Suck It and See - Arctic Monkeys
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 181 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 181

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    To record Humbug, Arctic Monkeys headed to the California desert with a slew of incomplete song ideas and the mood to experiment a bit. This time around, the band prepared and tried to perfect their songs at home before traveling to Los Angeles to record. The result is a more immediate album, but also one that may take a few listens to fully appreciate.

    The first two songs released off of
    the album (Brick By Brick and Don't Sit Down 'Cause I've Moved Your Chair) were quite a misdirection for fans since, besides those two and the jagged Library Pictures, the rest of Suck It And See contains very summer-friendly melodies and choruses. Some of the band's most successful previous singles were more joyful than rocky, and this time around Alex Turner and company seemed to make it a point to perfect that type of sound.

    Black Treacle, Reckless Serenade, title track Suck It And See, and closer That's Where You're Wrong will likely hook you quicker than anything they've recorded since Fluorescent Adolescent. The aforementioned "heavier" songs (though they still roll out at a pace much slower than the band's older material) work well on the album and provide necessary tempo changes.

    Track-for-track, this is likely the Arctic Monkeys' best album to date, providing twelve songs that range from fun to spectacular, and absolutely no filler. The only complaint I have is the fact that I like the Submarine OST recording of Piledriver Waltz a bit more than this album version, but it's still very good in its own right. While listening to Suck It And See, you'll likely realize that this is a band that is fine-tuning its skill set and using all of the tricks they've learned so far to create some wonderful music. Can't wait to see where they go next.
    Expand
  2. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    Excellent album - in my opinion the best since their debut. The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala, Love Is A Laserquest, and That's Where You're Wrong are up there with their very best stuff.
  3. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    The Arctic Monkeys have grown as musicians, and it really shows in their latest work, Suck It and See. I don't know why some of the reviewers gave it tepid reviews, this album is great! Reckless Serenade, The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala, Suck It and See, Black Treacle, She's Thunderstorms, All My Own Stunts... I believe that the Monkeys only get better. I loved Humbug, and I love this. Love Indie Pop/Alternative? You'll love this. 10/10

    "Sing another F*cking Shalalala"
    Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    I remember the day my mate brought Humbug home from HMV. A bunch of us were at his place and when he put it on we all held our breaths rapturously to hear the long awaited return of the Arctic Monkeys. We all left disappointed. No song grabbed us. Suck It And See, on the other hand, is an album where every single track is a potential single. Alex's songwriting tends to take centre stage here, in all it's dry witted, self deprecating glory. Yes he compares a woman's mini skirt to a shotgun and yes the he pulls it off (the comparison that is...I'm sure the skirt followed though). Whilst this is definitely their most chilled album overall (only on three tracks do they really rock out), it is pure ear candy from 'Brick By Brick' to 'That's Where You're Wrong'. You can feel the sunshine on this record. And what makes it pure rock and roll is that it isn't trying to be rock and roll. My only resignation is that with every track being this perfect, you do get bored at some point and the songs squashed in the middle do end up losing their appeal in retrospect. But this is a fine, fine album and I suspect it will have longevity when listened to in context of their discography. Unlike Humbug. Expand
  5. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    Could very possibly be their best album yet, at least musically. There is a lot of mellow and beautifully melodic love songs here, more so than any of their previous albums. Some of the quieter songs like Reckless Serenade and Suck it and See are some of the best they have ever written. It's not all mellow though, there is a bit of a mix of everything, including the louder and faster paced songs like those of their earlier records and even another taste of the Humbug sound in All my Own Stunts.

    Lyrically, again, they are great, proving Alex Turner is one of the best modern lyricists. Though, in this case, the bouts of lyrical genius come in spurts rather than being incredible throughout like in some of the past work. The lyrics are also more ambiguous and poetic this time round and thus on one hand may be seen by some as further proof of Turner's increasing maturity as a songwriter and some others as just random drivel. It's obvious that it is here where many reviewers are split on their opinion of this album.

