• Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2003
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 389 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    St. Anger is different. A concept album at its core, and barking ferocity at face value, each song is essentially a different perspective on anger and all of the emotions related to it. If any other band had written it, it would be an instant classic. However, this is Metallica, and they've been crucified for trying something different. I commend them for it. This isn't Metallica, it'sSt. Anger is different. A concept album at its core, and barking ferocity at face value, each song is essentially a different perspective on anger and all of the emotions related to it. If any other band had written it, it would be an instant classic. However, this is Metallica, and they've been crucified for trying something different. I commend them for it. This isn't Metallica, it's something new and unique. And god damn is it catchy. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    I know that some fans really dislike it, but you can feel their problems and anger from that album. They went through difficult times during recording this album and it feels like that. I simply love it, love that change, love that heaviness and love Lars snare, i usually dont like punk drums, but here its just awesome!
  3. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    Yes, it worst Metallica album. But it still rock, maybe snare drum is bad, but i like this album, and like to take drive with this music. So **** good!
  4. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    If could put 11, i would have put it, because this album is THE BEST THING IN THE WHOLE WORLD! If we will be able to heal aids, it wouldn't be as good as this album. it's not only the best Metallica's album, it's also THE BEST **** ALBUM IN THE HISTORY OF MUSIC!
  5. johnr
    Jun 23, 2003
    10
    this album kicks mager ass the lyrics the music everything about matallica fucking rocks
  6. TiagoS.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    It´s the best album of Metallica for me. So much anger in the musics and many great songs in this album. Off course there are not much "solos" but there are much energy, power and ANGERRRRR.
  7. SeanM
    Aug 11, 2003
    10
    What a fucking album! Not only is it quite up to par with most of thier other albums, but its so addicting to listen to@ With all the speed metal from the 80's, conbined with the bone chilling riffs of the black album to the serene sound of "sweet amber". Metallica definatly unleashed one hell of a beast on this one. I just got back from thier concert yesterday, and they played it so What a fucking album! Not only is it quite up to par with most of thier other albums, but its so addicting to listen to@ With all the speed metal from the 80's, conbined with the bone chilling riffs of the black album to the serene sound of "sweet amber". Metallica definatly unleashed one hell of a beast on this one. I just got back from thier concert yesterday, and they played it so loud and hard that i could barely keep up with the lyrics of "frantic". Awesome job Metallica! Expand
  8. BusterCherry
    Jun 10, 2003
    9
    The first time I heard it, I thought it was pretty bad. Then I got a little hooked on it and thought it was OK. Then I watched the DVD and I was hooked. The DVD is freaking awesome!
  9. BasilH
    Jun 14, 2003
    9
    First, the utter lack of any guitar solos is as disappointing to me as anyone else, but the rest of this album is the finest thing to blugeon metal fans since...well, since the last good metallica disc. Hetfields lyrics are more mature and profound, which is only upsetting to those who refuse to accept growing up. Lars is a man possessed and I have almost been moved to forget about the First, the utter lack of any guitar solos is as disappointing to me as anyone else, but the rest of this album is the finest thing to blugeon metal fans since...well, since the last good metallica disc. Hetfields lyrics are more mature and profound, which is only upsetting to those who refuse to accept growing up. Lars is a man possessed and I have almost been moved to forget about the loss of Jason. It takes a couple of listens to get a feel for the album and to really appreciate it but once you start to get into it, you realize the relevancy that Metallica personifies. This is unquestionablely better than any of the insipid and uninspired "metal" currently droning over the airwaves. Metallica continues to grow musically without ever losing touch with TRUE fans of the genre. Listen, listen again, listen again and the you won't want to stop. This is adult metal for those who appreciate music beyond "rap-rock". Expand
  10. BlaineK
    Jun 17, 2003
    10
    One of the greastest.No bands compete with MetallicA
  11. matt
    Jan 2, 2004
    9
    I'll admit... at first i did not like this cd, but i stuck with it. Its just a new sound unlike any other; u gotta respect that at least. And for that reason mosty i listened to it over and over. Now i love it. The guitars are huge and have this underground feeling to them, and the lyrics... dont seem like hetfields writing but then again he has grown with his suffering these past I'll admit... at first i did not like this cd, but i stuck with it. Its just a new sound unlike any other; u gotta respect that at least. And for that reason mosty i listened to it over and over. Now i love it. The guitars are huge and have this underground feeling to them, and the lyrics... dont seem like hetfields writing but then again he has grown with his suffering these past few years. All in all the more u listen to it and the higher its turned up the better it gets. Expand
  12. motorbreath666
    May 2, 2004
    10
    A band cannot sound exactly the same EVERY time! People, please if that was the case then it would get old and redudant fast. This album is aggression, made to unleash rage. For me there are two types of talica fans. The ones Pre-Load and the ones Post-Load. Pre-Load: Fans who like the melody and semi-aggressive songs. Post-Load: Fans who like aggressive/power songs (not really caring for A band cannot sound exactly the same EVERY time! People, please if that was the case then it would get old and redudant fast. This album is aggression, made to unleash rage. For me there are two types of talica fans. The ones Pre-Load and the ones Post-Load. Pre-Load: Fans who like the melody and semi-aggressive songs. Post-Load: Fans who like aggressive/power songs (not really caring for songs like NEM or Unforgiven). St Anger lies in a realm by itself. Personally I think the album is an 8 but it gets 2 extra points because of its nature. That is the nature of the beast. The very fact that there are NO radio friendly songs on this album tells me as a fan that a good band cannot be defined. Expand
  13. suvoc
    May 2, 2007
    10
    fukin amazin. if u dont like this album u r a wanker
  14. Bob
    Jun 13, 2003
    10
    i give it a ten in response to the ridiculously fag reviews giving it 0's. in all honesty, it is an 8.5. solid. better than all of their albums cept justice and master. id go into detail, but lots of you seem like fucking morons so you wouldnt understand what makes a cd good
  15. marioc
    Jun 13, 2003
    10
    this cd fuckin rocks
  16. anjananjan
    Jun 20, 2003
    10
    great buy it
  17. LindseyB
    Jun 20, 2003
    10
    Metallica's new cd is worth investing the money in. I can't see why anyone would give the cd under an 8. If you're a Metallica fan, you'll love this. All new material with an old-school twist, it makes for a great cd. I'm gonna be having this in my cd player for quite sometime.
  18. JasonL
    Jun 9, 2003
    9
    Upon first hearing the St. Anger single, this album had me feeling embarassed that I had been so geared up for it over the last 12 months. It sounded like a mess, and it didn't help that I heard one critic describe it as "commercial suicide" owing to the raw sound and And Justice For All-like song lengths. However, once I cracked the plastic, gave it 3 or 4 full listenings, bought Upon first hearing the St. Anger single, this album had me feeling embarassed that I had been so geared up for it over the last 12 months. It sounded like a mess, and it didn't help that I heard one critic describe it as "commercial suicide" owing to the raw sound and And Justice For All-like song lengths. However, once I cracked the plastic, gave it 3 or 4 full listenings, bought into the "live" sound, and started to unearth the classic Metallica intricacies buried beneath the wall of crushing sound, I began to appreciate this album for what it is - a return to Metallica's live and aggressive roots, and a critical healing salve for James Hetfield. The pingy drums still annoy me, and while I like the looser vibe better than Black, I dislike studio albums that sound this rough. Its not a good sign that the DVD rehearsals sound comparable to the CD in terms of sound quality. Regardless, a sub-par Metallica album is better than most modern bands' pretender rap/rock hybrid efforts, so this one gets an 8/10 on the strength of raw energy and a few crunchy yet funky songs, most notably Unnamed Feeling, Sweet Amber, Shoot Me, and the freight train that is St. Anger. I elevate my rating to a 9/10 due to the inclusion of the DVD. It shows us how happy this band is now and how good these songs are going to sound live. I also think that it was a clever tactical move to increase the value of the album without increasing the price (unlike the Linkin Park Meteora DVD set). This band knows that they did themselves some damage with the Napster thing and this is a great bonus to both those that questioned their motives and the fans that stood beside them. That said, Metallica is a band that I expect and demand 10/10 efforts from, and if Bob Rock is listening I'd like him to hear this: its not necessarily the songs that hold this thing back from challenging the Black album, its the production. Please make sure that those 20-odd unreleased songs that are referred to on the "making of St. Anger" video get polished up and sound clean, crisp, and crunchy the way that Black, Load, and Reload do. When you're on your game and mixing a true "studio" album, you are the best rock producer in the industry! We should all feel grateful that the greatest metal band ever is still alive and kicking after being so close to the brink. Don't make us wait too long before your next one boys! And why not make us happy with studio versions of No Leaf Clover and Minus Human? Expand
  19. SamE
    Jun 9, 2003
    10
    This is the METALLICA i grew up to. These are the messages that insipered me. This is a solid return to the days of headbanging.
