Stars Dance Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 270 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length studio release for the Disney actress/singer is her first as a solo artist and includes contributions from The Cataracs, Desmond Child, Ester Dean, Mike Del Rio, Dreamlab, David Jost, The Monsters and the Strangerz, Rock Mafia, and Stargate.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    78
    What's left, then, is a collection of 11 shinily produced pop songs that find Gomez trying on a series of different personalities with her slight-yet-capable vocals.
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    70
    Thanks to the strong songs, Selena's reliably strong vocals, and the variety of sounds, it adds up to be another fine entry in her catalog and just another example of why Selena Gomez is one of the best pop stars making music in 2013.
  3. Jul 30, 2013
    70
    The whirring Stars Dance is a confident but not aggressively blatant move to a more grown-up pop playing field.
  4. Jul 22, 2013
    60
    From the electro-punk opener Birthday onward, she's competent and entirely impersonal. But that's no impediment to enjoying the record, which darts efficiently from EDM to Bollywood to--Beliebers, look away now--sappiness inspired by her on-off boyfriend, Justin Bieber.
  5. Jul 23, 2013
    60
    Though she nods at Rihanna-style slither and Britney-esque grind, this is the sound of Gomez gliding gracefully into adulthood.
  6. Jul 22, 2013
    40
    Other than the sultry Stars Dance, much of this sounds like songs Rihanna rejected.
  7. It's a pop record, which means one killer track would redeem everything. Predictably enough, it never comes.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 76
  2. Negative: 17 out of 76
  1. May 4, 2015
    10
    This album is definitively much better than her last two, it has a more mature sound and better vocals. She has more input in this album andThis album is definitively much better than her last two, it has a more mature sound and better vocals. She has more input in this album and actually co-writing some of the songs. It's different in a good way, she is growing into a serious artist for sure Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    Great album. She has a really good voice. She really evolved from her Disney songs. Not to mention she is beautiful, she also has a brightGreat album. She has a really good voice. She really evolved from her Disney songs. Not to mention she is beautiful, she also has a bright future ahead of her. Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    It is one of the best albums of the year! With good vocals, very catchy tunes and two amazing singles released before hand Selena has reallyIt is one of the best albums of the year! With good vocals, very catchy tunes and two amazing singles released before hand Selena has really outdone herself proving that she is definitely one of the leading pop stars of 2013. The album itself is very diverse, with Like A Champion having a jamaican vibe to it, to Come And Get It with a hindi tune to the dance heavy B.E.A.T and Birthday to the more intimate Love Will Remember and Nobody Does It Like You to hopefully the albums next single Save The Day. The album has a great resemblance to a Shakira or perhaps Rihanna album and is definitely worth the wait! Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2014
    8
    I found a great dance album, really. 5 music has qualities to be singles. But I think I missed a small part of Selena Gomez. Somewhat lackingI found a great dance album, really. 5 music has qualities to be singles. But I think I missed a small part of Selena Gomez. Somewhat lacking identity in some of his songs. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    6
    Selena shows us what we are already tired of seeing, nonetheless, Stars Dance sounds so generic that this must be the reason that, even if notSelena shows us what we are already tired of seeing, nonetheless, Stars Dance sounds so generic that this must be the reason that, even if not entirely, does it work at certain points. Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2013
    5
    It has some notable tracks, the rest are kind of bland. Plus I have to give points off for not even writing the songs yourself, I see no pointIt has some notable tracks, the rest are kind of bland. Plus I have to give points off for not even writing the songs yourself, I see no point in that. Selena should step it up.

    Notable Tracks:
    Birthday
    Come & Get It
    B.E.A.T.
    Undercover
    Expand
  7. May 9, 2015
    0
    Álbum horrível, empregado do Yours Truly, merece um 0 bem grande, sem falar que a qualidade desse álbum(Inexistente) é horrível, as letras sãoÁlbum horrível, empregado do Yours Truly, merece um 0 bem grande, sem falar que a qualidade desse álbum(Inexistente) é horrível, as letras são horríveis, tudo é horrível e merece 0. Expand

See all 76 User Reviews