the most successful albums ever, and my favourite album ever! Expand
  16. ShaanS
    Mar 28, 2007
    7
    Pales in comparison to Stankonia. Not the genre molding album the critics claimed it to be. They must have needed a rap album to their top 10 lists to diversify.
  17. RSkells
    Sep 6, 2006
    7
    I love outkast. i really do. but this album was not up to snuff with previous efforts. Outkast is one of the greatest hip hop acts of all time with a fantastic track record and i cannot help but measure this album against records like stankonia and the incomparable Aquemini. Those albums featured two partners in music, complimenting each other perfectly. here, we see two unique artists I love outkast. i really do. but this album was not up to snuff with previous efforts. Outkast is one of the greatest hip hop acts of all time with a fantastic track record and i cannot help but measure this album against records like stankonia and the incomparable Aquemini. Those albums featured two partners in music, complimenting each other perfectly. here, we see two unique artists drifting away from each other creatively, each losing a bit of their shine in the process. there are still some good tunes on this ablum(s?) but its not the consistent brilliance that one expects from an outkast disc. Expand
  18. richardj
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    Tell me a better album that crosses over like this record does! I haven't bought a new album since this apart from the follwoing Lina's The Inner Beauty Movement and Guillemots-Through the Windowpane, as everything i have heard pales in comparison, musically. I buy a lot of old-skool records but this contempoary classic keeps Hip-Hop fans satisfied, pop/r & B fans have something Tell me a better album that crosses over like this record does! I haven't bought a new album since this apart from the follwoing Lina's The Inner Beauty Movement and Guillemots-Through the Windowpane, as everything i have heard pales in comparison, musically. I buy a lot of old-skool records but this contempoary classic keeps Hip-Hop fans satisfied, pop/r & B fans have something meaningful for a change, plus old skool fans of Prince/Funkadelic and Sly Stone now have the next artist who can carry on the mantle! THat artist is Andre 3000! if anyone slates this album as far as I'm concerned you can't know much about music writing and quality! (the quality! not dribble like Mariah Carey, James Blunt, Kelly Clarkson) The only album to me what competes in writing to this is Lina's The Inner Beauty Movement! Expand
  19. KyleighH
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    This album is also cool. I love the song "Roses" and I even saw the music video for it on MTV and thought it was terrific. I give this album two thumbs up.
  20. DanielJ
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    Speakboxxx is the best hip hop album ever...bar none! The Love Below is strange but still entertaining.
  21. briang
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    One of the most creative, open-minded albums ever composed. Freedom of expression reigns to the point of laughablility, yet the intelligence and depth of thought goes far beyond anything comical. It's painfully insightful about todays life in love.
  22. KiriC
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    WTF is with all the people that didn't give this album 10!This is by far one of the biggest leaps in hip-hop/rap history. sheer originality explodes from every song, i would say it is up there with stankonia by far.
  23. EthanK
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    **** rolling stone magazine. this album is genius.
  24. JuliaW
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    Soooooooooo good
  25. marshallm
    Sep 16, 2005
    10
    this is one of the most oroginal cd's you'll ever hear! give it a chance, even if you don't like hip-hop!the best of big bois songs were " the way you move", " bowtie", "ghettomusik" andres were " pink and blue", " she lives in my lap", " Love hater", those songs are alll amazing! buy it now! i dont know whay anyone would want to live without a copy of these cd's!
  26. JonF
    Sep 11, 2005
    10
    Big Boi, and Andre 3000 are to Atlants, and the whole south for that matter what Dr.Dre, and Snoop were to the West Coast scene, and Biggy Smalls to N.Y. Big Boi's intelligent, yet witty rhymes on "Speakerboxxx" mixed with Andre's talented, heartfilled lyrics on "The Love Below", leave you craving for more. This is a set no rap or hip hop fan should be without. 2 years later, I Big Boi, and Andre 3000 are to Atlants, and the whole south for that matter what Dr.Dre, and Snoop were to the West Coast scene, and Biggy Smalls to N.Y. Big Boi's intelligent, yet witty rhymes on "Speakerboxxx" mixed with Andre's talented, heartfilled lyrics on "The Love Below", leave you craving for more. This is a set no rap or hip hop fan should be without. 2 years later, I still listen to it the same as I did when it was a month old. Expand
  27. icecold
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    No one has ever done it , two of the greatest cd's packages together? It like a two for one lapdance! CLASSIC.
