Sticks + Stones - Cher Lloyd
User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 77
  2. Negative: 38 out of 77

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 26, 2012
    2
    Overall, 'Sticks & Stones' is pretty much everything thatâ
  2. Oct 12, 2012
    5
    "Unfortunately, [Sticks + Stones] isn't much of a great debut. It contains songs like "Want U Back" and "With Ur Love" that are really fine bubbly pop radio tunes, but the album together is just a problem waiting to happen."
  3. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Cher Lloyd is sassy on every track on this album. Stand out tracks on the album include "Want U Back" , "With Ur Love" and "Superhero". I only wish there were more than 10 tracks!
  4. Apr 7, 2012
    6
    A funny pop record. For teenagers.
    It's not the world and not a perfect record but it makes fan to listen to it.
    She has not the best voice,but its very cute.
  5. Oct 6, 2012
    1
    Voila encore un album qui ne s'écoute pas enfin qu'il vaut mieux ne pas écouter. Le néant prédomine largement cet album sans queue ni tête. A bon entendeur.
  6. Oct 5, 2012
    7
    Seems there is a grown influx of sassy female pop-stars that can really cut a sharp rap/rhyme. Cher Lloyd is riding the crest very well. Hanging ten with Busta Rhymes on Grow up shows she really has the chops. I fully hate the "dump" she takes every five seconds in Want U Back. Maybe it would be a better song without the grunts. I also dislike the other most famous song, SwaggerSeems there is a grown influx of sassy female pop-stars that can really cut a sharp rap/rhyme. Cher Lloyd is riding the crest very well. Hanging ten with Busta Rhymes on Grow up shows she really has the chops. I fully hate the "dump" she takes every five seconds in Want U Back. Maybe it would be a better song without the grunts. I also dislike the other most famous song, Swagger Jagger. Here she just sounds like a product of the producer, barely better than Milli Vanilli. But the rest of the very short album really stands out as a quality pop confection with some bite and skill. I'll be adding this album to my playlist with a planned skip on two songs. Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2012
    2
    Hurry up Cher, it's been months since your X Factor trip, people are starting to forget about you! Just do a shallow pop album to appease them.. like now!!
  8. Jun 27, 2012
    8
    I loved the album, it's amazing and full of life. Every song has something special and different. One of the funniest albums I've ever listened. Cher is so cute. She's something new, something cool, something lovely.
  9. Oct 6, 2012
    4
    Not bad at all, but it gives me earache by listen the ten songs...she just have to give up and go sell pretzels. I usually do not like contestants, open exceptions only for Leona Lewis and Jordin Sparks, and this is another one that I will never want to hear again. Bad album, bad voice, bad initiative, please tell me the pretzel's price?
  10. Oct 9, 2012
    1
    Sticks + Stones may break my bones, and it'll do a number on your ears too. Don't recommend it to anybody, unless you like a whiny girl "singing" about haters. When you've got "haters" and you've not even released your first album, you know you're doing something wrong.
  11. Oct 8, 2012
    7
    I fell in love with Cher Lloyd watching her on "The X-Factor" and have been waiting for her debut album for a while, and not that ive heard it I am so not disappointed. She is a great singer and rapper, and i didnt find one song that i didnt like on the album. For me stand out tracks are; "Oath" ft. Becky G, "Playa Boi" ft. Busta Rymes, "Over The Moon" and "Want U Back". I say this is oneI fell in love with Cher Lloyd watching her on "The X-Factor" and have been waiting for her debut album for a while, and not that ive heard it I am so not disappointed. She is a great singer and rapper, and i didnt find one song that i didnt like on the album. For me stand out tracks are; "Oath" ft. Becky G, "Playa Boi" ft. Busta Rymes, "Over The Moon" and "Want U Back". I say this is one of my favorite albums from 2012. Expand
  12. Nov 17, 2012
    3
    Shockingly immature. I don't know what audience she's trying to sell this to as it's just a bit of a mess to be honest. There are some solid tracks (namely With Ur Love and Superhero), but monstrosities like Dub On The Track just leave me baffled. In regards to the US edition, having listened to Oath and Riot, I can tell that she's being promoted as some sort of Avril Lavine contemporary.Shockingly immature. I don't know what audience she's trying to sell this to as it's just a bit of a mess to be honest. There are some solid tracks (namely With Ur Love and Superhero), but monstrosities like Dub On The Track just leave me baffled. In regards to the US edition, having listened to Oath and Riot, I can tell that she's being promoted as some sort of Avril Lavine contemporary. It's all too cheesy. Expand
  13. Jun 7, 2013
    8
    A nice blend of Pop music from newcomer Cher Lloyd and while the four singles are the stand-outs there are certainly some other tracks on here too that I quite liked! Cher doesn't have the greatest voice but that's made up for with catchy songs and fun lyrics, plus some creative videos that went with the singles.
  14. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Album's highlights/My bets:
    1. Want U Back
    2. With Ur Love ft. Mike Posner
    3. Superhero
    4. Grow Up ft. Busta Rhymes
    5. End Up Here
    These would be perfect singles.
  15. Nov 22, 2013
    2
    Álbum extremamente chato. A única que eu suporto ouvir With Ur Love, a voz dessa garota um verdadeiro desperdício, porque ela canta realmente bem, mas não consigo engolir esse álbum de modo algum.
  16. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    A Great Debut! Cant Wait To Hear More Songs Like Want U Back And Oath!
  17. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Singing, vocal, rapping, differents tone of voices, versatile album. There is everything for everybody. The collaboration are strong. Showing different side of her like the ballade "Beautiful People".
  18. Sep 6, 2014
    4
    Sticks + Stones é um álbum bem mediano. Cher Lloyd consegue ser melhor do que isso. As faixas que são "chicletes" e grudam na cabeça enjoam muito rápido. Swagger Jagger é a pior música do álbum, enquanto a melhor é Beautiful People.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. 75
    With her manic lowbrow sass - tiresome at length but lovable on singles like "Want U Back"--she makes these street-laced pop tracks her own
  2. Dec 19, 2011
    60
    There are times throughout its ten tracks when Lloyd does appear to be testing the patience of even her most ardent fans.
  3. 20
    the only real flashes of character come from the reworked riffs of Old Neneh Cherry and Ann Peebles hits used on a couple of tracks.