• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jul 22, 2003
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. astridd
    Oct 12, 2003
    10
    I wasn't even going to buy this album because I didn't want to be disappointed but as soon as I listened to it in the music shop i HAD to get it. All the pple who say it isn't as good as their old stuff can get fucked. Who wants a band to keep sounding the same?? Pple who say it "lacks sublety" and the lyrics are shallow are just wankers trying to sound like they know about I wasn't even going to buy this album because I didn't want to be disappointed but as soon as I listened to it in the music shop i HAD to get it. All the pple who say it isn't as good as their old stuff can get fucked. Who wants a band to keep sounding the same?? Pple who say it "lacks sublety" and the lyrics are shallow are just wankers trying to sound like they know about music when they know fuck all. The lyrics and music are as good as ever only more current for today. what more can u ask for? I'm in love with Janes!! Expand
  2. PeteB
    Sep 6, 2003
    10
    Once I realized that expecting 35+ year old Heroin addicts to release a mirror of music produced 12 years ago wasn't going to happen I also relaized that this is a great album and better than almost all of the albums released under the same genre in recent history. Nice going boys!
  3. jyo_tirmayad
    Sep 2, 2006
    8
    Yeah! This album rocks real good. Perry comes up with good strong lyrics and the music is fresh and rejuvenated. Why does Perry Farrell keep wandering off to solo projects or Porno for Pyros? Just get a new bass player to replace the replaceable Eric Avery and stay with Jane's.
  4. JorisV
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Every -once huge- band with a comeback album will get tons of critisism thrown over them like rubbish, but those reviewers aren't listening to the songs, the music "in se" anymore. All -and I mean all- songs are kick ass songs that with amazing vocals, riffs and uplifting drums. Sorry I have to say but this is slightly better, IMHO, than Ritual de lo Habitual. Most rockbands can only Every -once huge- band with a comeback album will get tons of critisism thrown over them like rubbish, but those reviewers aren't listening to the songs, the music "in se" anymore. All -and I mean all- songs are kick ass songs that with amazing vocals, riffs and uplifting drums. Sorry I have to say but this is slightly better, IMHO, than Ritual de lo Habitual. Most rockbands can only dream of being capable of writing such strong songs. My favourites: The Riches, Just Because, Hypersonic and The Price I Pay... and then there's that hauntingly beautiful psychedelic bridge in True Nature. Chapeau! A 9,5 Expand
  5. swampus0
    Aug 6, 2003
    10
    good gracious this cd gets better and better with each listen. the most fun you'll have rockin out all year. could one day be a classic!
  6. sethd
    Jul 23, 2003
    10
    I'll give it a 10. not because it's the greatest Jane's album out there, but because it blows the compitiion out of the water. Bands like Linkin Park, Sum 41, you name it... cant hold a candle to the greatest rock band since LEd Zep.
  7. alex
    Jul 29, 2003
    8
    Happy, yet disappointed. the songs begin to sound the same after a while. Guitar awesome. Drums awesome. Bass solid. Singer--I want to know this guy. Nice to hear a fun album without a real clinker, like say, "By the Way", which had 3. Benn a fan since "Nothing Shocking", looking forward to more.
  8. soheylas
    Jul 30, 2003
    10
    this album is awsome! out of this world! was about time someone came out with some gooood rock! good job guys!
  9. ChrisP
    Aug 11, 2003
    7
    Good album from a great band, but it's lacking in subtlety.
  10. Bruno
    Aug 11, 2003
    10
    Great Album, alongside NIS.
  11. KenS
    Aug 23, 2003
    10
    The "professional" reviewers who put this album down as being "mainstream", or "not as good as the old Jane's stuff" only demonstate that they are snobs who are trying to bluff you into thinking they actually know something about music. Instead of comparing it to the old stuff, why don't they compare it to the rest of the crap out there today. Take it from somebody who can The "professional" reviewers who put this album down as being "mainstream", or "not as good as the old Jane's stuff" only demonstate that they are snobs who are trying to bluff you into thinking they actually know something about music. Instead of comparing it to the old stuff, why don't they compare it to the rest of the crap out there today. Take it from somebody who can actually play music, this album is the best rock album in years. Buy it! Expand
  12. KennyC
    Aug 9, 2003
    10
    Great album from start to finish. I was worried that it couldn't possibly live up to expectations....but it did and then some. It doesn't quite have the emotion of the early 90's, but it's definately a great album to rock out to. Full of ENERGY. I'm hoping for more!
