Sunbather

Sunbather Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 320 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: George Clarke, Kerry McCoy, Daniel Tracy
  • Summary: The second full-length studio release for the San Francisco-based black metal band formed by George Clarke and Kerry McCoy was produced by Jack Shirley.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Deathwish Records
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Post-Rock, Heavy Metal, Black Metal
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    100
    You can spend hours dismantling Sunbather and cooking up a neat sub-sub-genre for it (post-black-metal-gaze-death-dreamcore-whatever). Or you can just call it one of the year’s best records.
  2. Jun 11, 2013
    100
    What’s undeniable is that moments from Sunbather will resonate long after the pointless babble has died down, proving that sometimes the greatest beauty can only be found in the face of chaos.
  3. Sunbather is a future classic, no matter where you pigeonhole it, and that’s the mark of a true sonic masterpiece. Black metal, not black metal, just call it what it is: perfect.
  4. Jun 11, 2013
    90
    The result is a perfectly flowing album that is, at times, as calming as it is chaotic.
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    90
    Sunbather needs not to be judged as black metal, post metal, or any other subgenre, but simply as heavy music--loud, visceral, beautiful heavy music.
  6. Jun 12, 2013
    90
    Sunbather is every bit as explosive and engaging as any metal album you’re likely to hear all year.
  7. Aug 12, 2013
    60
    The mood stays ominous, even as sonic details thrill headphone-equipped headbangers.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 80
  2. Negative: 13 out of 80
  1. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    I've honestly never heard anything like this. Granted, I'm not as seasoned in metal, but it skews more post-rock than anything. That beingI've honestly never heard anything like this. Granted, I'm not as seasoned in metal, but it skews more post-rock than anything. That being said, as an album, this is truly a remarkable effort from a group that has something interesting to say. There's a lot of complex songwriting, and enough of a dynamic experience that this is as an accessible of a challenge any newcomers are ever going to find. One of the best of the year. Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2015
    10
    This is possibly the most polarizing album I've ever seen/heard. In my opinion, this album is an instant classic. Although I feel calling itThis is possibly the most polarizing album I've ever seen/heard. In my opinion, this album is an instant classic. Although I feel calling it "original" is a stretch, I can see where that description comes from. Although some of the album sounds like Alcest, it is original in that it combines those elements with some Godspeed-like moments. Overall, I think that the majority giving it bad reviews don't understand the music or haven't given it the time. It's both accessible and inaccessible at the same time. If you're not into this type of music, its quite hard to get into. If you have somewhat of a background in 90's screamo and a little metal, you'll fall in love. This album is one of my favorites in a long time. While I know Alcest has done similar in the past, he never made more than a song or two in the style of this album and the songs never reached the heights of these songs. It's a trippy, trancy, hazy, heavy wonderland of an album. I can understand not digging it, but I think anyone passing it up because of the "hipster metal" description that this album has apparently developed is seriously closed-minded and missing out on one of this decade's best albums Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    I never knew such a thing could exist but I personally believe this is a perfect album. A great mixture of 90's screamo/Post Hardcore/SpeedI never knew such a thing could exist but I personally believe this is a perfect album. A great mixture of 90's screamo/Post Hardcore/Speed Metal/Black Metal. Lyrically phenominal. I've played it over and over and it never gets old. 10/10 Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    I'll never get tired of hearing subtle melodies overlapping the harsh black metal screams in this type of music. Death heaven is one of thoseI'll never get tired of hearing subtle melodies overlapping the harsh black metal screams in this type of music. Death heaven is one of those bands ill be keeping an eye on. Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    First time I've been able to really enjoy blackened metal, though I don't even think you can call it that. It's like My Bloody Valentine meetsFirst time I've been able to really enjoy blackened metal, though I don't even think you can call it that. It's like My Bloody Valentine meets Kvelertak, with some Hammock-like ambient/post-rock thrown in for good measure. Rest-assured though, this is more clever than just a mix of styles. It's really upbeat, even epic sounding and despite the technical styling of black metal that they apply to their music, it's overall mood doesn't exactly scream depression and/or hatred.

    Overall, this is something that anyone who likes various post-rock, shoegaze, or metal NEEDS to listen to at some point. I think you'll be surprised.
    Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2013
    8
    Black metal and shoegaze mixed, gets Blackgaze. Sunbather is a blackgaze album that is extremely melodic and pretty. The vocals beingBlack metal and shoegaze mixed, gets Blackgaze. Sunbather is a blackgaze album that is extremely melodic and pretty. The vocals being unintelligible isn't really an issue as much as I thought it would be. With very folky interludes, it's the long titans that really shine. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2014
    0
    Simply awful. Deafheaven do not seem to have grasped what makes post rock or black metal good. Instead, they have taken the absolute worstSimply awful. Deafheaven do not seem to have grasped what makes post rock or black metal good. Instead, they have taken the absolute worst parts of both genres and combined them into something unlistenable. I love post rock and black metal. One for its beautiful guitar tones, soundscapes and general laid back feeling and the other for its ugly, raw energy. But what Deafheaven have done was take the repetitive and monotone drums and vocals of black metal and the uninspired songwriting of bad post rock and made an album that is tedious, pretentious and, worst of all, boring. Anyone listening to this is either trying to prove that they are "trve black metal" fans or is deaf. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.
  2. Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2013
    We reveal the top 25 albums of the first half of 2013. While the list includes rare releases from the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Daft Punk, and Boards of Canada, it's a metal band that tops our chart.