Sung Tongs

  • Record Label: Fat Cat
  • Release Date: Jun 1, 2004
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Stunning and dizzying, Sung Tongs’ strangeness will spin around your head for months to come.
  2. Uncut
    100
    Rarely has contrived weirdness sounded so utterly bewitching. [Jun 2004, p.85]
  3. On Sung Tongs, the group has deftly combined all the traces that ran through their earlier work into a vibrant and beautiful collage that flows as smoothly as Here Comes the Indian, with all the mood of Campfire Songs, and even more pop hooks than Spirit.
  4. Sung Tongs is an inch more sublime than anything they've done previously, with more phenomenal use of their manic choir of Motown vocals, less scattered, clique-ish dissonance, and more sideshow bubblegum-pop freaking out on god-knows-what powerful substance.
  5. 90
    This is what you get when you give an overactive imagination the space to expand; it’s indescribably perfect.
  6. Mojo
    90
    Melds way-out weird with a pop welcome that sounds like no one else around right now. [May 2004, p.105]
  7. Despite its eclecticism and relatively Dadaist leanings, Sung Tongs is a romantic album; romantic in its celebration of innocence and nonsensical shared knowledge, and the sweet, trusted idea that everything will be fine-- as if it hadn't always been.
  8. Filter
    86
    As simple as the instrumentation is on the album... they use it to maximum effect. [#11, p.98]
  9. Sung Tongs is 12 tracks and 52 minutes of the most bizarre and absolutely mind-bendingly infectious pop music that you'll hear this year.
  10. While some may scoff at the gentler side of the Animal Collective (especially when contrasted with the fully electric assault of last year's studio release), Sung Tongs easily stands alone as a crowning achievement in their eclectic discography, one that finds the group fully in control of their musical prowess and all the better for it.
  11. Magnet
    80
    Consistently fantastic. [#64, p.80]
  12. Alternative Press
    80
    Imagine a pagan Danielson Famile on magic mushrooms, or a folk-rock cLOUDDEAD. [Aug 2004, p.122]
  13. Holistically, there's nothing remarkably new here that hasn't been pursued before by this collective. The execution is nice and easily situates this album in the top two of their performances, and the sound quality far surpasses their previous efforts.
  14. Sung Tongs resembles the freakiest of '60s psyche, the outward fringes of Elephant Six-dom, the craziest excesses of Tom Ze -- yet it is a warm, deeply human work that winds its way into your heart.
  15. But despite its flaws, or perhaps because of them, this remains organic folk-pop at its bewildering best.
  16. Although the duo didn't record nearly enough material to justify checking out quite so soon, Sung Tongs is a striking record, a breath of fresh air within experimentalist indie rock.
  17. Before, it sounded like Animal Collective sought only to please themselves. Sung Tongs sounds like a concession to the rest of us, and that's not a very exciting prospect from such a unique and potentially great band.
  18. Snatches of certain songs owe a debt to weird-period Brian Wilson, but Sung Tongs sounds too hermetic and comfortable in its singularity to cast such a literal gaze.
  19. Rolling Stone
    70
    One of the more creative and accomplished records you'll hear this year. [19 Aug 2004, p.118]
  20. By the time the longplayer finishes playing, you realize, whilst the acoustic guitars and harmonized vocals and that awesome table-tennis-ball-bouncing-beat may've made you think this was some easy-to-love pop platter, it actually hasn't stumbled all the way towards getting-it-together.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. TonyF
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    my favorite collective album, blew me away when i first heard it and still gets me going whenever I put it on. It's truly unique and a my favorite collective album, blew me away when i first heard it and still gets me going whenever I put it on. It's truly unique and a step forward for music experimentation. Full Review »
  2. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    For anyone who has never listened to any Animal Collective except for Merriweather Post Pavillon and/or Centipede Hz, be prepared for the factFor anyone who has never listened to any Animal Collective except for Merriweather Post Pavillon and/or Centipede Hz, be prepared for the fact that this album is vastly different from those two. Sung Tongs is a strange and experimental folk album that contains little to none of the electronic-style that characterizes these two albums. That said, it goes from freaky to beautiful sometimes within the same song, and while a few of its tracks drag a little too long, it still stands as a great album by a great band. Full Review »
  3. Sep 10, 2012
    10
    This album is going on a decade in age and it's one of the epitomes of the limits that can be done with the structure of sound. When I am inThis album is going on a decade in age and it's one of the epitomes of the limits that can be done with the structure of sound. When I am in the mood for it, there is nothing that can take it's place. I'm in love with the album. Full Review »