• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2001
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 65
  2. Negative: 8 out of 65

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KevinS.
    Jan 13, 2002
    0
    A lesson for both lovers and haters of this egocentric performer: do not mistaken presence for art.
  2. Toriphile25
    Jan 2, 2004
    1
    Eekkk... what was she thinking with this album??? The only song I can even stomach is the title track. The rest just don't do it for me... and I'm a huge fan. This was a project and a CD that should've been skipped over completely! Nonetheless... she is still a powerful performer. The songs on this CD were much easier to digest when listened to live.
  3. Moppithm
    Jan 4, 2004
    1
    The albums not bad.... if you are totally oblivious as to where the music comes from. a man's point of view?, beautiful creations? im sorry i didnt realise that a song that has lyrics which basically involve the sky is bleeding and how one will "reign in blood" (slayer - Raining blood) this is not a mans point of view, and really i dont know what she was thinking, these are not The albums not bad.... if you are totally oblivious as to where the music comes from. a man's point of view?, beautiful creations? im sorry i didnt realise that a song that has lyrics which basically involve the sky is bleeding and how one will "reign in blood" (slayer - Raining blood) this is not a mans point of view, and really i dont know what she was thinking, these are not beautiful lyrics, they may be good but they are not beautiful! anyone who thinks diffirent has not actually listened to the lyrics or they have something wrong in their head, tori certaintly did at the point of choosing these songs. Expand
  4. BenjaminBunny
    Aug 12, 2003
    2
    At least she looks pretty on the cover. The music itself? Amos waves her faerie wand and presto! Some really great songs (all by MALE songwriters--get it? kewl!)get inapropriately transformed into yawny girly new-age doodoo.
  5. NickC.
    Oct 11, 2001
    1
    Self-righteousness wrapped in poisoned honey. Always misreading rather than understanding, Amos is not even a good misreader; she is illterate to the point that she does not care to change the speaking subject in Eminem's song. A womb with no view.
  6. RomannW.
    Sep 27, 2001
    1
    This CD is, quite simply, bloody awful. Even when one allows for Ms. Amos's extravagances, one cannot ignore the fact that this album is virtually unlistenable. Only the almost-title track and the song "Time" (which is still overlong) can be salvaged from this mess. The remainder are unrecognizable travesties of music. And, for the record, I am a fan.
  7. GabbyW
    Sep 16, 2006
    0
    Yikes, this is bad. And I'm a fan. I like Raining Blood and Real Men. A couple of the other songs, such as the title song and Rattlesnakes, are mildly tolerable. The rest stink, in my opinion. Bad bad bad. Tori is known for being an angry rebel; I see her now as rebelling against her fans. "See how bad I can do - and I KNOW you'll buy it anyway!" Ick.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. How deliciously perverse, and how very, very her.
  2. Mojo
    80
    The power and import of the record is undeniable. [Oct 2001, p.112]
  3. "Strange Little Girls" is not a pretty album, but that's the point: the ugliness of male-female relations, which she exposes bit by bit with each cover, is a fact that is--in both pop music and pop culture--all too often ignored.