  20. ChrisM
    Jul 27, 2003
    10
    This cd kicks ass! I will kick every1s ass if the say ne thing bad to metallica!!!!!!!!!!! Yeah so this cd is awsome buy it NOW!!!!
  21. alexc
    Aug 14, 2003
    9
    This marvellous album is yet another sign of the evolution of Metallica, that has lead them to the top. If you want old staff, I heard runners-up Maiden are releasing a new album... BUT METALLICA WILL ALWAYS BE THE BEST!!!!!
  22. MazenS
    Aug 30, 2003
    10
    I love Metallica, they are AWESOME, this album shows how powerful they are, i only wish they could scream, or shout some more. Whoever got disapointed by Metallica for releasing this album is pretty screwed up.
  23. Pupu-The-Alien??
    Aug 4, 2003
    10
    if u dont like this cd u r gay this was the best cd and only cd ive ever actually listened to the rest were too boring
  24. AlexAlex
    Sep 20, 2003
    10
    good i like St. Anger
  25. DaveC
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    It's unbelievable to hear an album this fresh, raw and exciting released by what seemed to be a washed out heavy metal band. To be quite honest, have grown quite bored of the metallic sameyness of Metallica's early albums and so it's refreshing to hear an album with a raw sound that doesn't overemphasise any instrument. What is left is an immediate, visceral and (oh It's unbelievable to hear an album this fresh, raw and exciting released by what seemed to be a washed out heavy metal band. To be quite honest, have grown quite bored of the metallic sameyness of Metallica's early albums and so it's refreshing to hear an album with a raw sound that doesn't overemphasise any instrument. What is left is an immediate, visceral and (oh yes) angry sound. James Hetfield's lyrics which may have seemed a tad dumb on paper work brilliant within the context of the songs. This is Metallica's finest album largely thanks to the fact that Metallica's hardcore punk influences are more prominent this time round, giving it a raw energy, and it still sounds fundamentally like a heavy metal album. Enjoy! Collapse
  26. TomC
    Feb 14, 2005
    10
    I dont see how ANY metallica fan could diss this album. Complaining about no guitar solos is kinda lame... if you like them solely for those then you are not a true fan, go get a guitar and entertain yourself. I agree the album does have a more "rough" sound to it... as ive read some places "like a demo" but to me thats good. i like the album because it sounds good... it hasnt been I dont see how ANY metallica fan could diss this album. Complaining about no guitar solos is kinda lame... if you like them solely for those then you are not a true fan, go get a guitar and entertain yourself. I agree the album does have a more "rough" sound to it... as ive read some places "like a demo" but to me thats good. i like the album because it sounds good... it hasnt been doctored to sound good because it doesnt need it. if you like edited vocals go check out ashlee simpson or something. unfortunately time ages people... how can ANYONE expect James to maintain the same voice all these years?? of course it will change slightly etc etc, things change get over it!. this album shows that metallica are capable of changing their style of music and not having to use computers to make it sound good. they are good musicians and any true fan will know that they have been through a lot and to sound as they did in their younger days is impossible. with that said ima go now, anyone who wants to can email me at tom201184@yahoo.com.au take care all :) ROCK ON!! m/ Expand
  27. PauloF
    May 24, 2005
    10
    It's a great album i gave it 10/10. Metallica just want it to do something different
  28. JohnC
