• Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2003
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 390 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    St. Anger is different. A concept album at its core, and barking ferocity at face value, each song is essentially a different perspective on anger and all of the emotions related to it. If any other band had written it, it would be an instant classic. However, this is Metallica, and they've been crucified for trying something different. I commend them for it. This isn't Metallica, it'sSt. Anger is different. A concept album at its core, and barking ferocity at face value, each song is essentially a different perspective on anger and all of the emotions related to it. If any other band had written it, it would be an instant classic. However, this is Metallica, and they've been crucified for trying something different. I commend them for it. This isn't Metallica, it's something new and unique. And god damn is it catchy. Expand
  2. BusterCherry
    Jun 10, 2003
    9
    The first time I heard it, I thought it was pretty bad. Then I got a little hooked on it and thought it was OK. Then I watched the DVD and I was hooked. The DVD is freaking awesome!
  3. bryanb
    Sep 6, 2003
    7
    this album is nothing compared to the early days but kicks loaded albums in the ass. there is know other metallica on the radio today. there sound is unique and there own. noone will ever touch there old shit and never will. they are part of history. kill em all kills anything released today and dont forget the other three.
  4. BasilH
    Jun 14, 2003
    9
    First, the utter lack of any guitar solos is as disappointing to me as anyone else, but the rest of this album is the finest thing to blugeon metal fans since...well, since the last good metallica disc. Hetfields lyrics are more mature and profound, which is only upsetting to those who refuse to accept growing up. Lars is a man possessed and I have almost been moved to forget about the First, the utter lack of any guitar solos is as disappointing to me as anyone else, but the rest of this album is the finest thing to blugeon metal fans since...well, since the last good metallica disc. Hetfields lyrics are more mature and profound, which is only upsetting to those who refuse to accept growing up. Lars is a man possessed and I have almost been moved to forget about the loss of Jason. It takes a couple of listens to get a feel for the album and to really appreciate it but once you start to get into it, you realize the relevancy that Metallica personifies. This is unquestionablely better than any of the insipid and uninspired "metal" currently droning over the airwaves. Metallica continues to grow musically without ever losing touch with TRUE fans of the genre. Listen, listen again, listen again and the you won't want to stop. This is adult metal for those who appreciate music beyond "rap-rock". Expand
  5. BlaineK
    Jun 17, 2003
    10
    One of the greastest.No bands compete with MetallicA
  6. TAsh
    Jun 10, 2003
    8
    It has to grow on you, but if you liked the old Metallica, not sure how you can't like this CD. Much heavier than anything since Justice but not too heavy to run off 'new' fans.
  7. ThomasB
    Jan 10, 2004
    7
    Well this is the worst Metallica's album so far. After ...And justice for all Metallica's started going worse and worse. I don't want to see what will their next album be like. Still in comparacent to other band albums, this one is not so terrible. So I rate this album with 6/7
  8. matt
    Jan 2, 2004
    9
    I'll admit... at first i did not like this cd, but i stuck with it. Its just a new sound unlike any other; u gotta respect that at least. And for that reason mosty i listened to it over and over. Now i love it. The guitars are huge and have this underground feeling to them, and the lyrics... dont seem like hetfields writing but then again he has grown with his suffering these past I'll admit... at first i did not like this cd, but i stuck with it. Its just a new sound unlike any other; u gotta respect that at least. And for that reason mosty i listened to it over and over. Now i love it. The guitars are huge and have this underground feeling to them, and the lyrics... dont seem like hetfields writing but then again he has grown with his suffering these past few years. All in all the more u listen to it and the higher its turned up the better it gets. Expand
  9. motorbreath666
    May 2, 2004
    10
    A band cannot sound exactly the same EVERY time! People, please if that was the case then it would get old and redudant fast. This album is aggression, made to unleash rage. For me there are two types of talica fans. The ones Pre-Load and the ones Post-Load. Pre-Load: Fans who like the melody and semi-aggressive songs. Post-Load: Fans who like aggressive/power songs (not really caring for A band cannot sound exactly the same EVERY time! People, please if that was the case then it would get old and redudant fast. This album is aggression, made to unleash rage. For me there are two types of talica fans. The ones Pre-Load and the ones Post-Load. Pre-Load: Fans who like the melody and semi-aggressive songs. Post-Load: Fans who like aggressive/power songs (not really caring for songs like NEM or Unforgiven). St Anger lies in a realm by itself. Personally I think the album is an 8 but it gets 2 extra points because of its nature. That is the nature of the beast. The very fact that there are NO radio friendly songs on this album tells me as a fan that a good band cannot be defined. Expand
  10. PhilH
    Jun 17, 2005
    8
    This album has got some kick ass songs on it, but it isnt as good as Metallica's previous albums
  11. RichardL
    Sep 4, 2005
    7
    Not a classic. But these giants nearly split in the process of making St. Anger. It is probably their most meaningful effort yet.
  12. AndrewB
    Jun 10, 2003
    8
    Having given this a few days to sink in it's making loads more sense and proving to be a winner - the production does prove to be a hurdle to get past but makes sense as time goes by. Solid, heavy and powerful - everything a Metallica CD should be (and hasn't been for a good while) this seems to have split the fans but made me smile !
  13. christophern
    Jun 10, 2003
    7
    I'm not a metallica fan, but this is a good album.
