• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2001
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 9 out of 39

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KevinB.
    Dec 7, 2001
    9
    It's an important album by a female artist that explores that vast wasteland between what men say and how women (and other men) hear it. I think that Tori's work will always bring out such a range in opinion as long as it remains 'academic' and thus controversial. I'm dying to see how this will affect her own self-written work in the future. Best album since Boys It's an important album by a female artist that explores that vast wasteland between what men say and how women (and other men) hear it. I think that Tori's work will always bring out such a range in opinion as long as it remains 'academic' and thus controversial. I'm dying to see how this will affect her own self-written work in the future. Best album since Boys For Pele, as far as I'm concerned. Expand
  2. mathu
    Apr 26, 2002
    10
    yes, i do admit that this is not my favorite tori abum, but it is etter than most of the crap others are turningout right now, i mean sheryl crow, jewel, brittney, c'mon! id rather take a bad tori album than an even shittier shakira album....at least there is some creativity, and it may bot be your cup o tea, but get the fuck over it, and don't buy the album...im sure you can yes, i do admit that this is not my favorite tori abum, but it is etter than most of the crap others are turningout right now, i mean sheryl crow, jewel, brittney, c'mon! id rather take a bad tori album than an even shittier shakira album....at least there is some creativity, and it may bot be your cup o tea, but get the fuck over it, and don't buy the album...im sure you can spend your ten bucks on the latest destiny's child single.... Expand
  3. LauraP.
    May 10, 2002
    10
    Once again, Tori goes deep into her heart, soul and womb and sings with power about the issues that affect us most. Tori is an infinitely creative artist, who demonstrates in this album that she can see the world and express herself through many perspectives and styles. She is a master of theme, mood and metaphor. My favorite song is Time. This was a song that needed to be sung by a Once again, Tori goes deep into her heart, soul and womb and sings with power about the issues that affect us most. Tori is an infinitely creative artist, who demonstrates in this album that she can see the world and express herself through many perspectives and styles. She is a master of theme, mood and metaphor. My favorite song is Time. This was a song that needed to be sung by a woman. The woman's perspective needed to be heard, because it is the woman's message that leads the man in the song to freedom. Rattlesnakes has a feel and an energy unlike any other song. We come away from this album having been through a passageway filled with carnival mirrors that reflect back parts of ourselves that we don't like to admit exist. The listener is left questioning, "What are we, if not male or female? What are we, if not violent or filled with frustrated desire? What are we left with, beyond the fight and conflict? Who are we and who do we desire and choose to be? People who don't like this album aren't comfortable with questioning these things. Tori Amos has been my favorite musical artist for the past ten years. However, I have difficulty listening to Raining Blood or Bonnie and Clyde. These songs went a few shades dark for my current taste. This is a first for me, because I have never had this experience with Tori before. I appreciate and applaud why she did it. It was brilliant the way she pushed the limits of our comfort, to confront us with the aggression and pain in our love relationships . Although these songs were too disturbing for me to listen to much, I still give this album a 10 because she portrayed this conflict so well. This album is a work of art. Thank you, once again, Tori. Expand
  4. SummersJordie
    Dec 21, 2001
    10
    The so-called "fans" who would rate this album less than 7 or 8 clearly don't get it. Stop whingeing on, all you people who say "It's not like Little Earthquakes... so I don't like it." Any musician who makes the same music ten years after her debut clearly hasn't matured much. Admittedly, the impatient who will judge upon first listen will think it bland, but to those The so-called "fans" who would rate this album less than 7 or 8 clearly don't get it. Stop whingeing on, all you people who say "It's not like Little Earthquakes... so I don't like it." Any musician who makes the same music ten years after her debut clearly hasn't matured much. Admittedly, the impatient who will judge upon first listen will think it bland, but to those who have bothered to find out about the concept from Tori's interviews will understand why the tracks had to be done in a certain way. Although any fan will have prefered her own material, this is still essential to anyone who likes Tori. Many of the songs are reminiscent of her early albums, but songs such as "Raining Blood" and "I'm Not In Love" wouldn't sound out of place on the atmospheric "To Venus & Back". Keep an open mind - buy it. NOW!!! Expand
