Stars Dance - Selena Gomez
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 219 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 219

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2014
    7
    A good album to dance and have fun. But overuse of auto tune on some music and she forgot to focus on the quality of the songs, but is good to hear.
    Highlights: Birthday and Love Will Remember
    Lows: Write Your Name and Stars Dance
  2. Dec 15, 2014
    0
    Stars Dance is one of the worst albums I've ever heard in my lifetime. Take the first track for instance. Birthday is an upbeat pop song. First of all, Gomez's vocals have been so dramatically altered with auto-tune that it sounds like she's singing in a tin can. And what is that inappropriate moaning in the background? Birthday is an unwelcoming first track for Stars Dance.

    Now, there
    Stars Dance is one of the worst albums I've ever heard in my lifetime. Take the first track for instance. Birthday is an upbeat pop song. First of all, Gomez's vocals have been so dramatically altered with auto-tune that it sounds like she's singing in a tin can. And what is that inappropriate moaning in the background? Birthday is an unwelcoming first track for Stars Dance.

    Now, there are some decent tracks like Slow Down and Stars Dance, the title track. In fact, Stars Dance is amazing. Come & Get It is a catchy Bollywood song, but the chorus is so repetitive and monotone. And what's the message of the song? "When you're ready come and get it?" That's just...no.

    Don't get me started on Like a Champion. That accent she tries to use is horrible. I can't even get through the whole song. There are many boring filler tracks, like Save the Day, Write Your Name, and Forget Forever. Those songs are just a snooze fest. And the worst song of the album...it's B.E.A.T. It's like Selena's TRYING to make the worst song ever made. The chorus is excruciating to listen to. The lyrics are bland and meaningless. It's a sad attempt at a "fun dance track."

    Maybe brainwashed fans think that this is a good album, or that "It is one of the best albums of the year!" It is nowhere close to "one of the best pop albums of the years." And it will never reach the status of a Shakira or "perhaps Rihanna album." It's just another generic Hollywood Records pop album "jam" and full of sh*t. I greatly criticize her for the sickening use of auto-tune. This album is almost as bad as Rebecca Black's "Friday." At least Friday wasn't a genuine and serious song. Selena is trying to shove Stars Dance down people's throats, and millions of people detest this album.

    If her music career is not over yet, then I wish (in vain) that her next album will be bearable enough to listen to.
    Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2014
    0
    Poderia dizer maravilhas desse álbum mas parece mais aqueles álbuns que dão de graça no iTunes pra ver se sai do flop, que só tem músicas ruins sabe? Vendeu quase porra nenhuma, e pelo menos tem duas músicas nota 8 que é CAGI e SD fora isso, é um cuzinho doce, não pisou nem no Demi q bela merda viu
  4. Oct 26, 2014
    10
    Exelente album com musicas otimas o single com mais destaque Come & Get It exelente otimo debut porem nao continuou a venda inicial devido a falta de divulgação da gravadora
  5. Sep 30, 2014
    10
    Selena realmente se superou nesse album, sua musica está mais madura assim como sua voz. pena que teve poucos singles. Come and Get It é uma otima musica, assim como "Undecover" e "Love Will Remember"
  6. Sep 22, 2014
    3
    O pior, tudo o que posso dizer sobre Stars Dance. When The Sun Goes Down foi um ótimo álbum, mas então vem com um novo álbum super diferente. Gosto de apenas 3 músicas de 12 desse álbum, esperava mais.
  7. Sep 6, 2014
    2
    Stars Dance é um álbum enjoativo, com músicas que só foram feitas para vender. Seus albuns anteriores, quando ainda era "Selena Gomez & The Scene" são bem melhores que esse. Espero que ela acerte na próximo, ela tem talento para isso.
  8. Aug 28, 2014
    6
    It's cool, but it don't deserves a 10, Selena's voice is annoying, but the songs are okay. I think if this album were sung by someone else, it would be better.
  9. Aug 26, 2014
    6
    Não é um mau album, mas também não é fantástico. Começa com ritmos de dança em birthday até undercover, e acaba com uma canção mais tocante, Love Will Remember.
  10. Jul 18, 2014
    5
    Selena Gomez now is really a gown girl, but still thinking like a little teenage... 'Stars Dance' has a good vibes, but still a homogenic album, with beats that sound the same...
  11. Jul 11, 2014
    9
    I was pleasantly surprised by this album, upon seeing the packaging and reading the tracklist I assumed it would be a compilation of slow-paced boring ex-Disney star songs. I couldn't have been more wrong. The overall production of the album is of an excellent standard and it is one of the few albums in recent years which I can listen to every track on. Album highlights include 'Birthday',I was pleasantly surprised by this album, upon seeing the packaging and reading the tracklist I assumed it would be a compilation of slow-paced boring ex-Disney star songs. I couldn't have been more wrong. The overall production of the album is of an excellent standard and it is one of the few albums in recent years which I can listen to every track on. Album highlights include 'Birthday', 'Like A Champion', 'B.E.A.T' & 'Nobody Does It Like You'. Album lowlights are the lead single 'Come & Get It' which gets horrifically repetitive after a couple of times, and 'I Like It That Way' in which Gomez seems to refer to her Disney girl state and creates a childish, pre-teen girl song.