  14. TomH
    Jun 13, 2003
    8
    Raw and powerful, the way metal should be.
  15. Bob
    Jun 13, 2003
    10
    i give it a ten in response to the ridiculously fag reviews giving it 0's. in all honesty, it is an 8.5. solid. better than all of their albums cept justice and master. id go into detail, but lots of you seem like fucking morons so you wouldnt understand what makes a cd good
  16. marioc
    Jun 13, 2003
    10
    this cd fuckin rocks
  17. tomasg
    Jun 18, 2003
    8
    in a world full of overproduced tripe, this is a welcome development. if lars hadn't gone out of his way to make his drums sound distractingly bad, this could have been an incredible album. i hated it when i first heard it too. i thought it had to be some kind of a joke. the joke is that so many other bands can sugar coat their turds with a lot of studio time and effects and make it in a world full of overproduced tripe, this is a welcome development. if lars hadn't gone out of his way to make his drums sound distractingly bad, this could have been an incredible album. i hated it when i first heard it too. i thought it had to be some kind of a joke. the joke is that so many other bands can sugar coat their turds with a lot of studio time and effects and make it sound like a million bucks. Expand
  18. markp
    Jun 10, 2003
    8
    its heavy sounds good BUT WHERE ARE THE SOLOS
  19. johnr
    Jun 23, 2003
    10
    this album kicks mager ass the lyrics the music everything about matallica fucking rocks
  20. anjananjan
    Jun 20, 2003
    10
    great buy it
  21. LindseyB
    Jun 20, 2003
    10
    Metallica's new cd is worth investing the money in. I can't see why anyone would give the cd under an 8. If you're a Metallica fan, you'll love this. All new material with an old-school twist, it makes for a great cd. I'm gonna be having this in my cd player for quite sometime.
  22. JasonL
    Jun 9, 2003
    9
    Upon first hearing the St. Anger single, this album had me feeling embarassed that I had been so geared up for it over the last 12 months. It sounded like a mess, and it didn't help that I heard one critic describe it as "commercial suicide" owing to the raw sound and And Justice For All-like song lengths. However, once I cracked the plastic, gave it 3 or 4 full listenings, bought Upon first hearing the St. Anger single, this album had me feeling embarassed that I had been so geared up for it over the last 12 months. It sounded like a mess, and it didn't help that I heard one critic describe it as "commercial suicide" owing to the raw sound and And Justice For All-like song lengths. However, once I cracked the plastic, gave it 3 or 4 full listenings, bought into the "live" sound, and started to unearth the classic Metallica intricacies buried beneath the wall of crushing sound, I began to appreciate this album for what it is - a return to Metallica's live and aggressive roots, and a critical healing salve for James Hetfield. The pingy drums still annoy me, and while I like the looser vibe better than Black, I dislike studio albums that sound this rough. Its not a good sign that the DVD rehearsals sound comparable to the CD in terms of sound quality. Regardless, a sub-par Metallica album is better than most modern bands' pretender rap/rock hybrid efforts, so this one gets an 8/10 on the strength of raw energy and a few crunchy yet funky songs, most notably Unnamed Feeling, Sweet Amber, Shoot Me, and the freight train that is St. Anger. I elevate my rating to a 9/10 due to the inclusion of the DVD. It shows us how happy this band is now and how good these songs are going to sound live. I also think that it was a clever tactical move to increase the value of the album without increasing the price (unlike the Linkin Park Meteora DVD set). This band knows that they did themselves some damage with the Napster thing and this is a great bonus to both those that questioned their motives and the fans that stood beside them. That said, Metallica is a band that I expect and demand 10/10 efforts from, and if Bob Rock is listening I'd like him to hear this: its not necessarily the songs that hold this thing back from challenging the Black album, its the production. Please make sure that those 20-odd unreleased songs that are referred to on the "making of St. Anger" video get polished up and sound clean, crisp, and crunchy the way that Black, Load, and Reload do. When you're on your game and mixing a true "studio" album, you are the best rock producer in the industry! We should all feel grateful that the greatest metal band ever is still alive and kicking after being so close to the brink. Don't make us wait too long before your next one boys! And why not make us happy with studio versions of No Leaf Clover and Minus Human? Expand
  23. SamE
    Jun 9, 2003
    10
    This is the METALLICA i grew up to. These are the messages that insipered me. This is a solid return to the days of headbanging.
  24. ChrisM
    Jul 27, 2003
    10
    This cd kicks ass! I will kick every1s ass if the say ne thing bad to metallica!!!!!!!!!!! Yeah so this cd is awsome buy it NOW!!!!
  25. alexc
    Aug 14, 2003
    9
    This marvellous album is yet another sign of the evolution of Metallica, that has lead them to the top. If you want old staff, I heard runners-up Maiden are releasing a new album... BUT METALLICA WILL ALWAYS BE THE BEST!!!!!
  26. MazenS
    Aug 30, 2003
    10
    I love Metallica, they are AWESOME, this album shows how powerful they are, i only wish they could scream, or shout some more. Whoever got disapointed by Metallica for releasing this album is pretty screwed up.
  27. Pupu-The-Alien??
    Aug 4, 2003
    10
    if u dont like this cd u r gay this was the best cd and only cd ive ever actually listened to the rest were too boring
  28. AlexAlex
    Sep 20, 2003
    10
    good i like St. Anger
  29. joej
    Sep 6, 2003
    8
    not too bad, just get rid of that anoying snare and bring back the solos
  30. timn
    Oct 29, 2004
    8
    I absolutely love this album!! This is the type of stuff i like to hear from METALLICA!!! Riff after riff of rocking heavy metal. what amazes me most about this album is the way they manage to keep the rhythm changes interesting minus any solos. while i'll be the first to admit that lyrically (compared to their first five albums) it's a little weak, but the fact that they are I absolutely love this album!! This is the type of stuff i like to hear from METALLICA!!! Riff after riff of rocking heavy metal. what amazes me most about this album is the way they manage to keep the rhythm changes interesting minus any solos. while i'll be the first to admit that lyrically (compared to their first five albums) it's a little weak, but the fact that they are back to there hard rocking, more musically inventive selves is more than enough to make up for that end of it!!! I just hope the next one is as good or better (and arrives a lot sooner!!!) Expand
  31. DaveC
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    It's unbelievable to hear an album this fresh, raw and exciting released by what seemed to be a washed out heavy metal band. To be quite honest, have grown quite bored of the metallic sameyness of Metallica's early albums and so it's refreshing to hear an album with a raw sound that doesn't overemphasise any instrument. What is left is an immediate, visceral and (oh It's unbelievable to hear an album this fresh, raw and exciting released by what seemed to be a washed out heavy metal band. To be quite honest, have grown quite bored of the metallic sameyness of Metallica's early albums and so it's refreshing to hear an album with a raw sound that doesn't overemphasise any instrument. What is left is an immediate, visceral and (oh yes) angry sound. James Hetfield's lyrics which may have seemed a tad dumb on paper work brilliant within the context of the songs. This is Metallica's finest album largely thanks to the fact that Metallica's hardcore punk influences are more prominent this time round, giving it a raw energy, and it still sounds fundamentally like a heavy metal album. Enjoy! Expand
  32. TimothyD
    Apr 9, 2004
    7
    Well, I love Metallica, and this album is definitely better than what most of the other metal bands make. However, the absence of solos is a tragedy. Robert Trujillo on bass is definitely exhillarating
  33. DarrenL
    Oct 6, 2005
    8
    Maybe Metallica 5th best album, but that still makes it a great cd.
  34. TomC
    Feb 14, 2005
    10
    I dont see how ANY metallica fan could diss this album. Complaining about no guitar solos is kinda lame... if you like them solely for those then you are not a true fan, go get a guitar and entertain yourself. I agree the album does have a more "rough" sound to it... as ive read some places "like a demo" but to me thats good. i like the album because it sounds good... it hasnt been I dont see how ANY metallica fan could diss this album. Complaining about no guitar solos is kinda lame... if you like them solely for those then you are not a true fan, go get a guitar and entertain yourself. I agree the album does have a more "rough" sound to it... as ive read some places "like a demo" but to me thats good. i like the album because it sounds good... it hasnt been doctored to sound good because it doesnt need it. if you like edited vocals go check out ashlee simpson or something. unfortunately time ages people... how can ANYONE expect James to maintain the same voice all these years?? of course it will change slightly etc etc, things change get over it!. this album shows that metallica are capable of changing their style of music and not having to use computers to make it sound good. they are good musicians and any true fan will know that they have been through a lot and to sound as they did in their younger days is impossible. with that said ima go now, anyone who wants to can email me at tom201184@yahoo.com.au take care all :) ROCK ON!! m/ Expand
  35. MesaBoogie
    Feb 4, 2005
    8
    So what if the damn snare is pingy and there are no guitar solos? That snare sound enables it to cut through the massive wall of guitar/bass grunge. Who needs guitar solos? If you want guitar solos, listen to Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, John Petrucci or Eric Johnson. They do it much better. Besides, guitar solos are sooo fucking 80's. If NIN can be critics' darlings with songs So what if the damn snare is pingy and there are no guitar solos? That snare sound enables it to cut through the massive wall of guitar/bass grunge. Who needs guitar solos? If you want guitar solos, listen to Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, John Petrucci or Eric Johnson. They do it much better. Besides, guitar solos are sooo fucking 80's. If NIN can be critics' darlings with songs without guitar solos, why can't Metallica? Besides, Hammet's guitar solos are typically musically meandering and sound like a poor excuse to stick in a flurry of random notes into the song structure. Why are people pissy about the production values on this record? The music in St. Anger is heavy, pissed-off, and raw, with tons of awesome drop-tuned riffage. As a musician, I give props to the Metallica guys to have the balls to release such a "live" sounding recording without the clinical sterility of their earlier masterpieces like Puppets and Justice, where every instrument sounds isolated and strangled. If there can be any faults in this album, it's probably the repetitiveness of some of the songs, no doubt caused by the band and Bob Rock staring at the ProTools edit screen too long and copy/pasting song arrangements. All in all, St. Anger sounds alive, refreshing, vital, and contemporary (without being a complete slave to current musical trends)- a welcome evolution in Metallica's music and a fine addition to their oeuvre. Expand
  36. NickB
    Feb 4, 2005
    8
    This is a real album, its not watered down or run through a machine. If you want a Backstreet Boys album go by one. If you want something with some balls, buy St. Anger.
  37. PauloF
    May 24, 2005
    10
    It's a great album i gave it 10/10. Metallica just want it to do something different
  38. JosephA
    May 12, 2006
    7
    I like this album, bt i love load and reload. Its seams like they are going in a new direction and i sorta like it but im hoping for more songs like "Die, Die, Die my darling" ; "Aint my Bitch". :)
  39. KyleC
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    This album absolutley fucking rocks! Fingers up to the idiots who have underrated this fantastic album produced from the anger within Metallica. 10/10. After watching Some Kind Of Monster DVD, I came to respect the album even more after seeing what they have been through to produce this album. Metal-Fucking-Allica For Life!
  40. DamienP
    Nov 4, 2003
    9
    Metallica c tro cool headed
  41. Jennifer
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    Metallica rocks and this is their best CD yet It can't get any better!
  42. MikeO
    Jun 11, 2003
    10
    So I guess that im old fashioned but Metallica still rocks! Frantic is awesome!
  43. [ANonymous]
    Jun 11, 2003
    8
    Agree with most reviews...not their best album, but it rocks more than most music out there right now. Their live rehearsals sound 10x better than the CD, which is why I ripped the DVD to make a CD (plus the annoying snare ping is mostly gone in the live versions!). It's a brutal album. Definitely not going to please everyone, but I'm happy I bought it.
  44. ChrissN
    Jun 10, 2003
    8
    The best album the metalforgrounders have put out for quite a while. at least better than Load, reload, kill em all and almost as good as Justice. Some may disslike the drumsound and the NO solos but when ju listen for a while and look further than that you know that metallica is back...
  45. SickWillie
    Jun 11, 2003
    7
    Many people are no doubt extremely disappointed at "St. Anger", especially after all the hype that was generated from the Metallica camp preceeding its release. and, those who were expecting a return to the band's whiplash 80s glory have every good reason to be upset. I mean, here we have a band that has crafted such truly brilliant albums as "Master of Puppets", suddenly taking a Many people are no doubt extremely disappointed at "St. Anger", especially after all the hype that was generated from the Metallica camp preceeding its release. and, those who were expecting a return to the band's whiplash 80s glory have every good reason to be upset. I mean, here we have a band that has crafted such truly brilliant albums as "Master of Puppets", suddenly taking a shine to nu-metal, applying a cease and desist on solos, and putting out an album that sounds as though it was recorded in someone's basement on dollar store equipment. Truly, the sound quality (or lack thereof) is "St. Anger"'s greatest downfall. Yes, the mid-range is prominent, but Lars' snare pings annoyingly, drilling into your head until you want to throw him out of his seat and tune the damned thing yourself. There are other major problems plaguing the record as well, notably the deterioration of Hetfield's vocals. For much of the album, the vocals do suffice. However, whenever he tries to vent... REALLY vent the anger, it comes across as a sore-throated, whiny, unbalanced yelp (this really gets grating at the close of 'All Within My Hands' when, as James repeatedly yells 'kill kill kill kill kill', he teeters somewhere between Bobcat Goldthwait and Billy Corgan... not a good thing). Yes, "St. Anger" has plenty of problems, several good arguments for those who would see Metallica burned at the stake for suppsed crimes against metal. But, for all its shortcomings, credit must be given, for "St. Anger" excels in many categories as well. If nothing else, it's quite possibly the heaviest album Metallica has ever recorded. Gone are the sweeping, epic ballads, replaced instead with chunky riffs and visceral harmonies. And, at times, the weight of the music is truly flooring, immersing you in the passion and fury that was probably intended. Yes, the album is underproduced. Yes, we agree that James isn't the greatest singer in the world. Yes, Lars could have fixed his snare prior to recording. And yes, many of these songs could have been shaved down considerably. But, none of this changes what should be the most prevalent fact. "St. Anger" is an ugly, gurgling monster of an album, a challenge to every fan, old and new, to throw their inhibitions to the wayside, turn up the volume and trust in Metallica enough to take you for the ride. And, when the album ends in an orgy of fury, any true fan of not only the band, but what they stand for musically, would be a fool not to take "St. Anger" for another spin. Expand
  46. MetallicaFan
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    This cd is F******* AMAZING! i love Metallica's new sound, you all dont like the cd because you want it to sound like "Master of Puppets", so what if its not? METALLICA will always be METALLICA, and if you were a true METALLICA fan, you would still admire them and support them no matter what! ST. ANGER is a super great album. METALLICA IS BACK!!
  47. DaveO'C
    Jun 12, 2003
    8
    This release will stand the test of time, and eventually prove to be the provacative art it is offered as. Exisence is not static, it is constantly evolving, so is art , and in most cases, artists. If you want to hear frantic metal leads and crunching 80s riff's listen to metallica's releases int the 1980s. It's pointless for a band to keep regurgitating used formulas over This release will stand the test of time, and eventually prove to be the provacative art it is offered as. Exisence is not static, it is constantly evolving, so is art , and in most cases, artists. If you want to hear frantic metal leads and crunching 80s riff's listen to metallica's releases int the 1980s. It's pointless for a band to keep regurgitating used formulas over and over again just because they worked in the past. Bold, importatnt bands evolve, try new things and constantly redifine themselves. Bravo Metallica! Expand
  48. niggynig
    Jun 12, 2003
    9
    all u little niggers can lick my sac
  49. JackB
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    this Album Kicks @ss
  50. richb
    Jun 13, 2003
    10
    one of the greatest metallica cds.