  5. NisF
    Feb 22, 2005
    9
    This is one of my favorite Tori albums. Yes, I wasn't familiar with many of the songs before I heard SLG, but I thought it was an intriguing album that included a little bit of everything. I was a little dissapointed in "Heart of Gold", since the origional was so beautiful and her interpretation was unrecognizable, but I thought her cover or "97 Bonnie and Clyde" was absolutley This is one of my favorite Tori albums. Yes, I wasn't familiar with many of the songs before I heard SLG, but I thought it was an intriguing album that included a little bit of everything. I was a little dissapointed in "Heart of Gold", since the origional was so beautiful and her interpretation was unrecognizable, but I thought her cover or "97 Bonnie and Clyde" was absolutley powerful. "Time" and "I don't Like Mondays" are two of my personal favorites, and "Happiness is a Warm Gun" was incredibly interesting once I learned the origional context of the song. I thought this was a mostly a great album with a few flaws, but excusable since they create so many great ideas about music as a whole. Expand
  6. Pete
    Apr 29, 2007
    9
    Tori Amos is one of the most original artists, not only in the music industry today, but in history. Tori has spoken about how she takes personal experiences and uses them as a creative force within her music,. Each album has a different concept, her debut album "Little Earthquakes" was written in diary form, "Under The Pink" was like a painting, "Boys For Pele" (recorded in a small Tori Amos is one of the most original artists, not only in the music industry today, but in history. Tori has spoken about how she takes personal experiences and uses them as a creative force within her music,. Each album has a different concept, her debut album "Little Earthquakes" was written in diary form, "Under The Pink" was like a painting, "Boys For Pele" (recorded in a small church in Ireland) was like a story, "From The Choirgirl Hotel" (recorded in a 300 year old farm house in Cornwall) focused on many levels of sorrow and "To Venus And Back" (a double album, with the first disc being new material and the 2nd being a live disc) as Tori puts it "talks alot about the shadows and the shadow world". The concept of this album "StrangeLittleGirls" is that Tori covered 12 songs that were written by male artists and she sang them from a female perspective. I personally was not familiar with many of songs here, although I did check out the all the original versions to see just exactly what Tori decided to do differently with hers. Some of the songs Tori has kept similar to the originals, while others she has drastically changed, an example of this is Neil Young's "Heart Of Gold" (Neil Young had to hear this because Tori changed the lyrics) which is completely unrecognizable, Tori's version is dark, right from her vocals to the music, whereas her versions of The Boomtown Rats' "I Don't Like Mondays" and Slayer's "Raining Blood" are the exact opposite, both songs have been slowed right down vocally, and stripped down to a basic format musically, Tori stripped the keyboards off "I'm Not In Love" leaving it to be all about the vocals with just a drum beat in the background and a wailing guitar sound here and there, on "I Don't Like Mondays" Tori gives this dark and angry song (originally based on the infamous San Diego shooting in 1979) a childlike effect, and uses only an electric piano for the music, Tori said she sang "from the point of view of the cop who went to the school that day" because she couldn't "hold the essence of the person who went and killed everybody". Tori also uses a similar format when covering Eminem's "'97 Bonnie & Clyde" (the original version was about Eminem killing his wife and driving the car with his young daughter to bury the body, which I didn't think came across as anything other than a "F___ you!" attitude which wears thin and therefore failed to give the song an actual impression) and manages to suceed and put the original version to shame by speaking from the dead wife's point of view who is lying in the trunk of the car, this version is very dark and creepy, Tori only sings in the chorus part of the song with the lyrics "Just the two of us". On Tori's version of the title track "Strange Little Girl" (originally by The Stranglers) Tori said "this is the little girl who father killed