Stripped

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2002
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 371 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 371

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 11, 2017
    10
    One of her best albums, Beautiful is really a Masterpiece, and Fighter can give u so much emotions, is really wonderful, her feminist scream on Can't Hold Us Down is a good song too
  2. Feb 13, 2017
    10
    BIBLIA DO POP, UM DOS MELHORES ALBUNS DE TODOS OS TEMPOS, ICONE, SÓ NAO É MELHOR QUE O BACK TO BASICS, MAS TEM AS MELHORES LETRAS, AMO NAO MERECIA ESSE 55 LIXO DE CRITICOS ODEIO VOCES SEUS BOSTAS
  3. Dec 10, 2016
    7
    There's a vast amount of sounds for pop lovers to get on board with. Her voice is astonishing (yes, there's a little over singing) and the song writing is strong. It's by no means perfect and it has started to date, but it'll always remain a defining album of the early 00's. An album you'll happily return to again and again.
  4. Dec 1, 2016
    6
    This is one of the best pop albums I've ever heard from such a young vocalist. She's really a great songwriter and DJ Premier has brought out the best in her. 15 years from now we will have yet another legend among us. Collapse
  5. Aug 10, 2016
    10
    This is the best Christina's album. It's full of emotions and personal confessions. Every song has a message and the music is matched to every track. The album learns self-acceptance, how to feel better after something bad and how to open yourself. She could show us that we learn by making mistakes and it's not bad. Her voice is my favorite.
    This is the masterpiece in all music
    This is the best Christina's album. It's full of emotions and personal confessions. Every song has a message and the music is matched to every track. The album learns self-acceptance, how to feel better after something bad and how to open yourself. She could show us that we learn by making mistakes and it's not bad. Her voice is my favorite.
    This is the masterpiece in all music history. This album is timeless and good for everything!!!!
    If you've never listened to "Stripped" I hope you're gonna like it!!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  6. May 8, 2016
    10
    Stripped is the album that would indicate to anyone without the slightest difficulty. It is a rarity. Aguilera gave face to slap the bet itself. Literally, she lifted flight, not give up. Here is a great example of work that was judged more by appearance than by sound.
  7. Dec 22, 2015
    10
    Is just her best aubum and one of the best of all time. She inspired so much artist with this masterpice like Demi Lovato, Ariana Grande, Selena Gomez, Adam Lambert, Sam Smith, Miley Cyrrus, etc..
    I'ts solid, flawless and amazing.
  8. Nov 4, 2015
    10
    I've listened to this album a thousand times! A lot of sounds embrace the words of the Xtina writer. It's a perfection, of sound and styles. It is like a book. It was made in different parts, for underline the singer's evolution. Introductions in every part of the album, teach in a perfect way all you will can listen. I didn't listen this perfection in no other albums since 2002, year inI've listened to this album a thousand times! A lot of sounds embrace the words of the Xtina writer. It's a perfection, of sound and styles. It is like a book. It was made in different parts, for underline the singer's evolution. Introductions in every part of the album, teach in a perfect way all you will can listen. I didn't listen this perfection in no other albums since 2002, year in which was published this amazing project! Expand
  9. Oct 17, 2015
    10
    55? Esta es una joya de álbum, osea, este álbum merece por mínimo 90/100, este álbum es INCREÍBLE, DE LOS MEJORES QUE HA HECHO UN ARTISTA! Además de que tiene varios géneros, y su voz lo complementa todo.
  10. Oct 17, 2015
    10
    Real album of rebirth, albums such as Revival and Bangerz can be considered generic, an album wronged by the criticism, enquantos albums like "Britney", "Femme Fatalle" and even "Circus" did not arrive at the feet of Stripped, Christina shows her true self, dull or makeup as it says in the intro.
    The only weak point of the album is Dirrty, I WANNA BE DEAD, music spoils what we could call
    Real album of rebirth, albums such as Revival and Bangerz can be considered generic, an album wronged by the criticism, enquantos albums like "Britney", "Femme Fatalle" and even "Circus" did not arrive at the feet of Stripped, Christina shows her true self, dull or makeup as it says in the intro.
