• Record Label: UMD
  • Release Date: Jun 4, 2013
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. 80
    It's the culmination of four years during which Megadeth have continuously raised their game. [Jul 2013, p.92]
  2. Jun 13, 2013
    50
    One possible surprise is how little of Super Collider actually thrashes.
  3. Jun 13, 2013
    50
    Super Collider is so mired in midtempo drudgery and familiar hard rock (not thrash) tropes that it never really connects.
  4. Apr 22, 2014
    40
    Truthfully, Super Collider is just a Megadeth album born of complacency and issued with only the faintest interest in remaining relevant.
  5. Jul 10, 2013
    40
    It ditches classic thrash for bland classic rock. [Aug 2013, p.96]
  6. Jun 20, 2013
    40
    Most of Super Collider feels half-hearted and rushed. [1 Jun 2013, p53]
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    40
    While there's nothing abhorrent about this album, it's so unobtrusive that it's practically not there, just one more forgettable release from a guy we're all secretly rooting for.
  8. Jun 13, 2013
    20
    It is Countdown to Extinction taken to its most nightmarish conclusions.
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Jun 16, 2013
    5
    Many Megadeth fans keep expecting the band to make another Rust in Peace-style record, and 2009's Endgame proved they were still a thrashMany Megadeth fans keep expecting the band to make another Rust in Peace-style record, and 2009's Endgame proved they were still a thrash metal force to be reckoned with. Even TH1RT3EN had some great moments. Not so with Super Collider. Aside from "Built for War," the songs on this album are mainly of a hard rock or classic metal nature. That's not necessarily a bad thing. Indeed the album has some good songs, such as the opening track "Kingmaker," the Southern-influenced "The Blackest Crow," and a respectable cover of Thin Lizzy's "Cold Sweat." The main problem with Super Collider is that the songs feel uninspired. The riffs aren't very memorable, and there's nothing spectacular about the solos. Dave Mustaine's lyrics are downright cheesy and mediocre, which ruin otherwise decent songs like "Built for War" and "Don't Turn Your Back..." Super Collider isn't Megadeth's worst record, but it's far from their best. Full Review »
  2. Aug 28, 2013
    5
    Eh, it's better than I expected. Songs like "Kingmaker" and their cover of Thin Lizzy's "Cold Sweat" are good, even their experiment withEh, it's better than I expected. Songs like "Kingmaker" and their cover of Thin Lizzy's "Cold Sweat" are good, even their experiment with Southern style music on "The Blackest Crow" worked to a certain to degree but songs like the title track and "Don't Turn Your Back" are among some of the worst Megadeth have ever recorded. Dave's lyrics aren't just what they used to be. Megadeth have had a series of very good albums up until "Super Collider" and I feel that they will have to do a lot better next time out so as not to further alienate their fans. Not their worst album, but far from their best. Very far. Full Review »
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    4
    Megadeth are Thrash Metal legends, with their albums Rust in Peace and Peace Sells...but Who's Buying? and the band have also tried to takeMegadeth are Thrash Metal legends, with their albums Rust in Peace and Peace Sells...but Who's Buying? and the band have also tried to take their sound in a dynamically different direction with Risk. On Super Collider the band don't present us with their trademark Thrash sound, and I was glad for that because I think that bands should develop and evolve over time, they shouldn't stick with the same formula because it becomes boring and tiresome. Yet this is what this album suffers from, it gets lost in it's mid-tempo pace and the heavy but dull production on the guitars and bass.

    The first two songs, "Kingmaker" and "Super Collider" are the albums singles, and they are passable at best. But what is worse, is "Burn", sure the intro sounds something like Van Halen, but it slowly deteriorates. The lyrics are cheesy and the song is boring, three songs into this record and it feels really stodgy.

    "Built for War" begins with what I would expect to be an outro riff or something along those lines but instead I'm sat thinking, "Dear God, it get's worse" but it didn't. "Built for War" is one of the highlights on the album. It's actually a good song, not amazing, but it outshines the first three songs. Dave's vocals seem to suite this song, and I think that may be because it's faster and heavier, it's most like their classic work. And then there is this grand sounding rock soundtrack chorus of "War" at the end of the song, which is really different for the band, and it's these bits that chop up the dynamics that shine on Super Collider. The intro of "Dance in the Rain" would fit in on a Deftones record, that is before it kick in with trademark Mustaine lyrics, but it still changes the musical spectrum of this album. Really the album gets good from "Dance in the Rain" until "The Blackest Crow", but even these three good songs can't save the album.

    The album closes with a cover of Thin Lizzy's "Cold Sweat". I, personally am a Thin Lizzy fan, and they don't really do it justice, they don't kill it, you know it's "Cold Sweat" but I just don't like the heaviness of it, Dave's vocals in the verse, it feels a little cheesy.

    Overall, the album, whilst different, is poor, and I'm sad to see that it is. The first couple of listens, I actually enjoyed it, but it just seemed to get worse as I paid attention to the album, It drags on here and there, it gets boring, and at points you question your self why your exactly listening to it. However, it is listenable, it is tolerable and I have to give credit to them for trying.
    Full Review »