• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Strange Little Girls Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 71 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Yes, it is a covers album, but with a bit of a twist: all the songs were originally written and performed by men, and Amos has reinterpreted them from a woman's standpoint. This eclectic collection (12 tracks in all) includes versions of Depeche Mode's "Enjoy The Silence," Eminem's "97'Yes, it is a covers album, but with a bit of a twist: all the songs were originally written and performed by men, and Amos has reinterpreted them from a woman's standpoint. This eclectic collection (12 tracks in all) includes versions of Depeche Mode's "Enjoy The Silence," Eminem's "97' Bonnie and Clyde," 10cc's "I'm Not In Love," Neil Young's "Heart Of Gold," Slayer's "Raining Blood," and the Boomtown Rats' "I Don't Like Mondays." Expand

Top Track

Strange Little Girl
one day you see a strange little girl look at you one day you see a strange little girl feeling blue she'd run to the town one day leaving home and... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. "Strange Little Girls" is not a pretty album, but that's the point: the ugliness of male-female relations, which she exposes bit by bit with each cover, is a fact that is--in both pop music and pop culture--all too often ignored.
  2. She is at the top of her game, and hits it out of the park both concept-wise and musically.
  3. Mojo
    80
    The power and import of the record is undeniable. [Oct 2001, p.112]
  4. Alternative Press
    70
    A rare good covers album--creating successful reinterpretations while piquing curiosity for the originals. [Nov 2001, p.74]
  5. ''Girls'' is largely a success, even if most cuts sound traditionally Tori.
  6. Strange Little Girls won't resolve the perpetual nutjob/goddess debate swirling around Amos; there's plenty of evidence on hand for either point of view.
  7. As a concept album, Strange Little Girls fails. As a collection of cover tunes, it infuriates and nauseates.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 7 out of 22
  1. Dec 7, 2017
    10
    hinario dohinario do caralho........................................................................................................................................ Expand
  2. Taylor
    May 17, 2006
    9
    I think that I'm a bit biased because I'm a Tori Amos fan and I think most all of her music is great. It definitley doesnt beat I think that I'm a bit biased because I'm a Tori Amos fan and I think most all of her music is great. It definitley doesnt beat Little Earthquakes, but I think the idea behind it is pretty ingenious. Since she is such a feminist I think that this album was something she needed to do and she did it acceptionally well. The only songs on the album I had problems with were songs I didnt like the original versions to. So I guess if the song was bad in the first place I wouldnt expect to like it even if my idol was singing it. They're all ok songs and I especially enjoyed "Time", "Strange Little Girls", "Happiness is a Warm Gun", and "Enjoy the Silence". If you liked some of these songs you might try out "Smells like teen spirit" on her album "Crucify-EP". She does an amazing version of it that's definitley worth listening to. Expand
  3. Pete
    Apr 29, 2007
    9
    Tori Amos is one of the most original artists, not only in the music industry today, but in history. Tori has spoken about how she takes Tori Amos is one of the most original artists, not only in the music industry today, but in history. Tori has spoken about how she takes personal experiences and uses them as a creative force within her music,. Each album has a different concept, her debut album "Little Earthquakes" was written in diary form, "Under The Pink" was like a painting, "Boys For Pele" (recorded in a small church in Ireland) was like a story, "From The Choirgirl Hotel" (recorded in a 300 year old farm house in Cornwall) focused on many levels of sorrow and "To Venus And Back" (a double album, with the first disc being new material and the 2nd being a live disc) as Tori puts it "talks alot about the shadows and the shadow world". The concept of this album "StrangeLittleGirls" is that Tori covered 12 songs that were written by male artists and she sang them from a female perspective. I personally was not familiar with many of songs here, although I did check out the all the original versions to see just exactly what Tori decided to do differently with hers. Some of the songs Tori has kept similar to the originals, while others she has drastically changed, an example of this is Neil Young's "Heart Of Gold" (Neil Young had to hear this because Tori changed the lyrics) which is completely unrecognizable, Tori's version is dark, right from her vocals to the music, whereas her versions of The Boomtown Rats' "I Don't Like Mondays" and Slayer's "Raining Blood" are the exact opposite, both songs have been slowed right down vocally, and stripped down to a basic format musically, Tori stripped the keyboards off "I'm Not In Love" leaving it to be all about the vocals with just a drum beat in the background and a wailing guitar sound here and there, on "I Don't Like Mondays" Tori gives this dark and angry song (originally based on the infamous San Diego shooting in 1979) a childlike effect, and uses only an electric piano for the music, Tori said she sang "from the point of view of the cop who went to the school that day" because she couldn't "hold the essence of the person who went and killed everybody". Tori also uses a similar format when covering Eminem's "'97 Bonnie & Clyde" (the original version was about Eminem killing his wife and driving the car with his young daughter to bury the body, which I didn't think came across as anything other than a "F___ you!" attitude which wears thin and therefore failed to give the song an actual impression) and manages to suceed and put the original version to shame by speaking from the dead wife's point of view who is lying in the trunk of the car, this version is very dark and creepy, Tori only sings in the chorus part of the song with the lyrics "Just the two of us". On Tori's version of the title track "Strange Little Girl" (originally by The Stranglers) Tori said "this is the little girl who father killed her mother in Eminem's song, all grown up, having to deal with the fact that she was an accomplice to the murder", Tori has also said that her version of "Time" (originally by Tom Waits) is sang from the point of view of Death. Her version of The Beatles' "Happiness Is A Warm Gun" (which had to be approved by Yoko Ono) includes her idea of the song opening with a re-reading of a newspaper article written after John Lennon's death which she linked to the original version. Tori said that "One of the last people Mark David Chapman called before he killed John Lennon was an escort service, and we don't know if they had sex or if they just talked, but he told her to "be silent". So this is sung through the eyes of that call girl". On the opening track "New Age" (originally by the Velvet Underground" Tori said she "wanted to have this balmy, undulating rhythm going on...sort of stripped, and that's where the passion was coming from". In Tori's book "Piece By Piece" she talks about how she wanted to use a certain tone for the song. I also read that Tori used the lyrics which she heard on an early Velvet Underground bootleg from the 60's. Her version of Depeche Mode's "Enjoy The Silence" is similar to "New Age" in the way it's pretty much about the vocals. I'd never heard Lloyd Cole's song "Rattlesnakes" but Tori's version is one of my favourites on the album, here we get to hear an acoustic guitar (that kicks in on the chorus) which isn't that common with Tori's music. My favourite song on the album is "Real Men" (originally by Joe Jackson) which finishes the album off perfectly, like "Time" this is just Tori and her piano, the melody, the vocals, the lyrics...I think everything about this song is brilliant. "StrangeLittleGirls" might not be Tori own material but, in my opinion she has surpassed each and every track on here. This album, like any and every other album, by anyone and everyone, is it's own, comparisons are made between a new album that an artist or band have released, which to a certain level, is fine, but people need to realise that each and every album is it's own and not to overlook everything about an album just because of comparisons to another. Expand
  4. AlexisT.
    Nov 5, 2001
    7
    Tori Amos looks at clearly cut male songs from another angle. It reveals something. Is it exactly what the original artist intended? Probably Tori Amos looks at clearly cut male songs from another angle. It reveals something. Is it exactly what the original artist intended? Probably not- but music is all about interpretation. And judging from the society we live in, Tori's "second glance" is fresh and I think her album is inspired. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2016
    6
    Though not little, it is a strange and experimental effort by Tori Amos that does offer some winning reinventions of classic songs, howeverThough not little, it is a strange and experimental effort by Tori Amos that does offer some winning reinventions of classic songs, however strong losers. Download: Rattlesnakes, ’97 Bonne & Clyde Expand
  6. BenjaminBunny
    Aug 12, 2003
    2
    At least she looks pretty on the cover. The music itself? Amos waves her faerie wand and presto! Some really great songs (all by MALE At least she looks pretty on the cover. The music itself? Amos waves her faerie wand and presto! Some really great songs (all by MALE songwriters--get it? kewl!)get inapropriately transformed into yawny girly new-age doodoo. Expand
  7. KevinS.
    Jan 13, 2002
    0
    A lesson for both lovers and haters of this egocentric performer: do not mistaken presence for art.

See all 22 User Reviews