St. Anger

  • Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2003
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 362 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    This is Metallica's return to the earth. They've come back with their instruments in their hands and not a single f*ck given. With the production sounding like a garage jam on a Friday afternoon and drums that are certainly "unique." St.Anger is an album that happens when you take all the struggles that Metallica went through and extracted all the rage and Anger from their souls and putThis is Metallica's return to the earth. They've come back with their instruments in their hands and not a single f*ck given. With the production sounding like a garage jam on a Friday afternoon and drums that are certainly "unique." St.Anger is an album that happens when you take all the struggles that Metallica went through and extracted all the rage and Anger from their souls and put it on this album! There's no auto-tune, there's no guitar solos, and most importantly, there's no bull-sh*t coming from them. This album sounded aggressive and rushed straight for your fists with rage, and even though this album suffered from fan backlash, did Metallica give a sh*t? NO. In fact they acted like the reviews didn't even exist...and they STILL don't. All they remember is how tough it was going through the recording process of the songs...That proves that Metallica does what they do for not just the fans but for what THEY think is best. This album is the perfect example of that and i praise and respect them for that...unlike YOU people Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2016
    5
    St. Anger is not as bad, as its notorious reputation would suggest. This album is a mess of mediocre song writing, and poor production, however there are genuine moments where the album shines. There is no doubt that the album has trouble competing with Metallica’s legendary discography, but there is a unique, one-off experiment, created by a series of circumstances, has its own nicheSt. Anger is not as bad, as its notorious reputation would suggest. This album is a mess of mediocre song writing, and poor production, however there are genuine moments where the album shines. There is no doubt that the album has trouble competing with Metallica’s legendary discography, but there is a unique, one-off experiment, created by a series of circumstances, has its own niche charm.

    For me a clearly terrible album is not as bad as the dull and boring album, and the better songs on St. Anger are not the ones with better production (in my opinion) rather the most interesting songs.

    Frantic- The album opens with a fast paced song about substance abuce. This is a common theme in the album and I find it to be redundant and boring. There riff in this song however is not too bad, certainly catchy. The one thing anybody notices when listening for the first time is the drumming. The drum is a loud snare drum, and is very noisy. The production is very low-fi reselling some industrial or nu-metal.

    I think the drums are weak not because of its sound, but by the quality of the beats produced. They aren’t great, and a good drummer could make good sounding drumming on a poor drum kit (this is not to say Lars is a bad drummer, and simply listening to AJFA would prove his unique skill).

    The song is too long; it makes its point in 2 minutes and then just drags on, like most of the songs on the album. I think the slow melodic part of the song is terrific however, and is one of the better moments on the album.

    St. Anger- this song is good. The drumming is still relatively crappy, but the tone is perfect. It’s a depressing song about suicide, (again, a redundant topic), but instrumentally, I find the riffs to be very thrash-y. The slower melodic segment shines once again, and I find that the emotional climax in this song is not too shabby. Definitely a standout Metallica track.

    Still no solos though, making it sound very nu-metal-ish, in the sense that the sound has been significantly dumbed-down.

    The next few tracks fail in the worst way possible- they are boring, which makes them very difficult to listen to, which is a shame, because this album really could have used some more catchy or addictive moments, to soften the blow of the poor production. Although, I do like the intro/ build-up in Dirty Windows.

    They we reach Sweet Amber, which is a terrific song with a really soft sound, and really the lyrics again are redundant, but surprisingly well written, simply reading them will give an impression of the honesty of the words, and for this its one of the better tracks on the album.

    Then the Unnamed Feeling rolls along, and delivers perhaps the technically best song on the entire album. No loud snare drum, and a fairly memorable chorus. Again, the lyrics are EXTREMELY redundant, but never-the-less this track succeeds in being quite competent. In fact it sounds like something straight off Re-Load, and for that I think its great.

    Personally, the last 2 tracks are weak, again, and the album ends on a sort of disappointing note.

    Lyrically, the album is very poor. The same theme is repeated throughout ever song, until; the redundant point is hammer down to a pile of cliché dust. Instrumentally, the album is competent. The guitars, although lacking solos, have a very distinctive Nu-Metal vibe, and although the drumming is poorly executed, the concept of a snare drum in itself could have potentially worked.