  51. SteveV
    Jun 13, 2003
    7
    Well let me state that my son who is 9 loves this CD. We actually watched the DVD 1st and that said the production on the rehearsals isn't a far cry from the production on the CD. The songs are great and with some production tweaks could have been awesome. The tinny kettle drum sound (is that the snare?) makes me cringe at times and makes some of the great parts of the CD not so Well let me state that my son who is 9 loves this CD. We actually watched the DVD 1st and that said the production on the rehearsals isn't a far cry from the production on the CD. The songs are great and with some production tweaks could have been awesome. The tinny kettle drum sound (is that the snare?) makes me cringe at times and makes some of the great parts of the CD not so great. I would love to hear Dirty Window without that (can I have the masters so I can remix this CD and make it sound like it should, surely even I could do a better job than Bob Rock does). A few solos wouldn't have hurt either, having watched the DVD first I thought maybe in rehearsal they wern't there but it held true on the CD also. If James had just growled on the whole CD instead of attempting to sing it would have made it even meaner, the one passage on Invisble Kid is awful, good Lord what were they thinking? Stand out tracks: Dirty Window with its killer groove, ditto to My World, Sweet Amber is evil, and the best track by far is The Unamed Feeling which combines the heavy with structure some the other tracks lack, Purify is the most intense track. Eliminate Invisible Kid, shorten Some Kinda Monster, add some solos, get rid of the awful "kettle drum", GRRROOOOOOOOOOOWLL don't sing, and this ranks with their best stuff. Expand
  52. MarkC
    Jun 13, 2003
    10
    listen guys, i'll make myself clear... HOW DARE YOU NOT LIKE THIS ALBUM????? it's awesome!!!! it's best metal album of the year!!!!! listen to the rythms, they're all awesome and headbangin'!!!!! it's pure adrenaline man... the rythms always shifts within the songs....etc.. it's pure genius the riffs are awesome. and hetfield sings very well too. listen guys, i'll make myself clear... HOW DARE YOU NOT LIKE THIS ALBUM????? it's awesome!!!! it's best metal album of the year!!!!! listen to the rythms, they're all awesome and headbangin'!!!!! it's pure adrenaline man... the rythms always shifts within the songs....etc.. it's pure genius the riffs are awesome. and hetfield sings very well too. Excellent album. Bottom line. Expand
  53. RobertW
    Jun 13, 2003
    8
    Its more hardcore than the previous CD's Load and Reload. But it doesn't compare to there earlier CD's Master of Puppets, Ride the Lightning, Black Out, Kill Em All, and And Justice For All. Its a different sound then what old school Metallica fans are used too. Therefore I gave this CD an 8 because it only has two recognizable flaws.
  54. StuartH
    Jun 14, 2003
    7
    Not exactly my favourite album to date... but I've only had it for a couple of days... there's still alot of time for it to grow on me.
  55. simonn
    Jun 14, 2003
    7
    For the most part a very heavy album with some good, if not great tunes. let down by the relatively poor Invisible Kid and Unnamed feeling.
  56. BenS
    Jun 16, 2003
    8
    It rocked! Metallicas best in a long time.
  57. RainFalls
    Jun 16, 2003
    9
    Metallica returns to its roots with St. Anger. Songs are fullfilled with total anger, no guitar solos or ballads. Great album if ya can understand it right.
  58. TylerA
    Jun 18, 2003
    10
    I love this album. I was slightly disappointed with it at first but then it started to sink into my head, it was then i realized how brilliant this album truly is. All Within My hands is truly one of the heaviest things i have ever heard. And the screaming that James does on My World is awe-inspiring. Its essential brutal heavy metal. A must for all Metallica fans.
  59. ChristopherW
    Jun 20, 2003
    9
    There are no solos. But wait for track #9 to become one of the greatest metal songs of all time. The rest of the album is Metallica grinding-it-out at the best money could buy.
  60. VGiesbrecht
    Jun 20, 2003
    10
    Killer Energy!
  61. DT
    Jun 23, 2003
    8
    Some necessary steps before listening to this album: 1. Forget everything about the Napster controversy, Load and Reload, and whatever notions of 'Metallica having sold out' you might have. If you can't forget them, then at least try ignoring them. 2. Buy the CD - all the tracks that were leaked on the net are fakes (I've downloaded and listened to them myself, so I Some necessary steps before listening to this album: 1. Forget everything about the Napster controversy, Load and Reload, and whatever notions of 'Metallica having sold out' you might have. If you can't forget them, then at least try ignoring them. 2. Buy the CD - all the tracks that were leaked on the net are fakes (I've downloaded and listened to them myself, so I know what it feels like to listen to some rubbish and then find out it wasn't what you thought). 3. WATCH THE DVD. And you'll see that the boys never lost it - forget about the sound of Lars's drum, or Kirk not having any solos, or James barely doing any 'proper' singing at all. If you watch them play all the songs in the studio, and are the least bit fair, you will have to admit that these guys can still rock. Big time. Oh, and when you're done with it all, make some good VBR rips and put them up on the net, just to see how many people Lars is going to sue this time ;-) Expand
  62. arkansascracker
    Jun 24, 2003
    7
    This is a good solid CD. Poorly produced with some flaws, but a nice return to something more akin to thrash than their last few CDs. I like it alright.