    The only weak point of the album is Dirrty, I WANNA BE DEAD, music spoils what we could call a masterpiece.
    Get Mine, Get Yours and Can not Hold Us Down show how Christina grew up and did not want to be a media image as Britney.
    Expand
  11. Sep 26, 2015
    10
    **** the critics who scored this lowly this is one of the best pop albums In a generation it has everything from powerful songs about survival to songs about love and sex. To date this Is Christina's best album. It's no secret that Christina Is truely a great singer who Is hard to beat. One of the best popular records In the 2000's. Linda Perry's beautiful deserved all the successs It**** the critics who scored this lowly this is one of the best pop albums In a generation it has everything from powerful songs about survival to songs about love and sex. To date this Is Christina's best album. It's no secret that Christina Is truely a great singer who Is hard to beat. One of the best popular records In the 2000's. Linda Perry's beautiful deserved all the successs It recieved when It was initially released on the 16th of November 2002. love you Xtinna xoxo :') Expand
  12. Sep 8, 2015
    10
    This album is flawless I love it with my soul, the people and the critics just keep the hate on Xtina work, she´ll keep doing better music than their favorite artists.
  13. Jun 14, 2015
    10
    Masterpiece! Christina isn't the most huge artist nowadays but she really knows how to express her own feelings. I'm OK, Beautiful, Can't Hold Us Down, Fighter, ... all good!
  14. Mar 16, 2015
    8
    Track by track review:
    1 Stripped Intro 10/10
    2 Can’t Hold Us Down (feat. Lil’ Kim) 10/10 3 Walk Away 5.5/10 4 Fighter 10/10 5 Primer Amor (Interlude) 6/10 6 Infatuation 10/10 7 Loves Embrace (Interlude) 6/10 8 Loving Me 4 Me 4/10 9 Impossible 7/10 10 Underappreciated 10/10 11 Beautiful 10/10 12 Make Over 10/10 13 Cruz 6.5/10 14. Soar 6/10 15. Get Mine, Get Yours 10/10 16.
    Track by track review:
    1 Stripped Intro 10/10
    2 Can’t Hold Us Down (feat. Lil’ Kim) 10/10
    3 Walk Away 5.5/10
    4 Fighter 10/10
    5 Primer Amor (Interlude) 6/10
    6 Infatuation 10/10
    7 Loves Embrace (Interlude) 6/10
    8 Loving Me 4 Me 4/10
    9 Impossible 7/10
    10 Underappreciated 10/10
    11 Beautiful 10/10
    12 Make Over 10/10
    13 Cruz 6.5/10
    14. Soar 6/10
    15. Get Mine, Get Yours 10/10
    16. Dirrty 10/10
    17. Stripped Pt. 2 2.5/10
    18. The Voice Within 10/10
    19. I’m Ok 10/10
    20. Keep on Singin’ My Song 8.5/10

    Highlights: Dirrty, Get Mine, Get Yours, Can't Hold Us Down, Underappreciated
    Potential singles: Fighter, Beautiful, Walk Away, Dirrty, Underappreciated.
    Expand
  15. Dec 30, 2014
    7
    Such a great album.
    Finally shows the mature side of herself. The album is one of the most defining pop albums of the decade. What I like most about the album, is it's lyrical content. Each track is an anthem for many individuals. "Beautiful" is considered as an anthem for the LGBT community. "Can't Hold Us Down" is considered one of the first anthems of feminism, way before it became
    Such a great album.
    Finally shows the mature side of herself. The album is one of the most defining pop albums of the decade. What I like most about the album, is it's lyrical content. Each track is an anthem for many individuals. "Beautiful" is considered as an anthem for the LGBT community. "Can't Hold Us Down" is considered one of the first anthems of feminism, way before it became mainstream to be a feminist.
    Expand
  16. Dec 29, 2014
    6
    Christina Aguilera's follow-up to her debut album is far from Stripped--but does that matter? Her vocals shine far above the oft-mediocre songwriting. Nevertheless, with strong tracks such as 'Beautiful', 'The Voice Within' and 'Walk Away', it's difficult to complain.
  17. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    Esse é o tipo de álbum em que cada faixa tem uma personalidade e função, as escolhas de singles foram fantásticas, ao mesmo tempo que alguém está escutando músicas como Beautiful e se aceitando depois ela escuta Dirrty e toma coragem, Christina tem que voltar logo com músicas como essas
  18. Jun 3, 2014
    6
    It is true she has probably the sexiest videos out there but when I listen to a record I/'m not looking at a video of the songs....She has a good to very good voice but as someone who is a fan of synthesizers I am surprised at the general absence of them on her records-you maybe hear a synth bass here and there and a bit of chording coloration here and there also-but even though she isIt is true she has probably the sexiest videos out there but when I listen to a record I/'m not looking at a video of the songs....She has a good to very good voice but as someone who is a fan of synthesizers I am surprised at the general absence of them on her records-you maybe hear a synth bass here and there and a bit of chording coloration here and there also-but even though she is making music in the dance vein more or less she has always veered away from including the spacey Ibiza synth sound in her music-She will always be liked probably no matter what she does-but I think her music cold be more trance and more textured-basic music doesn't have a long shelf life-it just gets listened to them put away probably for months at a time. Could be better. The song Beautiful was a seven to an eight- but basically it is a six album wise. Expand
  19. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    The best album that i've ever heard. Christina have such an amazing voice and those lyrics are fantastic! A true artist. The Voice Within, Fighter and Soar are the best songs in this. It also have "Beautiful", one of the most popular songs of the decade. Christina won a Grammy with this album.
  20. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    My favorite album ever!!! Xtina made such an emotional record and her voice is very strong and powerfull!! 'beautiful' is the ballad of the decade!!! The lyrics are very personal. my favorite song from it is 'the voice within' it's sooo beautiful, xtina is amazing!!!
  21. Dec 4, 2013
    9
    When a singer changes completely visual, media will always criticize him, will always put their lack of clothing and its sexual content ahead of his musical work, Stripped shows progress Aguilera, leaving music teen pop for Pop and R&B mature, through gospel, soul, hip hop and rock, the album has sensitive, dirty and heartfelt lyrics, the vocal is another strong point, this album can beWhen a singer changes completely visual, media will always criticize him, will always put their lack of clothing and its sexual content ahead of his musical work, Stripped shows progress Aguilera, leaving music teen pop for Pop and R&B mature, through gospel, soul, hip hop and rock, the album has sensitive, dirty and heartfelt lyrics, the vocal is another strong point, this album can be easily compared to Dangerous by Michael Jackson by its fusion of musical genre (Pop/R&B/soul/rock/hip-hop), Aguilera may be a crazy b*tch, but it will not be that will outshine amazing songs like ''Walk Away'', ''Soar'' and ''Beautiful''. Expand
  22. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    One of the best albums of all time, in my opinion. Beautiful transition from the Britney-wannabe to the vocal powerhouse, ready to bust your head open with vocals. I actually have a 10 (a mark I rarely give) to 7 out of the 16 songs, and 9,5 to additional 3. The only songs that bring down the total mark to 8,78 are the lead single "Dirrty", which is messy and all over the place and lacksOne of the best albums of all time, in my opinion. Beautiful transition from the Britney-wannabe to the vocal powerhouse, ready to bust your head open with vocals. I actually have a 10 (a mark I rarely give) to 7 out of the 16 songs, and 9,5 to additional 3. The only songs that bring down the total mark to 8,78 are the lead single "Dirrty", which is messy and all over the place and lacks any power whatsoever, as well as "Loving Me 4 Me", which is an unsuccessful try to channel Mariah's sensual R'nB ballads. However, empowering songs like "Fighter", "Can't Hold Us Down", "Cruz", as well as the all-time-best equality anthem "Beautiful", amazingly touching and moving songs like "Walk Away", "Underappreciated", "Make Over", and "I'm OK" make up for them and turn this album in a real pop masterpiece! Expand
  23. Aug 7, 2013
    4
    "Make Over" and the song with Lil' Kim stand out to me."Make Over" remains one of my favorite Christina songs, and the collab with Lil Kim is up there too. But other than those two songs, the album is pretty bad.