  28. GordonS
    Oct 17, 2004
    7
    Speakerboxxx is a classic Outkast album in style, while The Love Below is a 360 Degree turn. At first I felt like Andre simply wanted to see how crazy he could make an album and still recieve fan support. However, it has grown on me. I like the "Who's on First"-like "Good Day, Good Sir." The rest seems like it is just Andre having a good time. I would not call it rap, but it is an Speakerboxxx is a classic Outkast album in style, while The Love Below is a 360 Degree turn. At first I felt like Andre simply wanted to see how crazy he could make an album and still recieve fan support. However, it has grown on me. I like the "Who's on First"-like "Good Day, Good Sir." The rest seems like it is just Andre having a good time. I would not call it rap, but it is an entertaining work. Expand
  29. leah
    Oct 14, 2004
    9
    this was a great cd i loved the love below but was not a big fan of speakerboxxxx but was still great
  30. DJIght
    Oct 10, 2004
    10
    The Love Below is the greatest album i have ever heard period. If Outkast just released TLB then it would be perfect, but they made it even more perfect by adding a godd album that is titled SpeakerBoxxx
  31. freds
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    The Greatest album I've heard since the White album
  32. JuliusD
    Jul 13, 2004
    10
    The Love Below is the best album I have ever owned. Of course, number #2 is Stankonia. Speakerboxx is completely off the hook! These cats are funky!!!
  33. jimf
    Jun 17, 2004
    10
    GREATEST ALBUM EVER
  34. claireg
    Jun 10, 2004
    10
    its wiked
  35. HeatherL.
    May 27, 2004
    10
    Nothing beats it!
  36. bigboi
    May 26, 2004
    10
    exelent cd. loved every 39 songs. outkast fan rejoice, they have done it again!!!
  37. EmilyD
    May 9, 2004
    10
    brilliant
  38. drphil
    May 5, 2004
    10
    thumbs up!
  39. jamikaw
    Apr 11, 2004
    10
    i think it rocks it would have 2 b the best cd i really like the song roses and prototype. OutKast rocks
  40. andreal
    Apr 9, 2004
    10
    This cd is awesome! There is not one song on it that isn't great! This is an album for everyone! Big boi fans and Andre fans will all love it!! As a matter of fact, I don't personally know anyone who does not own and love this cd or that is dying to get it! Outkast's music s fun and FABULOUS, and just makes you want to dance!!!! If you don't already have this wonderful This cd is awesome! There is not one song on it that isn't great! This is an album for everyone! Big boi fans and Andre fans will all love it!! As a matter of fact, I don't personally know anyone who does not own and love this cd or that is dying to get it! Outkast's music s fun and FABULOUS, and just makes you want to dance!!!! If you don't already have this wonderful cd, go get it pronto!! I'm sure if you have any sense of good music,you will adore this cd as much as I do!!!!!!! It's a perfect 10!!! Expand
  41. Melo
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    this has to be one of the most original albums ever mostly on andre's part this album has everything going for it if it've been seperate albums i would've given speakerboxx an 8 cause it's better than average hip hop and i would've given the love below a 9 cause andre "ice cold" 3000 just took it to another level andre is no longer a rap or hip hop artist he is this has to be one of the most original albums ever mostly on andre's part this album has everything going for it if it've been seperate albums i would've given speakerboxx an 8 cause it's better than average hip hop and i would've given the love below a 9 cause andre "ice cold" 3000 just took it to another level andre is no longer a rap or hip hop artist he is now a music artist cause his album is for people of different taste in music and "prototype" is one of the most beautiful songs i've ever heard even if the man can't sing it's still beautiful so since this is one album i can't give it no less than a ten Expand
  42. KennyB
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    I apolgize for grabing it so late. Big Boi did his thisle(as usual) and 3000 dropped the best record (sleeper) since " Here My Dear",Marvin Gaye...Thank yall Peace..
