St. Anger - Metallica
St. Anger Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 384 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the title implies, the metal band is just as, well, angry as ever on their first new studio album since 'Load' and 'Reload' appeared in 1996 and 1997. Just don't try downloading it for free--then you'll see some real anger.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. 91
    This is the album Metallica lifers have been waiting for: an inspired return to the complex savagery of old. [Jul 2003, p.109]
  2. ''St. Anger'' is arguably the season's finest metal offering -- and the band's best since 1991's ''Metallica.''
  3. 80
    This is miffed and exemplary metal. [Jul 2003, p.108]
  4. A ragged, cacophonous, raging beast of an album, it's not the most perfect album Metallica has ever produced, and it's a very bumpy ride for listeners, but the album's handful of high points are thrilling to hear.
  5. This is the sound of Metallica drawing back into themselves and their history.
  6. The production on St. Anger is abysmal.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 235
  1. SeanM
    Aug 11, 2003
    10
    What a fucking album! Not only is it quite up to par with most of thier other albums, but its so addicting to listen to@ With all the speed metal from the 80's, conbined with the bone chilling riffs of the black album to the serene sound of "sweet amber". Metallica definatly unleashed one hell of a beast on this one. I just got back from thier concert yesterday, and they played it so loud and hard that i could barely keep up with the lyrics of "frantic". Awesome job Metallica! Expand
  2. Pupu-The-Alien??
    Aug 4, 2003
    10
    if u dont like this cd u r gay this was the best cd and only cd ive ever actually listened to the rest were too boring
  3. LeandroB
    Oct 15, 2003
    9
    Pure , fast and clean , what the f.. else do you want ?
  4. RudyS
    Aug 23, 2003
    7
    The guitars sounds are well-overdriven,the bass is great (Well done Bob!).But I hate the snare drums' sound.It feels like my ass irritated! Where's the guitar solo? Can't you play it again Kirk? Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2012
    4
    This is a Mixed bag for me. I thought some songs were ok and others terrible.. To be honest the whole album is really nothing special. St.Anger and Frantic are the 2 Best Songs on the Album. Not an improvement of Load. Reload or any album prior. Hands Down the Worst Metallica Album Ever. Collapse
  6. Steven-o
    Nov 9, 2004
    2
    This ain't METALLICA. This is crap. Retire or get back making real music!!!!
  7. RobertO
    Jun 16, 2003
    0
    This album is utter crap. Avoid at all costs.

See all 235 User Reviews