Sunbather

Sunbather Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 341 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Artist(s): George Clarke, Kerry McCoy, Daniel Tracy
  • Summary: The second full-length studio release for the San Francisco-based black metal band formed by George Clarke and Kerry McCoy was produced by Jack Shirley.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Deathwish Records
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Post-Rock, Heavy Metal, Black Metal
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Dream House
Hindered by sober restlessness. Submitting to the amber crutch. The theme in my aching prose. Fantasizing the sight of Manhattan; That pour of a... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    100
    You can spend hours dismantling Sunbather and cooking up a neat sub-sub-genre for it (post-black-metal-gaze-death-dreamcore-whatever). Or you can just call it one of the year’s best records.
  2. Jun 11, 2013
    100
    What’s undeniable is that moments from Sunbather will resonate long after the pointless babble has died down, proving that sometimes the greatest beauty can only be found in the face of chaos.
  3. Sunbather is a future classic, no matter where you pigeonhole it, and that’s the mark of a true sonic masterpiece. Black metal, not black metal, just call it what it is: perfect.
  4. Jun 11, 2013
    90
    The result is a perfectly flowing album that is, at times, as calming as it is chaotic.
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    90
    Sunbather needs not to be judged as black metal, post metal, or any other subgenre, but simply as heavy music--loud, visceral, beautiful heavy music.
  6. Jun 12, 2013
    90
    Sunbather is every bit as explosive and engaging as any metal album you’re likely to hear all year.
  7. Aug 12, 2013
    60
    The mood stays ominous, even as sonic details thrill headphone-equipped headbangers.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 80
  2. Negative: 11 out of 80
  1. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    I've honestly never heard anything like this. Granted, I'm not as seasoned in metal, but it skews more post-rock than anything. That beingI've honestly never heard anything like this. Granted, I'm not as seasoned in metal, but it skews more post-rock than anything. That being said, as an album, this is truly a remarkable effort from a group that has something interesting to say. There's a lot of complex songwriting, and enough of a dynamic experience that this is as an accessible of a challenge any newcomers are ever going to find. One of the best of the year. Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2016
    10
    A lot of these reviews don't seem to have a grasp of a genre called "shoegaze". Stop trying to compare it to black metal and post rock. ThisA lot of these reviews don't seem to have a grasp of a genre called "shoegaze". Stop trying to compare it to black metal and post rock. This is a heavy shoegaze (it's actually called "blackgaze") record plain and simple. If you are unfamiliar with bands like My Bloody Valentine, you will not understand this record. If you are into bands like MBV, and also don't get turned off by screaming vocals, you'll probably like it. Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2016
    10
    This is possibly the most polarizing album I've ever seen/heard. In my opinion, this album is an instant classic. I remember listening to thisThis is possibly the most polarizing album I've ever seen/heard. In my opinion, this album is an instant classic. I remember listening to this the day it came out and being in complete awe after it was over. I still feel the same way nearly 3 years later. The sad part is that it doesn't seem like 3 years since it came out. "The Pecan Tree" and "Sunbather" are particularly noteworthy.

    Sure it may take some inspirations from here and there, but ultimately it turns it into something new. Really and truly and album of this caliber only comes out once or twice a decade, and I'm so thankful for it. Overall, I think that the majority giving it bad reviews don't understand the music or haven't given it the time. It's both accessible and inaccessible at the same time. If you're not into this type of music, its quite hard to get into. If you have somewhat of a background in 90's screamo and a little metal, you'll fall in love. This album is one of my favorites in a long time. It's a trippy, trancy, hazy, heavy wonderland of an album. I can understand not digging it, but I think anyone passing it up because of the "hipster metal" description that this album has apparently developed is seriously closed-minded and missing out on one of this decade's best albums
    Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    I'll never get tired of hearing subtle melodies overlapping the harsh black metal screams in this type of music. Death heaven is one of thoseI'll never get tired of hearing subtle melodies overlapping the harsh black metal screams in this type of music. Death heaven is one of those bands ill be keeping an eye on. Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    Kevin Shields must be irritated, because after waiting for years and years to release the new My Bloody Valentine record he got one-upped byKevin Shields must be irritated, because after waiting for years and years to release the new My Bloody Valentine record he got one-upped by Deafheaven. I'm not a big black metal fan, and don't particularly care about genre tags or "real" metal, but I am a huge fan of this record. Just massive. Beautifully layered guitars, and surprisingly adept drumming. More tone poems than songs, but well worth a listen. Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2013
    8
    Brutality has never been so gorgeous. It’s an album that carefully weaves chaotic beauty into a surprisingly accessible formula, despite theBrutality has never been so gorgeous. It’s an album that carefully weaves chaotic beauty into a surprisingly accessible formula, despite the long length of it’s songs. The length of the songs work both ways though, whilst they benefit by being able to evolve in front of you that will put you into a state of wonder, it can also alienate you at points, maybe making it hard for others to understand why you enjoy walls of noise and screaming for ten minuets.

    What is good about Sunbather, the second album from Deafheaven, is that it balances the heavy and the light. “Irresistible” flows from “Dream House” and “Please Remember” is more than a nice interlude between “Sunbather” and “Vertigo”. The first five tracks mix these different melodic dynamics and present you with images of the sun, both in a state of dying and birth.

    Despite the overall strength of the album, it becomes weaker in “Windows” and “The Pecan Tree”. The former is a very atmospheric track with audio clips and feels very much like an epilogue, which then in turn ruins “The Pecan Tree” which just feels like a poor encore; we want more, but really we’re satisfied with what we have been presented with, it oversaturates the album.

    Overall, the elements that are in Sunbather melt into one of the strongest albums of the year, an album that gives until you can no longer take.
    Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2014
    0
    Simply awful. Deafheaven do not seem to have grasped what makes post rock or black metal good. Instead, they have taken the absolute worstSimply awful. Deafheaven do not seem to have grasped what makes post rock or black metal good. Instead, they have taken the absolute worst parts of both genres and combined them into something unlistenable. I love post rock and black metal. One for its beautiful guitar tones, soundscapes and general laid back feeling and the other for its ugly, raw energy. But what Deafheaven have done was take the repetitive and monotone drums and vocals of black metal and the uninspired songwriting of bad post rock and made an album that is tedious, pretentious and, worst of all, boring. Anyone listening to this is either trying to prove that they are "trve black metal" fans or is deaf. Collapse

See all 80 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.
  2. Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2013
    We reveal the top 25 albums of the first half of 2013. While the list includes rare releases from the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Daft Punk, and Boards of Canada, it's a metal band that tops our chart.