  63. guym
    Jun 25, 2003
    10
    great album just fo music lovers not for stupid mtv peapole
  64. alexanderm
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    The heavy sound is finally back.I have a good feeling about this album!Excellent!!!!
  65. EricG
    Jun 29, 2003
    10
    This CD is one of the best heavy metal CD's out there. It's got great songs like Amber and St. Anger. Its a keeper for people that have it and if you dont have it you should go out and buy it
  66. MASONS
    Jul 10, 2003
    10
    this album kicks ass !
  67. steveg
    Jul 13, 2003
    10
    st. angers heavy
  68. KevinM
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    If you dumb fuckers thought this would be like anything else than you are stupid. A band around for over twenty years is going to mature and change. soshut the hell up and go listen to rap you pussies. Dread Effect for ever
  69. SteveA
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    Metallica have produced a metal masterpiece that says "Bend over and take this up the a...." It is truly a return to the unashamed gritty metal that Metallica were originally known for. S&M won them a new following, now the pussies that like the sound of violins are running away from a real ass kicking. I can't stop playing St Anger and I can't wait for the concert in Jan 2004. Metallica have produced a metal masterpiece that says "Bend over and take this up the a...." It is truly a return to the unashamed gritty metal that Metallica were originally known for. S&M won them a new following, now the pussies that like the sound of violins are running away from a real ass kicking. I can't stop playing St Anger and I can't wait for the concert in Jan 2004. Brilliant!!! Expand
  70. VicC
    Jul 2, 2003
    10
    I don't generally like to make blanket statements, but anyone who is a fan of hard rock/metal that thinks this album is anything but brilliant, is a moron. The sound is rough, the tone is angry, and the message is clear - Metallica can still rock.
  71. conniew
    Jul 23, 2003
    10
    Ive always been a big fan of metallica since I was a kid, loved all their albums especially And justice for all... but this album St Anger is fucken awesome 10 out of 10
  72. Sven
    Jul 24, 2003
    10
    Wow. This Album is awesome. I havent taken it out of my CD player yet.
  73. EricH
    Jul 31, 2003
    8
    it may not be there best album but it is great
  74. RudyS
    Aug 23, 2003
    7
    The guitars sounds are well-overdriven,the bass is great (Well done Bob!).But I hate the snare drums' sound.It feels like my ass irritated! Where's the guitar solo? Can't you play it again Kirk?
  75. Josh
    Jan 21, 2004
    9
    As I write this review I'm listening to St. Anger through my Windows Media Player, thinking how if everyone would stop hating Metallica just because of that stupid Napster crap (it is stealing by the way...) the world would be a better place. This is a great cd and even though I'll be the first to admit that their older cd's (i.e. Master of Puppets) are much better, St. As I write this review I'm listening to St. Anger through my Windows Media Player, thinking how if everyone would stop hating Metallica just because of that stupid Napster crap (it is stealing by the way...) the world would be a better place. This is a great cd and even though I'll be the first to admit that their older cd's (i.e. Master of Puppets) are much better, St. Anger is better than 95% of the metal cd's in the market. Don't hate them because they want money 'cause we all do! Expand
  76. Nate
    Jun 4, 2004
    9
    This album is no Puppets or Justice, but it is METALLICA. St. Anger- The title gives you the mood of the of the record. It's fast, aggressive, balls out, no excuses necessary, put the kids to bed early, brake out the devil horns, cover grandma's ears, Metallica. Void of the complex arrangements of the 80's, and the over produced sounds of the 90's, it's what you This album is no Puppets or Justice, but it is METALLICA. St. Anger- The title gives you the mood of the of the record. It's fast, aggressive, balls out, no excuses necessary, put the kids to bed early, brake out the devil horns, cover grandma's ears, Metallica. Void of the complex arrangements of the 80's, and the over produced sounds of the 90's, it's what you expect to hear from a band that was on the brink of doom before finshing this album. Best of all, Axl still cant get Chinese Democracy out. Expand
  77. Glock_
    Oct 27, 2005
    9
    An album close to what Metallica wanted it to be: raw, savage, in-your-face, ugly, and intimate. An artistic masterpiece, by a band who has definitely grown up over the years to release its most disturbing effort ever.
  78. jackv
    Mar 16, 2005
    7
    i love metallica to death.. but mesa "so 80s" is where metallica came out of.. so dont dis the 80s. metallicas solos arent like steve vai, satriana etc they are deep and heartfelt, and they brought rhythem and balance to songs. thru all of this, watching some kind of monster truly helped to boost my opinion of the album, seeing where they are coming from. at least live they add in solos i love metallica to death.. but mesa "so 80s" is where metallica came out of.. so dont dis the 80s. metallicas solos arent like steve vai, satriana etc they are deep and heartfelt, and they brought rhythem and balance to songs. thru all of this, watching some kind of monster truly helped to boost my opinion of the album, seeing where they are coming from. at least live they add in solos and licks.. ROCK ON TALLICAAAA! Expand
  79. carlyp
    May 10, 2005
    10
    love metallica! they absoutly rock! no one can beat them..Seen them live as well! oh yeah baby...rock on
  80. LouD
    Sep 21, 2005
    8
    Although a much different sound from their previous work, its vicious and powerful, and gets their point across very cleary. They aren't going anywhere.
