• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Strange Mercy Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: St. Vincent, otherwise known as Annie Clark, releases her third album, produced by John Congleton.
Buy On
  • Record Label: 4AD
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Pop, Alternative Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Surgeon
I spent the Summer on my back Another attack Steal you just to get along Turn off the TV, wait in bed Blue and red, Somethin' to get along. Best,... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Sep 11, 2011
    100
    The modulations and switches in pace remain as bold as ever, and Clark has a knack for memorable melody and a winning voice with shades of Kate Bush and Leslie Feist.
  2. 90
    Strange Mercy is more mysterious than its predecessors, the references more obscure, but it also feels more personal.
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    90
    St. Vincent's most sonically rich effort to date.
  4. Sep 9, 2011
    80
    It's a little top-heavy, and meanders towards the end, but it's smart, demanding and unique, too.
  5. Sep 22, 2011
    80
    Annie Clark, aka St. Vincent, is an astounding electric guitarist, yet on her absorbing third album she never puts her mastery of the instrument ahead of a great song.
  6. Sep 13, 2011
    80
    Strange Mercy is her best yet, a deft mixture of self-confession, master class musicality, and downright unshakable songs.
  7. Sep 1, 2011
    60
    Ultimately Strange Mercy sounds like her best record still lies ahead, once she feels a little more at ease with balancing her obviously multiple talents.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    This album has the precision of a surgeon and the cruelness of a puppy. All the experimentation and blips and dissonance, it works out so damnThis album has the precision of a surgeon and the cruelness of a puppy. All the experimentation and blips and dissonance, it works out so damn well! Strange Mercy simply one of the best, if not, the best pop albums of 2011. I am in love with this. Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    Clark's gotten a bit of criticism for the lyrics on this album, and I really don't understand whyâ
  3. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great Album! One of the best I have heard this year so far! This is her best album. Highlights songs: "Cruel" , "Surgeon" and "Dilettante". Expand
  4. Dec 25, 2011
    9
    This is a sometimes beautiful, sometimes experimental and always interesting record. It's still growing on me but I think it might be growingThis is a sometimes beautiful, sometimes experimental and always interesting record. It's still growing on me but I think it might be growing on me for a long while to come. And what a voice. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    I find this one the more varied than the rest of her albums. Absolutely brilliant as always. We assume that there will be many people who findI find this one the more varied than the rest of her albums. Absolutely brilliant as always. We assume that there will be many people who find it hard to provide an opportunity for St. Vincent, that didn't agree with that kind of pop or because it dismay them the references to symphonic rock, but even they would recommend Strange Mercy because it is a clear demonstration of what Clark can do with talent unlike many others, trying to enlarge a style. Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2017
    8
    Strange Mercy is a strong follow up to Clark's opus, Actor, however doesn't seem as new and fresh. I will say this though, the thematic ideaStrange Mercy is a strong follow up to Clark's opus, Actor, however doesn't seem as new and fresh. I will say this though, the thematic idea of high school exclusion is incredibly interesting to hear in such a mature sound. Download: Cheerleader, Year of the Tiger, Surgeon. Expand
  7. Sep 14, 2011
    5
    Just another Tori Amos trying to reach Kate Bush level. No chance. Songs are boring, no surprises at all. At least lyrics is not bad. To sumJust another Tori Amos trying to reach Kate Bush level. No chance. Songs are boring, no surprises at all. At least lyrics is not bad. To sum up, nothing to be so excited about. Critics definitely went wrong. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2011

    The Best Albums of 2011 Image
    Published: December 30, 2011
    We reveal our official list of the best-reviewed albums of 2011. Plus, get links to stream virtually all of our top albums, find out which LPs our users preferred, and see which 2011 releases scored the lowest with critics.
  2. 2011 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2011 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: November 29, 2011
    Between now and January, we'll be collecting top 10 lists published by major music critics, publications, and websites, and tallying their cumulative picks to determine the best albums of 2011. Check back here daily to get an updated scorecard.
  3. September's Best New Music

    September's Best New Music Image
    Published: September 30, 2011
    We reveal the best-reviewed albums from the past month, a list that includes debuts from Wild Flag and Das Racist as well as another in a long line of great LPs by Mastodon and Wilco. Plus, listen to tracks from each album.