User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 523 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    It is one of the best albums of the year! With good vocals, very catchy tunes and two amazing singles released before hand Selena has really outdone herself proving that she is definitely one of the leading pop stars of 2013. The album itself is very diverse, with Like A Champion having a jamaican vibe to it, to Come And Get It with a hindi tune to the dance heavy B.E.A.T and Birthday toIt is one of the best albums of the year! With good vocals, very catchy tunes and two amazing singles released before hand Selena has really outdone herself proving that she is definitely one of the leading pop stars of 2013. The album itself is very diverse, with Like A Champion having a jamaican vibe to it, to Come And Get It with a hindi tune to the dance heavy B.E.A.T and Birthday to the more intimate Love Will Remember and Nobody Does It Like You to hopefully the albums next single Save The Day. The album has a great resemblance to a Shakira or perhaps Rihanna album and is definitely worth the wait! Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Stars Dance" álbum da Selena Gomez é com certeza um álbum que eu compraria sem pensar duas vezes. É um álbum animado, divertido, com uma ótima sonoridade. Músicas animadas como "Come and get it" e as tristes e calmas porém com uma letra ótima, como "Love Will Remember". Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2015
    10
    Foxes é maravilhosa. Eu amo tudo o que ela faz, tudo bem feito, impecável. Coisa de artista de verdade, é uma pena ver que não tem o reconhecimento merecido.
  4. Sep 6, 2014
    2
    Stars Dance é um álbum enjoativo, com músicas que só foram feitas para vender. Seus albuns anteriores, quando ainda era "Selena Gomez & The Scene" são bem melhores que esse. Espero que ela acerte na próximo, ela tem talento para isso.
  5. Nov 22, 2014
    0
    Poderia dizer maravilhas desse álbum mas parece mais aqueles álbuns que dão de graça no iTunes pra ver se sai do flop, que só tem músicas ruins sabe? Vendeu quase porra nenhuma, e pelo menos tem duas músicas nota 8 que é CAGI e SD fora isso, é um cuzinho doce, não pisou nem no Demi q bela merda viu
  6. Dec 15, 2014
    0
    Stars Dance is one of the worst albums I've ever heard in my lifetime. Take the first track for instance. Birthday is an upbeat pop song. First of all, Gomez's vocals have been so dramatically altered with auto-tune that it sounds like she's singing in a tin can. And what is that inappropriate moaning in the background? Birthday is an unwelcoming first track for Stars Dance.

    Now, there
    Stars Dance is one of the worst albums I've ever heard in my lifetime. Take the first track for instance. Birthday is an upbeat pop song. First of all, Gomez's vocals have been so dramatically altered with auto-tune that it sounds like she's singing in a tin can. And what is that inappropriate moaning in the background? Birthday is an unwelcoming first track for Stars Dance.

    Now, there are some decent tracks like Slow Down and Stars Dance, the title track. In fact, Stars Dance is amazing. Come & Get It is a catchy Bollywood song, but the chorus is so repetitive and monotone. And what's the message of the song? "When you're ready come and get it?" That's just...no.

    Don't get me started on Like a Champion. That accent she tries to use is horrible. I can't even get through the whole song. There are many boring filler tracks, like Save the Day, Write Your Name, and Forget Forever. Those songs are just a snooze fest. And the worst song of the album...it's B.E.A.T. It's like Selena's TRYING to make the worst song ever made. The chorus is excruciating to listen to. The lyrics are bland and meaningless. It's a sad attempt at a "fun dance track."

    Maybe brainwashed fans think that this is a good album, or that "It is one of the best albums of the year!" It is nowhere close to "one of the best pop albums of the years." And it will never reach the status of a Shakira or "perhaps Rihanna album." It's just another generic Hollywood Records pop album "jam" and full of sh*t. I greatly criticize her for the sickening use of auto-tune. This album is almost as bad as Rebecca Black's "Friday." At least Friday wasn't a genuine and serious song. Selena is trying to shove Stars Dance down people's throats, and millions of people detest this album.

    If her music career is not over yet, then I wish (in vain) that her next album will be bearable enough to listen to.
    Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    One of the best pop albuns of the years. Selena is not that pretty little girl anymore. Now she's trying to be a woman, and she's doing it right. The album is so good and you feel like you're in a party all the time, but when starts "Love Will Remember" is like you remind all your love problems back. The only one song is not good is Write Your Name, but I still can listem to that.
  8. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Amazing album. Catchy tunes, amazing beats and decent vocals makes Stars Dance her best album yet. She really did a good job on it, definitely worth the wait. She is the living proof that growing up doesn't mean be vulgar, or whatever. Just make good music, with more mature music and sound overall.

    Best ones: Birthday, Like a Champion, Slow Down, and the top 10 hit single "Come & Get It"
  9. Oct 3, 2013
    0
    Very disappointed, it's messy & autotuned...her vocals are TERRIBLE. She has a terrible voice I don't know why she's getting money from this album, JUST KEEP YOUR MONEY AWAY FROM THIS
  10. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    This is the second cd I wanted to review, for the same reason, I think it is so under-rated. I am a 45 year old male and I recall how critics ripped Madonna's Like a Virgin CD apart, and I love that one too. Shame on you, critic, for saying that Selena is screaming like a whore on Birthday when she has become a sensual young woman whoever wrote that review is a pervert. Selena is soThis is the second cd I wanted to review, for the same reason, I think it is so under-rated. I am a 45 year old male and I recall how critics ripped Madonna's Like a Virgin CD apart, and I love that one too. Shame on you, critic, for saying that Selena is screaming like a whore on Birthday when she has become a sensual young woman whoever wrote that review is a pervert. Selena is so talented and I sincerely like every song on this cd it is so fun and so high energy and. like will.i am's cd, it is one of my favorite gym cd's this year Selena please do not pay attention to the haters you WILL be the next JLO! Expand
  11. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    SELENA CRESCEU E SE TORNOU UMA GRANDE ARTISTA. SUAS MÚSICAS TRAZEM A FELICIDADE E CONTAGIA. ELA QUERIA PASSAR UMA MENSAGEM DE CURTIR UM POUCO NÓS MESMOS, BRINCANDO COM NOSSAS SITUAÇÕES PROBLEMÁTICAS E MAIS TOLAS DE NOSSAS VIDAS.
  12. May 8, 2014
    6
    Birthday, Slow Down, Stars Dance, Come & Get It, B.E.A.T., Love Will Remember, and Music Feels Better were great, but the rest of the music? Like a Champion was annoying, and Forget Forever and Write Your Name were too repetitive. Plus, there's too much AutoTune. I don't mind Ke$ha using it, but Selena Gomez should forget it. If she didn't know of its existence, she could have been a greatBirthday, Slow Down, Stars Dance, Come & Get It, B.E.A.T., Love Will Remember, and Music Feels Better were great, but the rest of the music? Like a Champion was annoying, and Forget Forever and Write Your Name were too repetitive. Plus, there's too much AutoTune. I don't mind Ke$ha using it, but Selena Gomez should forget it. If she didn't know of its existence, she could have been a great singer today.

    Personally, I prefer her "Kiss & Tell" debut album over this.
    Expand
  13. Jul 24, 2013
    0
    Noting stupid pop trash. And her younger fans shouldn't get this album. Listen the her song "Birthday" and you'll know what I mean. Anyway, her vocals are TERRIBLE. She has a terrible voice I don't know why she's getting money from this album. As for the lyrics, they're terrible as well. Nothing but the same topic (love) and then a beat...seriously this modern age we get nothing butNoting stupid pop trash. And her younger fans shouldn't get this album. Listen the her song "Birthday" and you'll know what I mean. Anyway, her vocals are TERRIBLE. She has a terrible voice I don't know why she's getting money from this album. As for the lyrics, they're terrible as well. Nothing but the same topic (love) and then a beat...seriously this modern age we get nothing but terrible music that only attracts teens. I miss the good days when music was real and had a meaning. Now we get this trash. As for her fans, I don't know what to say. I mean, the only reason I would like her is because Selena is gorgeous, but other than that I don't see why her fans like her music... Even if she was the one who wrote "Stupid Hoe" they would still like it... Don't call me a hater, but if you call yourself a singer, then you must have good vocals and know how to make good lyrics, both in which Selena does not have. I'm ashamed that people actually like this album... Expand
  14. Jul 27, 2013
    8
    "Stars Dance," Selena Gomez's debut solo album, is clearly one of the most highly anticipated releases of 2013. It not only showcases true talent, but experiments with a variety of genres, from electronic to dub step. Gomez, who just recently turned 21 after the release of "Stars Dance," also demonstrates a new approach for the singer to the music business, as it's different from her"Stars Dance," Selena Gomez's debut solo album, is clearly one of the most highly anticipated releases of 2013. It not only showcases true talent, but experiments with a variety of genres, from electronic to dub step. Gomez, who just recently turned 21 after the release of "Stars Dance," also demonstrates a new approach for the singer to the music business, as it's different from her three previous albums that she had done with her band, The Scene ("Kiss & Tell," "A Year Without Rain," and "When the Sun Goes Down").