  24. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    While "B2B" is Christina's best album, it is "Stripped" that made her a real artist. It's main plan was to destroy the girl-next-door image that was created while promoting her debute LP. It has definitely worked. It is also more diversified than her all-pop previous albums. There's rock ("Fighter", "Soar"), R&B ("Cruz", "Loving Me 4 Me"), latin ("Infatuation"), soul ("Walk Away",While "B2B" is Christina's best album, it is "Stripped" that made her a real artist. It's main plan was to destroy the girl-next-door image that was created while promoting her debute LP. It has definitely worked. It is also more diversified than her all-pop previous albums. There's rock ("Fighter", "Soar"), R&B ("Cruz", "Loving Me 4 Me"), latin ("Infatuation"), soul ("Walk Away", "Impossible"), amazing torch ballads ("Beautiful", "The Voice Within"), country ("Keep On Singin' My Song") and even some hip hop ("Can't Hold Us Down" and "Dirrty"). But the best point on the album is a breathtaking acoustic ballad "I'm OK" speaking of her childhood, which definitely wasn't the best time in her life. The best time in her life has started when she released "Stripped" and became one of the biggest R&B stars nowadays.

    10 out of 10
    Expand
  25. Feb 17, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers. Although Stripped is all over the place, it delivers the raw emotion and soul that Ms. Aguilera's voice is best suited to. Not only does it showcase her powerful and dynamic voice, but also everything that she's experienced so far. Therefore, I believe that this album is one of the best albums in the decade. Collapse
  26. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!! Expand
  27. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best albums. I love her. She is amazing. I never heard something that compares. this is not an album more. You need to heard it. You must have it
  28. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    This album was so underrated by the critics. It's honestly one of the greatest pop records of the past decade. I love every single song on it and the interludes are amazing as well! Congratulations on such a stunning album, Christina!
  29. Jul 12, 2012
    8
    In my opinion, an excellent album, diverse, ranging from R & B "Dirrty" the Rock "Fighter", with great vocals, great ballads, the album never becomes cloying, and she shows emotion like no other performer.
  30. Mar 23, 2012
    7
    One of her best work. Its my favourite album from her. My favourite tracks are Fighter and Beautiful.
  31. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Simply one of the best albums you can mix Pop, Soul, R & B, Rock and Gospel in its content. Christina Aguilera in it tries to convey their emotions, feelings and emotions passed through the letters, and close by the way. Finally, the second biggest album of Christina Aguilera - The Voice aka.
  32. Sep 26, 2011
    6
    Let's face it, this was kind of the making of Christina, she left the Britney genre behind and tried to discover herself as an artist, which, to be fair, considering the album is a mix of all genres she actually almost did. This records stories might not make a whole lot of sense, even through the idea of the album was to tell you all about "Christina" but what does make sense is sheLet's face it, this was kind of the making of Christina, she left the Britney genre behind and tried to discover herself as an artist, which, to be fair, considering the album is a mix of all genres she actually almost did. This records stories might not make a whole lot of sense, even through the idea of the album was to tell you all about "Christina" but what does make sense is she really let her talent ooze throughout each and every track. Her voice is simply unstoppable and prooved to fans and critics alike why she became famous in the first place, even if her fame is sometimes an imitation. Expand
  33. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    One of the best albums of the decade. Every single song is strictly personal and this album saved her from doing drugs or ending up like Lindsay Lohan. I bet this is Christina's favourite album, aswell!
  34. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    This is definitely Christina's best album. I don't get why give a 55 out of 100 to it. This album is very personal and shows every side of a person. Dirrty is a very modern pop track that makes you wanna dance in a hot way. Beautiful is one of the best ballads ever written. In a few words: the "5-octaves fighter" did her best in this album.
  35. May 26, 2011
    7
    A great album from my childhood. Though having grown up its lost some of it sheen.
