• Record Label: Ipecac
  • Release Date: May 31, 2011

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
Buy On
  1. Jun 10, 2011
    Frontman King Buzzo's guitar is searingly loud and untethered to studio tricks, more weapon than instrument, making 13 deadly songs even more venomous.
  2. Jun 29, 2011
    For fans of the present day version of the Melvins, this is essential listening. For those who haven't heard the band in a while, you're in for one hell of a surprise.
  3. Jun 24, 2011
    Sugar Daddy Live reveals a picture of a storied band that is still finding ways to reinvent itself.
  4. 80
    Buzzo will be Buzzo, the Melvins will be the Melvins, and we will all have to either love it or stop caring. But with more consistently impressive performances like this, it'll probably be the former.
  5. Jan 13, 2012
    Sugar Daddy Live finds the sludge metalists powering through an energetic 13 songs nearly 25 years after their formation, and having a ton of fun while doing so.
  6. Kerrang!
    Jun 29, 2011
    Sounding better than most of their studio-recorded output, Sugar Daddy's dark riffs are so sludgy you'll have to wash them before allowing them home. [18 Jun 2011, p.52]

There are no user reviews yet.