    Track-by-Track Review:

    1. "Birthday" 8/10; a great way to start off the album
    2. "Slow Down" 9/10; "Slow Down" is an ultra-catchy track with an infectious hook
    3. "Stars Dance" 6/10; has a nice beat, but definitely not the best song on the album
    4. "Like a Champion" 3/10; catchy, but probably the worst song on the album
    5. "Come & Get It" 9/10; probably one of the best songs on the album
    6. "Forget Forever" 8/10; it has a nice beat and some good lyrics to go along with it
    7. "Save the Day" 10/10; definitely the best song on the entire album
    8. "B.E.A.T." 6.5/10; a good song, but nothing too special
    9. "Write Your Name" 8/10; a song that stands out on the album and is indeed very catchy
    10. "Undercover" 9/10; a song that clearly separates itself from the rest of the record
    11. "Love Will Remember" 7/10; a good way to end the album
    Expand
  15. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Absolutely love this album! Great vocals, catchy tunes, and love the drums! Don't know why everyone is hating on it...great everything. Guys, it went to #1, why is it bad?
  16. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    Amazing album. Catchy tunes, amazing beats and decent vocals makes Stars Dance her best album yet. She really did a good job on it, definitely worth the wait. She is the living proof that growing up doesn't mean be vulgar, or whatever. Just make good music, with more mature music and sound overall.
  17. Apr 17, 2014
    1
    These songs sound like they all rolled off the same mindless assembly line as those of a dozen other marketing-manufactured mediocre "stars". Come and Get It sounded fun the first time or two I heard it, I admit that. But then it quickly becomes annoying, once you realize how utter banal and insipid it actually is.
  18. Apr 23, 2015
    0
    pior álbum da história do Pop teen. Esse álbum é horrivel, tinha que ter tido nota 46. Esse álbum é mais comercial que todos da selena, sem contar que ela só escreve 1 linha do album e acha que escreveu muito ou teve muito trabalho, ah vá toma no cu. Sem contar que tem músicas sobre sexo, e ela tem muitos fãs (selenojos) com 10 anos. Pra mim artista BOM é aquele que toca instrumentos,pior álbum da história do Pop teen. Esse álbum é horrivel, tinha que ter tido nota 46. Esse álbum é mais comercial que todos da selena, sem contar que ela só escreve 1 linha do album e acha que escreveu muito ou teve muito trabalho, ah vá toma no cu. Sem contar que tem músicas sobre sexo, e ela tem muitos fãs (selenojos) com 10 anos. Pra mim artista BOM é aquele que toca instrumentos, canta de verdade, compõe e não faz um álbum (ou toda discografia) comercial. Ela só escreve 2 linhas e acha que é trabalho duro, imagina se ela escrevesse o álbum todo? JESUS. Não sei como ela se dá bem nas venda,s charts, etc. Esse album é bem enjoativo e só tem musicas feitas para vender. Expand
  19. Jul 25, 2013
    4
    I keep hoping against hope that something valid will come out of the ever-churning child star machine, but every time it seems to be the same formulaic illness, and sorry Selina you've got the fever. As with Britney and the like before her, the production is top notch, but whoever scrounged the dumpster for the song selection was playing it far too safe. Sadly this is another edition ofI keep hoping against hope that something valid will come out of the ever-churning child star machine, but every time it seems to be the same formulaic illness, and sorry Selina you've got the fever. As with Britney and the like before her, the production is top notch, but whoever scrounged the dumpster for the song selection was playing it far too safe. Sadly this is another edition of selling a slightly talented pretty face. Expand
  20. Jul 25, 2013
    5
    An album almost nothing funny Come Get It feature and others but the rest is more of the same but they look something like what makes Rihanna or Britney Spears Well at least this is better than the last.
  21. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    So when Selena Gomez will find that she is a singer? Even when she will find that singing with a voice weak and poor will gain more fans? Stars Dance comes with one of the biggest jokes of the year, this album easily enter as defining generic music, maybe Selena should devote your time with some theater course to improve his performance, as his music career seems to have no way.
  22. Apr 3, 2015
    3
    horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivelhorrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel horrivel Expand
  23. Jul 24, 2013
    7
    I have listened to all of Selena Gomez's album, and I think Star Dance is one of her best. Among the songs I liked are Star dance, come & get it and slow down.
  24. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    I think Selena made a good job!
    She isnt Have a big/strong voice,but this is pretty good!
    If You wanna have fun You Have to Listen Stars Dance of SG!
  25. Feb 17, 2015
    3
    was kind of disappointed with this :/ so much autotune which shows no good vocals at all and she is the weakest vocally out of her old disney costars.
  26. Nov 25, 2013
    5
    I hope more. The singles are very good, but the others songs not at all. too much dance and empty songs to me. Selena had fun with this album, I like it but just a Little.
  27. Dec 9, 2013
    5
    It has some notable tracks, the rest are kind of bland. Plus I have to give points off for not even writing the songs yourself, I see no point in that. Selena should step it up.

    Notable Tracks:
    Birthday
    Come & Get It
    B.E.A.T.
    Undercover
  28. Feb 27, 2014
    8
    I was quite happy with this album. Stars Dance is better than all of Selena's previous albums. The songs are less childish, which is good, cause the Selenators who used to listen to Kiss & Tell in 2009, have grown, so they need growth in music. I think there's a lot of influence by Britney Spears on this album, which is also good, cause I love Britney. The beats on Stars Dance really makeI was quite happy with this album. Stars Dance is better than all of Selena's previous albums. The songs are less childish, which is good, cause the Selenators who used to listen to Kiss & Tell in 2009, have grown, so they need growth in music. I think there's a lot of influence by Britney Spears on this album, which is also good, cause I love Britney. The beats on Stars Dance really make you wanna dance, so I get the title. I love the fact that Selena put a lot of dubstep on this. Sel experimented with a lot of different genres and I think she did a good thing doing that. Still, she's not the world's greatest singer. Her voice is very breathy, which makes songs like "Come & Get It" fit perfectly to her voice. Other songs, however, like "Nobody Does It Like You" are too high for her. This causes the high notes to sound kind of irritating. I also think the bonus tracks are extremely bad. But, the rest of the album is really good. My personal favorites are its title track, "Stars Dance", "Undercover", "Slow Down" and "Forget Forever". Expand
  29. Feb 4, 2015
    4
    This album does not bring anything good, just irrelevant songs like Birthday, Slow Down and B.E.A.T and can be considered a joke near their previous work When The Sun Goes Down and A Year Without Rain.
  30. Jul 18, 2014
    5
    Selena Gomez now is really a gown girl, but still thinking like a little teenage... 'Stars Dance' has a good vibes, but still a homogenic album, with beats that sound the same...
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    70
    The whirring Stars Dance is a confident but not aggressively blatant move to a more grown-up pop playing field.
  2. Jul 24, 2013
    78
    What's left, then, is a collection of 11 shinily produced pop songs that find Gomez trying on a series of different personalities with her slight-yet-capable vocals.
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    63
    Stars Dance is exactly the kind of album one makes in 2013 if you want to keep the pop sugar of the Disney tween cabal but mix in some broken glass and a club bathroom nosebleed.