  36. Jan 25, 2011
    8
    i love this album, although i'm not a huge fan of modern pop, this album was great. it's a mature record and a complete turn over from her past efforts. she did a great job with it. someone might say that it's all over the place, but if you watch carefully you'll see that every song is connected with each other and they sure tell an amazing story. she was really stripped down to her core,i love this album, although i'm not a huge fan of modern pop, this album was great. it's a mature record and a complete turn over from her past efforts. she did a great job with it. someone might say that it's all over the place, but if you watch carefully you'll see that every song is connected with each other and they sure tell an amazing story. she was really stripped down to her core, and that deserves respect. "beautiful" is the best song on the album. it's an evergreen, a classic hit, and has a universal message. such a great accomplishment. it's beautifully written, and has a beautiful melody. the name says everything. "beautiful" is beautiful! this is christina's best work. it's my only favorite pop album. Expand
  37. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Stripped was amazing, it has a perfect length whit 20 tracks. Stripped gives variety, from rock to hip hop, pop and a little soul. Songs that stands out, Beautiful, Fighter, Impossible, Walk Away, Dirty, i can say almost every track is amazing. Expand
  38. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    Christina's best album. Dirrty was ot, Beautiful made me cry, and Fighter made me stronger. There's one album that comes albong that you can really relate with and "Stripped" is the one I relate to.....Such a good album
  39. MarsWars
    Aug 25, 2009
    0
    An album strictly made for abused/repressed women and kids. No sane adult can enjoy this. Also her vocals are disastrous. She has a good voice but she can't sing to save her life
  40. ginop.
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Great Album.
  41. Stevef.
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    One of the best album ever. Christina is fantastic, amazing, awesome. The best!
  42. DiegoM.
    Feb 7, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best album ever. I disagree with this score.
  43. AmyT.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    This is Christina's best album to date. It shows her maturity and growth as an artist.
  44. zanesylliboy
    Feb 2, 2008
    4
    Blah. It's over-worked and way too long. 20 tracks, each running at least 4 minutes and 30 seconds it's just too much, especially from a pop princess. She should've cut at least 8 tracks. And the interludes are just annoying. It's really hard to get her, as she focuses too much on a mature record, but goes a bit too far. Adults are more likely to say "ugh," and kids Blah. It's over-worked and way too long. 20 tracks, each running at least 4 minutes and 30 seconds it's just too much, especially from a pop princess. She should've cut at least 8 tracks. And the interludes are just annoying. It's really hard to get her, as she focuses too much on a mature record, but goes a bit too far. Adults are more likely to say "ugh," and kids are sure to love it. Expand
  45. PabloC.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Perfect Album!!! =D
  46. aliahtuhyiis
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    Amazing!!!!...this album is very good.
  47. BálintK.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    It's a very great album from the Pop Princess
  48. JClS
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    This album is PERFECT!
  49. sarah
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    this is the best album i've ever heard
  50. FredricE.
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    Waw.. my all time fav. album!! That explains everything,, best vocalist out there.. at least one of the best.. every songs here are outstanding and meaningful.. trust me..
  51. EdwardH
    May 8, 2007
    10
    This album is da shit 4 these reasons. Aguilera is passionate and earnest in every one of her songs. She also knows how 2 make a song catchy and meaningful 2. Let's Get Dirrty Y'all!
  52. AnnaN
    Mar 22, 2007
    0
    disgusting. this bitch doesn't even deserve 1 point.
  53. YeongJinY.
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    No doubt All of songs in this album are so great!
  54. TabithaR
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    i love this album!!!!
  55. louiet
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    I think that this album is tirifek But when i hear some of you saying she is better than britney she dosent come close
  56. keishad
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    wicked cd, best voice of her generation.
  57. JennyC
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    Her best album to date.
  58. JordanF
    Sep 15, 2006
    0
    ugh............. the sounds out of a guys ass after stuffin his mouth with burritos from taco bell is more melodic than this! id rather choke on my puke than listen to this
  59. SamM
    Aug 11, 2006
    0
    She is horrible.
  60. JT
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    This si her best CD ever!!!!
