St. Vincent

St. Vincent Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 372 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length release for the indie artist was produced by John Congleton and includes contributions from Dap-Kings drummer Homer Steinweiss and Midlake's McKenzie Smith.
Buy On

Top Track

Digital Witness
Get back to your seat Get back gnashin' teeth Oh, oh, I want all of your mind People turn their TV on, it looks just like a window, yeah People turn... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    Annie Clark stands astride St. Vincent, a colossus in total--and thrilling--command.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Feb 26, 2014
    91
    Crackling, uncanny and compulsively listenable. [28 Feb 2014, p.71]
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    90
    Her guitar may be her primary tool for shaking up and complicating otherwise strictly defined songwriting, but Clark's voice remains the thing that defines her material, the glittering lynchpin of the glorious, ever-expanding world she's created.
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    86
    St. Vincent continues Clark's run as one of the past decade's most distinct and innovative guitarists, though she's never one to showboat.
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    80
    St. Vincent is her tightest, tensest, best set of songs to date, with wry, twisty beats pushing her lovably ornery melodies toward grueling revelations.
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    80
    As her most satisfying, artful, and accessible album yet, St. Vincent earns its title.
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    60
    Equal parts funky electro throwback and prog chanson monster, St Vincent's fourth album feels like the culmination of a trajectory from the margins to centre stage with a minimum of intellectual loss.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    The most versatile album, not only by St. Vincent (aka Annie Clark) but of the past few years, offers a plethora of delicious snippets. AThe most versatile album, not only by St. Vincent (aka Annie Clark) but of the past few years, offers a plethora of delicious snippets. A mental stunner of an album unfolds with a mixture of voluble guitar mayhem, head-bopping brass sections, and twee electro beats. Not only has Annie Clark grown as a musician, she has blossomed into one of indie rock's most unique staples.

    The eponymous album begins with a shaky, frantic progressive track entitled "Rattlesnake". It slowly brings the audience closer and closer to the new image Annie has given herself. By the end of the track, the hair is let down, the feet are dancing, and the ever-creative guitar shrieks emerge in full force. Crank the amp up to 11, you're in for a joyride. The album's first single, "Birth In Reverse", offers an arrangement of head-scratching lyrics involving daily routines along with the type of instrumentals for a fast car ride. "Prince Johnny", an angelic, yet peculiar addition gives off simple vibes at the beginning. A seemingly innocent track trudges on until the voice of an angel cuts in to sing a few bars of nothingness. To describe the sheer beauty of this track would be an understatement, no matter how it is described. Just listen and fall in love. "Huey Newton" follows, giving quirky electro rhythms, heavy percussion beats, and soft, sultry acoustic riffs. Once again, this track explodes towards the end, letting a head-banging rock opera materialize. The following single, "Digital Witness", allows the listener to hear the obvious David Byrne influences. With a jazzy brass instrumentation, this track could be considered a bonus track from St. Vincent's 2012 collaboration with David Byrne, Love This Giant. And damn, is it ever catchy. "I Prefer Your Love" slows things down with an classic St. Vincent style, returning to the slow drums, the synth beats, and the calm vocals. This track shows that even with the power of a rock star, St. Vincent can still make a tranquil piece. However, the tranquility doesn't last long when "Regret" rolls in. With a slick bass line, heavenly acoustics, and the always beautiful vocals of Ms. Clark, it's an instant classic. "Bring Me Your Loves" is new. It's a track hidden at the end of unchartered territory. A new, frenzied pace of music sets this song apart from the rest of the album. With heavy guitar bits, an acapella section, and electronic rhythms from outer space, this brilliant, yet insane track provides a different side to the usual sounds heard. "Psychopath", a more straight-forward song, offers more bellowing guitar riffs, even if you were tired of them. With a incomparable instrumentation, it is another reminder of the David Byrne influence. As the album begins to end, "Every Tear Disappears" gives one final shout. Although it isn't an mad dash of sporadic beats, it finalizes the more unique side of Annie Clark's new-found music style. "Severed Crossed Fingers", the end of a masterpiece, the "ride off into the sunset as the credits roll" moment, is the perfect way to finish. Not only does it calm the listeners back down, it allows them to reflect on the last 40 minutes of their lives. What they just finished listening to is something exceptional. Something unable to be replicated.