  13. RobertB
    Sep 14, 2003
    10
    This album rocks, janes kicks ass
  14. SyDIEleanora
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    This album is the only album that is out there right now, that can helped the lost and confused( the weak), and its not just me its you too,(including Janes Addiction for 13 years) and if you cant hear what they are saying, well then you dont get it. read into it, and you will find that this is one of the best albums ever created. Bob Ezrin can I boink you in the butt? If you love me dont This album is the only album that is out there right now, that can helped the lost and confused( the weak), and its not just me its you too,(including Janes Addiction for 13 years) and if you cant hear what they are saying, well then you dont get it. read into it, and you will find that this is one of the best albums ever created. Bob Ezrin can I boink you in the butt? If you love me dont answer that. The words are brilliant, its whatever you want it to mean, as long as it means something positive. Its time to live in the moment people. Thats what it means to me, take all your bullshit music and thoughts and put it to the side. No 14 yr old rapper or country girl can tell me what I dont already know, Im only 30. I thought that was a pretty good review Perry......You friend from Mountain Aire. Expand
  15. KrunkPurplemonster
    Oct 18, 2003
    9
    Jane's is, was, and always will be a righteous band. I give it a 9 because something has to differentiate it from the stuff I've been listening to for 12 years, which are all easy 10's. This one will withstand the test of time, too, but it's only a few months old right now. Powerful songs, great riffs, amazing drums, props to cool chris on bass now, and although Jane's is, was, and always will be a righteous band. I give it a 9 because something has to differentiate it from the stuff I've been listening to for 12 years, which are all easy 10's. This one will withstand the test of time, too, but it's only a few months old right now. Powerful songs, great riffs, amazing drums, props to cool chris on bass now, and although perry's voice has aged and the screams are lacking the ability to soar like they once did, and despite the fact that someone decided not to make perry's vocals so echoey and bouncing off of everything like they used to (bad move) - the spirit is still exactly where it was in 88. fucked-up, nuts, and like a genius, gifted child on acid. speaking of acid, the only other drawback for me was that while i'm glad they boys aren't h-addicts anymore, there's a definite lack of the original albums' "drugged-out" quality - which actually gave it an edge. still, these guys have progressed and matured and blossomed into this - and this rocks. Expand
  16. Erik
    Jul 28, 2003
    9
    Simply put, this CD is really good. It is a sad sign that one of the best CD's of the year comes from one of alt-rock's dinosaurs (vague reference to Perry Farrell's mid-90's side project, Porno for Pyros) instead of someone new. Typical Jane's - artsy, dark, sensual, inspired. Occasional unnecessary meandering by Farrell (another typical characteristic of Perry Simply put, this CD is really good. It is a sad sign that one of the best CD's of the year comes from one of alt-rock's dinosaurs (vague reference to Perry Farrell's mid-90's side project, Porno for Pyros) instead of someone new. Typical Jane's - artsy, dark, sensual, inspired. Occasional unnecessary meandering by Farrell (another typical characteristic of Perry Farrell projects). Ihghly recommended. Expand
  17. derekb
    Aug 16, 2003
    9
    almost a perfect album , better than any other new rock out there
  18. LaurieH
    Aug 18, 2003
    10
    Excellent!!!! Just as good as the old stuff
  19. Andy
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    I think it's generally wrong to judge a band on the basis of their previous work. So, granted, it may not be quite on the same level as Nothing's Shocking or Ritual de lo Habitual...but it's still the best rock album of the year - and better than many from other years as well. Even though it's been more than a decade since they made a CD, they've still got it.
  20. Mike
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    This is the best album in years. Sadly without Eric, but still brilliant.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 80
    Nothing too shocking, then, but their old magic surges through: you won't be disappointed. [Sep 2003, p.112]
  2. Jane's Addiction have finally come up with music that can stand alongside their previous albums.
  3. 78
    What was once so fresh is now a little tired. [#6, p.80]