her mother in Eminem's song, all grown up, having to deal with the fact that she was an accomplice to the murder", Tori has also said that her version of "Time" (originally by Tom Waits) is sang from the point of view of Death. Her version of The Beatles' "Happiness Is A Warm Gun" (which had to be approved by Yoko Ono) includes her idea of the song opening with a re-reading of a newspaper article written after John Lennon's death which she linked to the original version. Tori said that "One of the last people Mark David Chapman called before he killed John Lennon was an escort service, and we don't know if they had sex or if they just talked, but he told her to "be silent". So this is sung through the eyes of that call girl". On the opening track "New Age" (originally by the Velvet Underground" Tori said she "wanted to have this balmy, undulating rhythm going on...sort of stripped, and that's where the passion was coming from". In Tori's book "Piece By Piece" she talks about how she wanted to use a certain tone for the song. I also read that Tori used the lyrics which she heard on an early Velvet Underground bootleg from the 60's. Her version of Depeche Mode's "Enjoy The Silence" is similar to "New Age" in the way it's pretty much about the vocals. I'd never heard Lloyd Cole's song "Rattlesnakes" but Tori's version is one of my favourites on the album, here we get to hear an acoustic guitar (that kicks in on the chorus) which isn't that common with Tori's music. My favourite song on the album is "Real Men" (originally by Joe Jackson) which finishes the album off perfectly, like "Time" this is just Tori and her piano, the melody, the vocals, the lyrics...I think everything about this song is brilliant. "StrangeLittleGirls" might not be Tori own material but, in my opinion she has surpassed each and every track on here. This album, like any and every other album, by anyone and everyone, is it's own, comparisons are made between a new album that an artist or band have released, which to a certain level, is fine, but people need to realise that each and every album is it's own and not to overlook everything about an album just because of comparisons to another. Expand
  7. OpheliaL.
    Nov 5, 2001
    9
    Although, this isn't Tori's best album, it is an incredibly thought provoking, layered, deep, and beautiful album. It is not so much the songs, for they are typical Tori, but the message and meaning behind them. Tori has once again broke away from conventon, and I thank her. This album is a great buy and I highly reccomend it to anyone with an open mind.
  8. JulesP
    Sep 28, 2002
    9
    It's a great album, however strange and unusual the idea may be. The only thing I disliked was '97 Bonnie and Clyde, being that Tori stooped to covering an ill-mannered tub-of-guts' music. Other than that, I thought it was fantastic.
  9. Taylor
    May 17, 2006
    9
    I think that I'm a bit biased because I'm a Tori Amos fan and I think most all of her music is great. It definitley doesnt beat Little Earthquakes, but I think the idea behind it is pretty ingenious. Since she is such a feminist I think that this album was something she needed to do and she did it acceptionally well. The only songs on the album I had problems with were songs I I think that I'm a bit biased because I'm a Tori Amos fan and I think most all of her music is great. It definitley doesnt beat Little Earthquakes, but I think the idea behind it is pretty ingenious. Since she is such a feminist I think that this album was something she needed to do and she did it acceptionally well. The only songs on the album I had problems with were songs I didnt like the original versions to. So I guess if the song was bad in the first place I wouldnt expect to like it even if my idol was singing it. They're all ok songs and I especially enjoyed "Time", "Strange Little Girls", "Happiness is a Warm Gun", and "Enjoy the Silence". If you liked some of these songs you might try out "Smells like teen spirit" on her album "Crucify-EP". She does an amazing version of it that's definitley worth listening to. Expand
  10. johns
    Jan 21, 2007
    9
    tori's last good album. from hear she went down hill with scarlets walk and the beekeeper. takes time to get into this album but every cover is real cool. the best prob. happiness is a warm gun and the lovely depeche mode's song. give it a try.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. How deliciously perverse, and how very, very her.
  2. 80
    The power and import of the record is undeniable. [Oct 2001, p.112]
  3. "Strange Little Girls" is not a pretty album, but that's the point: the ugliness of male-female relations, which she exposes bit by bit with each cover, is a fact that is--in both pop music and pop culture--all too often ignored.