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    I have been a metallica fan since day one. I can't say I have ever been disapponted. Metallica can never be accused of repetition or recycling old material. Two things are certain, new material from Metallica is going to be just that, NEW, and it will be HEAVY. While I will always love the older material, the new material has never disappointed. It will always amaze me how fans will I have been a metallica fan since day one. I can't say I have ever been disapponted. Metallica can never be accused of repetition or recycling old material. Two things are certain, new material from Metallica is going to be just that, NEW, and it will be HEAVY. While I will always love the older material, the new material has never disappointed. It will always amaze me how fans will be so quick to dismiss material that is different. Who wants to hear recycled riffs with different lyrics? While I was absolutely blown away by Load & Reload, others criticized the change. WTF. St. Anger is the most potent, heavy and unique material to be turned out by the 'Tallica boys, and again, heavily criticized. WTF. What are people listening to? The riffs are absolutely sick ! While Kirk Hammet is, as usual, stellar at lead, James Hetfield is a master at rythym, with some very cool leads as well. James, you the man !! Killer drums by Lars and most impressive bass by Robert, all come together to form a collection of material that will rattle the teeth from your jaws. If you haven't yet, go buy St. Anger right now. If hearing the songs isn't enough, well just pop in the DVD and watch them play the songs. Many thanks to Metallica for turning out, yet another, heavy and very angry piece of work. Metallica Rules !!! Expand
  29. KyleC
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    This album absolutley fucking rocks! Fingers up to the idiots who have underrated this fantastic album produced from the anger within Metallica. 10/10. After watching Some Kind Of Monster DVD, I came to respect the album even more after seeing what they have been through to produce this album. Metal-Fucking-Allica For Life!
  30. DamienP
    Nov 4, 2003
    9
    Metallica c tro cool headed
  31. Jennifer
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    Metallica rocks and this is their best CD yet It can't get any better!
  32. MikeO
    Jun 11, 2003
    10
    So I guess that im old fashioned but Metallica still rocks! Frantic is awesome!
  33. MetallicaFan
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    This cd is F******* AMAZING! i love Metallica's new sound, you all dont like the cd because you want it to sound like "Master of Puppets", so what if its not? METALLICA will always be METALLICA, and if you were a true METALLICA fan, you would still admire them and support them no matter what! ST. ANGER is a super great album. METALLICA IS BACK!!
  34. niggynig
    Jun 12, 2003
    9
    all u little niggers can lick my sac
  35. JackB
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    this Album Kicks @ss
  36. richb
    Jun 13, 2003
    10
    one of the greatest metallica cds.
  37. MarkC
    Jun 13, 2003
    10
    listen guys, i'll make myself clear... HOW DARE YOU NOT LIKE THIS ALBUM????? it's awesome!!!! it's best metal album of the year!!!!! listen to the rythms, they're all awesome and headbangin'!!!!! it's pure adrenaline man... the rythms always shifts within the songs....etc.. it's pure genius the riffs are awesome. and hetfield sings very well too. listen guys, i'll make myself clear... HOW DARE YOU NOT LIKE THIS ALBUM????? it's awesome!!!! it's best metal album of the year!!!!! listen to the rythms, they're all awesome and headbangin'!!!!! it's pure adrenaline man... the rythms always shifts within the songs....etc.. it's pure genius the riffs are awesome. and hetfield sings very well too. Excellent album. Bottom line. Expand
  38. RainFalls
    Jun 16, 2003
    9
    Metallica returns to its roots with St. Anger. Songs are fullfilled with total anger, no guitar solos or ballads. Great album if ya can understand it right.