    For me this album is bad in the best way possible. Its not boring, so that you would never have a reason to listen to it, rather its excitingly bad, not so bad its good, rather an interesting case of missed potential, and a snapshot of Metallica’s lifespan, which captures the band in its darkest time.
    Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2016
    7
    Uninspired riffs? Repetitive drums? No solos? What happened, Metallica? Perhaps you were in the right place, but in the wrong moment. Even though, some songs like "Frantic", "Some Kind of Monster", "The Unnamed feeling" and the eponymous song make from "St. Anger" an enjoyable work for the ears. Also, it contains the best James Hetfield lead vocals work.
  4. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    Drum sounds really AWFUL!! Repetitive, simple and boring riffs; no SOLOS and terrible vocal. Forget thrash, it's not even metal. That's all I can say about this failure. DO NOT LISTEN IT!!!
  5. johnr
    Jun 23, 2003
    10
    this album kicks mager ass the lyrics the music everything about matallica fucking rocks
  6. TiagoS.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    It´s the best album of Metallica for me. So much anger in the musics and many great songs in this album. Off course there are not much "solos" but there are much energy, power and ANGERRRRR.
  7. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    I know that some fans really dislike it, but you can feel their problems and anger from that album. They went through difficult times during recording this album and it feels like that. I simply love it, love that change, love that heaviness and love Lars snare, i usually dont like punk drums, but here its just awesome!
  8. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    Yes, it worst Metallica album. But it still rock, maybe snare drum is bad, but i like this album, and like to take drive with this music. So **** good!
  9. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    If could put 11, i would have put it, because this album is THE BEST THING IN THE WHOLE WORLD! If we will be able to heal aids, it wouldn't be as good as this album. it's not only the best Metallica's album, it's also THE BEST **** ALBUM IN THE HISTORY OF MUSIC!
  10. SeanM
    Aug 11, 2003
    10
    What a fucking album! Not only is it quite up to par with most of thier other albums, but its so addicting to listen to@ With all the speed metal from the 80's, conbined with the bone chilling riffs of the black album to the serene sound of "sweet amber". Metallica definatly unleashed one hell of a beast on this one. I just got back from thier concert yesterday, and they played it so What a fucking album! Not only is it quite up to par with most of thier other albums, but its so addicting to listen to@ With all the speed metal from the 80's, conbined with the bone chilling riffs of the black album to the serene sound of "sweet amber". Metallica definatly unleashed one hell of a beast on this one. I just got back from thier concert yesterday, and they played it so loud and hard that i could barely keep up with the lyrics of "frantic". Awesome job Metallica! Expand
  11. Dec 22, 2012
    0
    Wow. This is incredibly awful. I can't believe it took them 7 years to release this. It's as if they were a bunch of 14 years olds sitting around in a garage with a guitar, getting incredibly drunk, when they decided to record this. Realising they had no drums they must have grabbed some garbage cans from the side of the road, brought them inside and started making music. Later on the sameWow. This is incredibly awful. I can't believe it took them 7 years to release this. It's as if they were a bunch of 14 years olds sitting around in a garage with a guitar, getting incredibly drunk, when they decided to record this. Realising they had no drums they must have grabbed some garbage cans from the side of the road, brought them inside and started making music. Later on the same day they must have gotten some recording equipment brought around for them and 2 hours later, after making pretty much the same noise, released this. There was absolutely none of their classic masterful craftsmanship put into this album. Expand
  12. Sep 22, 2010
    5
    When i first herd this i knew that this wasn't the metallica everyone was used to. Something was wrong. I found that this was the album were james (singer) just got out of that huge rehab deal that he was going though and was returning to the band. I guess the just wanted to get back in slowly with just riffs and no solos. Ill let u off this time metallica but now start getting to the goodWhen i first herd this i knew that this wasn't the metallica everyone was used to. Something was wrong. I found that this was the album were james (singer) just got out of that huge rehab deal that he was going though and was returning to the band. I guess the just wanted to get back in slowly with just riffs and no solos. Ill let u off this time metallica but now start getting to the good stuff. I mean mind blowing solos. I CAN'T LIVE WITHOUT UR SOLOS! Expand
  13. Sep 13, 2012
    1
    1/10 simply because they actually made money of this piece of garbage. I have no idea why anyone would like this album but I guess some people really,really like Metallica.
