Stay Human - Michael Franti & Spearhead
Stay Human Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: San Francisco's Michael Franti (formerly of the Disposable Heroes of Hiphoprisy) and Spearhead mix rap, soul, R&B, funk, jazz, and trip-hop with intelligent and opinionated lyrics on these 22 tracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. While his lyrics are both timely and powerful, the album's power lies as much in the superbly crafted grooves and songs, which are the best Franti has delivered yet.
  2. Taking the death penalty as the central theme for an album -the sleevenotes feature anti-death penalty quotes from the like of Bono, Chuck D and Nirvana's Krist Novoselic- may not sound like much of a party, but there's a human warmth and gentle humour in Franti's delivery, hitched to hugely danceable and uplifting music.
  3. There's a lot of great music here to enjoy. The political tone on the album is more problematic, though.
  4. 70
    From the beginning, Franti has favored a retro, flow-through groove, and here hsi funk adds a decidedly disco flavor. [Jul 2001, p.135]
  5. Such lightness of touch is missing from the between-song skits, which have Franti posing as a DJ on a community-radio show, conducting interviews and dispensing commentary on the death penalty. But the between-skit songs are terrific.
  6. The subject matter may be a bit heavy, but the beats keep it bouncing along. [Jul 2001, p.73]
  7. 60
    Unfortunately, the ticked-off one breaks up the most consistently grooving album of his career with too many well-meaning but intrusive conspiracy-minded skits. [Jun/Jul 2001, p.110]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9