• Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Jan 24, 2006
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 1 out of 14

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnElway
    Feb 10, 2006
    2
    SUCH a disappointment! Me First was a gem...this is a lump of coal.
  2. DaveT
    Jan 24, 2006
    9
    This is absolutely amazing album. The reviews are low, which I believe is quite an oversight. This year's "I'm Wide Awake" in my opinion...
  3. arturob
    Jan 29, 2006
    9
    very cool!
  4. AllanF
    Feb 9, 2006
    9
    Really gorgeous and heartbreaking. It's hard to believe it was released the same day as Jenny Lewis' mess of a solo album -- this one exceeds it in every way. 'It Was Love' is the best track, and it can melt your heart completely. 'Fireflies in a Steel Mill' is gorgeous. Hell, it all is. Get it!
  5. DimitrisC
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    One of the best feel good albums of 2006. Highly recommended and highly addictive!!!
  6. Dallas
    Mar 26, 2006
    9
    I agree with the supporters [below]. I can't help but be completely wrapped up in Blake's world of suns, fireflies and rainbows. While Jenny Lewis' album is an immediate treat, Sun Sun Sun wants you to get to get to know and trust it. An unjustly overlooked masterpiece.
  7. Pinksi
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    My favorite album of 2006 so far...Bank and Trust, one of the best songs I've heard in a long time...
  8. [Anonymous]
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    ffew
  9. drewc
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    completely different direction than "me first" but just as lovely - if not more! biggest star is simply put, the best elected song ever recorded. this album is terrific!
  10. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    Sun, Sun, Sun is a really good album. Every track sounds wonderful. Very heartfelt album. Blake Sennet's vocals are really smooth and amazing. I highly enjoyed this album for what it was. B+
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. 60
    Like [Bright Eyes'] Conor Oberst, Sennett teeters between precious and wild. [#70, p.94]
  2. There is an easy-listening elegance to his songs, but the album plays out like a soundtrack to sipping coffee. [28 Jan 2006]
  3. The sunshiny pop of Sun, Sun, Sun is more magical in comparison to Me First. It features some of Sennett's most brilliant work to date, and the band's overall summery sound is much more cohesive here.