St. Vincent - St. Vincent
St. Vincent Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 252 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length release for the indie artist was produced by John Congleton and includes contributions from Dap-Kings drummer Homer Steinweiss and Midlake's McKenzie Smith.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    Annie Clark stands astride St. Vincent, a colossus in total--and thrilling--command.
  2. 91
    Crackling, uncanny and compulsively listenable. [28 Feb 2014, p.71]
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    90
    Her guitar may be her primary tool for shaking up and complicating otherwise strictly defined songwriting, but Clark's voice remains the thing that defines her material, the glittering lynchpin of the glorious, ever-expanding world she's created.
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    86
    St. Vincent continues Clark's run as one of the past decade's most distinct and innovative guitarists, though she's never one to showboat.
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    80
    St. Vincent's real genius is the way it manages to project an aura of perfection while simultaneously showing us its guts; it suggests that while the polished surface may not be a lie, exactly, it's based on a series of elisions that we're all uncomfortably complicit in.
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    80
    As her most satisfying, artful, and accessible album yet, St. Vincent earns its title.
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    60
    Equal parts funky electro throwback and prog chanson monster, St Vincent's fourth album feels like the culmination of a trajectory from the margins to centre stage with a minimum of intellectual loss.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    The most versatile album, not only by St. Vincent (aka Annie Clark) but of the past few years, offers a plethora of delicious snippets. AThe most versatile album, not only by St. Vincent (aka Annie Clark) but of the past few years, offers a plethora of delicious snippets. A mental stunner of an album unfolds with a mixture of voluble guitar mayhem, head-bopping brass sections, and twee electro beats. Not only has Annie Clark grown as a musician, she has blossomed into one of indie rock's most unique staples.

    The eponymous album begins with a shaky, frantic progressive track entitled "Rattlesnake". It slowly brings the audience closer and closer to the new image Annie has given herself. By the end of the track, the hair is let down, the feet are dancing, and the ever-creative guitar shrieks emerge in full force. Crank the amp up to 11, you're in for a joyride. The album's first single, "Birth In Reverse", offers an arrangement of head-scratching lyrics involving daily routines along with the type of instrumentals for a fast car ride. "Prince Johnny", an angelic, yet peculiar addition gives off simple vibes at the beginning. A seemingly innocent track trudges on until the voice of an angel cuts in to sing a few bars of nothingness. To describe the sheer beauty of this track would be an understatement, no matter how it is described. Just listen and fall in love. "Huey Newton" follows, giving quirky electro rhythms, heavy percussion beats, and soft, sultry acoustic riffs. Once again, this track explodes towards the end, letting a head-banging rock opera materialize. The following single, "Digital Witness", allows the listener to hear the obvious David Byrne influences. With a jazzy brass instrumentation, this track could be considered a bonus track from St. Vincent's 2012 collaboration with David Byrne, Love This Giant. And damn, is it ever catchy. "I Prefer Your Love" slows things down with an classic St. Vincent style, returning to the slow drums, the synth beats, and the calm vocals. This track shows that even with the power of a rock star, St. Vincent can still make a tranquil piece. However, the tranquility doesn't last long when "Regret" rolls in. With a slick bass line, heavenly acoustics, and the always beautiful vocals of Ms. Clark, it's an instant classic. "Bring Me Your Loves" is new. It's a track hidden at the end of unchartered territory. A new, frenzied pace of music sets this song apart from the rest of the album. With heavy guitar bits, an acapella section, and electronic rhythms from outer space, this brilliant, yet insane track provides a different side to the usual sounds heard. "Psychopath", a more straight-forward song, offers more bellowing guitar riffs, even if you were tired of them. With a incomparable instrumentation, it is another reminder of the David Byrne influence. As the album begins to end, "Every Tear Disappears" gives one final shout. Although it isn't an mad dash of sporadic beats, it finalizes the more unique side of Annie Clark's new-found music style. "Severed Crossed Fingers", the end of a masterpiece, the "ride off into the sunset as the credits roll" moment, is the perfect way to finish. Not only does it calm the listeners back down, it allows them to reflect on the last 40 minutes of their lives. What they just finished listening to is something exceptional. Something unable to be replicated.

    St. Vincent's fourth effort could be considered her best. It brings in new elements while remaining faithful to the style that got her where she is today. I admire St. Vincent and all she has accomplished. She is not only my favourite female vocalist, but also a top contender for the genre of indie rock. Congrats to you Annie. You and your funky, bleached hairdo.

    Check out more music reviews at Impossible Soul Music Reviews on Facebook!
    Collapse
  2. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    With guitar as the main form of change of pace, St. Vincent muses on existentialism without managing to alienate average listeners. It is thisWith guitar as the main form of change of pace, St. Vincent muses on existentialism without managing to alienate average listeners. It is this concept that makes the album accessible enough for easy listening and lyrically stimulating enough to create deep listening. She hops from genre to genre without failing to meet a common tone that makes what would seem like a disjointed effort in less adroit hands cohesive from start to finish. Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    With this album she consolidates as a incredible artist. St. Vincent is an incredible album that have the reality in the lyrics, and the falseWith this album she consolidates as a incredible artist. St. Vincent is an incredible album that have the reality in the lyrics, and the false digital era, surrounding her personal life ,Annie Clark shows that her power is elevated and then , she can create innovative records with this fourth album she finds her true sound and like her last magnificent Strange Mercy, she crafted a unique, beautiful and genius second masterpiece. Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    In my view, this is the best album of the year so far. The songs are daring, weird and complex. Certainly not easy listening material, butIn my view, this is the best album of the year so far. The songs are daring, weird and complex. Certainly not easy listening material, but with some effort it is a rewarding experience. Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2014
    9
    I've been a fan of St. Vincent for only 2 years. Her first three albums are really great to me, but they had an element that somehow alienatedI've been a fan of St. Vincent for only 2 years. Her first three albums are really great to me, but they had an element that somehow alienated my ears. With this album that happens no more. That is the beauty of St. Vincent, with this record Annie Clark achieves something greater, being consistent with her style but being more accessible, with melodies that only make you want to sing along and dance. Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2014
    8
    Annie Clark is a goddess, for sure. Now, I don't think St. Vincent is as good of an album as Strange Mercy is, and it doesn't have the sameAnnie Clark is a goddess, for sure. Now, I don't think St. Vincent is as good of an album as Strange Mercy is, and it doesn't have the same top-end power (there is no "Cruel" on this album). But there are so many great songs, and so much variance that it's hard for someone to not at least find one or two songs they'll really love. Disregarding the pre-released singles, my personal favorites are "Rattlesnake" and "Bring Me Your Loves." Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2014
    1
    I love Annie's music. Seriously love. But I fear she's jumped the shark here. I understand the need to expand as an artist, but I feelI love Annie's music. Seriously love. But I fear she's jumped the shark here. I understand the need to expand as an artist, but I feel somewhat alienated. Bring back the warm fuzzies, Annie! I'll be waiting. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best of 2014: Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 2, 2014
    Over the next month, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from over 130 music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.
  2. The Best Albums of 2014 So Far

    The Best Albums of 2014 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2014
    With 2014 halfway over, we take a look at the best albums released so far this year.