Street's Disciple

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Nov 30, 2004
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    [Disciple], while not as tight and gritty as his debut, is far more ambitious in scope and fearless in its approach. [3 Dec 2004, p.84]
  2. Its double-CD sprawl is ambitious not hubristic, imposing not indigestible.
  3. There's just enough to be cut that this could have been one outstanding album instead of two discs that overall make a pretty damn good release.
  4. New Musical Express (NME)
    90
    One of the most exciting hip-hop releases not only of this year, but in recent memory. [27 Nov 2004, p.61]
  5. Street’s Disciple reveals Nas at a new peak, finally comfortable in the post-millennial hip-hop world.
  6. Although Nasir Jones can't match arch-enemy Jay-Z's commercial firepower, he has accomplished one thing even Beyoncé's beau couldn't: a persuasive double album.
  7. Somewhere in here there's a really good album just fighting to get out.
  8. Yes, it's "sprawling," "massive," "has lots of filler," "should have been one disc," etc.-- but guess what: It's cocksure and it works.
  9. Blender
    70
    The beats throughout are deliriously varied. [Dec 2004, p.138]
  10. It's not a perfect album -- it's far too indulgent for that -- and would have been stronger as a single disc, but its ambitious sprawl makes for a powerful statement that Nas disciples will surely savor.
  11. Older rap fans will probably feel the album's subtler pulsings more, but anyone will be able to appreciate the raw talent required to keep such an epic and sprawling project buoyant, without resorting to boring braggadocio and bawdy bling.
  12. There's a lot of tracks on this album that go a lot deeper than anything Jigga's ever done, but so what? They ain't gonna cut it as party jams. Well, except the party jams.
  13. The well-worn beats ensure the album is good even as they prevent it from being great.
  14. Vibe
    70
    Here Nas is on autopilot, churning out uniformly solid but unexceptional material. [Oct 2004, p.183]
  15. Suffice to say, Nas' latest plus-sized, two-disc opus Street's Disciple isn't too big on economy or cohesion, but its passion and intensity are hard to deny.
  16. If reduced to a single disc, Street's Disciple could well be one of the more exciting albums of the year. As is it's a solid, if not brilliant album from an artist we've come to not expect too much from.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 55
  2. Negative: 1 out of 55
  1. Jan 27, 2017
    7
    It kinda feels that Nas was too shy to take risks here. Not downplaying his lyricism but overall this one is really boring and I can't evenIt kinda feels that Nas was too shy to take risks here. Not downplaying his lyricism but overall this one is really boring and I can't even remember a single track that stands out at least. Full Review »
  2. Aug 19, 2016
    6
    There's no doubt about it, Nas is an incredible rapper but for me this project falls a bit short of other greats in his discography. First ofThere's no doubt about it, Nas is an incredible rapper but for me this project falls a bit short of other greats in his discography. First of all this album just goes on and on and on and after a while I get bored. There are some highs such as bridging the gap, virgo and more, even these tracks are some of my favorite tracks from Nas but there are also many lows on this album. Overall some good production but just not a solid album in my opinion. Full Review »
  3. May 8, 2011
    8
    great lyrics and a great story nas amazes you with the way he uses his words. the music and beats were okay but once again his lyrics were ongreat lyrics and a great story nas amazes you with the way he uses his words. the music and beats were okay but once again his lyrics were on point. i listened to this album like 4 or 5 times. i enjoyed it every single time Full Review »