  43. JonC
    Feb 17, 2004
    10
    good!!!!!!!!!!!!
  44. dougd
    Feb 12, 2004
    10
    Outkasts is tight but what is the deal with all the pianno music on the Love below,but i like Hey ya ,and the way u move, so gotta give it up soooo. i gavem a 10
  45. DanC
    Feb 1, 2004
    10
    If these two CDs are not the greatest hip hop CDs ever, they are seriously close!
  46. JelaniT
    Jan 30, 2004
    10
    One of the most innovative solo / group productions ever made. Dre's set grabs your attention with Hey Ya and Pink and Blue. Big Boi keeps said attention and earns your respect for both artists' talent and overall musicianship; which ranges from the way, Way, WAY out there funk and pop (Dre) to down home, deep fried, beat laden hip hop sensibilities (Boi). Its good all around!
  47. HK
    Jan 6, 2004
    10
    Speakerboxxx - SIC!!! The love below - SUXXX!!!
  48. JesusQ
    Jan 5, 2004
    9
    Close to 10. Great record. Loved every minute of it except the weird talking skits between tracks. All hip-hop albums do that now. Makes it hard to listen to...having to skip bs stuff. I cannot get enough of this right now. Dre is awesome. And all of you who say he is going too far from hip hop remember another man who was good but went too far away from his roots....he went on to do some Close to 10. Great record. Loved every minute of it except the weird talking skits between tracks. All hip-hop albums do that now. Makes it hard to listen to...having to skip bs stuff. I cannot get enough of this right now. Dre is awesome. And all of you who say he is going too far from hip hop remember another man who was good but went too far away from his roots....he went on to do some good things. His name os Jesus. Expand
  49. NseE
    Dec 25, 2003
    10
    I thought 'Elephant' by The White Stripes was album of the year, then this came along. Awesome!!! Every track is a classic, and the humerous interludes ('God', 'Where are my panties') are a scream. Standouts include the lyrically superb 'War', 'Hey ya', 'Happy valentine's day', 'Spread', 'Flip flop rock', I thought 'Elephant' by The White Stripes was album of the year, then this came along. Awesome!!! Every track is a classic, and the humerous interludes ('God', 'Where are my panties') are a scream. Standouts include the lyrically superb 'War', 'Hey ya', 'Happy valentine's day', 'Spread', 'Flip flop rock', 'Reset', 'Knowing, the hidden jazzy track, everything. A classic that defies categorisation. Brilliant!!! Expand
  50. HourKittt
    Dec 24, 2003
    10
    This album restored my faith in hip hop. It's simple as that. I got scared that everything would turn in to eminem&co-style shit. Until two dope boyz came back and made my day. May their future be a bright one. Praise be.
  51. deucejake
    Dec 12, 2003
    9
    Anybody who doesn't like this album should be ripped apart by wild dogs and then slowly fed into the incinerator of darkest hell. If you don't like Outkast you don't like music. And you're an un-American terrorist (just like King George II).
  52. diggerdig
    Dec 11, 2003
    9
    I like every song on The Love Below. I really think "Hey Ya" is the best song. Andre 3000 was a genius when creating this song. I especially like the line"give me some surgar, i am your neighbor ahh" and "shake it like a poloroid picture". Those lines are just genius.
  53. Jessica
    Nov 26, 2003
    8
    Speakerboxx--I liked to sit down and listen to all the lyrics and beats in these songs. They mix funky soul, rhythm and blues, modern day hip hop and rap. The Love Below--more like a cd I would just put in the player and not pay attention to and use as background music. The mixture of styles were all over the place, they don't flow together. My favorites on Speakerboxxx are Ghetto Speakerboxx--I liked to sit down and listen to all the lyrics and beats in these songs. They mix funky soul, rhythm and blues, modern day hip hop and rap. The Love Below--more like a cd I would just put in the player and not pay attention to and use as background music. The mixture of styles were all over the place, they don't flow together. My favorites on Speakerboxxx are Ghetto Muzick(spelling?), War, Church, and The Way you move. On the Love Below, my only favorite so far is Hey Ya. Although these are separate cds, they still work together on some of the songs. I think this cd is a definite for any OutKast fan and for those who are open-minded. The feelings I got listening to these cds range from energetic, sexy, mellow, happy-go-lucky, tough, funny, weird, "what the heck is this!?" (at some points), overall its a good trip. Expand
  54. AndrewR
    Nov 21, 2003
    8
    Speakerboxxx/The Love Below is loads of fun, and I admire the double-album format, but man, this album would've been just perfect if Dre and Big Boi had actually collaborated more. As it is, Big Boi's Speakerboxxx feels like an Outkast album, and all the incredible dopeness that comes with it. Dre's disc, The Love Below, is a fine listen, but it's all over the place Speakerboxxx/The Love Below is loads of fun, and I admire the double-album format, but man, this album would've been just perfect if Dre and Big Boi had actually collaborated more. As it is, Big Boi's Speakerboxxx feels like an Outkast album, and all the incredible dopeness that comes with it. Dre's disc, The Love Below, is a fine listen, but it's all over the place and at times too "out there," because Dre knows he's a creative genius and suffers by trying to jam-pack The Love Below with his creativity. It works sometimes-- "Happy Valentine's Day," "Dracula's Wedding," and "Hey Ya!" are all incredibly jumpin'-- but there's just one too many sub-Prince funk ballads to make it a uniformly great listen. And for all of Outkast's innovations, they still haven't learned to make a skit-less hip-hop album. That said, Speakerboxxx/The Love Below is well worth the price tag, jam-packed with great tunes (particularly on Boi's disc) and one of the most entertaining releases of 2003 thus far. Expand
  55. BigWorm
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    OFF THE HOOK. The lyrics and the level of thought behind them are unmatched, in todays hip-hop culture. Many people will not be able to relate, if they only listen once, or separate what they hear from what they think (your mind and ears should work together, when listening to these albums). I was a little thrown off, initially. But, after further indulgance, I can't seem to stop OFF THE HOOK. The lyrics and the level of thought behind them are unmatched, in todays hip-hop culture. Many people will not be able to relate, if they only listen once, or separate what they hear from what they think (your mind and ears should work together, when listening to these albums). I was a little thrown off, initially. But, after further indulgance, I can't seem to stop listening. I've been listening to These brothers (from another mother), since their first release. They haven't let me down yet. Expand
  56. RamF
    Nov 13, 2003
    8
    I have to strongly disagree with everyone saying Dre's album was awful. In fact I feel Speakerboxxx is just average. It isn't shwoing me much evoluiton. The Love Below however is genius. The only downsides in my opinion are the interludes: "The Morning After" and "Good Day Good Sir" break the continuity of the album. I would tell people that detest this album to continue to I have to strongly disagree with everyone saying Dre's album was awful. In fact I feel Speakerboxxx is just average. It isn't shwoing me much evoluiton. The Love Below however is genius. The only downsides in my opinion are the interludes: "The Morning After" and "Good Day Good Sir" break the continuity of the album. I would tell people that detest this album to continue to listen. This will be a classic. It is soemthing like The Beastie Boys Paul's Boutique album. Which was seemingly very strange and somewhat unlistenable upon it's release merely turned out to be ahead of it's time. Don't be surprised to see many Hip Hop giants copying 3000's style in future albums. They may not have the commercial courage to make an entire album like "The Love Below", but I can almost guarantee you will here individual songs that experiment outside the boundaries of traditional Hip Hop as muvh as this album does. Expand
  57. ksnizzle
    Nov 11, 2003
    10
    Totally unique and untouchable. Outkast has two minds that work together as one, or in this case two cds that are like no other in the game. That is why they continue to be the best in the game. They are not afraid to do what they feel. Classical, if you don't like it, then you can't appreciate good musick.
  58. bowwiziefisshel
    Nov 5, 2003
    10
    who ever said this cd sucks something is wrong wit u .my favorite song is prototype.he can really sing fo rell do!!!!! also she lives in my lap is so tite!!! i cant stop listening to his cd spaekerboxx is ok too peace out yyall!!!!
  59. RabZ
    Nov 2, 2003
    10
    Hey ya! 2 for 1....Great. What kan be better then this.
  60. NathanM
    Nov 2, 2003
    9
    Close To Perfection...The Album Of The Year, Hands Down. Take Off Your Cool!
  61. zachdogg
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    pure genius... adrenaline rush on both sides.. Outer Space meets parts unknown.. great job to both.. Speakerboxx the slightly better cd though..
  62. markc
    Oct 27, 2003
    10
    greates outkast cd ever
  63. omega374
    Oct 25, 2003
    10
    i haven't heard it yet, but i think since big boi and andre 3000 are hot they deserve a ten. Detroit WHAT
  64. TerrencW
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    Perfection of one's art has been attained. If perfection is attainable. OUTKAST has found it and went miles beyond it.
  65. Rafae1W.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    BEST ALBUM OF THE YEAR!!! Everyone else needs to pay attention to what Outkast puts out because it is consistantly off the chains and never the same ol' stuff other people put out after they experience breakout success... Peaces
  66. LarryT
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    Whats there to say that hasnt been said They wrecked on the 2 disks
  67. sterrllsss
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    andre and big boi are both off the hook and both there CD's are off the hook....... (ICE COLD)
  68. JoelB
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    infuckincredible
  69. BennieJ
    Oct 19, 2003
    9
    If there was ever a doubt about who is #1 - ERASE IT! Funky, complex, brilliance!
  70. BrandonR
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    This is one of the best Outkast albums. A lot of people do not understand the statements that Andre is to make, but that why he added 3000, because he is ahead of his time. To all the critics of 3000, close your mouth and open your mind. Stop looking at the way he dresses and listen to the music.
  71. rickr
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    holy what? this cd is too funky-fresh to exist. i dont believe its real....i wanna concieve my first child to this album.
  72. jorman
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    Can somebody suck the underwear out of my ass cheeks? I mean, seriously, I feel like a Banana-Mör bar. Robin Williams is on the PHONE. THE PHONE.
  73. joshg
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    I think I have the mollusk in my mouth
  74. AdamCHater
    Oct 15, 2003
    9
    Adam C is smoking the artificial Bob Marley forreal. The Love Below.
  75. Phily-EagleFan
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    This double album is on another level and if you can't feel it you don't know what music is!! Just spread for me!!!!
  76. alexk
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    what more can i say.....ICE COLD
  77. BrianW
    Oct 14, 2003
    7
    I have mixed feelings on the album. Didn't like Dre's CD much
  78. BoydB
    Oct 14, 2003
    10
    this album is there 2nd best next to there 1st one.... i did not think it could be done and they did it.....
  79. ShaneseJ.
    Oct 13, 2003
    10
    This album is HOT!! Andre' 3000 & Big Boi have been making music for a while, and I haven't heard nothing like this from them...they're full of suprises! This album will most likely be voted album of the year. They BOTH did their thing...but personally, I like Andre's solo album out of the two. Most won't understand it but it takes people who listen and don't This album is HOT!! Andre' 3000 & Big Boi have been making music for a while, and I haven't heard nothing like this from them...they're full of suprises! This album will most likely be voted album of the year. They BOTH did their thing...but personally, I like Andre's solo album out of the two. Most won't understand it but it takes people who listen and don't judge often to really comprehend. Pure Genius!!! Expand
  80. DavidCharlesB.
    Oct 12, 2003
    10
    Excellent album by OutKast, Better than Stankonia, but not as good as Atliens, but then again Atliens is the best album ever. Just buy this and enjoy it.