  61. JClS
    Jul 1, 2006
    10
    This album is PERFECT!
  62. KellyJ
    Jun 30, 2006
    0
    This is all over the place. It's just bad.
  63. lolo
    Jun 8, 2006
    0
    dont like it
  64. KristinaB
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    This album is absolutely amazing in every way possible: vocals, lyrics, attitude, style...it's all great!
  65. SavaT
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    The critics once more prove they can't recognise a great album even if it hits them in the ...ears. But after all, if they knew something about music and had even the slightest bit of talent, they wouldn't become critics, they would be musicians.
  66. Miguel
    Feb 7, 2006
    0
    You can't get worse than Christina Aguilera.
  67. AndyH
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    The best pop album released this century, period. I've played this to death in my car and I still can't get enough of it. A goldmine of well crafted songs and excellent hooks, this album allows Christina to show a new maturity and sensitivity in her singing. She gives 100% to every track and her voice is truly outstanding. This album is all killer and no filler. Roll on 2006 and The best pop album released this century, period. I've played this to death in my car and I still can't get enough of it. A goldmine of well crafted songs and excellent hooks, this album allows Christina to show a new maturity and sensitivity in her singing. She gives 100% to every track and her voice is truly outstanding. This album is all killer and no filler. Roll on 2006 and a new album! Expand
  68. EmilyS
    Sep 24, 2005
    10
    Great album! Christina co-wrote all the songs and I think it's great she wants to do things for herself now.
  69. RogerH
    Sep 19, 2005
    0
    Stop shouting at me Xtina, I have a headache
  70. emilyf
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    fantastic this album makes you see that xtina has varied her talent and come up with the goods
  71. JamesH
    Jul 23, 2005
    10
    A gret album that makes you sit down and listen. There is great variety of different genres that reflect the sheer diversity of her voice. The best tracks being the great ballad, Walk Away, the belter Underappreciated, the pure Alicia Keys Impossible, the gospelly Cruz and the delicate The Voice Within. This music should appeal to anyone just try to ignore Dirrty and the new slutty image.
  72. KellyC
    Jul 4, 2005
    0
    this is beyond crap
  73. RandyB
    Jun 14, 2005
    6
    Christina Aguilera
  74. KaylaJ
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    Christina has the most beautiful and rangy voice in the music industry. Can people say the same. Christina gets alot of trash about how she looks, but she is not afraid to be herself, she is not gonna stop because people criticize her. She makes music out of meaning. Can Britney say the same. Britney can't sing, so what is the point of her being in the industry. Christina will beat Christina has the most beautiful and rangy voice in the music industry. Can people say the same. Christina gets alot of trash about how she looks, but she is not afraid to be herself, she is not gonna stop because people criticize her. She makes music out of meaning. Can Britney say the same. Britney can't sing, so what is the point of her being in the industry. Christina will beat Britney any time. Expand
  75. angelr
    Jan 30, 2005
    0
    wow, 70 minutes of pure crap and bporing songs... stripped is so much a piece of chrstina's pubic hear
  76. marys
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    This is a grat cd and offers much encouragment for people who have experienced some of the things christina has. It shows that she is normal and that shitty things happen to her too.
  77. Vixi
    Aug 11, 2004
    9
    Having already proven she can sing better than Britney, Christina now proves she can have a better album than Britney. This is completely different to anything Ms Spears would do so to the person saying Xtinas copying her maybe you should actually listen to the album. Britneys success is down to the fact that she was in the right place at the right time. She should have stuck to her Having already proven she can sing better than Britney, Christina now proves she can have a better album than Britney. This is completely different to anything Ms Spears would do so to the person saying Xtinas copying her maybe you should actually listen to the album. Britneys success is down to the fact that she was in the right place at the right time. She should have stuck to her dancing and leave the singing to the real stars. Expand
  78. BJM
    Jun 16, 2004
    9
    this is a vocal masterpiece! no one with such talent in their voice has come out into the music scene in a long time. . . . i would give it a 10 but she might do her next album better so thats why im not! Gotts love her versatility to go from her hip hop beats to her hippy rock and her long preservering ballads. christina has definatly proved herself as an artist and ledged away from this is a vocal masterpiece! no one with such talent in their voice has come out into the music scene in a long time. . . . i would give it a 10 but she might do her next album better so thats why im not! Gotts love her versatility to go from her hip hop beats to her hippy rock and her long preservering ballads. christina has definatly proved herself as an artist and ledged away from cliche "pop" and gone down more intreaging talentfull Rhythm & blues, pop rock, & ballads to show off that voice! well done miss xtina! job wel done ! hot stuff Expand
