Stars Dance - Selena Gomez
Stars Dance Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 203 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length studio release for the Disney actress/singer is her first as a solo artist and includes contributions from The Cataracs, Desmond Child, Ester Dean, Mike Del Rio, Dreamlab, David Jost, The Monsters and the Strangerz, Rock Mafia, and Stargate.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    78
    What's left, then, is a collection of 11 shinily produced pop songs that find Gomez trying on a series of different personalities with her slight-yet-capable vocals.
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    70
    Thanks to the strong songs, Selena's reliably strong vocals, and the variety of sounds, it adds up to be another fine entry in her catalog and just another example of why Selena Gomez is one of the best pop stars making music in 2013.
  3. Jul 30, 2013
    70
    The whirring Stars Dance is a confident but not aggressively blatant move to a more grown-up pop playing field.
  4. Jul 22, 2013
    60
    From the electro-punk opener Birthday onward, she's competent and entirely impersonal. But that's no impediment to enjoying the record, which darts efficiently from EDM to Bollywood to--Beliebers, look away now--sappiness inspired by her on-off boyfriend, Justin Bieber.
  5. Jul 23, 2013
    60
    Though she nods at Rihanna-style slither and Britney-esque grind, this is the sound of Gomez gliding gracefully into adulthood.
  6. Jul 22, 2013
    40
    Other than the sultry Stars Dance, much of this sounds like songs Rihanna rejected.
  7. It's a pop record, which means one killer track would redeem everything. Predictably enough, it never comes.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 53
  2. Negative: 10 out of 53
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    selena make a good job with this album. Is so fantastic She left her side disney teen and is now a grown woman I'm so happy to see the growth of this girl, the way she has matured so fast. no words to speak Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Absolutely love this album! Great vocals, catchy tunes, and love the drums! Don't know why everyone is hating on it...great everything. Guys, it went to #1, why is it bad? Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    It is one of the best albums of the year! With good vocals, very catchy tunes and two amazing singles released before hand Selena has really outdone herself proving that she is definitely one of the leading pop stars of 2013. The album itself is very diverse, with Like A Champion having a jamaican vibe to it, to Come And Get It with a hindi tune to the dance heavy B.E.A.T and Birthday to the more intimate Love Will Remember and Nobody Does It Like You to hopefully the albums next single Save The Day. The album has a great resemblance to a Shakira or perhaps Rihanna album and is definitely worth the wait! Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2014
    8
    I found a great dance album, really. 5 music has qualities to be singles. But I think I missed a small part of Selena Gomez. Somewhat lacking identity in some of his songs. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    6
    Selena shows us what we are already tired of seeing, nonetheless, Stars Dance sounds so generic that this must be the reason that, even if not entirely, does it work at certain points. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2014
    5
    Selena Gomez now is really a gown girl, but still thinking like a little teenage... 'Stars Dance' has a good vibes, but still a homogenic album, with beats that sound the same... Expand
  7. Oct 27, 2013
    0
    This album sucks and Selena Gomez is the definition of no talent, pop star wanna be, look at me i am pretty and white therefore i can get whatever i want, let me date people more famous than me so i can move up in case system .

    This is her worst album yet the only songs i recommend are come and get it, slow down, undercover, love will remember and stars dance (the song)
    Expand

See all 53 User Reviews