Stripped

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Stripped Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 385 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 22-year-old pop star's second English-language album includes 20 new tracks, most penned by Aguilera herself, although suddenly ubiquitous Linda Perry assists on four songs. Guests include Alicia Keys, Redman, and Dave Navarro.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. 90
    As a pop record, Stripped is practically flawless.
  2. A must-hear recording rich with pleasantly surprising depth.
  3. Forget all you know about Christina Aguilera. She's discovered sex, rebellion, rock'n'roll and, at one amazing instant, drum'n'bass.
  4. Spin
    60
    As an artistic statement, Stripped is all over the place--it's a move toward hip-hop, it's a move toward rock, it's ghetto, it's Disney. [Dec 2002, p.137]
  5. If she had just shown up and sang her ass off, Stripped would've been a better show.
  6. Nearly every second of this overlong, 20-track workshop communicates the overwhelming struggles she endured -- while trying to become a superstar by age 18.
  7. t's nü-Mariah on mood stabilizers, extended with pseudo-pastiches of semi-popular songs.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 166
  1. Jackiel
    Nov 12, 2002
    10
    It is the best of christina! She is a great artist and a wonderful natural singer. She came out with the "real" her and it's better than It is the best of christina! She is a great artist and a wonderful natural singer. She came out with the "real" her and it's better than anything she has ever done. she is like an idol to me. And "Stripped" is the best cd i have ever had! Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    One of the best albums of the decade. Every single song is strictly personal and this album saved her from doing drugs or ending up likeOne of the best albums of the decade. Every single song is strictly personal and this album saved her from doing drugs or ending up like Lindsay Lohan. I bet this is Christina's favourite album, aswell! Expand
  3. MalorieR
    Mar 11, 2003
    10
    i think this album is like seriously the best one ever! she is great her style, and everything she's amazing and very talented. i love i think this album is like seriously the best one ever! she is great her style, and everything she's amazing and very talented. i love how she just doesn't care what others think...that's important to stay true to yourself....KEEP PUSHIN ON HUN* YOUR AWSOME! Expand
  4. FredricE.
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    Waw.. my all time fav. album!! That explains everything,, best vocalist out there.. at least one of the best.. every songs here are Waw.. my all time fav. album!! That explains everything,, best vocalist out there.. at least one of the best.. every songs here are outstanding and meaningful.. trust me.. Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best albums. I love her. She is amazing. I never heard something that compares. this is not an album more. You need toThis is one of the best albums. I love her. She is amazing. I never heard something that compares. this is not an album more. You need to heard it. You must have it Expand
  6. BJM
    Jun 16, 2004
    9
    this is a vocal masterpiece! no one with such talent in their voice has come out into the music scene in a long time. . . . i would give it a this is a vocal masterpiece! no one with such talent in their voice has come out into the music scene in a long time. . . . i would give it a 10 but she might do her next album better so thats why im not! Gotts love her versatility to go from her hip hop beats to her hippy rock and her long preservering ballads. christina has definatly proved herself as an artist and ledged away from cliche "pop" and gone down more intreaging talentfull Rhythm & blues, pop rock, & ballads to show off that voice! well done miss xtina! job wel done ! hot stuff Expand
  7. meganw
    Nov 27, 2002
    0
    she sucks... she needs to learn how to dress and sing!!!!!

See all 166 User Reviews