Spirit If...

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobB
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    It was even better live!! The album doesn't end all that well, but overall it was a great collection.
  2. BenM.
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    Great album - I always forget how many great songs are on the album until I'm actually listening. I went back through some older BSS this weekend, and I still love it all.
  3. Brian
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    Best album I've heard this year. Kevin drew, and broken social scene, continue to put out the best music on the market!
  4. Cables
    Oct 8, 2007
    8
    This is an excellent album that would have made for a better follow up to "you forgot..". I don't quite understand the negative reviews. It sounds like a bss record. Some reviews are claiming that he sounds "adrift" and "off on his own". Anyone who has heard this and has some sort of bss listening experience will be more than pleased.
  5. Broken
    Sep 21, 2007
    9
    Spin and Urb are just downright silly. Second best BSS release since YFIIP. Amazing from start to finish after a few listens. Check out "safety bricks" & "lucky ones" for a start.
  6. jay
    Sep 20, 2007
    9
    Opening track "Pressure Kids" is one of the best opening tracks in along time...others like, 'Big Love" "Backing Out On The..." and "Lucky Ones" continue the Great BSS soundscapes...Flaming Lips, Sonic Youth and Pavement are apparent influences and they continue expanding towards there own unique style.
  7. Writer'sBlockPoet
    Sep 21, 2007
    9
    I was very pleasantly surprised by this CD. I was a HUGE fan of "You Forgot It In People" - but thought BSS really lost a step with their self titled CD. I was expecting Kevin Drew's release to sound something like the bonus disc from their last release...a sprawlng mess. This CD is outstanding... one enjoyed from the listen...and there have already been many to follow. I highly I was very pleasantly surprised by this CD. I was a HUGE fan of "You Forgot It In People" - but thought BSS really lost a step with their self titled CD. I was expecting Kevin Drew's release to sound something like the bonus disc from their last release...a sprawlng mess. This CD is outstanding... one enjoyed from the listen...and there have already been many to follow. I highly reccommend it! Expand
  8. [Anonymous]
    Sep 20, 2007
    9
    F'n brilliant.
  9. NikkiI.
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    I love this album! Something about it that just makes it perfect for me.
  10. Drew
    Sep 24, 2007
    8
    This is a very solid album, but is accurately titled "Broken Social Scene presents... Kevin Drew". These songs could easily be thrown into the rest of the band's catalog and one would be hard pressed to tell the difference. Obviously, that's to be expected since he is one of the two core members, and is not a knock on the album itself. Definitely a great disc from start to finish.
  11. BradleyM.
    Sep 28, 2007
    9
    Amazing album, just shy of perfection
  12. NickR.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    This album gets better with every listen. Picks up right where he left off with It's All Gonna Break. Always been a huge BSS fan. Hope they can all get back together for another album...... Really would love to see the whole group together live again, but that probably won't happen. Glad I got to while I had the chance. Just amazing.
  13. EricC.
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    I'm not a huge Broken Social Scene fan. My brother told me to buy You Forgot it in People, and I did, and it grew in to one of my favorite cds. While this is Drew's album, the rest of the band lends their talent as well (which is why Urb and Spin sound ridiculous). Feist even did lead vocals for a couple of songs. But it's Kevin Drew's lyrics and vocals that take I'm not a huge Broken Social Scene fan. My brother told me to buy You Forgot it in People, and I did, and it grew in to one of my favorite cds. While this is Drew's album, the rest of the band lends their talent as well (which is why Urb and Spin sound ridiculous). Feist even did lead vocals for a couple of songs. But it's Kevin Drew's lyrics and vocals that take center stage, and their backed by some solid music. It's not outstanding, but it's still a very good album, and has me excited for the next cd in the series. Expand
  14. Adm
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    Great album and it only gets better the more you listen to it. Kevin is the man.
  15. Matt
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Definitely a grower. More rewarding on every listen. Check out - "Farewell to the Pressure Kids", "Gang Bang Suicide", "Boddhi Sappy Weekend".
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Tthe record is focused more on the future, on creating an impression, than on immediate satisfaction, giving it an appeal that only strengthens as time goes on, and making Spirit If... another impressive, affective release in the ever-growing Broken Social Scene catalog.
  2. Not since Mansun's "Six" have I heard an album twist its songs into a musical Lombard Street--and I can already picture the audience screaming its approval in the break--before a wall of static and synthesizers takes us home. And home is a little nicer place to be after taking a ride on Spirit If...
  3. This is one for the ages, an album that you will covet, listen to, and live by.