    The album still beats other ex-Disney stars efforts such as Miley Cyrus' 'Bangerz' or Demi Lovato's 'Demi' and I definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys energy filled pop music.
    Expand
  12. Jul 11, 2014
    8
    I found a great dance album, really. 5 music has qualities to be singles. But I think I missed a small part of Selena Gomez. Somewhat lacking identity in some of his songs.
  13. Jun 29, 2014
    10
    A great album, perfect musical combinations, and Gomez is a great singer. She did not need to show your body to sell music.
    Best vocals and best singer.
  14. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    This album is best Selena Gomez's album.This album show us how Selena from teenage girl turns to woman.A lot of genres in this album.Good vocal.With this album she shows us that,without &The Scene can have better achievements in music.Stars Dance is also best-selling album of Selena Gomez at this time(2014).
  15. May 10, 2014
    10
    "Critics" and such are human first and foremost, so bias and prejudice, which influences the great masses, must be a given. They praise A. Grande why? The girl CAN sing but so far in her 3 singles she has mostly failed the critics hype and favoritism (IF they were honorable "critics"). MUSIC. Although Selena doesn't have strong noticeable vocals, her VOICE is beautiful (check out her"Critics" and such are human first and foremost, so bias and prejudice, which influences the great masses, must be a given. They praise A. Grande why? The girl CAN sing but so far in her 3 singles she has mostly failed the critics hype and favoritism (IF they were honorable "critics"). MUSIC. Although Selena doesn't have strong noticeable vocals, her VOICE is beautiful (check out her acoustic covers [if you are HONEST you will see she sings beautifully]). However, Stars Dance IS her poorer album of her 4. Kiss & Tell has been her best, then When The Sun Goes Down, then...But if Hiss & tell was her best (or whichever you think), why didn't they do better? Hispanics but specially Mexicans, are not liked in the USA, where the great majority of Trends start, and so such "hate" on (Selena) them must be followed worldwide. Selena's music is OVERALL better than many BIG time hits, but guess what?! Bigotry/Prejudice, led by pop culture' massive dumbing of the world, makes people, whether common or professional, hateful and/or prejudice.

    They call Selena's music "Bubble Gum" type? While few of her songs have been such, MOST haven't, but as I've said, the world is Prejudice, and in the USA, mostly towards Mexicans, in which Selena Gomez has been made THE Selected Target of such "hate", and everything is twisted to make her and her music APPEAR as nothing more than kids music.

    They say A. Grande' music is mature and Good, yet, fail to see see actually ROBBED Mariah's most unique voice. Fail to see that, while she can sing, she has failed to showcase such vocals in her singles (she whispers, sings with her nostrils, and is hardly audible). Her music is typical of hihpop/r&b. Yet, she is praised? I like(d) her, but the mass bias towards Selena has made me start supporting Hispanic artists, tho mainly Selena (since she IS THE one with a Target on her back).
    Expand
  16. May 8, 2014
    6
    Birthday, Slow Down, Stars Dance, Come & Get It, B.E.A.T., Love Will Remember, and Music Feels Better were great, but the rest of the music? Like a Champion was annoying, and Forget Forever and Write Your Name were too repetitive. Plus, there's too much AutoTune. I don't mind Ke$ha using it, but Selena Gomez should forget it. If she didn't know of its existence, she could have been a greatBirthday, Slow Down, Stars Dance, Come & Get It, B.E.A.T., Love Will Remember, and Music Feels Better were great, but the rest of the music? Like a Champion was annoying, and Forget Forever and Write Your Name were too repetitive. Plus, there's too much AutoTune. I don't mind Ke$ha using it, but Selena Gomez should forget it. If she didn't know of its existence, she could have been a great singer today.

    Personally, I prefer her "Kiss & Tell" debut album over this.
    Expand
  17. Apr 17, 2014
    1
    These songs sound like they all rolled off the same mindless assembly line as those of a dozen other marketing-manufactured mediocre "stars". Come and Get It sounded fun the first time or two I heard it, I admit that. But then it quickly becomes annoying, once you realize how utter banal and insipid it actually is.
  18. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    Great album. She has a really good voice. She really evolved from her Disney songs. Not to mention she is beautiful, she also has a bright future ahead of her.
  19. Feb 27, 2014
    8
    I was quite happy with this album. Stars Dance is better than all of Selena's previous albums. The songs are less childish, which is good, cause the Selenators who used to listen to Kiss & Tell in 2009, have grown, so they need growth in music. I think there's a lot of influence by Britney Spears on this album, which is also good, cause I love Britney. The beats on Stars Dance really makeI was quite happy with this album. Stars Dance is better than all of Selena's previous albums. The songs are less childish, which is good, cause the Selenators who used to listen to Kiss & Tell in 2009, have grown, so they need growth in music. I think there's a lot of influence by Britney Spears on this album, which is also good, cause I love Britney. The beats on Stars Dance really make you wanna dance, so I get the title. I love the fact that Selena put a lot of dubstep on this. Sel experimented with a lot of different genres and I think she did a good thing doing that. Still, she's not the world's greatest singer. Her voice is very breathy, which makes songs like "Come & Get It" fit perfectly to her voice. Other songs, however, like "Nobody Does It Like You" are too high for her. This causes the high notes to sound kind of irritating. I also think the bonus tracks are extremely bad. But, the rest of the album is really good. My personal favorites are its title track, "Stars Dance", "Undercover", "Slow Down" and "Forget Forever". Expand
  20. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    The songs, although far from powerful, was catchy and I think that, although she is armed with a very limited range, she can make good songs, the only thing that is keeping me from giving her full marks is the fact that all her songs are very autotuned. Her vocals are less showcased and most of her music is just background beats, not really singer material. Anyways, great album! SheThe songs, although far from powerful, was catchy and I think that, although she is armed with a very limited range, she can make good songs, the only thing that is keeping me from giving her full marks is the fact that all her songs are very autotuned. Her vocals are less showcased and most of her music is just background beats, not really singer material. Anyways, great album! She totally deserved the number 1 spot in the Billboard 200! Expand
  21. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    I think Selena made a good job!
    She isnt Have a big/strong voice,but this is pretty good!
    If You wanna have fun You Have to Listen Stars Dance of SG!
  22. Feb 2, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The release of highly anticipated 'Stars Dance' by growing performer Selena Gomez proves to be a well-produced, catchy and nicely delivered piece of teen electro-pop, with several light and fixable flaws.
    Track no. 1 is Birthday', a punky song which does not only suit the singer perfectly, but proves to bear a unique sound accompanied by a banging bass, handclaps and crazy beats, perfect for a confident album opener.
    'Slow Down' follows, with a simple but catchy electro-pop chorus that shows why it was chosen as the second single. Nothing completely new, but still fun to listen, bragging a terrific hook for dancing.
    Next is title track 'Stars Dance', which stands out as an orchestral-dubstep song which captures the listener's ear since the very stringy beginning. One of the best songs in the album, it falls out of the 'title track is terrible' cliché, and lets Gomez showcase her vocal ability without overdoing production.
    'Like a Champion' is a breezy, tribal-like piece of dancehall pop. It barely manages to grasp the album's concept while still briefly departing from loud electro-pop bangs and bursts, quite well may I add.
    Lead single 'Come & Get It' is the album's smash hit, a stand-out on 'Stars Dance'. Following it's previous track's sound, it expands it with Indian background singing and a nice touch of electronic runs. It falls prey, however, to predictability and somewhat floppy lyrics.
    'Forget Forever' is a personal favorite. With nicly controlled vocals, and a refreshing, sing-along chorus, it succeeds in it's purpose. It also lyrically departs the album's previous 'please don't leave me' concept and successfully takes on a 'forget you ever knew my name' punch line.
    'Save The Day' is musically more of the same, however, it's pumping beats and Gomez' immersive vocals lead us onto a fantastic dubstep chorus and latin-like bridge. It shares a strange similarity with track 'Come & Get It' though, which both benefits and harms the singer's presentation.
    'B.E.A.T.' has Gomez' vocals being messed and tampered with for about 3/4 of the song, which is not new, but manages to captivate us with a stuttering b-b-b-beat. Repetitive, yes, cute, yes, ultimately annoying, also.
    As 'Write Your Name' begins, it seems to be taking a break from what we have been hearing, but as it approaches a banging dance-pop chorus we can't help but fall for it's catchy-yet-familiar tune. Smartly produced and with a suprisingly lovely rap verse by Gomez, it proves to be yet another hit-making material.
    'Undercover' is both the nearest to a Guetta-like produced song and the highlight of the album (which is strangely disappointing). It features the album's different-but-the-same electro-pop arrangement in the chorus, but it's definitely a manically dancy song which keeps us waiting for that electronic explosion we've been technically hearing throughout 'Stars Dance', and to be able to do that half an hour into the album, is already a success.
    'Love Will Remember' is the ballad of the album, and based upon the excessively covered relationship the singer had with Canadian artist Justin Bieber. Dramatically soothing, and awkwardly emotional, it's in the top 3 tracks from 'Stars Dance', with Gomez' vocals refreshingly undisturbed (mostly). However, many are likely to not make it this far in the album due to it's constant formula, leaving this love story unheard.