  81. AsafoS
    Oct 12, 2003
    10
    This album is incredible. Both artists continue Outkast's hard-paved legacy. One thing remains evident...they are perfect complements to one another musically, and would be longer lived as a group.
  82. CJMcIntosh
    Oct 11, 2003
    10
    Awesome. These guys are so cool it's insane.
  83. LourdesR
    Oct 10, 2003
    10
    I think im in love again. Stank you, Smelly much.
  84. BenD
    Oct 8, 2003
    9
    This album is deck. Keep up the good work, brothers
  85. ZeeshaanB
    Oct 8, 2003
    10
    This CD is excellent. Both artists do an amazing job in displaying their creativity and talent. Definitely one of the best rap albums in recent years.
  86. PeterG
    Oct 8, 2003
    10
    Outkast just keeps getting better and better, not just taking hip-hop to a new level, but bring soul music back to were it used. I suggest everyone listen to it with an open mind.
  87. someoneanotherlastchicken
    Oct 8, 2003
    9
    great cd. Speakerboxxx gets an 8.5, while The Love Below gets at 10, so I comprimised with a 9.
  88. JonR
    Oct 8, 2003
    10
    I love these 2 guys.. never heard a record even near their quality!!
  89. ChristopheH
    Oct 8, 2003
    9
    Big Boi and André, you guys rule! This is fun from start to end!!!
  90. DominiqueJ
    Oct 7, 2003
    10
    One of the best and most creative I have heard in years. This is one of the rare albums that critics and fans enjoy.
  91. PaulF
    Oct 7, 2003
    10
    This is one of my favorite albums ever, and i almost never listen to rap. Speakerboxxx didn't do as much for me (not really a big rap fan), but I'm gonna give it another couple listens. The Love Below made it totally worth buying.
  92. GeorgeMichael
    Oct 6, 2003
    10
    AMAZING! ALBUM OF THE YEAR!!!
  93. Julian
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    Wow...the love below is the SHIT!
  94. BrandonS.
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    This is awesome, these are a couple of incredible albums. I thought Stankonia was good, but this tops it. "The love below" is better than speakerboxxx.
  95. ShaunP
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    Pure Hip-Hop!!! Both albums tell the story of Hip-hop and where it's heading. It's a great break from the cookie cutter garbadge out now!!!
  96. JosephL
    Oct 2, 2003
    9
    2 thumbs up!!! This is the best cd out this year. I've always been an outkast fan and this time they have out done themselves. Keep it Big Boi and 'Dre.
  97. RussW
    Oct 2, 2003
    10
    One of the best albums this year!
  98. GlenC
    Oct 1, 2003
    10
    Both CDs are excelent, they havent even left my cd player since i purchaced them!
  99. sanjuandemarco
    Sep 30, 2003
    9
    this album is fastastically superb. outkastcadillacmuzik at its best. the love below is the funkiest to date....and speakerboxxx is hip hop on acid. buy the album. drink. swish. swallow.
  100. AndrewC
    Sep 30, 2003
    9
    Not as good as Stankonia or Aquemini, but still outstanding. The only thing that hurts the discs are that dre's songs are very repititious and big boi taints his work with rappers that aren't up to par with himself (ludacris).
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Apr 17, 2012
    100
    OutKast's duo have made a cohesive statement that not only cries at the boundaries of rap music but vaults over them to a place where the music sounds like neon colors and the only rule is that you must free your mind. Your ears will follow.
  2. 90
    The genius of past Outkast isn't diluted or diminished across these disks, rather it's doubled, expanded and explored. [Sep 2003, p.99]
  3. Speakerboxxx--by itself the album of the year--makes the failings of The Love Below all the more evident.