  81. Spawn
    Jul 31, 2006
    9
    Super Album have everithing !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  82. PetriU
    Nov 30, 2003
    9
    This record is that kind of CD that you just have to listen to it, and you are going to start to like it. I know i did :)
  83. LeandroB
    Oct 15, 2003
    9
    Pure , fast and clean , what the f.. else do you want ?
  84. MattC
    Jun 11, 2003
    7
    While listening to this thunderous- fire-breathing-beast-of-an album, it sounds as if it is an even more commercial look at metal as some of the songs off of the Black Album were, but once you listen closer you will be blown away by the sheer rage of "St Anger." From the opening bass chords of "Frantic" through the next 75 minutes you here Metallica doing their very finest going back to While listening to this thunderous- fire-breathing-beast-of-an album, it sounds as if it is an even more commercial look at metal as some of the songs off of the Black Album were, but once you listen closer you will be blown away by the sheer rage of "St Anger." From the opening bass chords of "Frantic" through the next 75 minutes you here Metallica doing their very finest going back to the basics of their early days. Lars pounds away at the drums at a lightning speed while Hetfield and Hammet join together will heavy guitars meet major riffs that completely gut the soft songs off of "Load" and "Reload"-"Until It Sleeps" "Ronnie" "Unforgiven 2." Hetfield slips back to his growling vocals and tells it how it is. It is heavy, it is hard but most of all it is proof that Metallica still knows how to rock and are still the "Four Horsemen" of metal. While the time between the songs may fade, Metallica shows their creativity in the re-invention of their genre how it was meant to be and it will stay alive as long as they're around. Expand
  85. MicahO
    Jun 11, 2003
    8
    Look i've read some of the reviews for this album and why would this album suck!?!?! I mean come on people this is Metallicas like 7th album and they can still sell their stuff and make millions so unfortunately whether you like it or not the rest of the planet does.
  86. dakkenm
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    this is a kick ass album!
  87. MatP
    Jun 12, 2003
    9
    Kevin L says it well. It's not Ride the Lightning and I miss the solos but the album gets my heart going and I'll never miss a chance to see them live because the energy they give out is like no other band out there.
  88. SeanR.
    Jun 12, 2003
    9
    This is a great album whether you people like it or not. It's not a return but more of a rebirth of Metallica, where both styles that they have played are combined. By the way these songs don't require solos, and Hetfield does not sound awful. The drums aren't bad you barely hear them anyway. So, listen to it and be blown away. This is their best album since AJFA(And This is a great album whether you people like it or not. It's not a return but more of a rebirth of Metallica, where both styles that they have played are combined. By the way these songs don't require solos, and Hetfield does not sound awful. The drums aren't bad you barely hear them anyway. So, listen to it and be blown away. This is their best album since AJFA(And Justice For All). Expand
  89. AndyG
    Jun 13, 2003
    8
    This album isn't returning to the old Metallica, like most will claim. This is a brand-new, brutal, raw, rough, and vicious Metallica. The songs are long and fast, but that's about all they have in common with the classic Metallica. There are no guitar solos, but they wouldn't fit in these songs anyway. It'll take a few listens to get into, but once you get used to it, This album isn't returning to the old Metallica, like most will claim. This is a brand-new, brutal, raw, rough, and vicious Metallica. The songs are long and fast, but that's about all they have in common with the classic Metallica. There are no guitar solos, but they wouldn't fit in these songs anyway. It'll take a few listens to get into, but once you get used to it, you'll love it. Expand
  90. ErNesti
    Jun 16, 2003
    9
    Pretty good CD, it starts with VERY good songs. The end is a worse than start but that is still very good. Pitchfork must have listened other CD than Metallica: St.Anger.