  79. AshleyG.
    May 1, 2004
    10
    ZI love christina...she doesnt use any computor on her vioce and youd beleive it if you would hear her in concert..she doesnt sound as good at concert but its hard when your dancen around n crap= anyone who tries to trash crhistina is jus jelous..she is kinda hoochi-but what pop singer doesnt dress like that for at least one album..-if you wanna trash some one-trash brittney-shes some one ZI love christina...she doesnt use any computor on her vioce and youd beleive it if you would hear her in concert..she doesnt sound as good at concert but its hard when your dancen around n crap= anyone who tries to trash crhistina is jus jelous..she is kinda hoochi-but what pop singer doesnt dress like that for at least one album..-if you wanna trash some one-trash brittney-shes some one who shouldnt be a role model-christinas making a statement on this album- jessica simpson-i wanna be bad-did you see her outfit on that vidio!? brittney-i have no comment pink-come one now shakira-i love her but she dresses just like christina those are only a couple-christina is great! i dont care what anyone says! she deserves better than trash some people give her! Expand
  80. Justin
    Apr 23, 2004
    0
    It sucks and I don't see anything special in her voice it sounds dark and doesn't sound right for her songs shes just copying britt. By making a mature album and has been ever since she came out she need to get her own image.
  81. SonnyV
    Apr 13, 2004
    10
    watta great songs!,tracks!!,inspirational,rock,pop,r&b,etch..... Vocally great!!! she can reach those high notes and can turn it down to almost a whisper!!.and unlike other artist cant do.
  82. PaulB
    Mar 29, 2004
    9
    WEll I've only heard some of this CD but Voice Within and Beautiful put oceans of distance between Christina and someone like Britney S. She has an amazing set of pipes but what I really amire in her is the way she gives 120% vocally. I just watched Come on Over Baby for comparison--I haven't been a fan up until now but the she's come light years since then.
  83. dawnj
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    Amazing album!!! Amazing voice!!!
  84. SheldonL
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    As a more golden oldie boy I typically prefer Elton John, Donna Summers, ABBA or so forth. So for the vast majority you can disrecgard this review. However Christina prior to this was not an artist in my vocabulary. Now Christina is an Empire. Let's be honest pop, rock, western who cares, her music is fresh original and different. Viva la Aguilera!
  85. annp
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    Love this album!her best one!
  86. AngelaM
    Feb 11, 2004
    10
    Cristina has a powerfull voice. I really liked this album better than her last one. she is probably is my favorite singer
  87. chrish
    Jan 18, 2004
    10
    Amazing christina comes alive in this album i thought at first i would not like the album after reading reviews saying it was a womens cd it is not it is fantastic.
  88. victoriab
    Dec 25, 2003
    10
    increible album!!! christina is the best!!
  89. OCuculiza
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    This is just more than an Album. She reinvented herself, she´s showing the real Christina Aguilera. She´s composing, she´s producin, she´s makin REAL music. This is just a bump to all of the pre-fabricated pop princess, and to all of the "Genie" era. This is the real Christina, her real VOICE, her real feelings, and some good Pop music.
  90. Kaiele
    Nov 29, 2003
    10
    Awesome!is the one word that can describe this album..I absolutely enjoyed it from the first to the last track..Christina's voice is fantastic..I could listen to it over and over again..and each track just gets better as you go on...Definitely X-tina's best album yet! GREAT WORK!
