St. Vincent - St. Vincent
St. Vincent Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 254 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length release for the indie artist was produced by John Congleton and includes contributions from Dap-Kings drummer Homer Steinweiss and Midlake's McKenzie Smith.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    Annie Clark stands astride St. Vincent, a colossus in total--and thrilling--command.
  2. 91
    Crackling, uncanny and compulsively listenable. [28 Feb 2014, p.71]
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    90
    Her guitar may be her primary tool for shaking up and complicating otherwise strictly defined songwriting, but Clark's voice remains the thing that defines her material, the glittering lynchpin of the glorious, ever-expanding world she's created.
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    86
    St. Vincent continues Clark's run as one of the past decade's most distinct and innovative guitarists, though she's never one to showboat.
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    80
    St. Vincent's real genius is the way it manages to project an aura of perfection while simultaneously showing us its guts; it suggests that while the polished surface may not be a lie, exactly, it's based on a series of elisions that we're all uncomfortably complicit in.
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    80
    As her most satisfying, artful, and accessible album yet, St. Vincent earns its title.
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    60
    Equal parts funky electro throwback and prog chanson monster, St Vincent's fourth album feels like the culmination of a trajectory from the margins to centre stage with a minimum of intellectual loss.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    The most versatile album, not only by St. Vincent (aka Annie Clark) but of the past few years, offers a plethora of delicious snippets. AThe most versatile album, not only by St. Vincent (aka Annie Clark) but of the past few years, offers a plethora of delicious snippets. A mental stunner of an album unfolds with a mixture of voluble guitar mayhem, head-bopping brass sections, and twee electro beats. Not only has Annie Clark grown as a musician, she has blossomed into one of indie rock's most unique staples.

    The eponymous album begins with a shaky, frantic progressive track entitled "Rattlesnake". It slowly brings the audience closer and closer to the new image Annie has given herself. By the end of the track, the hair is let down, the feet are dancing, and the ever-creative guitar shrieks emerge in full force. Crank the amp up to 11, you're in for a joyride. The album's first single, "Birth In Reverse", offers an arrangement of head-scratching lyrics involving daily routines along with the type of instrumentals for a fast car ride. "Prince Johnny", an angelic, yet peculiar addition gives off simple vibes at the beginning. A seemingly innocent track trudges on until the voice of an angel cuts in to sing a few bars of nothingness. To describe the sheer beauty of this track would be an understatement, no matter how it is described. Just listen and fall in love. "Huey Newton" follows, giving quirky electro rhythms, heavy percussion beats, and soft, sultry acoustic riffs. Once again, this track explodes towards the end, letting a head-banging rock opera materialize. The following single, "Digital Witness", allows the listener to hear the obvious David Byrne influences. With a jazzy brass instrumentation, this track could be considered a bonus track from St. Vincent's 2012 collaboration with David Byrne, Love This Giant. And damn, is it ever catchy. "I Prefer Your Love" slows things down with an classic St. Vincent style, returning to the slow drums, the synth beats, and the calm vocals. This track shows that even with the power of a rock star, St. Vincent can still make a tranquil piece. However, the tranquility doesn't last long when "Regret" rolls in. With a slick bass line, heavenly acoustics, and the always beautiful vocals of Ms. Clark, it's an instant classic. "Bring Me Your Loves" is new. It's a track hidden at the end of unchartered territory. A new, frenzied pace of music sets this song apart from the rest of the album. With heavy guitar bits, an acapella section, and electronic rhythms from outer space, this brilliant, yet insane track provides a different side to the usual sounds heard. "Psychopath", a more straight-forward song, offers more bellowing guitar riffs, even if you were tired of them. With a incomparable instrumentation, it is another reminder of the David Byrne influence. As the album begins to end, "Every Tear Disappears" gives one final shout. Although it isn't an mad dash of sporadic beats, it finalizes the more unique side of Annie Clark's new-found music style. "Severed Crossed Fingers", the end of a masterpiece, the "ride off into the sunset as the credits roll" moment, is the perfect way to finish. Not only does it calm the listeners back down, it allows them to reflect on the last 40 minutes of their lives. What they just finished listening to is something exceptional. Something unable to be replicated.