  91. riska
    Jun 16, 2003
    10
    WOW! a drinalin rush from this band almost makes me want them to be as my leader in my life. the words, the music, his voice make this all come to gether in a beautiful peice of music. a lot of anger and emotion seemed to have gone into this so its over all a good cd cause of their dedication to the music. the feeling when i drive with the cd make me wanna just reve up and go through town WOW! a drinalin rush from this band almost makes me want them to be as my leader in my life. the words, the music, his voice make this all come to gether in a beautiful peice of music. a lot of anger and emotion seemed to have gone into this so its over all a good cd cause of their dedication to the music. the feeling when i drive with the cd make me wanna just reve up and go through town crazy like and paint the city red. Expand
  92. stever
    Jun 16, 2003
    9
    This album isn't about pretty-sounding music to remember and hold on to.This is an awesome old school garrage-sounding album.This is fast-paced and full of ANGER.The drums are meant to sound like beating on trashcan lids!!and the vocals are deliberately made to sound like there was no thought involved when they come out!!if you were to tell me that this album is "utter crap" that This album isn't about pretty-sounding music to remember and hold on to.This is an awesome old school garrage-sounding album.This is fast-paced and full of ANGER.The drums are meant to sound like beating on trashcan lids!!and the vocals are deliberately made to sound like there was no thought involved when they come out!!if you were to tell me that this album is "utter crap" that just tells me that you have no respect for the place where EVERY rock band came from: THE GARRAGE!! Metallica just took a step back in time and if i do say so myself this album is *%#$@$# awesome!!! Expand
  93. GlenB
    Jun 16, 2003
    8
    The first time I listened to this album I was in shock. This was not what I was expecting at all. The guitars, bass, and drums sound raw and stripped down. It is fast and a little brutal, but seems real and emotional, too. Of course, it wouldn't be Metallica without the seemingly neverending songs and Hetfields usual lyrics about alienation,fear, and pain. However, it's great to The first time I listened to this album I was in shock. This was not what I was expecting at all. The guitars, bass, and drums sound raw and stripped down. It is fast and a little brutal, but seems real and emotional, too. Of course, it wouldn't be Metallica without the seemingly neverending songs and Hetfields usual lyrics about alienation,fear, and pain. However, it's great to see Metallica play music like they really mean it again. The bonus DVD is just fantastic. It gives the new songs an extra burst of energy and passion that seemed to have been missing from Metallica the past decade. St. Anger is a must-have album for any fan out there [ especially old-school Metallibashers ]. The kings of metal are back. Expand
  94. cmilne
    Jun 18, 2003
    9
    In the name of all that is sweet and merciful, IT"S ABOUT TIME!! To say that the heavy metal formula ( riff, verse, chorus, verse, chorus, solo, verse, chorusx2) has been abandoned is to understate the obvious. It feels like they've decided that less is more. Play from the gut and commercial implications be damned. The Metallica fans who are familiar with Kill Em' All, both In the name of all that is sweet and merciful, IT"S ABOUT TIME!! To say that the heavy metal formula ( riff, verse, chorus, verse, chorus, solo, verse, chorusx2) has been abandoned is to understate the obvious. It feels like they've decided that less is more. Play from the gut and commercial implications be damned. The Metallica fans who are familiar with Kill Em' All, both Garage Days and Ride the Lightning will appreciate the rawness that has been captured. This is Metallica sans apology and it is long overdue. The subject matter is at times extremely introspective, and the ferocity with which they play behind it really brings the angst to the forefront. If you like raw, loud, and agressive, this is your album. If you are a long time Metallica fan that remembers them before they made videos this is Nirvana. I gave it 9 out of 10 because I feel a 10 is only worthy if I feel the same 10 years down the road. Expand
  95. ryannp
    Jul 11, 2003
    10
    metallica roccs! they r so cool and no 1 can say shit about them, cuz i will kicc ur ass, i know i am a grl, but damn, they rocc, they know how to play some real music!!
  96. VienT
    Jul 16, 2003
    9
    8.5 really. St. Anger furiously blasts its way, title to title, throughout the entire album. It's definitely heavy, raw, dirty, and fast most of the time. Plenty of huge riffs shoveling through each song and straining my neck. But the sound is just not up to par with the rest of their stuff. Production is weak, even standing next to the load/reload sessions. The lyrics are more 8.5 really. St. Anger furiously blasts its way, title to title, throughout the entire album. It's definitely heavy, raw, dirty, and fast most of the time. Plenty of huge riffs shoveling through each song and straining my neck. But the sound is just not up to par with the rest of their stuff. Production is weak, even standing next to the load/reload sessions. The lyrics are more personal, which is not what I'm used to by these guys, and the guitars could've been turned up a notch. And I really miss Kirks solos and also miss Lars drums being in the background instead of the foreground. I know I'm tired of clean and prestine, but this album could've used a little more cleansing. I can't complain though, after the Load/Reload sessions, I'm stupendously pysched to hear this aggression from them. Its like they gathered all the mind numbing sounds they've created in the past 20 years, from the speed metal days to the alternative days, combined them into one direction, threw it all in mud, and out came St. Anger. Expand
  97. kostas
    Jul 26, 2003
    10
    Kick-Ass Rock And Roll!oNe Of THeir Bests.NO bAllads HERE no NU_METAL shits HerE
  98. SeanM
    Aug 11, 2003
    10
    What a fucking album! Not only is it quite up to par with most of thier other albums, but its so addicting to listen to@ With all the speed metal from the 80's, conbined with the bone chilling riffs of the black album to the serene sound of "sweet amber". Metallica definatly unleashed one hell of a beast on this one. I just got back from thier concert yesterday, and they played it so What a fucking album! Not only is it quite up to par with most of thier other albums, but its so addicting to listen to@ With all the speed metal from the 80's, conbined with the bone chilling riffs of the black album to the serene sound of "sweet amber". Metallica definatly unleashed one hell of a beast on this one. I just got back from thier concert yesterday, and they played it so loud and hard that i could barely keep up with the lyrics of "frantic". Awesome job Metallica! Expand
  99. RaulC
    Aug 19, 2003
    8
    i dont speak or write a good english then i´ll write in spanish; es un album bueno pero faltaron los solos como ya lo mencionaron antes, pienso que talvez 20 años de tocar lo mismo debe ser aburrido, ahh felicito a lars ulrich por que hizo un gran trabajo... Bye
  100. RobN
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Simply Amazing.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. 80
    This is miffed and exemplary metal. [Jul 2003, p.108]
  2. 80
    Against all odds, St. Anger constitutes the cutting edge of commercial yet aggressive heavy rock in 2003. [Aug 2003, p.106]
  3. The production on St. Anger is abysmal.