• Record Label: Anti
  • Release Date: Oct 2, 2012
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Oct 4, 2012
    60
    Even though Sugaring Season has a quiet, contemplative feel to it, the album's surprisingly full sound sneaks up on you, revealing a richness that doesn't have to fall back on synthetic rhythms or production tricks for texture and depth.
  2. Oct 4, 2012
    60
    While the whole album can't quite sustain the easygoing thrills of its high points, going out with less of a bang and more of a whimper, Sugaring Season still makes a good case that it's better late than never that Orton is finding her own vision as an artist.
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    60
    There is something elemental about Orton's folk soul; at its best, it sounds like the world's prettiest campfire music, all hickory smoke swirling into a starlit sky.
  4. 60
    Her wisp of a voice has found more weight and with it more feeling.
  5. Oct 2, 2012
    58
    Without a steady beat to ground it, Orton's music tends to float into the ether. And unfortunately in the case of Sugaring Season, this means many of the album's best, moving moments fade into the background.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    I tend to review only albums that reward repeat listening. This one qualifies. I gave 7 cuts a 4-star rating, and some of these could growI tend to review only albums that reward repeat listening. This one qualifies. I gave 7 cuts a 4-star rating, and some of these could grow to a 5-star with more listens. (A 3-star and below rating is a track that is easily forgettable) The mellow tracks are so tasty -- I try to make time to repeat them. All the stand outs are: Dawn Chorus, Call Me The Breeze, See Through The Blue, Magpie, Last Leaves of Autumn, State of Grace. Perfect morning music, or when you want to chill out sitting along the water's edge soaking up the autumn sun.... Full Review »
  2. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    If Beth Orton flirted with Electronica and Alternative-Folk on her previous albums, she now left out the Electronica sound and centered her onIf Beth Orton flirted with Electronica and Alternative-Folk on her previous albums, she now left out the Electronica sound and centered her on a Folk atmosphere. It sounds cliché to say an artist has a much mature sound but it's true, she does have a mature sounding on "Sugaring Season" album. It feels like like listening to 2012 English sounding Joni Mitchell. Her melodies are beautiful and catchy without being sugary. This album simply got in my top 5 2012 album of the year and is by far, my favorite Beth Orton album. If you like Folk music...just a little...you got to listen to this! Full Review »