  39. TylerA
    Jun 18, 2003
    10
    I love this album. I was slightly disappointed with it at first but then it started to sink into my head, it was then i realized how brilliant this album truly is. All Within My hands is truly one of the heaviest things i have ever heard. And the screaming that James does on My World is awe-inspiring. Its essential brutal heavy metal. A must for all Metallica fans.
  40. ChristopherW
    Jun 20, 2003
    9
    There are no solos. But wait for track #9 to become one of the greatest metal songs of all time. The rest of the album is Metallica grinding-it-out at the best money could buy.
  41. VGiesbrecht
    Jun 20, 2003
    10
    Killer Energy!
  42. guym
    Jun 25, 2003
    10
    great album just fo music lovers not for stupid mtv peapole
  43. alexanderm
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    The heavy sound is finally back.I have a good feeling about this album!Excellent!!!!
  44. EricG
    Jun 29, 2003
    10
    This CD is one of the best heavy metal CD's out there. It's got great songs like Amber and St. Anger. Its a keeper for people that have it and if you dont have it you should go out and buy it
  45. MASONS
    Jul 10, 2003
    10
    this album kicks ass !
  46. steveg
    Jul 13, 2003
    10
    st. angers heavy
  47. KevinM
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    If you dumb fuckers thought this would be like anything else than you are stupid. A band around for over twenty years is going to mature and change. soshut the hell up and go listen to rap you pussies. Dread Effect for ever
  48. SteveA
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    Metallica have produced a metal masterpiece that says "Bend over and take this up the a...." It is truly a return to the unashamed gritty metal that Metallica were originally known for. S&M won them a new following, now the pussies that like the sound of violins are running away from a real ass kicking. I can't stop playing St Anger and I can't wait for the concert in Jan 2004. Metallica have produced a metal masterpiece that says "Bend over and take this up the a...." It is truly a return to the unashamed gritty metal that Metallica were originally known for. S&M won them a new following, now the pussies that like the sound of violins are running away from a real ass kicking. I can't stop playing St Anger and I can't wait for the concert in Jan 2004. Brilliant!!! Expand
  49. VicC
    Jul 2, 2003
    10
    I don't generally like to make blanket statements, but anyone who is a fan of hard rock/metal that thinks this album is anything but brilliant, is a moron. The sound is rough, the tone is angry, and the message is clear - Metallica can still rock.
  50. conniew
    Jul 23, 2003
    10
    Ive always been a big fan of metallica since I was a kid, loved all their albums especially And justice for all... but this album St Anger is fucken awesome 10 out of 10
  51. Sven
    Jul 24, 2003
    10
    Wow. This Album is awesome. I havent taken it out of my CD player yet.
  52. Josh
    Jan 21, 2004
    9
    As I write this review I'm listening to St. Anger through my Windows Media Player, thinking how if everyone would stop hating Metallica just because of that stupid Napster crap (it is stealing by the way...) the world would be a better place. This is a great cd and even though I'll be the first to admit that their older cd's (i.e. Master of Puppets) are much better, St. As I write this review I'm listening to St. Anger through my Windows Media Player, thinking how if everyone would stop hating Metallica just because of that stupid Napster crap (it is stealing by the way...) the world would be a better place. This is a great cd and even though I'll be the first to admit that their older cd's (i.e. Master of Puppets) are much better, St. Anger is better than 95% of the metal cd's in the market. Don't hate them because they want money 'cause we all do! Expand
  53. Nate
    Jun 4, 2004
    9
    This album is no Puppets or Justice, but it is METALLICA. St. Anger- The title gives you the mood of the of the record. It's fast, aggressive, balls out, no excuses necessary, put the kids to bed early, brake out the devil horns, cover grandma's ears, Metallica. Void of the complex arrangements of the 80's, and the over produced sounds of the 90's, it's what you This album is no Puppets or Justice, but it is METALLICA. St. Anger- The title gives you the mood of the of the record. It's fast, aggressive, balls out, no excuses necessary, put the kids to bed early, brake out the devil horns, cover grandma's ears, Metallica. Void of the complex arrangements of the 80's, and the over produced sounds of the 90's, it's what you expect to hear from a band that was on the brink of doom before finshing this album. Best of all, Axl still cant get Chinese Democracy out. Expand
  54. Glock_
    Oct 27, 2005
    9
    An album close to what Metallica wanted it to be: raw, savage, in-your-face, ugly, and intimate. An artistic masterpiece, by a band who has definitely grown up over the years to release its most disturbing effort ever.