    St. Vincent's fourth effort could be considered her best. It brings in new elements while remaining faithful to the style that got her where she is today. I admire St. Vincent and all she has accomplished. She is not only my favourite female vocalist, but also a top contender for the genre of indie rock. Congrats to you Annie. You and your funky, bleached hairdo.

    Check out more music reviews at Impossible Soul Music Reviews on Facebook!
    Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2014
    10
    At this point, no one can doubt about the innate talent and sense of good taste Anne has. But what this fourth album creates is somethingAt this point, no one can doubt about the innate talent and sense of good taste Anne has. But what this fourth album creates is something unique and transcendental, while persisting on being honest and vulnerable. Big minds are big but also humble, and St Vincent knew how to create this as well as such an ambiguous and versatile atmosphere as very few could before. A success from start to end. Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    "St. Vincent" is a marked departure for St. Vincent: While "Strange Mercy" is more emotionally complex and much more of a strange, twisted"St. Vincent" is a marked departure for St. Vincent: While "Strange Mercy" is more emotionally complex and much more of a strange, twisted (though above all else, deeply beautiful) "art rock" album, Annie Clark's self-titled work is both a decidedly poppier and more sonically adventurous affair; still, it's no less of a masterpiece than its predecessor. Ms. Clark continues her streak of vital indie rock albums while propelling her significance to stratospheric levels. She may well rule us all from that throne of hers. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    This was the first album I listened to by St Vincent, but it's a fantastic first impression. Annie melds experimentation & accessibilityThis was the first album I listened to by St Vincent, but it's a fantastic first impression. Annie melds experimentation & accessibility together in a fantastic way, creating songs with interesting sonic flavor, clever songwriting, and awesomely catchy hooks.

    (If you wanna see my full review where I go a lot more in-depth, look up "Spin It Reviews" on YouTube.)
    Expand
  5. Jan 24, 2015
    9
    St. Vincent was an interesting artist who showed promise prior to this album, but this one solidified her status as one of the greats inSt. Vincent was an interesting artist who showed promise prior to this album, but this one solidified her status as one of the greats in contemporary indie music - the album is perfect from beginning to end, rough, wild, touching and quiet at times - an extraordinary accomplishment. Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2014
    8
    Annie Clark is a goddess, for sure. Now, I don't think St. Vincent is as good of an album as Strange Mercy is, and it doesn't have the sameAnnie Clark is a goddess, for sure. Now, I don't think St. Vincent is as good of an album as Strange Mercy is, and it doesn't have the same top-end power (there is no "Cruel" on this album). But there are so many great songs, and so much variance that it's hard for someone to not at least find one or two songs they'll really love. Disregarding the pre-released singles, my personal favorites are "Rattlesnake" and "Bring Me Your Loves." Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2014
    1
    I love Annie's music. Seriously love. But I fear she's jumped the shark here. I understand the need to expand as an artist, but I feelI love Annie's music. Seriously love. But I fear she's jumped the shark here. I understand the need to expand as an artist, but I feel somewhat alienated. Bring back the warm fuzzies, Annie! I'll be waiting. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014 Image
    Published: January 7, 2015
    The results are in! Find out which video games, movies, TV shows, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2014.
  2. The Best Albums of 2014

    The Best Albums of 2014 Image
    Published: December 29, 2014
    We reveal our final official list of 2014's highest-scoring albums.
  3. Best of 2014: Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 2, 2014
    Over the next month, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from over 130 music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.
  4. The Best Albums of 2014 So Far

    The Best Albums of 2014 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2014
    With 2014 halfway over, we take a look at the best albums released so far this year.