Stars Dance Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 256 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length studio release for the Disney actress/singer is her first as a solo artist and includes contributions from The Cataracs, Desmond Child, Ester Dean, Mike Del Rio, Dreamlab, David Jost, The Monsters and the Strangerz, Rock Mafia, and Stargate.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    78
    What's left, then, is a collection of 11 shinily produced pop songs that find Gomez trying on a series of different personalities with her slight-yet-capable vocals.
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    70
    Thanks to the strong songs, Selena's reliably strong vocals, and the variety of sounds, it adds up to be another fine entry in her catalog and just another example of why Selena Gomez is one of the best pop stars making music in 2013.
  3. Jul 30, 2013
    70
    The whirring Stars Dance is a confident but not aggressively blatant move to a more grown-up pop playing field.
  4. Jul 22, 2013
    60
    From the electro-punk opener Birthday onward, she's competent and entirely impersonal. But that's no impediment to enjoying the record, which darts efficiently from EDM to Bollywood to--Beliebers, look away now--sappiness inspired by her on-off boyfriend, Justin Bieber.
  5. Jul 23, 2013
    60
    Though she nods at Rihanna-style slither and Britney-esque grind, this is the sound of Gomez gliding gracefully into adulthood.
  6. Jul 22, 2013
    40
    Other than the sultry Stars Dance, much of this sounds like songs Rihanna rejected.
  7. It's a pop record, which means one killer track would redeem everything. Predictably enough, it never comes.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 71
  2. Negative: 16 out of 71
  1. May 4, 2015
    10
    lindo chorei horrrores com a atuação da rainha teen mais conehcida como selena mary gomez né amor agora vamos la querida voce arrasa na caralindo chorei horrrores com a atuação da rainha teen mais conehcida como selena mary gomez né amor agora vamos la querida voce arrasa na cara da miley cyus vc pisa na ariana grande e exculaxa a demi quem? demi who? Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Stars Dance" álbum da Selena Gomez é com certeza um álbum que eu compraria sem pensar duas vezes. É um álbum animado, divertido, com uma ótima sonoridade. Músicas animadas como "Come and get it" e as tristes e calmas porém com uma letra ótima, como "Love Will Remember". Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    It is one of the best albums of the year! With good vocals, very catchy tunes and two amazing singles released before hand Selena has reallyIt is one of the best albums of the year! With good vocals, very catchy tunes and two amazing singles released before hand Selena has really outdone herself proving that she is definitely one of the leading pop stars of 2013. The album itself is very diverse, with Like A Champion having a jamaican vibe to it, to Come And Get It with a hindi tune to the dance heavy B.E.A.T and Birthday to the more intimate Love Will Remember and Nobody Does It Like You to hopefully the albums next single Save The Day. The album has a great resemblance to a Shakira or perhaps Rihanna album and is definitely worth the wait! Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2014
    8
    I found a great dance album, really. 5 music has qualities to be singles. But I think I missed a small part of Selena Gomez. Somewhat lackingI found a great dance album, really. 5 music has qualities to be singles. But I think I missed a small part of Selena Gomez. Somewhat lacking identity in some of his songs. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    6
    Selena shows us what we are already tired of seeing, nonetheless, Stars Dance sounds so generic that this must be the reason that, even if notSelena shows us what we are already tired of seeing, nonetheless, Stars Dance sounds so generic that this must be the reason that, even if not entirely, does it work at certain points. Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2013
    5
    It has some notable tracks, the rest are kind of bland. Plus I have to give points off for not even writing the songs yourself, I see no pointIt has some notable tracks, the rest are kind of bland. Plus I have to give points off for not even writing the songs yourself, I see no point in that. Selena should step it up.

    Notable Tracks:
    Birthday
    Come & Get It
    B.E.A.T.
    Undercover
    Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2015
    0
    pior álbum da história do Pop teen. Esse álbum é horrivel, tinha que ter tido nota 46. Esse álbum é mais comercial que todos da selena, sempior álbum da história do Pop teen. Esse álbum é horrivel, tinha que ter tido nota 46. Esse álbum é mais comercial que todos da selena, sem contar que ela só escreve 1 linha do album e acha que escreveu muito ou teve muito trabalho, ah vá toma no cu. Sem contar que tem músicas sobre sexo, e ela tem muitos fãs (selenojos) com 10 anos. Pra mim artista BOM é aquele que toca instrumentos, canta de verdade, compõe e não faz um álbum (ou toda discografia) comercial. Ela só escreve 2 linhas e acha que é trabalho duro, imagina se ela escrevesse o álbum todo? JESUS. Não sei como ela se dá bem nas venda,s charts, etc. Esse album é bem enjoativo e só tem musicas feitas para vender. Expand

See all 71 User Reviews