  91. DCollette
    Nov 27, 2003
    9
    This CD is incredible. I'm usually hesitant in buying CDs. But I after I heard fighter, it struck my chords and I had to get it... and I wasn't disappointed. Some people give her the skanky label, but it's because they might not be as open to the idea of sexual freedom. Aguilera embraces her sexuality and expresses it through her music. The album truly represents a sexually This CD is incredible. I'm usually hesitant in buying CDs. But I after I heard fighter, it struck my chords and I had to get it... and I wasn't disappointed. Some people give her the skanky label, but it's because they might not be as open to the idea of sexual freedom. Aguilera embraces her sexuality and expresses it through her music. The album truly represents a sexually free person who won't take BS from no one. Some track highlights are Fighter with an edgier side, Beautiful, The Voice Within and Walk Away show her vocal range. And if you like dirrty, you won't be let down by Get Mine, Get Yours I personnaly love Make Over. Some people might not love this song, but I love it because it mixes dance and arabic sounds and the lyrics show a powerful person who won't let people force her to forsake who she truly is. The reason why I didn't give a 10 is because I thought it was overprocessed or overdone at certain points. Get the album... it's worth it!!! Expand
  92. markyj
    Nov 19, 2003
    10
    this is one of the best pop records in recent memory. Christina sets the bar for all others to come. She blew me away with her diversity. The lyrics , her voice , the music the whole package is great. Not one weak track on this whole cd.
  93. Johnny
    Nov 4, 2003
    10
    my god, can u believe it? A Tool/A Perfect Circle fan listening to Christina Aguilara??? yes it's true nice voice, nice attitude, nice album despite horrible taste in idol (comparing herself with lame ass Ricky Martin and Modanna is just sad.)
  94. kennethc
    Nov 2, 2003
    10
    What a pleasant surpise! Did not have the commercial acclaim that I expected it to, so I was hesitant to buy it. Critics like Village Voice surprise me sometimes with their comments. It is WONDERFUL. She can sing anything. Not cutesy for little children but rather clever and well written. She deserves more from her fans who probably didn't give it a second try.
  95. christiang
    Oct 17, 2003
    6
    Aguilera's voice is beautiful on this record, but the music is still poor. "Beautiful" is the best song on the record, it's just like its title, simply beautiful. But "Dirrty" and "Get mine, get yours" are pure shit. I RECOMEND THIS ALBUM ONLY TO CHRISTINA'S FANS.
  96. EP
    Jul 22, 2003
    10
    Was never a christina fan before but this album is amazing and so diverse. She has always had the best voice of the current pop stars but now she is actually using it for something other than bubble gum songs. Powerful, refreshing, this album is great.
  97. AndyG
    Jul 13, 2003
    10
    this album is great! She does it all very well.This offering is too over the top. I luurrvvee her.
  98. jojo
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    this is the best damn album out the way she shows her vocal skills on songs like Walk Away, Fighter, the Voice Within, and Impossible It lets you know that she has grown into a woman that is sure of what she is doing and wants everyone to see just how talentive she is by her writing and producing music the way she wants and I applaud you for that, Christina, from your biggest fan in this is the best damn album out the way she shows her vocal skills on songs like Walk Away, Fighter, the Voice Within, and Impossible It lets you know that she has grown into a woman that is sure of what she is doing and wants everyone to see just how talentive she is by her writing and producing music the way she wants and I applaud you for that, Christina, from your biggest fan in Shreveport, LA. Expand
  99. MalorieR
    Mar 11, 2003
    10
    i think this album is like seriously the best one ever! she is great her style, and everything she's amazing and very talented. i love how she just doesn't care what others think...that's important to stay true to yourself....KEEP PUSHIN ON HUN* YOUR AWSOME!
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. In attempting to show all of the things she has been doing since we heard her last, Aguilera lessens the impact of the better songs on the record. Instead, in between ten to twelve mediocre/good songs, we have eight to ten songs that would be better served as B-sides.
  2. Forget all you know about Christina Aguilera. She's discovered sex, rebellion, rock'n'roll and, at one amazing instant, drum'n'bass.
  3. With its lack of gimmickry and a surplus of sweet Seventies soul, Stripped is almost an album for grown-ups.