Strange Clouds

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: May 1, 2012
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
Buy On
  1. The Source
    Aug 22, 2012
    60
    Although much of the album is a gumbo of music industry A-listers, there are enough solo gems to show how much more talented than the average Bobby Ray really is. [#252, p.88]
  2. The flow of Strange Clouds tends to vary between songs that are helping make the album great ("So Good," "Arena," "So Hard to Breathe"), and then the ones that keep pushing it down the route of a sophomore slump ("Ray Bands," "Just a Sign," "Play for Keeps"). Right when there's about to be a trend of some consistency, it ends up falling short.
  3. May 1, 2012
    60
    In his heated drawl, his lovely singing, his producing and guitar- and piano-playing, B.o.B shows off a vast talent. But when the record ends, you just want to hear the Dr. Luke beats again.
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    50
    The album has no theme and at the end of the day we still don't know who B.o.B. is outside of his affinity for protective eye wear. We just know that he is capable of more than Strange Clouds.
  5. May 1, 2012
    50
    Strange Clouds is ultimately too weighed down by joy-killing self-importance to match [his] debut's hit ratio.
  6. May 1, 2012
    50
    B.o.B. has been adamant about his latest album being created organically, yet that doesn't justify the lack of cohesion or quality found on Strange Clouds.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. May 14, 2012
    10
    I waited for around four months for this album and it was worth the wait . But for the negative reviewers, I think they've got a problem withI waited for around four months for this album and it was worth the wait . But for the negative reviewers, I think they've got a problem with Bobby Ray with complaining about hardship in stardom like Drake. But he's not getting overboard like Eminem who ended up dissing his mom, his ex wife Kim, and other artists. The music sounds professional, something different . His music has different ideas that other rappers or hip hop artists won't use.(Excluding Kanye West) As a rapper, B.o.B is still stepping up his game. For the songs, you just got to hear the whole thing. I list this as one of the albums which require careful attention. Anyway B.o.B , I understand what you are trying to produce. If you are reading this, thank you your attention . Full Review »
  2. May 6, 2012
    10
    Great album all around. This could be perceived as "please all" if somebody only thought that people are physically aloud to make differentGreat album all around. This could be perceived as "please all" if somebody only thought that people are physically aloud to make different genres. From Castles to Out of My Mind to Arenas this album fails to disappoint Full Review »
  3. May 4, 2012
    0
    This is one of the corniest artists in hip-hop, and there are definitely a lot of cornballs. To make things even worse B.o.B. gets otherThis is one of the corniest artists in hip-hop, and there are definitely a lot of cornballs. To make things even worse B.o.B. gets other cornballs on this album such as Lil Wayne, Nicki Minaj, and T.I. This album is what you get when you mix up a bunch of different genres, and the execution of each and every genre is s***. Full Review »