• Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2011
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
Buy On
  1. Uncut
    Jun 2, 2011
    60
    It's a record that goes a long way toward breathing new life into the busted flush of English indie with a romantic Britpop sound that stands comparisons with The Smiths, The La's and New Order. But in order to complete that leap--and make a record that equals the impact of their first--the lead guitarist needs to give the songwriter a good, hard kick up the arse. [Jul 2011, p.78]
  2. Jun 8, 2011
    42
    Only five years ago, Turner was a fresh-faced quipster hopefully eyeing a crush on the dance floor, but now he's playing into the tiredest archetype: the jaded, sunglasses-shaded rock traditionalist on the hunt for an easy lay.
  3. Jun 6, 2011
    60
    Suck It And See is not a disappointment, because we've learned never to expect the Monkeys' next move, but it's not half as fun as we'd like it to be.
  4. 50
    Suck It and See (English slang for "give it a try"), slows the pace but ultimately feels even more detached.
  5. 60
    The overall impression is of someone trying to disguise their true emotions with comic bluster: in that sense, ironically, it's a more macho album than Humbug, despite its lighter touch.
  6. Just when the world is no longer particularly bothered about a new Arctic Monkeys record, they've finally released one worth being bothered about – at least in parts.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 262 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    To record Humbug, Arctic Monkeys headed to the California desert with a slew of incomplete song ideas and the mood to experiment a bit. ThisTo record Humbug, Arctic Monkeys headed to the California desert with a slew of incomplete song ideas and the mood to experiment a bit. This time around, the band prepared and tried to perfect their songs at home before traveling to Los Angeles to record. The result is a more immediate album, but also one that may take a few listens to fully appreciate.

    The first two songs released off of the album (Brick By Brick and Don't Sit Down 'Cause I've Moved Your Chair) were quite a misdirection for fans since, besides those two and the jagged Library Pictures, the rest of Suck It And See contains very summer-friendly melodies and choruses. Some of the band's most successful previous singles were more joyful than rocky, and this time around Alex Turner and company seemed to make it a point to perfect that type of sound.

    Black Treacle, Reckless Serenade, title track Suck It And See, and closer That's Where You're Wrong will likely hook you quicker than anything they've recorded since Fluorescent Adolescent. The aforementioned "heavier" songs (though they still roll out at a pace much slower than the band's older material) work well on the album and provide necessary tempo changes.

    Track-for-track, this is likely the Arctic Monkeys' best album to date, providing twelve songs that range from fun to spectacular, and absolutely no filler. The only complaint I have is the fact that I like the Submarine OST recording of Piledriver Waltz a bit more than this album version, but it's still very good in its own right. While listening to Suck It And See, you'll likely realize that this is a band that is fine-tuning its skill set and using all of the tricks they've learned so far to create some wonderful music. Can't wait to see where they go next.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    Excellent album - in my opinion the best since their debut. The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala, Love Is A Laserquest, and That's Where You'reExcellent album - in my opinion the best since their debut. The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala, Love Is A Laserquest, and That's Where You're Wrong are up there with their very best stuff. Full Review »
  3. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    I remember the day my mate brought Humbug home from HMV. A bunch of us were at his place and when he put it on we all held our breathsI remember the day my mate brought Humbug home from HMV. A bunch of us were at his place and when he put it on we all held our breaths rapturously to hear the long awaited return of the Arctic Monkeys. We all left disappointed. No song grabbed us. Suck It And See, on the other hand, is an album where every single track is a potential single. Alex's songwriting tends to take centre stage here, in all it's dry witted, self deprecating glory. Yes he compares a woman's mini skirt to a shotgun and yes the he pulls it off (the comparison that is...I'm sure the skirt followed though). Whilst this is definitely their most chilled album overall (only on three tracks do they really rock out), it is pure ear candy from 'Brick By Brick' to 'That's Where You're Wrong'. You can feel the sunshine on this record. And what makes it pure rock and roll is that it isn't trying to be rock and roll. My only resignation is that with every track being this perfect, you do get bored at some point and the songs squashed in the middle do end up losing their appeal in retrospect. But this is a fine, fine album and I suspect it will have longevity when listened to in context of their discography. Unlike Humbug. Full Review »