Strange House

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. andreae
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    this cd is a wonderfully starnge masterpiece!!!
  2. seand
    Jul 29, 2007
    7
    not bad but a little boring and retro mining 60s nuggets bands
  3. AmurabiM.
    Oct 27, 2007
    7
    A gorgeous and strange blend of punk, surf and gothic organs, "Strange House" is an album that makes us discover a whole genre: the indie goth. Of course, that gothic music is not new but with this album, this guys introduce us to this genre with a contemporary touch. With the spooky organ and a great camp humor, The Horrors get a good debut. But makes us think: Is this the triumph of A gorgeous and strange blend of punk, surf and gothic organs, "Strange House" is an album that makes us discover a whole genre: the indie goth. Of course, that gothic music is not new but with this album, this guys introduce us to this genre with a contemporary touch. With the spooky organ and a great camp humor, The Horrors get a good debut. But makes us think: Is this the triumph of style over substance? Let´s check the sophomore album. Expand
  4. EmjewJ
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    Amazing. love it
  5. [Anonymous]
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    It's kind of strange, but I like it. It's not at all the kind of music I normally listen to, but I like the harmonies. Little Victories is gorgeous!
  6. SarahScrapeXD
    May 15, 2007
    10
    Well.. I don't want to question your opinions.. In my opinion you've made an excellent choice... Cause you've just read some of the fantastic lyrics on Strange House. Combine that with wild guitars and an organ and you'll see what you've been missing all this time.
  7. m88
    Mar 16, 2007
    9
    Great stuff.... undeniably catchy.
  8. 18secsme
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    I must say that this is a glorious example of work. In a few words. A excellent choice.
  9. time
    Apr 25, 2007
    9
    Suprisingly creative. I didn't expect to hear so much psychbilly coming out of Brits but it sounds refreshing
  10. ShawnH.
    May 21, 2007
    8
    This is a very fun album that is very fast, bold, and, more often than less, addicting. This album reminds me of Franz Ferdinand's debut CD, not because they sound similar, but because they have so much energy and it is just a lot of fun to listen to. Definitely a stand out CD from the indie-rock group. [8/10]
  11. armandorock
    May 27, 2007
    10
    The best british band, maybe in 1 album they grow up a lot to establish a own genre
  12. SandraC
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    They sound like nothing that exists at the moment, and that's why it's amazing. Faris Rotter flattens everything in his path. This is the best debut I've heard since Interpol' Turn on the bright lights. I think the people who dismiss this either don't care about music or haven't listened to it at all, how can you give this a 2???
  13. JonnyW.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    A terrifyingly brilliant album from on of my new favourite bands ,who would have thought the organ ,big hair,more style than well anyone , and a hell of a lot of screaming could mix together to make make a masterpiece.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Herein lies the beauty of this band: geeky record collectors they may be, but they're quick to impose their feral energy and fierce individuality on proceedings.
  2. After eleven songs, the band’s inability to stretch their sound starts to take its toll.
  3. Better then anyone could have hoped.