  55. carlyp
    May 10, 2005
    10
    love metallica! they absoutly rock! no one can beat them..Seen them live as well! oh yeah baby...rock on
  56. Spawn
    Jul 31, 2006
    9
    Super Album have everithing !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  57. RicardoS
    Sep 9, 2006
    9
    It´s a really good album and a strong and "full of anger" comeback to Metallica!
  58. Clay
    Mar 24, 2007
    9
    I'll probably get some flack here, but this is my favorite Metallica album.
  59. Oliver
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    A dense, raw, no compromise record that traduce a powerfull statement from the band! They have this genius to always push further and to destabilize their fans like only Legends can do...They will certainly loose fans with this album, but they will also have new ones: like it always been since debut album Kill'em all.
  60. Janee
    May 11, 2008
    10
    If you feel what the band felt at the time they made the album, you'll realize: this is not about the great solos of the past, or something like this. this album is about releasing the anger from the pain and kickin' out of the crisis the band got through cause of James etc. each song has a meaning. u just don't realize it! haters suck, METALLICA FAN FOR LIFE!!!
  61. PetriU
    Nov 30, 2003
    9
    This record is that kind of CD that you just have to listen to it, and you are going to start to like it. I know i did :)
  62. LeandroB
    Oct 15, 2003
    9
    Pure , fast and clean , what the f.. else do you want ?
  63. dakkenm
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    this is a kick ass album!
  64. MatP
    Jun 12, 2003
    9
    Kevin L says it well. It's not Ride the Lightning and I miss the solos but the album gets my heart going and I'll never miss a chance to see them live because the energy they give out is like no other band out there.
  65. SeanR.
    Jun 12, 2003
    9
    This is a great album whether you people like it or not. It's not a return but more of a rebirth of Metallica, where both styles that they have played are combined. By the way these songs don't require solos, and Hetfield does not sound awful. The drums aren't bad you barely hear them anyway. So, listen to it and be blown away. This is their best album since AJFA(And This is a great album whether you people like it or not. It's not a return but more of a rebirth of Metallica, where both styles that they have played are combined. By the way these songs don't require solos, and Hetfield does not sound awful. The drums aren't bad you barely hear them anyway. So, listen to it and be blown away. This is their best album since AJFA(And Justice For All). Expand
  66. ErNesti
    Jun 16, 2003
    9
    Pretty good CD, it starts with VERY good songs. The end is a worse than start but that is still very good. Pitchfork must have listened other CD than Metallica: St.Anger.