  14. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    St. Anger is different. A concept album at its core, and barking ferocity at face value, each song is essentially a different perspective on anger and all of the emotions related to it. If any other band had written it, it would be an instant classic. However, this is Metallica, and they've been crucified for trying something different. I commend them for it. This isn't Metallica, it'sSt. Anger is different. A concept album at its core, and barking ferocity at face value, each song is essentially a different perspective on anger and all of the emotions related to it. If any other band had written it, it would be an instant classic. However, this is Metallica, and they've been crucified for trying something different. I commend them for it. This isn't Metallica, it's something new and unique. And god damn is it catchy. Expand
  15. Sep 26, 2011
    7
    Okay, i think that, as many have said, this album is a blast from the past, with a little difference: the lack of soloing. People might say that how fast you play isn't important, but if you want a real good Metallica album, then it has to have soloing. I pretty much didn't like most songs individually (there are some exceptions; like St. Anger, which resembles Motorbreath in it's raw yetOkay, i think that, as many have said, this album is a blast from the past, with a little difference: the lack of soloing. People might say that how fast you play isn't important, but if you want a real good Metallica album, then it has to have soloing. I pretty much didn't like most songs individually (there are some exceptions; like St. Anger, which resembles Motorbreath in it's raw yet entertaining style), but i think that the album as a whole holds up pretty well. For that, i give it a 7. Expand
  16. Nov 25, 2011
    5
    St. Anger. Well, well, well... Certainly Metallica's most slated album (though oddly not on this site) - and perhaps with some reason. The songs are generally rather bland, with simplistic riffs and less than enthusiastic drumming from the usually impressive Ulrich. Considering the troubles the band was going through at the time - with each other, and with producer Bob Rock, perhaps it'sSt. Anger. Well, well, well... Certainly Metallica's most slated album (though oddly not on this site) - and perhaps with some reason. The songs are generally rather bland, with simplistic riffs and less than enthusiastic drumming from the usually impressive Ulrich. Considering the troubles the band was going through at the time - with each other, and with producer Bob Rock, perhaps it's not surprising this effort is their least popular. However, there are some high points - 'Some Kind of Monster' is sufficiently choleric without being dull, and were it not for Hetfield's repetitive screaming of 'Kill, Kill, Kill' at the end of 'All Within my Hands', that wouldn't be bad either. 'Invisible Kid', it must be said, I am a closet fan of. Overall, due to the lack of solos, a poor production effort by Rock and overall mediocre lyrical content, this is certainly Metallica's worst album to date - but is nevertheless nowhere near as bad as is often made out. Expand
  17. JackS.
    Sep 13, 2008
    3
    Just noise.
  18. JonyeA
    Jun 29, 2003
    5
    when i heard about this CD i expected something like master of puppets. What i got was not Metallica at all. no solos, sounds like it was recorded in a day. just download the video and hope they dont sue you
  19. AdrianL.
    Jan 5, 2008
    3
    Painful to listen to, this album just could have been so much more.
  20. ElpoA.O
    Jul 9, 2007
    3
    I love metallica, but this CD is really bad in comparison with EVERYTHING they've done before, even Load and Re-Load.
  21. Mar 8, 2013
    2
    I can't believe it. I can't even listen to this album without a break. Are we sure that it is by Metallica? Drums sounds like spoons hitting a pot. And it's difficult to find one good song. Horrible.
  22. Nov 24, 2016
    2
    St. Anger has awful drums, no solos, and each song feels like the next on this horrendous album. This is very far from Metallica's best work, definitely what I'd consider to be their worst.
  23. bryanb
    Sep 6, 2003
    7
    this album is nothing compared to the early days but kicks loaded albums in the ass. there is know other metallica on the radio today. there sound is unique and there own. noone will ever touch there old shit and never will. they are part of history. kill em all kills anything released today and dont forget the other three.
  24. DanP.
    Feb 11, 2008
    8
    Despite the abuse this album has recieved in the past I thought that it was great to see Metallica try something different. Ineviatably it was going to horrify their thousands of devoted fans by dropping their guitars down a few steps, the phrase "sold out" probably came to a few lips too, but I thought that this album was solid with quite a few oddly catchy songs thrown in there for good Despite the abuse this album has recieved in the past I thought that it was great to see Metallica try something different. Ineviatably it was going to horrify their thousands of devoted fans by dropping their guitars down a few steps, the phrase "sold out" probably came to a few lips too, but I thought that this album was solid with quite a few oddly catchy songs thrown in there for good measure. Listen to it if you can open your mind to the fact that all of Metallica's discography cannot be similiar or as good as Master of Puppets. Expand
