• Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: Mar 19, 2013
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    60
    The superficial snarl and by-the-numbers rawk in the middle on tracks like "Haste The Taste" and "Teenage Disease" never find equal footing with the album's inspired bookends. [No. 96, p.53]
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    60
    Their sixth album uses the same unbending template as ever, but does so with the best songwriting since 2005's Howl. [Apr 2013, p.95]
  3. Apr 8, 2013
    51
    Where the record falters is on the rockers, which are composed of clichés and exhausted riffs only.
  4. 50
    Call these cuts dark. Call them rockers. But they’re neither of these things when stacked against something much more simple and hard-hitting: sincerity.
  5. Mar 18, 2013
    50
    Specter At The Feast runs out of steam before it runs out of songs. Not a terrible album, just one lacking in inspiration.
  6. Mar 14, 2013
    50
    They have made a patchy record that’s very much intended for loyal followers who have completely bought into their long established aesthetic.
  7. Mar 14, 2013
    40
    In short, a bafflingly sequenced and rather unlovable record. [Apr 2013, p.91]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    8
    Specter At The Feast, which was released 18 of March, 2013, should be listened as a goodbye from a close person, That person is Michael Been,Specter At The Feast, which was released 18 of March, 2013, should be listened as a goodbye from a close person, That person is Michael Been, the sound engineer of the band and also The Call former leader and the father of the bass player, Robert Levon Been. The band mates, Peter Hayes and Leah Shapiro, gather together and wrote an album of mourning, adopting more realistic standpoint. I found the album very joyful, maybe because it was made from the bottom of the heart

    (http://5songsperartist.blogspot.co.il/2013/04/specter-at-feast-black-rebel-motorcycle.html)
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    I am not that familiar with BRMC, but after hearing one of the group members on Sound City I decided to give this album a try. I enjoy theI am not that familiar with BRMC, but after hearing one of the group members on Sound City I decided to give this album a try. I enjoy the riffs and mature depth of the lyrics. This has a dark alley feel with a grungy tinge. A nice discovery. Full Review »