Suck It and See - Arctic Monkeys
Suck It and See Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 167 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Arctic Monkeys partners with producer James Ford for a third time for a fourth album of indie pop songs.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    90
    What is clear is that the Arctic Monkeys of 2011 have produced, probably by a significant margin, the best British Rock 'n' Roll album you will hear this year, and on top of that there's the comforting sense that Suck It And See will only age well.
  2. Jun 6, 2011
    80
    So the odd mis-step aside, the death of Arctic Monkeys appears to have been greatly exaggerated. Rather, this is another intriguing evolution for one of the country's great bands, and a shot in the arm for Britain's rather moribund 'indie guitar' scene.
  3. 80
    While the design is a bit different, the result is still another awesome album to add to Arctic Monkeys' arsenal.
  4. Jun 6, 2011
    70
    With their fourth album, they settle nicely into a solid career as a guitar rock band as interested in frantic danceable rhythms as smoother, but still fidgety, ballads marked by lush, reverb-laden crooning.
  5. Jul 6, 2011
    70
    If that score at the top of this review seems unfriendly, it's not because they've grown boring or predictable; it's just another step in an ongoing process.
  6. 67
    It hits hard, but the boyish energy of their early work is still missed. [3/10 Jun 2011, p.112]
  7. Jun 8, 2011
    42
    Only five years ago, Turner was a fresh-faced quipster hopefully eyeing a crush on the dance floor, but now he's playing into the tiredest archetype: the jaded, sunglasses-shaded rock traditionalist on the hunt for an easy lay.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    a great return for the monkeys with their poppiest album to date.no fillers here, only great melodiic catchy tracks.their best collection of songs since their debut. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    Such a good album. Their best for me.
    It's classic British rock music, mixed with the type of lyricism that Alex developed on the Monkey's
    third album, Humbug. Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    To record Humbug, Arctic Monkeys headed to the California desert with a slew of incomplete song ideas and the mood to experiment a bit. This time around, the band prepared and tried to perfect their songs at home before traveling to Los Angeles to record. The result is a more immediate album, but also one that may take a few listens to fully appreciate.

    The first two songs released off of the album (Brick By Brick and Don't Sit Down 'Cause I've Moved Your Chair) were quite a misdirection for fans since, besides those two and the jagged Library Pictures, the rest of Suck It And See contains very summer-friendly melodies and choruses. Some of the band's most successful previous singles were more joyful than rocky, and this time around Alex Turner and company seemed to make it a point to perfect that type of sound.

    Black Treacle, Reckless Serenade, title track Suck It And See, and closer That's Where You're Wrong will likely hook you quicker than anything they've recorded since Fluorescent Adolescent. The aforementioned "heavier" songs (though they still roll out at a pace much slower than the band's older material) work well on the album and provide necessary tempo changes.

    Track-for-track, this is likely the Arctic Monkeys' best album to date, providing twelve songs that range from fun to spectacular, and absolutely no filler. The only complaint I have is the fact that I like the Submarine OST recording of Piledriver Waltz a bit more than this album version, but it's still very good in its own right. While listening to Suck It And See, you'll likely realize that this is a band that is fine-tuning its skill set and using all of the tricks they've learned so far to create some wonderful music. Can't wait to see where they go next.
    Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Very, very good. They have found the perfect balance between Humbug, a darker and somewhat experimental album, and the "poppiness" of their debut and sophomore album. I almost get Foo Fighters vibes from some tracks on this album. Expand
  5. Jun 7, 2011
    8
    Arctic Monkeys never seem to fail. There first album is impeccable and there second album almost as good. And even Humbug, there strange psychedelic record is impressive. Suck It And See is no exception. They seem to just get better. They add a little bit of psychedelic and garage punk in here too. "Don't Sit Down 'Cause I've Moved Your Chair" is definitely the standout track on this album. The lyrics are truly poetic when it comes to some of the love songs and Alex Turner's vocals have never sounded so mature. All In All, Definitely doesn't rank up with some of there early stuff but still a great album and among the best of the year so far. B+ Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2012
    7
    I like the Arctic Monkeys but I expected much more from this album. Like its predecessor 'Humbug', 'Suck It And See' is too unvaried for me. Only one really good song (title-giving Suck It And See), the rest is nothing so special. "Piledriver Waltz", "Library Pictures" and "Black Treacle" are also cool, but I truly expected more from them. Their first albums were considerably better than 'Suck It And See'. Expand
  7. Jun 11, 2011
    1
    From a band with so much talent they produce something of low quality. They appear to be milking their name knowing people will pick the album up blindly. I'm just saying listen to the (bad) music first before you make your mind up on buying it. Collapse

See all 37 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums

    Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums Image
    Published: May 10, 2011
    We've selected 25 of the biggest albums arriving between now and September, including new discs from Death Cab for Cutie, Lady Gaga, My Morning Jacket, Lil Wayne, Jane's Addiction, and more. Plus, listen to full tracks from each album.