    Two deluxe tracks followed the original release:

    'Nobody Does It Like You' is a fun yet hollow song that barely saves itself from falling into the 'oh, again' category with a good dubstep chorus. It is, though, very similar to 'Slow Down', and since the latter's become a single, this track loses the little potential that surfaced.
    'Music Feels Better' is the thirteenth and final track on 'Stars Dance'. It surpiringly showcases a 90's disco spirit and it's fun, carefree delivery is mainly the reason for a Deluxe purchase of the album.

    Overall, 'Stars Dance' is a fantastically produced, well-delivered record that, whilst falling victim to predictable electro-pop situations, takes Selena Gomez' promising career and pushes it a step forward and away from Disney Queen status. Her new sound and direction suits her well, and fit nicely in her career, as 'Selena Gomez & the Scene' fans awaiting the band's return are sure to find 'Stars Dance' worthy enough to keep them excited.

    Overall score: 8.0 out of 10
    Expand
  23. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    SELENA CRESCEU E SE TORNOU UMA GRANDE ARTISTA. SUAS MÚSICAS TRAZEM A FELICIDADE E CONTAGIA. ELA QUERIA PASSAR UMA MENSAGEM DE CURTIR UM POUCO NÓS MESMOS, BRINCANDO COM NOSSAS SITUAÇÕES PROBLEMÁTICAS E MAIS TOLAS DE NOSSAS VIDAS.
  24. Dec 21, 2013
    5
    Admittedly, it is evident that Selena Gomez has grown from her previous album. However, to me, this album just lacks a whole lot of authenticity. Sure, the songs are great to dance to, and most of them are pretty catchy, but is this album memorable? Sadly, no. Furthermore, the heavy-reliance on production was a little disappointing; I would have loved to hear Selena's raw voice instead ofAdmittedly, it is evident that Selena Gomez has grown from her previous album. However, to me, this album just lacks a whole lot of authenticity. Sure, the songs are great to dance to, and most of them are pretty catchy, but is this album memorable? Sadly, no. Furthermore, the heavy-reliance on production was a little disappointing; I would have loved to hear Selena's raw voice instead of computers singing for her. The problem with this is that her live performances become let-downs, because she is incapable of efficiently showcasing her vocals. Selena has such a lovely voice, but her soft voice is all masked away. In saying that, if Selena chooses to venture out more in music in the future, hopefully she can lose the electronic feel and try something more acoustic. Stand-outs are Come & Get It, Save The Day and Like A Champion. Expand
  25. Dec 9, 2013
    5
    It has some notable tracks, the rest are kind of bland. Plus I have to give points off for not even writing the songs yourself, I see no point in that. Selena should step it up.

    Notable Tracks:
    Birthday
    Come & Get It
    B.E.A.T.
    Undercover
  26. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    So when Selena Gomez will find that she is a singer? Even when she will find that singing with a voice weak and poor will gain more fans? Stars Dance comes with one of the biggest jokes of the year, this album easily enter as defining generic music, maybe Selena should devote your time with some theater course to improve his performance, as his music career seems to have no way.
  27. Nov 25, 2013
    5
    I hope more. The singles are very good, but the others songs not at all. too much dance and empty songs to me. Selena had fun with this album, I like it but just a Little.
  28. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    This is the second cd I wanted to review, for the same reason, I think it is so under-rated. I am a 45 year old male and I recall how critics ripped Madonna's Like a Virgin CD apart, and I love that one too. Shame on you, critic, for saying that Selena is screaming like a whore on Birthday when she has become a sensual young woman whoever wrote that review is a pervert. Selena is soThis is the second cd I wanted to review, for the same reason, I think it is so under-rated. I am a 45 year old male and I recall how critics ripped Madonna's Like a Virgin CD apart, and I love that one too. Shame on you, critic, for saying that Selena is screaming like a whore on Birthday when she has become a sensual young woman whoever wrote that review is a pervert. Selena is so talented and I sincerely like every song on this cd it is so fun and so high energy and. like will.i am's cd, it is one of my favorite gym cd's this year Selena please do not pay attention to the haters you WILL be the next JLO! Expand
  29. Oct 29, 2013
    6
    Selena shows us what we are already tired of seeing, nonetheless, Stars Dance sounds so generic that this must be the reason that, even if not entirely, does it work at certain points.
  30. Oct 27, 2013
    0
    This album sucks and Selena Gomez is the definition of no talent, pop star wanna be, look at me i am pretty and white therefore i can get whatever i want, let me date people more famous than me so i can move up in case system .