    It's hard to pick out highlights as there are so many great songs, but Reckless Serenade, Hellcat Spangled Shalalala, Black Treacle and Suck it and See are not only stand outs in this album, they are stand outs amongst their entire work. Awesome album, and probably one of the best this year.
    Expand
  6. j30
    Aug 15, 2011
    9
    The album takes everything you love about the Arctic Monkeys and throws it into one. From their dark side (Humbug) songs like "Brick By Brick" and "Library Pictures." To their lighter side (Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not) songs like "The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala" and "Suck It and See." This album has it all and my favorite single of the year (a bit early I know), the addicting "Don't Sit Down 'Cause I've Moved Your Chair." Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    An awesome album by the Arctic Monkeys. Has a much more "poppy" feel to it than previous records, specifically Humbug. But the album also still rocks some jagged tracks to such as Library Pictures and Don't Sit Down Cause I Moved Your Chair.
  8. May 1, 2013
    9
    The 4th installment from Arctic Monkeys is one to behold, with its riffs and poetic lines. It's a absolute smash! Certainly the best album of 2011 for me! Bring on album number 5!
  9. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    a great return for the monkeys with their poppiest album to date.no fillers here, only great melodiic catchy tracks.their best collection of songs since their debut.
  10. Aug 30, 2011
    9
    Their second best album after Favourite Worst Nightmare. Turner's song writing is mature, poignant, emotive and altogether brilliant. The atmosphere of the album is immersive, and the fact that they're showing that indie rock can still be refreshing and exciting is great. They're consistently one of the best British rock bands and with every release they're proving themselves a bit more.
  11. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    Suck It And See is yet another masterpiece from the Arctic Monkeys. Their 4th studio album continues their growth and proves just how awesome they truly are. Humbug divided opinions amongst many with a more dark and intense sound but what some failed to recognize that Humbug was the Monkeys evolving! Personally, I loved Humbug it was an excellent experiment and a fantastic album where rather that churn out the same old material time after time Alex Turner and co showed a more maturity in their music. Suck it And See however is the perfect balance of what we have come to love from the Monkeys. The dark-psychadelic sound combined with the indie-pop of back in the day bring out a refreshing and fantastic 4th outing. Whats even more evident is Turner's song-writing genius as now it seems the lyrics are more personal in telling a story and this album is further evidence if any were needed of the genius that is ALex Turner! The lead single Don't Sit Down 'Cause I've Moved Your Chair was a clever choice with some powerful riffs and sweet solo's it catches on very quickly. Reckless Serenade is like the Cornerstone of Humbug and the more softer poppy sound in that and Suck It And See is without a doubt up with the best their ever made. Other standouts include The Hellcat Spangled Shalala, She's Thunderstorms, Brick by Brick and Love Is A Laserquest. Infact, the more I think about it Suck It And See has a bit of everything, truthfully there isn't a bad song to be heard. Another masterstroke from the Monkeys! Expand
  12. Jun 9, 2011
    9
    Not just their best album, but one of my favorites this year. Absolutely genius. Very cool throwback to hipster bands of the mid 80s/early 90s Smiths, Replacements, Echo & the Bunnymen. Very jangly, rock solid sound. Beats the hell out of the clumsiness of "Humbug"

    9/10
  13. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Very, very good. They have found the perfect balance between Humbug, a darker and somewhat experimental album, and the "poppiness" of their debut and sophomore album. I almost get Foo Fighters vibes from some tracks on this album.
  14. Jul 28, 2011
    9
    Gone are the youthful takes on nightlife and drinking, and so is the confusion of direction shown in humbug. Here is a collection of great guitar riffs and awesome lyrics. 'Took the batteries out my mysticism and put them in my thinking cap' being my favourite example. Best of 2011 so far.
  15. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    The Arctic Monkeys always seem to shock and impress me whatever they do. I think that the biggest shock for me on Suck it and See is how sexy it is, sure there were sexy moments, But on Suck it and see it is a whole different story. Another thing that impressed me was how much the vocals have improved. It would seem to me that the improvement of the vocals has seen a general improvement in the music, it is like Alex is finally letting himself try things he has wanted to try for some time, therefore we are seeing a completely new and extremely impressive side to the band. Just Think how beautiful tracks like "The Only Ones Who Know" and "505" could have sounded if Alex had the vocal abilities he does now. Clearly I enjoyed the Album and believe I won't hear anything better this year. 9.6/10. Expand
  16. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Suck it and See is a step up for the Arctic Monkeys. All of there albums have been good (My Favourite Worst Nightmare was a bit patchy) but this one brings together their pop sensibility and their wish to rock out. Some of the later tracks are redolent of New Order and that is a very welcome departure for the Monkeys (not that I'm a big New Order fan). The title track is best as far as I'm concerned but I'd say this album is very consistent dipping only on a couple of tracks. The only thing that would have made it better for me would have been if they could have coaxed Alex Turner to sing in a higer register occasionally. His low baritone is lovely and all but after a well you want something a bit higher octane with more drive. He can do it because he has before. Just would have brought a bit more variety to the proceedings. Expand
  17. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    by far the best album of the year and another great arctics album. Anything that they release is automatically amazing, and Suck it and See is no exception. Saw them live last night as well and they were amazing!
  18. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    Such a good album. Their best for me.
    It's classic British rock music, mixed with the type of lyricism that Alex developed on the Monkey's third album, Humbug.
  19. Feb 20, 2013
    9
    In retrospect, this album is actually bloody brilliant. It's heavy at times, and really soft and summer-friendly other times. It knows of the direction to take to succeed, and never loses sight of that. Sure, the second "softer" half of SIaS may be overwhelming the first few listens, prompting accusations of every song sounding the same, but closer inspection reveals they've all got their own story to tell. A wonderful next step after the experimental and mature "Humbug." Expand
  20. May 20, 2012
    10
    Defintely the Monkeys' best album to date, love the gritty dirty songs like Libary Pictures Brick by Brick, Don't Sit Down, and then you have your clean and polished Hellcat Spangelled Shalalala, Suck It and See, Thats Where You're Wrong, Black Treacle, not only is this their best album but the most consistant album, there is only one track I skip [All My Own Stunts
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Jul 6, 2011
    70
    If that score at the top of this review seems unfriendly, it's not because they've grown boring or predictable; it's just another step in an ongoing process.
  2. 80
    While the design is a bit different, the result is still another awesome album to add to Arctic Monkeys' arsenal.
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    80
    On its fourth LP, Arctic Monkeys combines its clever, tongue-in-cheek wordplay with a wider variety of sounds than it ever used on its other releases.