• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Street Horrrsing Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut album for the Bristol, England experimental music duo.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Sounds and ideas repeat constantly, yet Street Horrrsing never feels redundant.
  2. It’s just the fucking jam, like some pulsing late-night bliss-out in front of a detuned television set whereupon everyone just sits on the couch exhausted but loving it.
  3. Despite the use of repetition and layering, Street Horrsing's sonic make-up is often unpredictable, which is where their strength stems from. [Apr 2008, p.57]
  4. Street Horrrsing is an intelligent, singular and original release with few flaws.
  5. 80
    Street Horrrsing is a six-track, 50-minute melange of iridescent synths, psychedelic drone, distorted vocals and tribal rhythm, peaking with the deftly layered counter-melodies and blissed -out propulsion of epic single 'Bright Tomorrow.' [Mar 2008, p.113]
  6. Sure, Street Horrrsing doesn’t overtly delineate any new sonic set, but its execution and relative brevity reflect highly on these two venerable artists.
  7. Street Horrrsing is a solid if still flawed album full of enough cool moments to satisfy anyone who might be interested in checking it out.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 48
  2. Negative: 15 out of 48
  1. fr3055
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    This album is simply spectacular, not made for easy ears. Instead, you could try with Tokio Hotel.
  2. TomW.
    May 29, 2008
    9
    Fantastic album. It's repetitive but gets stuck in your head and is a joy to listen to. Listen to Bright Tommorow from the album to see Fantastic album. It's repetitive but gets stuck in your head and is a joy to listen to. Listen to Bright Tommorow from the album to see what I mean. Also the screaming makes it better. It sounds awesome especially at the end of bright tommorow. Expand
  3. FrankieB.
    May 28, 2008
    9
    It's actually good, despite the at-times-admittedly obnoxious vocals and long stretches of repetitive beats!
  4. DW
    Apr 6, 2008
    6
    There is really nothing spectacular about this album, and this coming from a fan of both noise and drone. It's sort of like recent Black There is really nothing spectacular about this album, and this coming from a fan of both noise and drone. It's sort of like recent Black Dice with Wolf Eyes vocals thrown in, presumably for some kind of contrast with the otherwise pleasant, highly repetitive (re: monotonous) music. I just can't find anything to latch onto here. The textures are thin and uninteresting, and the melodies and rhythms are mind-numbingly simple. I give it a 6 because it does have kind of a nice sunny vibe and is reasonably pleasant, but it's totally inessential. Expand
  5. AlexF.
    Apr 16, 2008
    4
    This album is interesting in what it TRIES to do, but ultimately comes up short. You can tell they are trying to experiment, but the results This album is interesting in what it TRIES to do, but ultimately comes up short. You can tell they are trying to experiment, but the results of this experimentation are often monotonous and flat out boring. This reminds me a lot of The Field's album from last year in which style prevailed over substance. Expand
  6. DavidR.
    Mar 30, 2008
    3
    Okay, I've just heard the samples on MySpace, but I assume they picked their best material for their page. I am a fan of a lot of Okay, I've just heard the samples on MySpace, but I assume they picked their best material for their page. I am a fan of a lot of indie/experimental type music, but this band makes me feel like an old man: who listens to this crap!?? Whats with the token screaming you get at the end of each bland, boring track? I give them a 3 in the off chance I may have missed the point. Expand
  7. MikeN.
    Apr 3, 2008
    0
    Wow... I cannot believe somebody made a 50 minute album with 40 minutes of overbearing electronic distortion. They could've put anything Wow... I cannot believe somebody made a 50 minute album with 40 minutes of overbearing electronic distortion. They could've put anything behind that annoying sound, and it would have been the same album. If this is what music is becoming, I'm gonna be rich. I could make 5 of these things a day. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews