Strange Mercy - St. Vincent
Strange Mercy Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: St. Vincent, otherwise known as Annie Clark, releases her third album, produced by John Congleton.
  • Record Label: 4AD
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Pop, Alternative Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Sep 11, 2011
    100
    The modulations and switches in pace remain as bold as ever, and Clark has a knack for memorable melody and a winning voice with shades of Kate Bush and Leslie Feist.
  2. 90
    Strange Mercy is more mysterious than its predecessors, the references more obscure, but it also feels more personal.
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    90
    St. Vincent's most sonically rich effort to date.
  4. Sep 9, 2011
    80
    It's a little top-heavy, and meanders towards the end, but it's smart, demanding and unique, too.
  5. Sep 22, 2011
    80
    Annie Clark, aka St. Vincent, is an astounding electric guitarist, yet on her absorbing third album she never puts her mastery of the instrument ahead of a great song.
  6. Sep 13, 2011
    80
    Strange Mercy is her best yet, a deft mixture of self-confession, master class musicality, and downright unshakable songs.
  7. Sep 1, 2011
    60
    Ultimately Strange Mercy sounds like her best record still lies ahead, once she feels a little more at ease with balancing her obviously multiple talents.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    This album has the precision of a surgeon and the cruelness of a puppy. All the experimentation and blips and dissonance, it works out so damn well! Strange Mercy simply one of the best, if not, the best pop albums of 2011. I am in love with this. Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    Clark's gotten a bit of criticism for the lyrics on this album, and I really don't understand whyâ
  3. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    In her own words, Annie Clark said this album was wirtten in a solitude moment of her life, and it sounds very personal. It's like she put all of her thoughts about life itself in this album, and they seem to be brilliant. She left behind the experimental/baroque sound of "Actor", and gave us a different kind of pop, mixed with folk. It is one of the marvelous CDs from last year. Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2011
    9
    Strange Mercy feels like it is definitely up for album of the year. It feels so out there, but with familiar aspects. St. Vincent is an artist who is very unknown, but is truly innovative. Great melodies over what is in some songs absolute chaos. Phenomenal album. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    Might sound slightly off-putting at first, but 5 listens later, I can confidently say there isn't a stinker on this album. Highly experimental, yet highly rewarding. One of my favorites from 2011. Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    St. Vincent invites you into a world that pairs her hypnotic, beautiful voice with music that is elegant yet chaotic. It's an unusual, surreal treat that feels like The Beatles meet Bjork. Strange Mercy is an indie powerhouse that is one of the best albums from 2011. Expand
  7. Sep 14, 2011
    5
    Just another Tori Amos trying to reach Kate Bush level. No chance. Songs are boring, no surprises at all. At least lyrics is not bad. To sum up, nothing to be so excited about. Critics definitely went wrong. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2011

    The Best Albums of 2011 Image
    Published: December 30, 2011
    We reveal our official list of the best-reviewed albums of 2011. Plus, get links to stream virtually all of our top albums, find out which LPs our users preferred, and see which 2011 releases scored the lowest with critics.
  2. 2011 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2011 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: November 29, 2011
    Between now and January, we'll be collecting top 10 lists published by major music critics, publications, and websites, and tallying their cumulative picks to determine the best albums of 2011. Check back here daily to get an updated scorecard.
  3. September's Best New Music

    September's Best New Music Image
    Published: September 30, 2011
    We reveal the best-reviewed albums from the past month, a list that includes debuts from Wild Flag and Das Racist as well as another in a long line of great LPs by Mastodon and Wilco. Plus, listen to tracks from each album.