Stone Temple Pilots

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: May 25, 2010
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 45
  2. Negative: 4 out of 45

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MitchZ
    May 25, 2010
    10
    Probably the best rock record I've listened to in the last 10 years.
  2. Craig
    May 26, 2010
    10
    Really excellent stuff--better than I expected. Of course, my favourite STP album is Tiny Music, so I'm open to some of the more pop-oriented explorations here (Although I can't stand Hickory Dichotomy--Weiland sounds like the flaming dude from the B-52s).
  3. RyanR
    May 25, 2010
    10
    This album by STP is one of there greatest achievements yet. It is a combination of "Purple" and "Tiny Music". I love it! I especially like the fact that this album sounded great on its first play-through. It only gets better the more I listen to it. I am now a fan of every track! Each one offers something special about them. I love "Take a Load Off", "Bagman" and "Humbleberry Creek" in This album by STP is one of there greatest achievements yet. It is a combination of "Purple" and "Tiny Music". I love it! I especially like the fact that this album sounded great on its first play-through. It only gets better the more I listen to it. I am now a fan of every track! Each one offers something special about them. I love "Take a Load Off", "Bagman" and "Humbleberry Creek" in particular. Scotts vocals are great! Dean's guitar playing is clean and raw in some parts but it is his versatility that caught me off guard on this record.....Effing amazing! Rob continues to show all bass players how to do it and also how to write, collaborate and create melodic geniousity. Kretz is back with a more "active" style of drumline. He has stayed consistent over the years but I've heard some new creative stuff from him in this one. This is one of the best rock bands ever and they deliver to the fans a great record that will spin for many years to come. My only wish is that they will stay committed to STP and its fans in the way of several albums in the future. Long live Scott, Dean, Robert and Eric! I love you guys and the great music you give us! :-D Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    Stone Temple Pilots is one of the best rock bands that not many people have heard of, great album, great music. Dean DeLeo rocks those guitar solos like not a lot of rock guitarists can these days, the vocals perfectly complement the rocking instruments and the songs just come off as unique and well made. This band reminds me heavily of Aerosmith, except newer. If you like good music, orStone Temple Pilots is one of the best rock bands that not many people have heard of, great album, great music. Dean DeLeo rocks those guitar solos like not a lot of rock guitarists can these days, the vocals perfectly complement the rocking instruments and the songs just come off as unique and well made. This band reminds me heavily of Aerosmith, except newer. If you like good music, or aren't deaf, chances are you'll like this album. Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    This is the best album of all time. I didnt expect something really unique untill I listened to the whole album. It brings something new to Stone Temple Pilots. There is a mixture of Grunge and Alternative Rock. It works very well for Stone Temple Piolets. Best album of all time. 10/10.
  6. JasonK
    May 26, 2010
    9
    Despite being a Stone Temple Pilots superfan for more than 10 years of my life I'll forego any comparison to their past works (or any Beatles references for that matter) and just say that this is, first and foremost, an excellent rock record pure and simple. The album opts for hooks and hummable melodies rather than the expected weirdness that STP are known for (though not completely Despite being a Stone Temple Pilots superfan for more than 10 years of my life I'll forego any comparison to their past works (or any Beatles references for that matter) and just say that this is, first and foremost, an excellent rock record pure and simple. The album opts for hooks and hummable melodies rather than the expected weirdness that STP are known for (though not completely devoid of so), not unlike Pearl Jam's "Backspacer" where the band didn't mind toning down the gloom and wind down a bit. Rather than follow the natural progression that is to be expected of them (ultimately leading them to be the sonic equivalent of something like a Tom Waits/Danny Elfman collaboration) they've taken a step back and realized that there's fun to be had in music. Now I'm just waiting to see what Cornell and co. does with that new Soundgarden album... Expand
  7. Dan
    May 25, 2010
    9
    Very good, took a bunch of listens to get on board with the different sound they went with (as usual with their later albums), but very worth it.
  8. JohnnyC
    May 29, 2010
    9
    A very pleasant surprise and one well worth adding to your collection.
  9. MatthewS
    May 25, 2010
    8
    Wow. I forgot about smart Rock n' Roll. This definitely fills a void in modern music. Stripped down and expanded at the same time. Rare talent.
  10. Soy
    May 29, 2010
    8
    It's no Core or Purple, or even Tiny Music, but it's still good enough to stay in the same room as them.
  11. Tom
    May 30, 2010
    7
    A solid, if somewhat disappointing album. Probably STP's "worst" album since Core...although the set the bar pretty high w/ every album since then, at least in my estimation. Some good songs (tho not great) in "Hickory Dichotomy" and "Maver" but also some pretty mediocre ones like "Peacoat." I've heard comparisons between this album and Talk Show's, and that comparison A solid, if somewhat disappointing album. Probably STP's "worst" album since Core...although the set the bar pretty high w/ every album since then, at least in my estimation. Some good songs (tho not great) in "Hickory Dichotomy" and "Maver" but also some pretty mediocre ones like "Peacoat." I've heard comparisons between this album and Talk Show's, and that comparison seems apt, especially when you consider the absence of producer Brendan O'Brien, who plays a bigger role in STP's success than most probably realize. Expand
  12. Aug 21, 2010
    7
    First listen will make you think the band is on an IV of estrogen and the cover of the album would reinforce that method. Nothing new here but it's what is missing is that defines the good and the bad of this album. Gone is the tried and true formula of opening with crunchy, all out guitar blast track that sets the tempo of the album (See Core, Purple, No. 4, and SLDD). What you get aFirst listen will make you think the band is on an IV of estrogen and the cover of the album would reinforce that method. Nothing new here but it's what is missing is that defines the good and the bad of this album. Gone is the tried and true formula of opening with crunchy, all out guitar blast track that sets the tempo of the album (See Core, Purple, No. 4, and SLDD). What you get a Casey Casem(sp?) top 40 hit that will ensure this band makes its 10 cents and recoups any productions costs. Hickory Dichotomy is a nice groove and one of the few tracks you'll ever here Weiland fail at....on any album. Gone also is also long time producer Brian Brenna(sp).

    Turn the album over folks and go to the 2nd side where you almost tell STP fall into their groove. Starting with Bagman, and then into the sleeper track of this album Peacoat followed by First Kiss on Mars (why isn't this on the radio?). Samba Nova gives you almost a eerie remind of how good this band can be when it slows down and more importantly shows that this band can age nicely.

    Where would I rate this album? Slightly lower than Tiny Music but what sells here folks is a band that is so good at putting together fantastic melodies, (underrated) guitar play and fantastic lyrics (Jim would be happy Scott).
    Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Scott Weiland sounds downright effervescent on the first Stone Temple Pilots disc in nearly a decade. There's nothing new here, just cheap and easy pop-rock mimicry (the Beatles, Petty, Nirvana, Bowie, Aerosmith), siphoned through spry, crunchy grunge riffs.
  2. It's not groundbreaking stuff, but it surpasses all expectations for a group who've spent almost a decade apart.
  3. The 12 tracks blend essentially everything STP ever did well without sounding like a stitched-together version of past hits.