    This is her worst album yet the only songs i recommend are come and get it, slow down, undercover, love will remember and stars dance (the song)
  31. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    Amazing album. Catchy tunes, amazing beats and decent vocals makes Stars Dance her best album yet. She really did a good job on it, definitely worth the wait. She is the living proof that growing up doesn't mean be vulgar, or whatever. Just make good music, with more mature music and sound overall.
  32. Oct 11, 2013
    5
    From its risque beginning ("Birthday", which composes handclaps, moans, and sexual innuendo into Gomez's wildest musical entry yet) to its ending formulaic so-and-so R&B-esque ballad "Love Will Remember" (which was reportedly written about her infamous relationship with Canadian teen pop idol Justin Bieber), Stars Dance was simply made for one thing and Gomez has made it clear in more thanFrom its risque beginning ("Birthday", which composes handclaps, moans, and sexual innuendo into Gomez's wildest musical entry yet) to its ending formulaic so-and-so R&B-esque ballad "Love Will Remember" (which was reportedly written about her infamous relationship with Canadian teen pop idol Justin Bieber), Stars Dance was simply made for one thing and Gomez has made it clear in more than one interview what that one thing is: to make you dance. But beyond that, Stars Dance never reaches for the stars (maybe it was meant to make them dance too, as the Ellie Goulding influenced title track suggests) and it has no meaning nor purpose to really exist. Gomez has also made it clear that she wishes to leave her music career behind her in favor of her acting career, which makes sense because Gomez has never really established herself a musical identity beyond the innocent Disney diva so many others her age have pursued. The cultural lead single "Come and Get It" at least solidifies the fact that Gomez can work with producers and that she can be anyone she wants to be (especially Rihanna) except herself. So overall, Gomez's "Selenators" should be more than pleased but beyond its target audience, its presence is thin. Expand
  33. Oct 8, 2013
    8
    Selena Gomez' latest is evidently a dance oriented work, with no further intentions, and I have to say that it fills the expectations. The most important thing of this album is something that lacks in others: balance. Plus, the songs are well-sequenced, which gives the album some extra points. Songs are funny, despite the massive use of autotune. You can listen the album from beginning toSelena Gomez' latest is evidently a dance oriented work, with no further intentions, and I have to say that it fills the expectations. The most important thing of this album is something that lacks in others: balance. Plus, the songs are well-sequenced, which gives the album some extra points. Songs are funny, despite the massive use of autotune. You can listen the album from beginning to end easily. "Come and get it", "Save the day" and "Music feels better" (this last one with a slight eighties touch) are catchy, and that's more than you can ask from a Selena Gomez album. The production is also clean, and finally, this maybe is not a great album, miss Gomez vocals are not the best in industry,. but ithis work shows more pros than cons and that's why I'll give this release a positive score. Expand
  34. Oct 8, 2013
    6
    Her debut album without her band, Selena Gomez and the Band, was released by Selena with a new, sexier, yet 'PG' rated image, which makes sense beause she is still with Disney when this album was released.
    The tracklist of the album were okay for a debut album. The sexy opening song of the album, Birthday, seems to be a more 'PG' rated version of Rihanna's 'Birthday Cake', only the song
    Her debut album without her band, Selena Gomez and the Band, was released by Selena with a new, sexier, yet 'PG' rated image, which makes sense beause she is still with Disney when this album was released.
    The tracklist of the album were okay for a debut album. The sexy opening song of the album, Birthday, seems to be a more 'PG' rated version of Rihanna's 'Birthday Cake', only the song is more catchier, more longer and the point of the song is there, it's about a freaking birthday. The closing song, Love Will Remember, is the best song to close this album. Even though it addresses to her ex, Justin Bieber, the electronic feel of the song does not feel emotional at all despite its catchiness.
    There are not much highlights of the album which is disapointing. The highlights were Birthday and B.E.A.T., a sexy song that channels Dev.
    The best highlight of the album was 'Forget Forever', which could have been a better lead single than its Indian music-inspired, Come and Get It.
    Even though it's a great debut album from Selena Gomez, it lacked diversity in its production.
    Expand
  35. Oct 3, 2013
    0
    Very disappointed, it's messy & autotuned...her vocals are TERRIBLE. She has a terrible voice I don't know why she's getting money from this album, JUST KEEP YOUR MONEY AWAY FROM THIS
  36. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    I'm loving this album. Although some of the songs are overproduced, they are still catchy. Every single song managed to capture my attention (a reference to the song SLOW DOWN lol). My favorite would have to be LIKE A CHAMPION. it's a definite champ to me and would love it to be the next single.
  37. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    selena make a good job with this album. Is so fantastic She left her side disney teen and is now a grown woman I'm so happy to see the growth of this girl, the way she has matured so fast. no words to speak
  38. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Absolutely love this album! Great vocals, catchy tunes, and love the drums! Don't know why everyone is hating on it...great everything. Guys, it went to #1, why is it bad?
  39. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Amazing album. Catchy tunes, amazing beats and decent vocals makes Stars Dance her best album yet. She really did a good job on it, definitely worth the wait. She is the living proof that growing up doesn't mean be vulgar, or whatever. Just make good music, with more mature music and sound overall.

    Best ones: Birthday, Like a Champion, Slow Down, and the top 10 hit single "Come & Get It"
  40. Aug 30, 2013
    5
    An album full of electro and unusual sample, Rihanna's Man Down cover and a bit of nothing, the beat is good, bud is just to sell, miss the quality of this "masterpiece".
  41. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    She sounds like she's trying to be Britney Spears. "Come & Get It" comes out as the only good song on the record, the other ones sound dated and used the old 2011 formula, which is getting the general public kind of tired, pop dubstep.
  42. Jul 30, 2013
    6
    OK, its obvious no one here knows how to actually review and album. There either way too happy and fan obsessed or just a complete hater. Here's an actual review.
    Let me start by saying Selena has a iffy voice nowhere near Demi but nice and sweet to hear unlike Miley.
    01) Birthday: An awkward song trying to be sexy while still sounding kiddy (3/5). 02) Slow Down: Danceable, but gets
    OK, its obvious no one here knows how to actually review and album. There either way too happy and fan obsessed or just a complete hater. Here's an actual review.
    Let me start by saying Selena has a iffy voice nowhere near Demi but nice and sweet to hear unlike Miley.

    01) Birthday: An awkward song trying to be sexy while still sounding kiddy (3/5).
    02) Slow Down: Danceable, but gets bland after about 15 listens (4/5).
    03) Stars Dance: The title track that os both sweet yet heart shopping at the same time. A dubstep influenced song (5/5).
    04) Like A Champion: Influenced by Rihanna this Caribbean definitely gets you moving and catchy with the chorus (4/5).
    05) Come And Get It: Originally belonging to Rihanna, this Bollywood inspired song is both lyrically and production wise perfect (5/5).
    06) Forget Forever: The first song about her relationship with Justin, the song starts off slow and breathy, the moves into a large EDM full on dance hit (5/5).
    07) Save The Day: The Jennifer Lopez song that Selena got. The song is good and danceable but might have been a hit if J.Lo song it (4/5).
    08) B.E.A.T.: A wannabe Dev song that ultimately feels interesting after a couple of listens. The song isn't really original but makes up with the catchy chorus (3.5/5).
    09) Write Your Name: Sweet little song that ultimately ends up being the most forgettable song on the album and is completely understandable (3.2/5).
    10) Undercover: The catchy dance track is sure to get your body moving and have you saying "You don't need no other lover we can keep this under cover" all day everyday (5/5).
    11) Love Will Remember: Thing only ballad on the CD panned by Rock Mafia this beautiful song is amazing but this new version without the voice feels less personal then the original still amazing with the "Lo-o-oo-ooo-ove" in the chorus (5/5).
    Bonas Track:
    12) Nobody Does It Like You: The perfect dance track with beautiful lyrics and a surprising dubstep break down in the chorus (5/5).
    13) Music Feels Better: Younger then you'd think but still a good song to listen to of bored (3.5/5).
    Bonas Track:
    14) I Like It That Way: The Katy Perry-ish song comes off interesting until the chorus comes in turning the song into an overproduced song (2.7/5).
    15) Lover In Me: Just a bit better then the song before, but comes off bland and uninteresting but catchy at the same time (3.6/5)
    Demo Track:
    16) Sad Serenade: This track is not available on the soundtrack or iTunes or Amazon but can be listened to on YouTube. Sad Serenade is a sweet danceable track that could have easily replaced 9, 13-15 (5/5).

