• Record Label: Matador
  • Release Date: Sep 4, 2012
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
Buy On
  1. Sep 5, 2012
    60
    Even with its missteps--[Sun] is her most patient and generous record to date.
  2. 60
    On [Cat Power] Marshall has changed direction yet again, abandoning her soul charm for something much less appealing.... But her natural grace shines through on "3, 6, 9"... and "Ruin."
  3. Under The Radar
    Aug 30, 2012
    60
    Sun isn't likely to land among the singer-songwriter's best records. It's clear, however, that her heart went into it. [Aug/Sep 2012, p.110]
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    60
    Overall it's a robust, respectable detour but will leave some fans pining for the smoky chanteuse of old.
  5. Sep 12, 2012
    50
    Bland, quasi-political lyrics and zonked-out, dead-end textures.
  6. Sun is an album of polished electronic pop that mostly struggles to distinguish itself from the current slew of female singers.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    4
    Why she's getting such good reviews for her last few albums is beyond me-probably the most sterile and emotionally dry music I heard in all myWhy she's getting such good reviews for her last few albums is beyond me-probably the most sterile and emotionally dry music I heard in all my life...but Cherokee is good song,brings me some hope that she didn't lose it completely yet. Full Review »
  2. Sep 8, 2012
    1
    I have been following Cat Power since Marshall's stunning "Nude as the News" single. I have bought everything that she put out before andI have been following Cat Power since Marshall's stunning "Nude as the News" single. I have bought everything that she put out before and since. Even the left field turn to soul pop, "The Greatest" was amazing. However Sun is a bland electro-pop sell out that simply does not work. I agree with the TMT review that "its songs are mostly amalgams of tired pop music tropes/techniques and trite realizations". Well put. Full Review »
  3. Oct 8, 2012
    4
    Having loved everything else Cat Power has released, I wanted to love this but I just can't. I can only guess this is for listeners who don'tHaving loved everything else Cat Power has released, I wanted to love this but I just can't. I can only guess this is for listeners who don't love the rest of her work. She is of course free to move into new moods, musical styles, arrangements, and so on, but I can't join the sterile departure found here. Full Review »