  25. BasilH
    Jun 14, 2003
    9
    First, the utter lack of any guitar solos is as disappointing to me as anyone else, but the rest of this album is the finest thing to blugeon metal fans since...well, since the last good metallica disc. Hetfields lyrics are more mature and profound, which is only upsetting to those who refuse to accept growing up. Lars is a man possessed and I have almost been moved to forget about the First, the utter lack of any guitar solos is as disappointing to me as anyone else, but the rest of this album is the finest thing to blugeon metal fans since...well, since the last good metallica disc. Hetfields lyrics are more mature and profound, which is only upsetting to those who refuse to accept growing up. Lars is a man possessed and I have almost been moved to forget about the loss of Jason. It takes a couple of listens to get a feel for the album and to really appreciate it but once you start to get into it, you realize the relevancy that Metallica personifies. This is unquestionablely better than any of the insipid and uninspired "metal" currently droning over the airwaves. Metallica continues to grow musically without ever losing touch with TRUE fans of the genre. Listen, listen again, listen again and the you won't want to stop. This is adult metal for those who appreciate music beyond "rap-rock". Expand
  26. TAsh
    Jun 10, 2003
    8
    It has to grow on you, but if you liked the old Metallica, not sure how you can't like this CD. Much heavier than anything since Justice but not too heavy to run off 'new' fans.
  27. ThomasB
    Jan 10, 2004
    7
    Well this is the worst Metallica's album so far. After ...And justice for all Metallica's started going worse and worse. I don't want to see what will their next album be like. Still in comparacent to other band albums, this one is not so terrible. So I rate this album with 6/7
  28. matt
    Jan 2, 2004
    9
    I'll admit... at first i did not like this cd, but i stuck with it. Its just a new sound unlike any other; u gotta respect that at least. And for that reason mosty i listened to it over and over. Now i love it. The guitars are huge and have this underground feeling to them, and the lyrics... dont seem like hetfields writing but then again he has grown with his suffering these past I'll admit... at first i did not like this cd, but i stuck with it. Its just a new sound unlike any other; u gotta respect that at least. And for that reason mosty i listened to it over and over. Now i love it. The guitars are huge and have this underground feeling to them, and the lyrics... dont seem like hetfields writing but then again he has grown with his suffering these past few years. All in all the more u listen to it and the higher its turned up the better it gets. Expand
  29. motorbreath666
    May 2, 2004
    10
    A band cannot sound exactly the same EVERY time! People, please if that was the case then it would get old and redudant fast. This album is aggression, made to unleash rage. For me there are two types of talica fans. The ones Pre-Load and the ones Post-Load. Pre-Load: Fans who like the melody and semi-aggressive songs. Post-Load: Fans who like aggressive/power songs (not really caring for A band cannot sound exactly the same EVERY time! People, please if that was the case then it would get old and redudant fast. This album is aggression, made to unleash rage. For me there are two types of talica fans. The ones Pre-Load and the ones Post-Load. Pre-Load: Fans who like the melody and semi-aggressive songs. Post-Load: Fans who like aggressive/power songs (not really caring for songs like NEM or Unforgiven). St Anger lies in a realm by itself. Personally I think the album is an 8 but it gets 2 extra points because of its nature. That is the nature of the beast. The very fact that there are NO radio friendly songs on this album tells me as a fan that a good band cannot be defined. Expand
  30. RobA
    Sep 6, 2004
    1
    Those of you who think that this is metal... You're only kidding yourselves. The snare drum is so irritating on this album, I just want to smash it. James' voice is going downhill fast, and I can seriously see Metallica apologizing for this album in a couple of years, well, if they are still a band by then that is. The only person who I can see liking this album is Dave Those of you who think that this is metal... You're only kidding yourselves. The snare drum is so irritating on this album, I just want to smash it. James' voice is going downhill fast, and I can seriously see Metallica apologizing for this album in a couple of years, well, if they are still a band by then that is. The only person who I can see liking this album is Dave Mustaine, because all the Metallica fans will exchange it at the retail store for Megadeth's new CD. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. Mojo
    80
    This is miffed and exemplary metal. [Jul 2003, p.108]
  2. Uncut
    80
    Against all odds, St. Anger constitutes the cutting edge of commercial yet aggressive heavy rock in 2003. [Aug 2003, p.106]
  3. The production on St. Anger is abysmal.