Stay Human - Michael Franti & Spearhead
Stay Human Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: San Francisco's Michael Franti (formerly of the Disposable Heroes of Hiphoprisy) and Spearhead mix rap, soul, R&B, funk, jazz, and trip-hop with intelligent and opinionated lyrics on these 22 tracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. While his lyrics are both timely and powerful, the album's power lies as much in the superbly crafted grooves and songs, which are the best Franti has delivered yet.
  2. Taking the death penalty as the central theme for an album -the sleevenotes feature anti-death penalty quotes from the like of Bono, Chuck D and Nirvana's Krist Novoselic- may not sound like much of a party, but there's a human warmth and gentle humour in Franti's delivery, hitched to hugely danceable and uplifting music.
  3. There's a lot of great music here to enjoy. The political tone on the album is more problematic, though.
  4. 70
    From the beginning, Franti has favored a retro, flow-through groove, and here hsi funk adds a decidedly disco flavor. [Jul 2001, p.135]
  5. Such lightness of touch is missing from the between-song skits, which have Franti posing as a DJ on a community-radio show, conducting interviews and dispensing commentary on the death penalty. But the between-skit songs are terrific.
  6. The subject matter may be a bit heavy, but the beats keep it bouncing along. [Jul 2001, p.73]
  7. 60
    Unfortunately, the ticked-off one breaks up the most consistently grooving album of his career with too many well-meaning but intrusive conspiracy-minded skits. [Jun/Jul 2001, p.110]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. polax
    Aug 25, 2003
    'Stay Human' is simply, the best uplifting CD eva. If you ever need a pick-me-up, slash on 'stay human' and let the rythmns float you away. see ya Expand
  2. DennisN.
    Jul 18, 2001
    Music and lyrics that touch the soul. Rare and beautiful.
  3. AlexanderC.
    Sep 13, 2003
    Simply wonderful. Great lyrics, great music and great beats. Michael Franti and his band blend hip-hop, trance and echos of rock greats like the Clash, Randy Newman, Pixies and Pink Floyd to create a masterpiece. Expand
  4. KyleE
    Jun 9, 2004
    Any CD with a song like "Oh my God" can't be any less than a 8. This CD is packed with great beats, smooth lyrics, and a powerful message.
  5. CarolineA
    Jul 23, 2005
    This is the best album my soul has found
  6. JoeS
    Nov 19, 2005
    I've listened to this CD no less than 500 times since I bought it. Unconventional, passionate, moving, liquid poetry with a beat. One of my all time favorites. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews