Strange Clouds

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: May 1, 2012
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 61
  2. Negative: 6 out of 61
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    Not perfect, but I really like this album. Every song has good replay value and though I'm not usually a pop rap fan at all, this is one of the very few that I did enjoy.
  2. May 14, 2012
    10
    I waited for around four months for this album and it was worth the wait . But for the negative reviewers, I think they've got a problem with Bobby Ray with complaining about hardship in stardom like Drake. But he's not getting overboard like Eminem who ended up dissing his mom, his ex wife Kim, and other artists. The music sounds professional, something different . His music has differentI waited for around four months for this album and it was worth the wait . But for the negative reviewers, I think they've got a problem with Bobby Ray with complaining about hardship in stardom like Drake. But he's not getting overboard like Eminem who ended up dissing his mom, his ex wife Kim, and other artists. The music sounds professional, something different . His music has different ideas that other rappers or hip hop artists won't use.(Excluding Kanye West) As a rapper, B.o.B is still stepping up his game. For the songs, you just got to hear the whole thing. I list this as one of the albums which require careful attention. Anyway B.o.B , I understand what you are trying to produce. If you are reading this, thank you your attention . Expand
  3. May 6, 2012
    10
    Great album all around. This could be perceived as "please all" if somebody only thought that people are physically aloud to make different genres. From Castles to Out of My Mind to Arenas this album fails to disappoint
  4. May 6, 2012
    10
    B.o.B is one of the most diverse, best artists around right now and there isnt a single one that deserves to be mainstream as much as he does. Damn bobby ray done come a mighty long way.
  5. May 5, 2012
    8
    2010's big label debut "The Adventures of Bobby Ray" introduced the Atlanta native as a modern day Andre 3000 - a charismatic performer with eclectic influences and a strong grip on the commercial capacities of pop-soaked hip-hop. Two years, hit singles, gold status and a vault of mix-tape tunes later B.O.B. is back with the awaited follow up, "Strange Clouds".

    Eager to avoid the
    2010's big label debut "The Adventures of Bobby Ray" introduced the Atlanta native as a modern day Andre 3000 - a charismatic performer with eclectic influences and a strong grip on the commercial capacities of pop-soaked hip-hop. Two years, hit singles, gold status and a vault of mix-tape tunes later B.O.B. is back with the awaited follow up, "Strange Clouds".

    Eager to avoid the Sophomore Curse Bobby Ray wisely chooses to more-or-less work similar angles as "Adventures". Whether it's trading Hayley Williams for Taylor Swift on the yearning "Both Of Us", swapping out Bruno Mars for Trey Songz on radio-ready R&B hits or indeed recruiting former guest acts T.I. and Playboy Tre for second outings each song and step of this new record seems a coolly calculated move.

    Even if collaborations with Chris Brown, Lil Wayne and Nicki Minaj seem a redundant course of action these days, said features are far more enticing and explosive a listen than many others you'd care to name - thanks mostly to some innovative production work (namely Dr Luke and the man himself) and clever wordsmithery. Thematically and lyrically, B.O.B. is still the observant and pop culture savvy rapper I've lauded for years and even though the material doesn't tread new ground as such (except when a newly-developed ego takes over on "Arena" as he wryly states "damn I'm killing them/I know they feeling me now... I'm the **** he is still one of the more refreshing characters in rhyme play and line delivery.

    Better still, it's a more cohesive set than his last effort, just as capable of running per-tracklist in its entirety as it is being cut up and playlisted by today's iPod Generation. And with material that markets itself incredibly well to both pop and urban audiences it's probably going to be a while before we find B.O.B. come back down to Earth.
    Expand
  6. May 4, 2012
    10
    i honestly think this is a great album. And it is a modern hip hop album with pop sensibilities. Everybody can listen to. It has strong influences from pop and every song sounds different and fresh. He is not afraid to cross boundaries rappers dont normally do. And his creativity on this album was great. Every song is listenable
  7. May 2, 2012
    9
    This album was awesome. B.o.B is able to easily jump from rap, to pop, to even some rock with amazing results. If you were a fan of his mixtapes and/or The Adventures of Bobby Ray, you will definitely find something to enjoy. My personal favorite tracks are So Hard to Breathe, Bombs Away, So Good, Just a Sign, and Where Are You. The only negatives I could think of is that there wereThis album was awesome. B.o.B is able to easily jump from rap, to pop, to even some rock with amazing results. If you were a fan of his mixtapes and/or The Adventures of Bobby Ray, you will definitely find something to enjoy. My personal favorite tracks are So Hard to Breathe, Bombs Away, So Good, Just a Sign, and Where Are You. The only negatives I could think of is that there were too many features and Play the Guitar was not on the album. Expand
  8. May 2, 2012
    9
    I loved this album from the start. Morgan Freeman created an interesting intro to the album that was the way to start a cd. Each song individually was great, but there were a few parts where songs should have been rearranged to make the album as a whole better.
  9. Sep 30, 2012
    8
    Bombs Away - 10/10 A really strong entrance to the album with heavy synths but I was hoping Morgan Freeman would break into a freestyle rap

    Ray Bands - 9/10 A strong follow up, a bit of a **** song but still catchy So hard to breathe 7/10 Maybe outstays it's welcome, and goes on a bit, but it's a nice song to chill to Both Of Us - 9/10 another strong inspirational song with
    Bombs Away - 10/10 A really strong entrance to the album with heavy synths but I was hoping Morgan Freeman would break into a freestyle rap

    Ray Bands - 9/10 A strong follow up, a bit of a **** song but still catchy

    So hard to breathe 7/10 Maybe outstays it's welcome, and goes on a bit, but it's a nice song to chill to

    Both Of Us - 9/10 another strong inspirational song with assistance from Taylor Swift's nice vocals

    Strange Clouds - 10/10 If you're feeling epic and pumped and ready to kick a** in whatever you do, then this a good song

    So Good - 10/10 It's not about girls at the club with massive a**, this girl's intelligent, it's nice to hear songs not about h**s and b*****s, but about decent people

    Play For Keeps 7/10 - he steps into an experimental zone here, does it really pull off, I'm not reall sure

    Arena - 8.5/10 - Chris Brown's vocals really stands out in the song

    Out Of My Mind - 4/10 - Massive let down, not helped by Nicki Minaj's poor rap

    Never Let You Go - 9/10 - It's a sweet love song, and an airy refreshing sound

    Chandelier - 8/10 - It's nice, if overlong

    Circles - 6/10 - It's doesn't really go anywhere, but it's by no means bad

    Just A Sign - 9/10 really nice strong song to chill to

    Castles - 10/10 I love this song because it's sang like it loves me back

    Where Are You - 10/10 - It addresses all the problems of selling out fully, and yet still keeps it's humanity

    In this album, apart from a few slip ups, B.o.B goes on to prove that he can hold a high standard, for many moods, from pumped up to cooling down, this album goes onto prove that it's not all gangsta or all depressed, that you can fuse many tracks and moods together and still pull it off
    Expand
  10. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best albums ever! B.o.B showcases his smart lyrics writing with a wide range of creative songs! Some are balled like Where Are You and So Hard To Breath as others are just fun like Strange Clouds and Out of My Mind! This is a unique must buy, and I am shocked with all the negative and mixed reviews!
  11. May 25, 2014
    7
    Strange Clouds overall is a very strong album with strong tracks (Ray Bands, Where Are You?, Play for Keeps, Bombs Away, Both of Us) but has a few songs, like the title track, that strays too close to generic modern rap/hip-hop, something of which The Adventures of Bobby Ray never did.
  12. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Great album from start to finish the only bad point is the album had way to many features and horrible features at that that's the only reason this isn't a 10
  13. Jul 14, 2015
    10
    Cet album est tout simplement incroyable. Jamais je n'ai gardé autant de sons d'un album (10 !) sur mon téléphone, et il m'arrive très souvent de les écouter. Le point fort de cet album est sa diversité. On passe du rap au rock, au hip-hop & même à de la Soul-Lounge. Des styles si différents mais que B.o.B combine si bien. Même si certains featuring de guest ne sont pas nécessaires,Cet album est tout simplement incroyable. Jamais je n'ai gardé autant de sons d'un album (10 !) sur mon téléphone, et il m'arrive très souvent de les écouter. Le point fort de cet album est sa diversité. On passe du rap au rock, au hip-hop & même à de la Soul-Lounge. Des styles si différents mais que B.o.B combine si bien. Même si certains featuring de guest ne sont pas nécessaires, (Taylor swift et Nicki Minaj ne sont que de la poudre aux yeux, et aident l'album à s'être fait connaître, ce qui est compréhensible.) Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. The Source
    Aug 22, 2012
    60
    Although much of the album is a gumbo of music industry A-listers, there are enough solo gems to show how much more talented than the average Bobby Ray really is. [#252, p.88]
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    50
    The album has no theme and at the end of the day we still don't know who B.o.B. is outside of his affinity for protective eye wear. We just know that he is capable of more than Strange Clouds.
  3. The flow of Strange Clouds tends to vary between songs that are helping make the album great ("So Good," "Arena," "So Hard to Breathe"), and then the ones that keep pushing it down the route of a sophomore slump ("Ray Bands," "Just a Sign," "Play for Keeps"). Right when there's about to be a trend of some consistency, it ends up falling short.