    All in all this soundtrack is all over the place from good to okay to bad, better then "Kiss & Tell" and "A Year Without Rain" but not as good as "When The Sun Goes Down". Sugared with autotune that with songs like Stars Dance and Undercover it really doesn't matter. The cover art is beautiful. But this album is little more fun then Demi Lovato's "DEMI" but not as deep. She does write about 4-6 songs. All in All 6.5 out of 10. This still so far sounds like the best pop album of the year. Should you get it? Yes if you're younger then 21 you should enjoy, but of you're older only download "Stars Dance, Come & Get It, Forget Forever, Undercover, Nobody Does It Like You, Love Will Remember, Slow Down, and Sad Serenade" if any others then just get "Save The Day, Champion, Music Feels Better, or B.E.A.T.".
    Expand
  43. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    This album is fun, delightful, and enlightening. All music is dance, which blands it out a little nu ti enjoy the songs. If you're taking it on a real serious note then you have to get a hold of yourself. Of course its some pop crap but its enjoyable. There are only a couple of songs with very little amount of meaning but it directs more of the dance culture but its a feel good album. HerThis album is fun, delightful, and enlightening. All music is dance, which blands it out a little nu ti enjoy the songs. If you're taking it on a real serious note then you have to get a hold of yourself. Of course its some pop crap but its enjoyable. There are only a couple of songs with very little amount of meaning but it directs more of the dance culture but its a feel good album. Her voice of course isn't great, and what we are listening to is nothing too are from a scale from 1 10 of inappropriateness for the youngins would be 4 or 5 depending on how you feel for your child's ears. Nothing explicit. No original content, but its for fun. Show some love and lighten up a little. Quality and production is cool. Vocals are below average. Expand
  44. Jul 27, 2013
    8
    "Stars Dance," Selena Gomez's debut solo album, is clearly one of the most highly anticipated releases of 2013. It not only showcases true talent, but experiments with a variety of genres, from electronic to dub step. Gomez, who just recently turned 21 after the release of "Stars Dance," also demonstrates a new approach for the singer to the music business, as it's different from her"Stars Dance," Selena Gomez's debut solo album, is clearly one of the most highly anticipated releases of 2013. It not only showcases true talent, but experiments with a variety of genres, from electronic to dub step. Gomez, who just recently turned 21 after the release of "Stars Dance," also demonstrates a new approach for the singer to the music business, as it's different from her three previous albums that she had done with her band, The Scene ("Kiss & Tell," "A Year Without Rain," and "When the Sun Goes Down").

    Track-by-Track Review:

    1. "Birthday" 8/10; a great way to start off the album
    2. "Slow Down" 9/10; "Slow Down" is an ultra-catchy track with an infectious hook
    3. "Stars Dance" 6/10; has a nice beat, but definitely not the best song on the album
    4. "Like a Champion" 3/10; catchy, but probably the worst song on the album
    5. "Come & Get It" 9/10; probably one of the best songs on the album
    6. "Forget Forever" 8/10; it has a nice beat and some good lyrics to go along with it
    7. "Save the Day" 10/10; definitely the best song on the entire album
    8. "B.E.A.T." 6.5/10; a good song, but nothing too special
    9. "Write Your Name" 8/10; a song that stands out on the album and is indeed very catchy
    10. "Undercover" 9/10; a song that clearly separates itself from the rest of the record
    11. "Love Will Remember" 7/10; a good way to end the album
    Expand
  45. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    With this album she has really come out in the music scene having a great pop, trap and hip style that will do great in the clubs. Many may take time to accept this trap side but eventually will have to.
  46. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Selena Gomez has yet another album that makes me want to dance to it. I really like it because all of the songs have that vibe to it that is really dance able to. Birthday Is a really awesome song you can clap to on your own birthday! B.E.A.T has a kind of vibe like Ke$ha's Tik Tok! Come and Get It has an indian vibe to it that is spiritual and really a greatly written song. Forget ForeverSelena Gomez has yet another album that makes me want to dance to it. I really like it because all of the songs have that vibe to it that is really dance able to. Birthday Is a really awesome song you can clap to on your own birthday! B.E.A.T has a kind of vibe like Ke$ha's Tik Tok! Come and Get It has an indian vibe to it that is spiritual and really a greatly written song. Forget Forever is a lovely song about her break up with Justin Bieber. Like A Champion is an awesome song to dance to with a reggae and Jamaican vibe. Love Will Remember is a sweet song. All in all, this album will be a hit that I think is going to be brought on ITunes by many! Expand
  47. Jul 25, 2013
    4
    I keep hoping against hope that something valid will come out of the ever-churning child star machine, but every time it seems to be the same formulaic illness, and sorry Selina you've got the fever. As with Britney and the like before her, the production is top notch, but whoever scrounged the dumpster for the song selection was playing it far too safe. Sadly this is another edition ofI keep hoping against hope that something valid will come out of the ever-churning child star machine, but every time it seems to be the same formulaic illness, and sorry Selina you've got the fever. As with Britney and the like before her, the production is top notch, but whoever scrounged the dumpster for the song selection was playing it far too safe. Sadly this is another edition of selling a slightly talented pretty face. Expand
  48. Jul 25, 2013
    5
    An album almost nothing funny Come Get It feature and others but the rest is more of the same but they look something like what makes Rihanna or Britney Spears Well at least this is better than the last.
  49. Jul 24, 2013
    0
    Noting stupid pop trash. And her younger fans shouldn't get this album. Listen the her song "Birthday" and you'll know what I mean. Anyway, her vocals are TERRIBLE. She has a terrible voice I don't know why she's getting money from this album. As for the lyrics, they're terrible as well. Nothing but the same topic (love) and then a beat...seriously this modern age we get nothing butNoting stupid pop trash. And her younger fans shouldn't get this album. Listen the her song "Birthday" and you'll know what I mean. Anyway, her vocals are TERRIBLE. She has a terrible voice I don't know why she's getting money from this album. As for the lyrics, they're terrible as well. Nothing but the same topic (love) and then a beat...seriously this modern age we get nothing but terrible music that only attracts teens. I miss the good days when music was real and had a meaning. Now we get this trash. As for her fans, I don't know what to say. I mean, the only reason I would like her is because Selena is gorgeous, but other than that I don't see why her fans like her music... Even if she was the one who wrote "Stupid Hoe" they would still like it... Don't call me a hater, but if you call yourself a singer, then you must have good vocals and know how to make good lyrics, both in which Selena does not have. I'm ashamed that people actually like this album... Collapse
  50. Jul 24, 2013
    7
    I have listened to all of Selena Gomez's album, and I think Star Dance is one of her best. Among the songs I liked are Star dance, come & get it and slow down.
  51. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    Selena always doing good and soothing music. This time she's putting us to dance even more. When you ready come and get this amazing album, with amazing songs.
  52. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    Not her best, but probably one of the best dance/pop albums of the year. She is very involved in the design of this album, wrote some of the songs. His voice is much stronger and beautiful. Congratulations!
  53. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing, you can listen without skipping any tracks. Every track is amazing and lovely. 'Love Will Remember' shows how Selena can be a good songwriter.
  54. Jul 23, 2013
    2
    I loved Birthday, but the rest of the album is boring. I'm not surprised with this, cause it's a pop project made by Selena Gomez, or better, producers that want money.
  55. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    One of the best pop albuns of the years. Selena is not that pretty little girl anymore. Now she's trying to be a woman, and she's doing it right. The album is so good and you feel like you're in a party all the time, but when starts "Love Will Remember" is like you remind all your love problems back. The only one song is not good is Write Your Name, but I still can listem to that.
  56. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    It is one of the best albums of the year! With good vocals, very catchy tunes and two amazing singles released before hand Selena has really outdone herself proving that she is definitely one of the leading pop stars of 2013. The album itself is very diverse, with Like A Champion having a jamaican vibe to it, to Come And Get It with a hindi tune to the dance heavy B.E.A.T and Birthday toIt is one of the best albums of the year! With good vocals, very catchy tunes and two amazing singles released before hand Selena has really outdone herself proving that she is definitely one of the leading pop stars of 2013. The album itself is very diverse, with Like A Champion having a jamaican vibe to it, to Come And Get It with a hindi tune to the dance heavy B.E.A.T and Birthday to the more intimate Love Will Remember and Nobody Does It Like You to hopefully the albums next single Save The Day. The album has a great resemblance to a Shakira or perhaps Rihanna album and is definitely worth the wait! Expand
  57. Jul 23, 2013
    3
    Much awaited with the two first good singles, Stars Dance is a disappointment. It is the kind of record you listen, dance on, and then forget. It reminds Alexandra Burke's last horrible effort, just a little bit better produced. After listening to Stars Dance, you will only remember the surprising and sexy "Birthday" and the two first singles for their beat, that's all. Selena is workingMuch awaited with the two first good singles, Stars Dance is a disappointment. It is the kind of record you listen, dance on, and then forget. It reminds Alexandra Burke's last horrible effort, just a little bit better produced. After listening to Stars Dance, you will only remember the surprising and sexy "Birthday" and the two first singles for their beat, that's all. Selena is working with good producers, she has to give to her next record creativity, ambition and authenticity. Expand
  58. Jul 23, 2013
    0
    This album is a complete fail. The background music is heart-stopping, but the vocals, lyrics and production is overly produced and shows no acoustic talents for both Selena and produces. The best, least messy song on the album is Come and Get It, which is unfortunate, since the song is not profound. Actually, the whole album is a repetitive form of a dance song. There are absolutely noThis album is a complete fail. The background music is heart-stopping, but the vocals, lyrics and production is overly produced and shows no acoustic talents for both Selena and produces. The best, least messy song on the album is Come and Get It, which is unfortunate, since the song is not profound. Actually, the whole album is a repetitive form of a dance song. There are absolutely no ballads on the album, and "Love Will Remember" is an awkward attempt at one after ten songs of dance music. Selena has mid-core attempts at singing, but this album does her no justice, since the songs hide both her personality, and her voice. Better luck next time, Selena. But for the good of my ears, hopefully there will not be a next time. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    70
    The whirring Stars Dance is a confident but not aggressively blatant move to a more grown-up pop playing field.
  2. Jul 24, 2013
    78
    What's left, then, is a collection of 11 shinily produced pop songs that find Gomez trying on a series of different personalities with her slight-yet-capable vocals.
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    63
    Stars Dance is exactly the kind of album one makes in 2013 if you want to keep the pop sugar of the Disney tween cabal but mix in some broken glass and a club bathroom nosebleed.