    St. Vincent's fourth effort could be considered her best. It brings in new elements while remaining faithful to the style that got her where she is today. I admire St. Vincent and all she has accomplished. She is not only my favourite female vocalist, but also a top contender for the genre of indie rock. Congrats to you Annie. You and your funky, bleached hairdo.

    Check out more music reviews at Impossible Soul Music Reviews on Facebook!
    Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    With guitar as the main form of change of pace, St. Vincent muses on existentialism without managing to alienate average listeners. It is thisWith guitar as the main form of change of pace, St. Vincent muses on existentialism without managing to alienate average listeners. It is this concept that makes the album accessible enough for easy listening and lyrically stimulating enough to create deep listening. She hops from genre to genre without failing to meet a common tone that makes what would seem like a disjointed effort in less adroit hands cohesive from start to finish. Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    With this album she consolidates as a incredible artist. St. Vincent is an incredible album that have the reality in the lyrics, and the falseWith this album she consolidates as a incredible artist. St. Vincent is an incredible album that have the reality in the lyrics, and the false digital era, surrounding her personal life ,Annie Clark shows that her power is elevated and then , she can create innovative records with this fourth album she finds her true sound and like her last magnificent Strange Mercy, she crafted a unique, beautiful and genius second masterpiece. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    This was the first album I listened to by St Vincent, but it's a fantastic first impression. Annie melds experimentation & accessibilityThis was the first album I listened to by St Vincent, but it's a fantastic first impression. Annie melds experimentation & accessibility together in a fantastic way, creating songs with interesting sonic flavor, clever songwriting, and awesomely catchy hooks.

    (If you wanna see my full review where I go a lot more in-depth, look up "Spin It Reviews" on YouTube.)
    Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    This album sounds hypnotic and is so enjoyable to listen. The instrumentals sounds so great and the vocals too. The lyrics are great. EvenThis album sounds hypnotic and is so enjoyable to listen. The instrumentals sounds so great and the vocals too. The lyrics are great. Even being good in these three aspects, sometimes we miss "something", like for me in "Prince Jhonny" and "Severed Crossed Fingers". But in the end, the album is great. Expand
  6. May 31, 2014
    8
    The sickening esotericism of St. Vincent may not be everyone's cup of tea, but there is something to be admired by anyone as to where theThe sickening esotericism of St. Vincent may not be everyone's cup of tea, but there is something to be admired by anyone as to where the eccentric Annie Clark is coming from on this zigzagging metaphor for God-knows-what. Modern indie rock has nearly everything to thank St. Vincent for, and her eponymous album shows that clearly. Jittery horn and drum patterns, like the one found on "Digital Witness," punctuate the album, while Clark's voice gives a unique, guitar-mimicking sound that only she could produce. In the best way, Clark has taken a wryly optimistic step into the future of indie rock and rock in general, while remaining anchored to the ground with the roots that became ingrained in her debut, Marry Me. But as the album's cover (a picture of St. Vincent herself on a throne) might imply anyway, she has been exalted and isn't scared to recognize it. However, "exalted" may be pushing it, because in the track "Regret," she sings about how she is "afraid of Heaven because [she] can't stand the heights." And that's okay with us, because we'd like St. Vincent to hang around here with us Earthlings for at least a little while longer. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2014
    1
    I love Annie's music. Seriously love. But I fear she's jumped the shark here. I understand the need to expand as an artist, but I feelI love Annie's music. Seriously love. But I fear she's jumped the shark here. I understand the need to expand as an artist, but I feel somewhat alienated. Bring back the warm fuzzies, Annie! I'll be waiting. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best of 2014: Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 2, 2014
    Over the next month, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from over 130 music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.
  2. The Best Albums of 2014 So Far

    The Best Albums of 2014 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2014
    With 2014 halfway over, we take a look at the best albums released so far this year.