  67. riska
    Jun 16, 2003
    10
    WOW! a drinalin rush from this band almost makes me want them to be as my leader in my life. the words, the music, his voice make this all come to gether in a beautiful peice of music. a lot of anger and emotion seemed to have gone into this so its over all a good cd cause of their dedication to the music. the feeling when i drive with the cd make me wanna just reve up and go through town WOW! a drinalin rush from this band almost makes me want them to be as my leader in my life. the words, the music, his voice make this all come to gether in a beautiful peice of music. a lot of anger and emotion seemed to have gone into this so its over all a good cd cause of their dedication to the music. the feeling when i drive with the cd make me wanna just reve up and go through town crazy like and paint the city red. Expand
  68. stever
    Jun 16, 2003
    9
    This album isn't about pretty-sounding music to remember and hold on to.This is an awesome old school garrage-sounding album.This is fast-paced and full of ANGER.The drums are meant to sound like beating on trashcan lids!!and the vocals are deliberately made to sound like there was no thought involved when they come out!!if you were to tell me that this album is "utter crap" that This album isn't about pretty-sounding music to remember and hold on to.This is an awesome old school garrage-sounding album.This is fast-paced and full of ANGER.The drums are meant to sound like beating on trashcan lids!!and the vocals are deliberately made to sound like there was no thought involved when they come out!!if you were to tell me that this album is "utter crap" that just tells me that you have no respect for the place where EVERY rock band came from: THE GARRAGE!! Metallica just took a step back in time and if i do say so myself this album is *%#$@$# awesome!!! Expand
  69. cmilne
    Jun 18, 2003
    9
    In the name of all that is sweet and merciful, IT"S ABOUT TIME!! To say that the heavy metal formula ( riff, verse, chorus, verse, chorus, solo, verse, chorusx2) has been abandoned is to understate the obvious. It feels like they've decided that less is more. Play from the gut and commercial implications be damned. The Metallica fans who are familiar with Kill Em' All, both In the name of all that is sweet and merciful, IT"S ABOUT TIME!! To say that the heavy metal formula ( riff, verse, chorus, verse, chorus, solo, verse, chorusx2) has been abandoned is to understate the obvious. It feels like they've decided that less is more. Play from the gut and commercial implications be damned. The Metallica fans who are familiar with Kill Em' All, both Garage Days and Ride the Lightning will appreciate the rawness that has been captured. This is Metallica sans apology and it is long overdue. The subject matter is at times extremely introspective, and the ferocity with which they play behind it really brings the angst to the forefront. If you like raw, loud, and agressive, this is your album. If you are a long time Metallica fan that remembers them before they made videos this is Nirvana. I gave it 9 out of 10 because I feel a 10 is only worthy if I feel the same 10 years down the road. Expand
  70. ryannp
    Jul 11, 2003
    10
    metallica roccs! they r so cool and no 1 can say shit about them, cuz i will kicc ur ass, i know i am a grl, but damn, they rocc, they know how to play some real music!!
  71. VienT
    Jul 16, 2003
    9
    8.5 really. St. Anger furiously blasts its way, title to title, throughout the entire album. It's definitely heavy, raw, dirty, and fast most of the time. Plenty of huge riffs shoveling through each song and straining my neck. But the sound is just not up to par with the rest of their stuff. Production is weak, even standing next to the load/reload sessions. The lyrics are more 8.5 really. St. Anger furiously blasts its way, title to title, throughout the entire album. It's definitely heavy, raw, dirty, and fast most of the time. Plenty of huge riffs shoveling through each song and straining my neck. But the sound is just not up to par with the rest of their stuff. Production is weak, even standing next to the load/reload sessions. The lyrics are more personal, which is not what I'm used to by these guys, and the guitars could've been turned up a notch. And I really miss Kirks solos and also miss Lars drums being in the background instead of the foreground. I know I'm tired of clean and prestine, but this album could've used a little more cleansing. I can't complain though, after the Load/Reload sessions, I'm stupendously pysched to hear this aggression from them. Its like they gathered all the mind numbing sounds they've created in the past 20 years, from the speed metal days to the alternative days, combined them into one direction, threw it all in mud, and out came St. Anger. Expand
  72. kostas
    Jul 26, 2003
    10
    Kick-Ass Rock And Roll!oNe Of THeir Bests.NO bAllads HERE no NU_METAL shits HerE
  73. RobN
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Simply Amazing.
  74. robbiem
    Mar 16, 2005
    9
    lovely melodious beautiful best metal band ever
  75. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sounds strange and so not-Metallica.James has totaly lost his voice and he doesnt sound like the old him.This is not a thrash metal.Its more nu-metal or heavy metal.If i live in 1985 and hear this album my last guess would be that this music is made by metallica.All in all this album is not bad but not what i espect from metallica 7.0 Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. 80
    This is miffed and exemplary metal. [Jul 2003, p.108]
  2. 80
    Against all odds, St. Anger constitutes the cutting edge of commercial yet aggressive heavy rock in 2003. [Aug 2003, p.106]
  3. The production on St. Anger is abysmal.